Novotel York Centre

Information message

Novotel York Centre 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 2,585 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Indoor heated pool with natural light

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining

  • Choice of flexible rooms for events that work

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel York Centre

Fishergate
YO10 4FD YORK
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    LEEDS BRADFORD At 50km / 31 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER At 136km / 85 miles

  • By plane

    SHEFFIELD AIROPRT At 93km / 58 miles

  • By boat

    HULL At 60km / 37 miles

  • By boat

    NEWCASTLE At 140km / 87 miles

  • By helicopter

    YORK RACE COURSE HELIPAD At 1km / 1 miles

  • By helicopter

    YORK RACECOURSE At 1km / 1 miles

  • By car

    A19 At 0km / 0 miles

  • By car

    A64 At 3km / 2 miles

  • By car

    AIM/A19 At 20km / 12 miles

  • By train

    LEEDS At 32km / 20 miles

  • By train

    YORK STATION At 1km / 1 miles

GPS:53.952728, -1.077586

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

RESTAURANT

Entertain your palate at Novotel. Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting.Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel.

Our accommodation(s)

Enjoy modern decor and ergonomic comfort. Queen bed, en-suite bath or shower, sofa bed, large flexible work area, complimentary WIFI access, 55'' LCD TV, hairdryer, iron, laptop safe, fridge, tea/coffee, Up to 2 adults and 2 children. Enjoy modern decor and ergonomic comfort. Queen bed, en-suite bath or shower, sofa bed, large flexible work area, complimentary WIFI access, 55'' LCD TV, hairdryer, iron, laptop safe, fridge, tea/coffee, Up to 2 adults and 1 child.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel York Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  2,585 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  3,480 reviews

Great overnight stay in York

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Martin Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Refurbishment now completed, rooms and ground floor look a lot better.

Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us here at Novotel York. We are so pleased you had a great overnight stay and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Evie

Wonderful staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lorraine S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Was a lovely stay, if im being totally honest the bathrooms need attention, bath needs to be stripped of black sealant and new put on, showerheads need descaling and extractor fan in ceiling was heavily clogged, please do not take this as a complaint because it isn’t. Your staff are a credit to you and we had a lovely stay so Thankyou all

Dear Lorraine, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us here at Novotel York. We are so pleased you found all the staff to be a credit to us. Thank you also for the feedback about the bathrooms in the rooms, this will be passed on and we will look at ways to fix this. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Evie

Great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anon Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here many times. Always a warm welcome. Great rooms.

Dear Anon, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us here at Novotel York Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you are a returning guest and that you always enjoy your stay when with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Evie

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Miche Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Overnight stay for sons graduation and staff were really helpful organising an early check in so we could change. Drinks in bar good, breakfast ok, no muesli or granola only packet cereal and juice from cheap cartons not fresh. Also having a proper pot of tea would be much better. Very good location.

Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

James Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a lovely time at the hotel. We used it as a base to explore the city. Well decorated rooms, dining and lobby.

Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Good location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Christine Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were very friendly, when we arrived we were asked by the Receptionist if we would like our room serviced and if so which days, we opted for the 2nd day out of our 3 night stay, totally disappointed ☹️ no one showed up, we were expecting clean towels and at least the Tea making facilities to be re-stocked. It’s a good job I brought along from home my own T-Bags etc, we scraped through just about with the 2 toilet rolls. Our friends room was the same on arrival no T-bags sparse longlife milk no sugar, one teaspoon, these were supposed to be a Superior Queen Rooms, unfortunately the high price for staying did not reflect on the room service and refreshments loo rolls , shower gels. The price of staying for 3 nights in the Car Park was extortionate at £14.75 a night I would have thought £7.00 would have been more appropriate. Why charge so much? Everyone was moaning about the price that we had spoken to that were staying in the Hotel. Would I and our friends stay again?? Probably not very expensive as having to pay for a superior Room when we actually got given a standard room that showed in the service. Best thing was the 5 minute walk into town.

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us here at Novotel York. We are pleased you found us to be in a good location with friendly staff. I am however sorry to hear that the room hadnt been serviced when requested and that you had to scrape through with very little tea, toilet rolls etc. If you had come to see us at the desk we would of quickly resolved this issue for you however I am sorry this wasnt originally done for you. In relation to the parking charge £14.50 is very reasonable for a city like York as the £14.50 also covers you from as early as you wish on day of arival until midnight the following day, but again apologies that you were unhappy about this. Thank you for the feedback it will be passed on to the relevant departments. Sincerely, Evie

Well located, missedt a good breakfast

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Trondc Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was as expected, but the breakfast was like a 2 star hotel

Dear Trond, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you found us to be situated in a good location however we are sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy the breakfast. We hope to see you return again in the future. Sincerely, Evie

Good location and parking

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Alan C. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a good stay. The breakfast and dinner options were excellent. There was quite a bit of confusion about paying for parking. I'd actually checked out of the hotel and nobody asked for parking payment. I was just given a code when I checked in. It took a while for payment to be sorted out and I was concerned that I would be fines later on if I hadn't paid. Also the electric car charging points are really poor. This is the second Novotel (the first was Sheffield) where I cannot charge my car up.

Dear Alan C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sorry to hear that there was some conrfusion over your parking payment and that you had issues with the car charging. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Bianca

Excellent location and a good stay all round

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nicole H. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Second time of staying with you and again, the hotel served us well and we have no complaints. We like the flexibility of being able to cancel right up until the last minute, together without the need to include breakfast. I must remember to book in advance for swimming next time. The hotel is in an excellent location for us as we like the walk along the river into the city. This time we were at the Barbican too so even better. Lovely to have a fridge in the room too and pleased you'd put the milk in there - biscuits and hot chocolate would be a good addition to the selection. I also think car parking for guests could be at a slightly reduced rate e.g. £10 for 24 hrs.

Dear Nicole H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Great Stay - Ground floor is spectacular!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rk Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed there for the graduation and would revisit again.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following the recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Evie

Well located. Very friendly staff. Manager runs an excellent establishment.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Upgraded to fantastic room. Excellent breakfast.

Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Good location, good facilities, iffy pillows

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Saahil D. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything about the room, hotel, food etc was really good but the pillows were horrible and I didn't really manage to sleep.

Dear Saahil D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Although I am sorry to hear that the pillows were not comfortable for yourself. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Good Location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Michael W. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent room, staff and food well done

Dear Michael W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Dirty room

Customer review rating 1.5/5

R W. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

We had to complain about the condition of the room we were given, there was rubbish left on floor, cobwebs, dusty surfaces, unvaccuumed carpet, smelling sink.

Excellent Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

stress free, excellent staff

Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (reception)

Well located , on-site parking a bonus but shouldn’t have to pay

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Kelly Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room not to a good standard of cleanliness especially when paying £200 per night Bath dirty had to wash before we had a bath Big stain marks on the carpet had to leave my shoes on as it looked dirty Looked like bedding hadn’t been changed was good stains when we pulled the covers back and had crumbs in the bed No conditioner and only 1 larger bath towel rest were hand towels Bathroom could do with a deep clean was very dirty even in the sink Bathroom tap when run smelled awful like sewerage Was no complimentary water in the rooms to drink and mini fridge was empty Staff were very friendly and lovely food Lovely location

Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found us to be well located with friendly staff and onsite parking. We are however sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the cleanliness in the room was this reported to the team at all? If it had been this could of been looked into and resolved for you. In regards to the parking charges, the charge is very reasonable for a city like York and this covers you well over 24 hours. We do hope you retun in the future and that your next experience is better than this one. Sincerely, Evie

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Was a nice venue, room was nice and good layout. However the food variety for breakfast wasn't great or the quality of food

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sorry to hear that the food was not up to standard. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Bianca

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Christina L. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent location. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast

Dear Christina L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ds Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was lovely, well located, with car park, nice decor, good warm swimming pool (with controlled number of guests, great in current pandemic) food was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. My only complaints are that the room was not cleaned or topped up with toiletries in the 3 nights we were there. Also the level of cleanliness needs to be upped. The front windows of the reception area were unnacceptably filthy, as were the chairs in the restaurant. This needs to be addressed as its the first impression you give people.

Dear DEMI S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel York Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sorry that the cleanliness was not up to your usual standard during your stay. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Chelsea (Reception)

York stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

walkercasper TripAdvisor review

Rooms not as clean as they used to be staff brilliant breakfast not very warm car parking expensive this is the third time we have been to this hotel but was disappointed this last stay there the first room we were offered had dirty carpets and the sofa was very grubby we did get upgraded to another room which was fine we did have a evening meal in the hotel which was very poor and expensive

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in YORK