Information message

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 3,913 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • Free Onsite Parking

  • 9 Dedicated Meeting Rooms For Up To 120 Guests

  • Wedding Facilities Capable Of Accommodating 120 Guests

  • 18th Century Manor House With Original Features

  • 10-Minute Drive From York City Centre

Hotel location

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Shipton Road
York
YO30 1XW york
united kingdom

Tel: +4401904225012

Fax: (+)01612342819

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LEEDS BRADFORD At 48.28km / 30 miles

  • By train

    YORK At 5.63km / 3.5 miles

GPS :53.994009, -1.131592

Hotel services

FAIRFIELD BRASSERIE

Dine at Fairfield Brasserie. Choose from a collection of tasty dishes prepared using fresh ingredients grown in our own herb garden and locally sourced produce. To compliment your meal, choose from our selection of fine wines or a cocktail.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 9 Meeting rooms
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 89 rooms
    • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • No family room
    • No connecting room
    • 89 non-smoking rooms
    • 3 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Lounge
    • Waiting area or lounge
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Umbrellas
    • Plugs and converters available on desks
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
  • Safe deposit box at reception
    • Safe deposit box at reception
Access to property
  • Free Onsite Parking
    • On site

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms are interconnecting, ideal if you are bringing your family. Choose a room in the original 18th-century manor house, or in the new wing, designed in a conte mporary fashion. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. For a treat, our suites have a romantic four-poster bed and a spacious spa bathroom.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 189

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

3,913 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,516 reviews

good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tim H. Friends - 14/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good barring lack of heating in one room on first night. Room was changed without quibble. Disappointing start none the less.

Dear Tim H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Flatters to deceive. Some aspects good, others awful.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Peter R. Couples - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked a room for 2 nights (October 6th & 7th) for my wife and I by phone 28th Sept. I had mentioned I was disabled, didn't need an 'Accessible' room, but after agreeing to upgrade to a 'Superior' room I requested a high floor with lift access. I was told this was available. On arrival there was no Superior with lift access, only ground floor. It required passing through 4 very awkward fire doors to access; not easy with crutches. On entering the room, in an older part of the hotel, it smelled stale and damp. It was cold, the heating was off and was impossible to turn on. The 'hot' water was just above ambient, even after several minutes running. The room was the closest to the very noisy main road. On returning to Reception to complain that the room was completely unacceptable the Manager, Craig, became involved. He came to the room and agreed about the smell and coldness. He tried very hard to find an alternative room that met my requirements but eventually all that was available was a smaller, lower spec. room. As it had lift access I accepted that, with the offer of an appropriate refund. The new room was fine, except that it was very hot and the heating was impossible to turn down or off on the room thermostat! The only way to cool the room was open the window and turn the radiator off manually (no TRV on the rad either). Of course that meant turning it on/off again manually during the evening & night when it became too cold/hot. These were the unacceptable practical issues with rooms. However, Manager Craig and the 2 Receptionists involved in dealing with our issues were extremely appropriate, helpful, professional and friendly. I cannot praise them enough. Thank you for trying! When we originally checked in on Wednesday 6th October we were asked if we wanted the room serviced. We said yes please. On returning to our new room after a day out on Thursday we found it had not been serviced. The Receptionist was apologetic, very helpful and offered to provide the full set of replacement items. However at that stage we only required fresh towels. I assume our original request for room servicing had got lost in the room transfer arrangements. Now to the Restaurant. We had dinner on the first evening. We were advised to eat as late as possible because there was a large party booked into the hotel and it would be quieter if we booked for 8pm. The large party eventually began to leave the Restaurant around 9pm. The first 2 of our 3 courses took a long time to arrive. It was obvious the serving staff were inexperienced. Welcome and service were informal, casual and not what we expected of a hotel of this standard. There were not enough staff that evening, and they obviously struggled with the number of guests. Breakfasts on the other hand were a wonderful experience. The staff were much more appropriate and professional. The range and quality of food available were exemplary for a hotel of this standard. Arrival impressions of Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel are very encouraging, but internally it often flatters to deceive. However Welcome and Reception were excellent. Breakfast service and provision were excellent. In summary, both our rooms obviously had housekeeping and maintenance issues. The Restaurant needs more evening service staff with more training. Our visit did not live up to expectations. Not being able to have what we booked, and the stress and delay involved in moving rooms, made a disappointing start to our special birthday treat. But I reiterate, Manager Craig was excellent in his efforts to mitigate the difficulties we experienced. I look forward to your response to the above before posting any online reviews. Kind regards, Peter R.

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Whilst we are very pleased Craig and the reception team looked after you well we do take responsibility for being short staffed on the evening, as you can appreciate the whole of the hospitality industry is struggling to source enough staff at the minute and we are doing are very best to recruit as quickly as physically possible. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Easy to find

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Diana G. Friends - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely staff, friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and well turned out. Bed was really big and comfy.

Dear G. A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Everything adequate

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tom S. Couples - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything as was expected friendly staff..

Dear Thomas s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Slightly disappointing

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Robert M. Couples - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly welcome. Helpful staff. large room but smelt smokey. room tired and needed updating.

Dear Robert M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards

Good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Family G. Families - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were helpful and organised a table for 8 in the oak room for us. Food was good . Our room was comfortable and staff were very helpful.

Dear Les H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Good location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Quite and relaxing. Friendly and attentive staff.

Dear Gordon G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice, well located for the park and ride into York.

Dear David S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We will also pass your feedback on to the relevant departments to hopefully prevent any issues in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

Need for renovation

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

agw1944 09/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is in need of major renovation ... interiors are dark with old fashioned furniture. We booked into a Privilege Room but it had no views out to what is a very pleasant landscape ... there was no drawer space in the room, just an old hanging wardrobe. The bathroom was totally outdated.

Hello agw1944, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of trying to get a revamp but due to being closed for around a year due to COVID19 we have taken a hit financially. We are very much hoping to be able to do this in the near future. I hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant and relaxing for you. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards

Great hotel near park and ride

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Les R. Couples - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Always a fabulous stay here

Dear Leslie R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

Perfectly fine

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ingersley Solo - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Character building, large size room (but quite cold) Good meal and breakfast, pleasant staff

Dear Karen L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

Comfy Hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Bob Couples - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Food Very Good, Accomodation Very Good, Booze expensive, service very good

Dear Robert c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

Very well located (used park and ride).

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well looked after by super, knowledgeable and friendly staff throughout the hotel.

Dear Bev G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and Ezra. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

Disappointed

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Pamelia Families - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reservation team Ruined our stay as we didn’t get the room we booked and there are no swimming facilities onsite as advertised on their website.

Dear Leah M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Reception

Great hotel and staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mick H. Friends - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From check in to check out perfect. Thank you to everyone at Mercure York you were all amazing.

Dear Mick H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

Good Location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Natalie Friends - 04/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall it was great , We stop for one night and had booked two rooms, but one of the room was not fit for purpose the hot water shower tap was not working, had shower and wouldn't turn off, steamed up the entire room had to move all our belongs to my friend's room. After few attempts to front desk no one came back and had to ask to speak to GM, he offered 50% discount and ensured the tap was fixed but we had same issue next morning. it was very disheartening and disappointing stay. But the breakfast and other aspect were Ok. The room was not fit for the purpose to be hired to Guest and the hotel shouldn't have sold the room in the condition it was. we were not happy at. the Front office did temporary fix and allowed us to go back in the room with the assurance that it ok

Dear Natile R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Reception

Good Location for York

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jaki R. Couples - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice stay and the staff are very Pleasant,restaurant food very good and the service good.

Dear J r., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception

A lovely relaxing stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mr D. T. Couples - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a very nice stay. The staff were all nice , polite and helpful. It is in a great location and the Hotel itself was very clean and cosy.

Dear Darren T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. We are always happy to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again for another visit soon. Sincerely, Reception

Wouldn’t go back

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Nicola Friends - 03/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked two triple rooms and were given an accessible twin and one double. They eventually changed the double to a triple but wouldn’t do anything about the accessible room. Nowhere near a four star, two at best. Everything is massively dated and the breakfast was poor, nothing tasted fresh. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone as certainly wouldn’t be back.

Dear Nicola A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Sincerely, Reception

My review on the Fairfield Manor Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

james82gibson 28/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Hotel lovely both inside and out. Ideal to walk around grounds with sitting areas to relax and enjoy a refreshment. All staff encountered were very helpful and a bonus to the hotel. Breakfasts very good with plenty yo choose from. Didn't try a dinner meal, too short a stay. Will rectify that!! Only room comment, a small safe would be handy to leave keys etc whilst travelling around York area etc.

Hello James, thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to see that you had such a good stay with us! It is nice to see that our team's hard work is paying off. Next time you choose to stay with us, we will be more than happy to store any valuables in our safe behind reception at no extra cost. I do apologise that you weren't aware of this during your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in york