Mercure Chambery Centre Hotel

Mercure Chambery Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 964 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

Beautiful, newly renovated rooms with a secure underground car park, free WIFI and a warm and intimate bar. The Mercure Chambéry Centre team warmly welcomes you to Savoie.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure Chambery Centre Hotel

183 Place de la Gare
73000 CHAMBERY
France

  • By plane

    CHAMBERY VOGLANS At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By plane

    GENEVA COINTRIN At 99km / 61.88 miles

  • By plane

    LYON SAINT EXUPERY At 80km / 49.71 miles

  • By train

    CHAMBERY CHALLES LES EAUX At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By train

    CHAMBERY CHALLES LES EAUX At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

GPS:45.570847, 5.919596

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

LE 183

Located right in the heart of the hotel, our cozy bar is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail in the evening in friendly surroundings.

Our accommodation(s)

Our spacious rooms are fully soundproofed and air-conditioned. You can choose between a double or twin room, smoking or non-smoking. Mountain views subject to availability.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Chambery Centre Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  964 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  678 reviews

ideal position and welcoming team

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Laure-anne Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

very kind new style

Dear LAURE ANNE C., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Well located.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Freddy Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel location at walking distance from city center and restaurants. Quality of service and friendliness of employees.

Dear FREDDY D., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Guillaume Ambre-Charlotte Receptionist

Extremely well situated. Extremely well received by excellent smiling and communicative staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Adrian B. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

I was immediately struck by the competence and pleasantness of the two members of staff I met on arrival. They were thoughtful in terms of my needs and did everything they could to make sure I had a good stay.

Dear ADRIAN B., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Tired but clean and functional

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nothing wrong with the experience. Used for an overnight stopover to the alps. Building and furnishings quite tired. Staff were great.

Dear ANDREW J., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re trully sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. Be informed that we’ve started to make a renovation of the full hotel. We’ve already done the lobby, the corridors, the breakfast room, the gym and the meeting rooms. The last step will be the rooms. This will be the ending of this beautiful project. We’re trully sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

nice hotel with good employees but the rooms are too warm

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Loïc Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

the hotel is nice, well placed, comfortable the employees all do their bast to help but unfortunately, the rooms are heated much too high and I could not sleep well, even after cutting the heating on arrival and opening the window keeping the window open during the night is not an option as the city center is too noisy

Dear LOIC L., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. The air conditioning is a lot indeed sometimes strained especially on very hot days with a full hotel, we are really sorry about the impact this may have had on your stay. We’re trully sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Wonderful staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul L. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location for Chambery and really lovely helpful staff

Dear PAUL L., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Great Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Curtis Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved it. Convent location. Fantastic staff.

Dear CURTIS P., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Odeur cigarette dans l'étage !!!

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Sylvain S. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Cigaret smell in the floor space. My room was 204. Disgusting. The toilet was also old with some other room aspect a bit old or not well maintained.

Dear SYLVAIN S., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re trully sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. Be informed that we’ve started to make a renovation of the full hotel. We’ve already done the lobby, the corridors, the meeting rooms and the breakfast room. The rooms will be the ending of this beautiful project. We are sorry that your room had a smoke smell. Every guest is informed in his room that our rooms are non-smoking. A dedicated display is prominently displayed on the console at the entrance to each of the rooms. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Lacking cleanliness and quality

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Dominic M. C. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

2 nights stay at the "best" Accor hotel in Chambéry on a Leisure visit. The hotel gave little impression of concern with cleanliness, with only some posters telling patrons to wear masks. The reception staff were efficient but not friendly. The room had no seal showing that it had been cleaned to COVID standards and smelled like a previous occupant had smoked in there. The room felt shabby and unclean and had a bad smell. The bathroom had cracked tiles and looked like it needed a deep cleanse. The air conditioning did not work and there was no way to regulate the temperature. The breakfast was terrible and the bacon looked like it was uncooked. I did not bother taking the breakfast on the second day.

Dear DOMINIC C., Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the COVID you have 2 disinfectant a the reception, 1 in every lift, 1 at the entrance of the breakfast, 1 at the entrance of the gym. Then you have 3 mask posters at the reception, 1 at the entrance of the breakfast, 1 at the entrance of the carpark, 1 at the entrance of the gym and 1 in each floor of the hotel. At the breakfast you have also individual tongs to have your food from the buffet without touching it. We also disinfect every "touchy" part of the hotel every 4 hours (buttons, doors, front desk, every table in the lobby). We also disinfect every room keys after the check out. "only some posters telling patrons to wear masks" is not the exact way of how we manage the COVID in our hotel. For your information we are labbellized by ALLSAFE. The COVID seal has been use at the begining but we had a lot of "funny guest" who snatched it for fun when they were passing by the corridors. We decided then to remove it, because some of our guest were thinking that the rooms were not cleaned. We’re trully sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. Be informed that we’ve started to make a renovation of the full hotel. We’ve already done the lobby, the corridors, the gym, the meeting rooms and the breakfast room. The rooms will be the ending of this beautiful project. If you have any issue during your stay do not hesitate to dial the front desk button on your room phone, we are available 24/7 and we could at least propose you a solution on your issues. We hope to get another chance to convince you. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! Sara Dharsma Front Office Assistant Manager

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Waited 10 minutes at counter to check in as she was busy making a hotel reservation on the phone. And she did NOT wear a mask during the phone conversation. Mask was on the chin!! Check out was good. The gentleman was very courteous. We saw an employee come from the lifts WITHOUT a mask. Asked her about not wearing a mask. She said she has to wear a mask given at work. What an excuse!!!!! And she was rude because I asked her why she did not wear a mask in the lift.

Dear Thiyagaraja R., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re trully sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. About the mask, no one can hear us propely on the phone with the mask that is the reason why we remove it to speak on the phone. I was not giving an "excuse" but a reason, i was in the carpark coming from home to work. I've been straight to my office to get the working mask. I've respond in the exact way that you spoke to me, sorry if it make you feel unconfortable. Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

Friendly staff and good breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Adam Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent car park, easy check-in process and friendly staff throughout the entire stay. The room was clean however the bathroom mirror didn’t work and the main room door didn’t automatically close. I am sure that someone entered our room whilst we were out and didn’t make sure it was closed behind them as when we returned, it was unsecured.

Dear Adam B., Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Sara Dharsma Assistant Front Office Manager

won't be back!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

David N TripAdvisor review

We had to stay here under duress (due to curfew); few instructions inside room; no amenities except soap (we are Silver class for Accor hotels); no welcome drinks; breakfast (due to Covid) very sparse, not all asked for was delivered. Parking was exhorbitant, plus we had to pay walk-in prices.

Dear David N, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re trully sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Regarding the lack of in-room equipment, especially tea and coffee pods, this is unfortunately due to COVID-19. Indeed, after your departure all that is in the room must be thrown away, including the unused things. In order to avoid waste, we provide everything you might need on the front desk and not in your room. I'm really sorry if you did not have your welcome drinks, since you made your comments on tripadvisor i cannot check your reservation to see what happend. We are sorry that your breakfast did not meet your expectations. Regarding the car park, we’re very lucky to have one in our basement (we are the only hotel in Chambery to have one). The price is actually the same as every secured parking in Chambery. For your next stay be informe that we have 2 public car parks less than 50m from the hotel do not hesitate to call us before your arrival we would be happy to guide you. Best regards, Sara Receptionist

Great location, friendly and professional staff, good hair dryer

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

pohare2003 TripAdvisor review

We were a party of 5. Rooms were well designed, comfortable and clean. My room had a small fridge, safe, and a decent hair dryer. Location opposite the train station and a short walk to the old town. Restaurants, bars and supermarkets nearby which were open on a Sunday. Very tolerant and forgiving staff who didn't flinch when I accidentally dropped a bottle of red wine in the reception area. Still sorry. Two small booths in the reception area which were great for our group to socialise, have a beer and play card games. Would definitely recommend.

Coté cour, coté jardin...

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

esm872 Business - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is located in the centre of Chambéry, just across from the main SNCF railway station. The outside appearance, the lobby and the reception area seem absolutely compatible with the location. With a small exception, the room was a very positive surprise: freshly renovated in an absolutely modern style, it is in contrast with the rest: very good, only the water drainage in the shower was not OK. The staff that I had the opportunity to deal with at check-in, breakfast and check-out were friendly, professional and efficient. The underground parking is cramped and crowded: if I was to stay here again I would try and reserve a spot there ahead of my arrival and try not to be here with too large a vehicle

Dear esm872, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Chambéry Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We are truly sorry for this little technical incident beyond our control. The parking is not bookable because we share it with several entities (condominium and businesses), so we offer it only according to availability. For your next stay be informe that we have 2 public car parks less than 50m from the hotel do not hesitate to call us before your arrival we would be happy to guide you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Sara Receptionnist

Short stay in Chambery

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Geoff L Couples - TripAdvisor review

As usual I can rely on Mercure hotels to provide good comfortable rooms in good location. Good to have Carpark on site. We ate at the adjacent restaurant which was very convenient and good quality, very good after a day of sightseeing. Should have stayed longer!

Overnight before train to Paris

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

JS E Couples - TripAdvisor review

Hotel is ideally located just across the road from the railway station and also very close to both the Hertz and Europcar car hire offices. Room are clean and modern. Breakfast although good is not cheap unless included in a deal of some kind.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are surprised about your comment for the breakfast : you can find fresh and local products. We would like to inform you that there is an other breakfast at the bar : "express" for the rate of 8.50€ per person. You can find bread, pastries, hot drinks and orange juice. It's with pleasure that we will welcome you a next time ! Best regards from mountains, Justine

I had an upgrade which I highly appreciated it.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Edmatogo Business - TripAdvisor review

I have been to this hotels several times but it was the fort time with such a loyalty card. Thanks to this card, I was upgraded to a deluxe room. It aw more spacious and more comfortable than usual. I loved the experience it!

Dear Edmatogo, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our Privilège Room. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Mercure Chambéry Centre. Best regards, Marion Girardin

Disappointed. Inconsistent standards in Accor hotels of the same brand.

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

evisonD Couples - TripAdvisor review

We have stayed in Mercure hotels before but this was not a good experience. Toenail clippings on an uncleaned floor on arrival. Moved to a small claustrophobic internal room with strong smell of smoke in corridor outside. This is not Mercure standard we have come to expect. The USP of a chain has to be consistency. if there is no consistency why choose an Accor group hotel? Our friends had the same inconsistency with two Ibis stops - one good one poor. Very different experiences from the same brand. Also beware city centre hotels if on car trips, as we were. Expensive parking (16 euros though reimbursed after complaint about the toenails incident).

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. We sincerely apologize and assure you that corrective actions are already implemented. Be assured that the quality and your satisfaction are our priority. Hoping to have the pleasure to regain your confidence in a future stay, Best regards Benoît Majorel Directeur

Great Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

JasonLouiseMinnie Couples - TripAdvisor review

This hotel has great well furnished rooms, and is very central in Chambery town. It has a welcoming well stocked bar and has an indoor link to great restaurant. Our dog was made very welcome as well. It can be a bit tricky to find the drop off point for the reception due to current roadworks.

Thank you for thsi feedack. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and its location. Looking forward to welcoming you again, Best regards Benoît Majorel Directeur

Good quality

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

TassoAsteriades Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

Hotel good for the price. Location great and the underground parking perfect for us since we were in transit with a loaded car. Breakfast is a little expensive for the price but the quality is very good.

We are very pleased you enjoy your stay in our establishment and its location. Thank you for your remarks. Looking forward to welcoming you again Best regards Benoît Majorel Directeur

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in CHAMBERY