ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port

Information message

ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port 2 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.0/5 2,190 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Certified ALLSAFE by Bureau Veritas

  • In the heart of the Old Port

  • Secure luggage storage for a fee

  • Bar lounge

  • Pizzas on site

Hotel location

ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port

46 rue Sainte
13001 MARSEILLE
France

  • IBIS BUDGET MARSEILLE VIEUX PORT:  LIGNE BLEUE 1 VIEUX PORT

  • By plane

    MARSEILLE PROVENCE At 26km / 16.16 miles

GPS:43.292195, 5.373801

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

LA CAPITAINERIE

In search of indulgence? Enjoy the new menu for our generous breakfast buffet. You can also enjoy our delicious artisanal pizzas on-site.

Our accommodation(s)

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.0/5  2,190 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  1,775 reviews

Good for price

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Kristof Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel met the ibis budget standards, it was tidy and comfortable. Breakfast was various and delicious. In our room (302) the only one power socket near the bed was unusable, because the plug fell out from it.

Dear Kristof, Please accept our thanks for this review following your experience at our hotel. We are glad that our breakfast helped get your day off to a great start. Nevertheless, we have noted your comments regarding the power sockets and cutlery; your feedback will prove useful as we work towards improving our services. We are also sorry for the issue with the toilet, but are happy to know that our housekeeping team dealt with it promptly. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

DIRTY

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Shady T. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

DIRTY ROOM,DIRTY BATHROOM,DIRTY TOWELS

Dear Shady, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to know that you felt our high standards were not upheld. We urge guests to share any concerns they have at the time so that we may deal with the matter immediately to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Nice location, comfortable stay, very good breakfast

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Alexandros Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice location in the old port with a lot of places to eat and drink , comfortable stay in clean rooms, very good breakfast

Never again

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Tahar Z. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I could not work from the room as the house keeping were so noisy in the other rooms in the floor and than they started maintenance and drillings during and important video meeting that I was attending. I booked the room just to be in a quiet place and work for four hours and seems like I was wrong. Front desk did not even took one second to ask how was my stay! He just asked me to leave the key in the box and leave. For sure never again but of corse thank you for hosting me and very good luck for the future. There is for sure areas to be improved.

Dear Tahar, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. However, we are concerned by your comments as there were no works in progress at the hotel during your visit. Next time, please do not hesitate to let us know of any issues while on-site so we may address them and find an appropriate solution. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident with housekeeping and we will be addressing this matter to ensure the comfort of our guests is respected. Rest assured that we have noted your comments. Our guests' reviews are always helpful as we seek to constantly improve our services. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in future. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

À room’ bed ans bathroom facilities is why we neede and that’s what we got

Well located, but incredibly bad room and service

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Bruno T. B. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hello, it is the first time that I am staying by myself in a Hotel. Usually i am used to stay in hostels. But once this time i was with my girlfriend, I decided to stay in a hotel. The location was great, and the breakfast was good. Although, I was surprised that the hotel could not store our luggage for free. It was my first disappointment. Once every hostel would do it. Then, it came the room. I could not believe that the room had ants everywhere, in the bed and in the bathroom. Then, it came the time of taking a shower. I just couldn't stand up in the bathtub because of the roof was too low. I had to take a showers squatting, and my neck kept hurting after that because of the position. For me, it was unbelievable that i could not take a proper shower by the price i paid. Sincerely, i was very disappointed. I thought i would come from hostel to a hotel, and i would have the minimum. But not. regards, Bruno.

Dear Bruno, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. While we are glad that our location was convenient for you, we are very sorry that not everything was entirely to your expectations. We do have luggage storage lockers for a small fee for up to 8 hours and sorry if there was any misunderstanding regarding this facility. We are concerned to hear of the issue you mention and take these matters very seriously. We endeavour to provide an excellent standard of service for all our guests, and we are keen that guests make us aware of any concerns at the time so that we may take immediate action. We would have looked into finding you an alternative room had we been aware and are now investigating the concern. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an improved stay. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Dirty, old facilities, crew barely spoke english for the basic needs

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

As I described in the title, the hotel didn't feel 'welcome' as no one spoke to us english, and except of that the hotel facilities and equipment was very old. I have visited other ibis budget in the past, but this one gave me the least pleasant experience.

Dear Dimitrios. Thank you for leaving us this review of your recent stay. We always try to make sure all our guests have a pleasant experience and regret your stay did not meet all your expectations. Please do let us know immediately of any concerns with your room and we will do our best to take the necessary action. We are slightly surprised by your comment as all our reception team speak English, nevertheless, we will be revising this with them. We do carry out maintenance whenever necessary to keep our rooms up to date and will consider your comments closely when improving. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Fantastic location, comfortable, clean and friendly

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Gaenael V. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We requested a room with a view upon arrival, overlooking the rooftops and Place. The friendly receptionist was happy to help

Dear Guest, We are glad to receive such a positive review! We aim to make every experience with us a memorable one, so it is very rewarding to receive a message of satisfaction from a recent guest. It is an incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next trip. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Excellent Location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jrt Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Have stayed here before quite a long time ago before it was a budget hotel. It has a great location and is value for money. My first room was not properly ventilated but the next day i was moved to a room overlooking the courtyard which was great.

Dear Guest, We thank you for your comment. We are very delighted to know that your recent stay with us was a great experience and you appreciated our convenient location. However, we regret to hear of this experience and would like to offer you and your family our sincere apologies and are glad to know that this was quickly resolved by our helpful team. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been duly noted. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Dariusz Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

There was a problem with AC - it was impossible to set it differently than for hot air

Dear Dariusz, We thank you for your comment. We are concerned by your comments, and sorry our high standards were not met on this occasion. We urge guests to share any concerns they have at the time, so we can rectify them to ensure you have an enjoyable stay, we would have had our maintenance team attend swiftly. We are always open to suggestions on how we might further improve your experience on your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Alex Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

All Ibis Team starting from the Director is fully committed to a client satisfaction.

Marseille for Business

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Philippe G Business - TripAdvisor review

Last minute hotel for business ; Every thing was booked. Hotel was OK ; Common area need a refit ; Rooms are small but ; Location is very good close to old port ; Need a parking however ; Also the night staff was a bit on the rough side ;;;

Dear Philippe, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our hotel aims to provide an enjoyable experience and we are delighted that our location was so convenient for your needs. Our rooms are the standard size of an Ibis budget hotel and we do have limited parking which requires booking on the morning of arrival, or there is a public car park nearby. Please know that we have duly noted your comment concerning any future renovation work. Your complete satisfaction is our goal and we will certainly consider your feedback while continuing to improve our facilities. We hope to welcome you back. Kind regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Family stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Faran R TripAdvisor review

Excellent location, very short walk down to the harbour and some of the key sights to see in Marseille. No parking unless pre arranged and you have a tiny car! But the Q-park nearby was great and reasonably priced. Lots of shops nearby - Lidl was a 5min walk. You get what you pay for with the rooms, so they’re small and compact, but reasonable for the cost. Very clean. Good power from the shower too.

Dear Faran, Thanks for taking the time to share your opinions on your visit to our hotel. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the nearby facilities and the standards we work hard to maintain. Your comments are valued by all of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again on a future trip to Marseille. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

next to the port

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

jolha2016 Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

good location, next to the port and restaurants, there is a SPAR shop 3 minutes away, budget rooms but there is everything you need, towels changed every day,there is a renovation at the moment so there are people working outside and it is a bit noisy

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay overall and appreciated our location as well as our well-equipped rooms. We are, however, sorry for any disturbance caused by the works currently taking place outdoors; please do not hesitate to inform our team of any issues or concerns during your stay so that our team can provide an immediate solution. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Excellent location, poor amenities

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

NikosZo Families - TripAdvisor review

The location is excellent, just next to Vieux Port. Breakfast is decent, classical Ibis Budget.Rooms are quite tiny and basic. Small corridors that give a breathless perception. Not recommended for staying more than 1-2 nights.

Dear Nikoszo, Thank you for your review. Thank you for mentioning our prime location, It is rewarding to know that you were pleased in this regard. We are however sorry to hear that the size of your room was not to your liking. Our team members are always available to assist with room selection. We are otherwise pleased that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast, a great way to start the day. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Overbooking or lack of evidence?

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Mladen S Couples - TripAdvisor review

My overall rating could be 4 points or even 4-5, if an accident at the reception would not happen upon my arrival. I booked a room in hotel Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port far in advance: for my stay in June I booked in September. I always book the largest available room, if the room price is the same for all rooms (what in fact is a case with Ibis mostly). Consequently I booked a triple room (a room with a large bed and a bunk bed). I did an early check-in in advance online and I received a confirmation letter from the hotel reception that my room will be available from 12:00 on the day of arrival. Here my story of "pros and cons" begins. I came to the hotel early, relying on the kind message from the hotel reception: “The check n is at 12 am of course if we have a room available we can do the early check in”. Of course, the room was not available yet. I left my luggage in a cellar where you pay 2,00€ for lockers, and I decided to come back at 12 a.m., what was a promised time for check-in. When I came back at 12:00 a.m., my room was still not available yet. During the time I was waiting, a man from the reception offered me free hot chocolate. During my waiting I asked several times if my room is ready – answer was: not yet. At 1:40 p.m. I asked to talk with hotel manager – he was out and not available. Finally we agreed on “double room” for one night and one free breakfast for compensation. When I entered the room, it was a great disappointment. I did not expect a lot of a budget hotel, but I would expect comparable standards with Ibis budget hotels in the other countries. The room at the 2nd Floor was small, barely place for double bed, no place to put the things on (except two plastic chairs), only a little window under the roof, air-condition (of course) not working, shower not working, anyway you can not stand under the shower. Disaster. Further on I insisted to get a room I paid for. In the evening the receptionist promised me to get my room next evening. And – it happened. I got a room at the 3rd Floor, which I booked in September last year. The room was as expected, and air-condition was working! About hotel’s reception: teams are very different: a couple upon my arrival on Wednesday, June 19, was a disaster. Afternoon team was efficient, kind and communicative. It is a pity that I could not catch the manager of hotel – it must be a managerial issue that you do not get a room you pay for it, on time. Overbooking or managerial fault?

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to post feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that your recent stay at our hotel didn't meet all your expectations. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. However, it is stipulated on our website that check-in is at 13h00. If you had received an email inviting you to turn up at 12h00, would you kindly forward this to me at ibisbudgetmarseillevieuxport@gmail.com. All our confirmation e-mails should be written for 13h00 so this will need to be investigated. Please be assured that this situation was not due to overbooking, but please do not hesitate to contact me further by private email. I look forward to hearing from you. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Marseille

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

thesmillies Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is in a great location minutes walk from the port and numerous restaurants and bars. Although in a busy location the room has double glazing and air conditioning. The room is basic but has all the essentials and is clean. Breakfast is very good with a variety of hot and cold elements. Happy to stay again.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port. We are indeed located at the centre of Marseille's historic Opera district to be so close to the local bars and restaurants. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. It’s great to know we were able to tempt your taste buds with the wide selection on offer on our breakfast buffet. It is always rewarding for us to welcome a returning guest. Thank you for choosing us again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Great Stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MCoz74 Couples - TripAdvisor review

My wife and I were visiting friends and had previously stayed at another Ibis budget in Marseille. This one is much better; in location, cleanliness, comfort and service. For a hotel on a budget, this is one of the best we have stayed in and would highly recommend the hotel and Maseille to anyone.

Dear MCoz74, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port. We are so pleased you had a delightful experience and found our service exceeded expectations. Your satisfaction is our top priority, thank you for a great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

value for money

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Nino D Couples - TripAdvisor review

great location near the old port, in the heart of the main bars and restaurants area, standard and clean rooms, basic breakfast, but service is average, with almost noone speaking english. anyway, value for money

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are proud of our beautiful hotel near the scenic Vieux-Port de Marseille harbor and we are very pleased to hear that you found our convenient location at the centre of Marseille's historic Opera district to be so close to the local bars and restaurants. We thank you for your kind comments in regard to our clean, comfortable guest rooms; It is always pleasing to know that we made your stay comfortable. Please note that all of our staff do speak English and some Spanish. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Air conditioning broke down for thhe entire stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Nabeela U Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

Unfortunately the air conditioning broke down and was not fixed for the 3 nights we were there. The first night we tried to make do with an open window however the hotel is on a semi busy street and loud noises kept us awake. We requested a fan on night 2 and we were given a water based fan (the room only gets as cool as the water you add to the fan and so we were waking every few hours to replace the warmed water). We gave up on night 3 and unfortunately felt very sleep deprived. On asking management for help or advice on any alternatives to taxi transfers to the airport we were brushed off. The breakfast is very basic and not replenished quick enough for the number of people attending. All in all definitely a budget stay.

Dear Nabeela, Thank you for your candid feedback. We are very sorry that you had a less than pleasant experience with us. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of every guest, and in this case we apparently fell short. Still, we thank you for notifying us of the difficulties you experienced, as it is an opportunity for us to question ourselves and to look for ways to improve our services. Despite this, we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you for a much better stay in the future. Kind Regards Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in MARSEILLE