Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 3,127 reviews

Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel
See on a map
+ 20 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Close to the Port Wine Cellars and Arrábida Shopping

  • Close to the city of Porto and next to Arrábida Bridge.

  • Free telehealth service. Safety and cleanliness protocols implemented

  • 7 meeting rooms equipped for a capacity of 130 people

  • Free access to Holmes Place fitness club (next door)

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request (Nearby)
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Gift shop/newspaper shop (Nearby)
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Babysitting on request (Nearby)
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel

Rua Manuel Moreira de Barros
618D
Nº de Registo:378
4400-346
vila nova de gaia
portugal

Tel: +351223740800

Fax: (+351)22/3740801


Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    OPORTO At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    PORTO INT AIRPORT At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By car

    AFURADA At 0.3km / 0.19 miles

  • By train

    DEVESAS At 5km / 3.11 miles

GPS :41.142411, -8.637174

Our accommodation(s)

The room décor at Mercure Porto Gaia is soft and minimalist but very modern. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with minibar, private bathroom, desk, sofa. All rooms have free WIFI and LCD TV. The Mercure Porto Centro hotel also has three rooms adapted for people with reduced mobility.

Standard Room with 1 double bed

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilège room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view, City View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 double bed and 1 extra bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

PORTS & CO

Type of cuisine: International

The hotel restaurant "PORTS & CO" serves traditional Portuguese cuisine in a warm and intimate atmosphere. Special attention is paid to matching wine with food to create a unique gastronomic experience!

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PORT'S & CO

Non contractual photo

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 150

  • Maximum capacity: 130 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 100 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

3,127 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

711 reviews

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Estela P. Business - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Due to the location it is the ideal choice for people that have an apointment by early morning in Luz Hospital. It offers all the confort and facilities that we need for a one night stay. Also it has a good value for money rate. And last , but not least the friendly staff that welcome us and provide for our needs.

A sua satisfação é a melhor recompensa para os nossos colaboradores que trabalham diáriamente para lhe prestar um serviço irrepreensível. Atentamente Sérgio Bastos Director

Comfortable place

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Daniel V. Business - 07/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stuff is going to work really hard to make you live an excellent stay.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Excellent service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

M Couples - 05/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a pleasant stay there and as a platinum member I was upgraded and offered a very nice dessert on the room (sorry I forgot to take a photo), many thanks to the staff!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Pedro A. Business - 25/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was ok.

Foi com prazer que recebemos as suas felicitações. Não deixaremos de partilhar os seus comentários com toda a equipa . Até breve Sérgio Bastos Director

Great Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Peter Y. Couples - 15/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent hotel in with all the amenities in a great city.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Good stay and good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

C. Business - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very sweet and cool environment

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Terrible conditions

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Natalia Solo - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is under renovation, and nothing was informed during reservation. The from 10:30am to 6pm there would be continued constant noise in my room. If that wasn’t enough, there was no water when I first checked in.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In fact we are now in renovation process and we have tried to take it as smooth as possible. We have a message in our site, hotel description section, regarding this renovation period. I am sorry you have missed it. Please accept once again our apologies Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Satisfactory for a good price

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Rich Business - 23/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is conveniently located for visits to the European HQ of the company I work for so it makes it an obvious choice at a good rate. However, the rooms are beginning to look a little tired in places, but overall the experience is reasonable

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I take this opportunity to share with you that we have already begun our renovation. Therefore, we hope to see you soon to try the renovated rooms Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

RAD

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Raoul M. Families - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

RAD

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Cordialement Sérgio Bastos Directeur

Available staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Francisco Business - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Noticed an improved staff availability regarding several issues coming up during staying. Restaurant meals together with a lack of swimming pool and fitness room still hotel weakness.

Agradecemos os seus comentários no seguimento da sua estada no Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. Gostariamos de informar que o Hotel Mercure Porto Gaia tem um acordo com o ginásio Holmes Place, ao lado do hotel, para que possa usufruir gratuitamente na sua próxima estada connosco. Atentamente Sérgio Bastos Director

family weekend

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Filipe Families - 05/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Family trip to Porto. Extremely satisfied with the Hotel conditions, and value for money.

Agradecemos os seus comentários no seguimento da sua estada no Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. Foi com prazer que recebemos as suas felicitações. Atentamente Sérgio Bastos Director

average

Customer review rating 4.5/5

A. Couples - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

was fine - however our room was very cold and we did let reception know. they said because our room was on the end of the building then that is why. they did not offer an alternative. we are coming back here due to family and the location on 30th dec. i have put in the booking to have a warm room.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are very sorry that front-desk did not offer you an alternative. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Sincerely, Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Sweat box, room too hot, no sleep

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Julie H. Friends - 14/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was a sweatbox, ie too hot, no sleep

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Far from expected

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Portuguese L. Business - 07/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

There is a main concern by personal regarding hospitality rather professional service

Agradecemos ter-nos dedicado o seu tempo para nos escrever no seguimento da sua estada no Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. Lamentamos que a prestação de serviço não tenha estado à altura das suas expectativas, pelo facto queira aceitar as nossas sinceras desculpas. Asseguramos-lhe que serão tomadas as medidas necessárias com vista à melhoria da qualidade das prestações que nos referiu. Atentamente Sérgio Bastos Director

got a very old room

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Joseph G. Couples - 03/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

everything was good except the room was not in good condition. not very clean, sheets was not clean, curtain had holes in it and the room smelt very bad

Dear JOSEPH G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We are going to start renovating our rooms on from January 2020. Sincerely, Sérgio Bastos General Manager

DrNeds

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Neds C. Friends - 03/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very satisfied with how ur staff accommodated us.. The breakfast buffet is 5*, food is served hot and fruits are also freshly served. The hotel itself is clean, and all its facilities! Would be looking forward to another stay with Accorhotels! Cheers’

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Verging on pathetic

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Peter O. Couples - 03/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

As I write this on 3/11 there are still three authorisations holding on my accounts ( about A$1200) despite only one of them being my actual PAID account. This was discussed before I left and with Managers by phone when I have rung the hotel twice. The room was old and the aircon did work well. It was colder in the corridors outside the room. I reported this twice. My greeting at check in was the worst I have EVER experienced. She was rude and not welcoming. Her grunts and groans did not reflect the Accor values or loyalty program. All she wanted was pre-authorisations and passports. I had already checked in online and the pre auths she completed are the reasons for my current issues. She was not welcoming, didn’t mention the loyalty program, couldn’t care less or mention my Platinum membership and just gave me two drink vouchers. It was like an arrogant and rude approach from the old Russian front or East Germany. The bed was old, hard and squeaked even if you just sat on it. The only shining light was the young bar man ( Julios ?) who was very good, polite and helpful and was tipped accordingly. The rest of the hotel is an embarrassment to the Mercure brand and has zero respect for the true Accor values.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We will send you to your private e-mail address the pre-authorization cancellation made directly by the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for this bad experience Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Mr.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Crispo A. Couples - 31/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our experience was bad. We made a reservation in your Hotel and our plain had a delay. When we arrived at the Hotel tired and willing to rest you had canceled our reservation and we had to pay almost the double for the room. When we went to the room we saw that the bathroom wasn't clean and that is not admissible for a 4 star Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Overnight stay at Porto

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Marie C. Couples - 29/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arrival we were welcomed by a lovely and helpful receptionist. Nice and very clean comfortable room. Nice variety for breakfast. Great shopping centre just across hotel.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Porto Gaia Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Short business trip

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Luca Business - 17/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was in the Mercure Porto Gaia for two nights for a short business trip and the experience was quite good. Very good breakfast buffet, comfortable room with lots of space. Decent Wifi speed. The only issue is the rush hour around the hotel in the morning that may create some delay in business meetings, but one just need to be organized. I would go back for sure in case of Business.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Best regards Sérgio Bastos General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in vila nova de gaia