Information message

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 11,467 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • Certified ALLSAFE by Bureau Veritas

  • Gourmet and seasonal room service menu

  • 2 panoramic restaurants: Les 3 Dômes, 1 Michelin star; Le 8, local products

  • A Clés d'Or concierge and assistant at your disposal

  • Peaceful oasis in the heart of Lyon

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 2 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Massage Paying
  • Babysitting on request
Business services
  • 9 Meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

20, quai Gailleton
69002 lyon
france

Tel: +33472412020

Fax: (+33)4/72412001

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :  Multiples BELLECOUR

  • LYON :  A-D BELLECOUR

  • By plane

    LYON BRON At 20km / 12 miles

  • By plane

    LYON SAINT EXUPERY At 35km / 21 miles

  • By helicopter

    BRON At 20km / 12 miles

  • By helicopter

    SAINT EXUPERY At 35km / 21 miles

  • By car

    LYON CENTRE At 1km / 0 miles

  • By car

    LYON PRESQU'ILE At 2km / 1 miles

  • By train

    LYON PART DIEU At 5km / 3 miles

  • By train

    LYON PERRACHE At 2km / 1 miles

  • By train

    PERRACHE At 2km / 1 miles

GPS :45.754188, 4.834351

Our accommodation(s)

Book luxury Lyon accommodation at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour: 164 rooms feature satellite TV, high speed internet and the famed Sofitel MyBed®. Prestige suites have large living rooms, free minibars and river views. Superb central Lyon accommodation.

Our restaurants and bars

Le 8

Ahead of the re-opening of restaurants, Chef Christian Lherm has created a lunch menu to enjoy on the terrace, highlighting local producers who inspire him with a menu with organic fruits and vegetables.

Non contractual photo

LES TROIS DOMES

The restaurant is currently closed. Pending reopening, our Room Service menu is available 24 hours & accompanied by a selection of hot dishes for dinner. Trays are served with ALLSAFE health precautions.

Non contractual photo

LE MELHOR

Sip signature cocktails at this chic, cozy Lyon bar with stirring views over Lyon. The drinks menu - available on iPad - ranges from a sherry aperitif to a fine cognac or single malt whisky. Live music enlivens Friday and Saturday nights.

Non contractual photo

LIGHT BAR

The Light Bar terrace is open daily from 8am to 8pm. From evening to morning, we provide whatever you fancy: hot or soft drinks, cocktails, etc. At lunchtime, enjoy lunch with the local Good Times menu.

Non contractual photo

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 317

  • Maximum capacity: 350 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 150 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

11,467 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,511 reviews

all good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

R B. Friends - 23/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

nice

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour ! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

stop-over

Customer review rating 4.5/5

First 3. Couples - 23/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was well located with very friendly and helpful staff.

does not deserve its rating

Customer review rating 2.0/5

François G. Couples - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is well located but we were disappointed by the service. one of the restaurant was closed and we ve been told to look for a restaurant outside; the room furniture was too old. torn wallpaper, used armchairs, damaged tiles !!!

Dear Mr. G., We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies. We regularly exchange with our headquarter about our refurbishment needs and hope that our hotel will be renovated shortly. Also, we are sorry for the restaurant being closed. It will reopen on August 9th. Our hotel customers have the possibility to have lunch or dinner at the Light Bar, our lobby bar. For those wanting a gastronomic experience, our starred restaurant Les Trois Dômes is open - it will be closed in August. Another option is room service. We hope to regain your trust during your next stay. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal. Sincerely yours, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Disappoint

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Gideon H. Couples - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

At arrival the first impression left by the concierge / voiturier was very disappointing. After having spent 10 hours driving, he made us wait for no serious reason for at least 15 minutes before being able to enter the parking. The reception at check in, as a 2nd impression, did not do a better job. Everything was already paid upfront, and the receptionist insisted on an excessive pre-deposit (2 x the roommate, when the room was already paid). 3rd impression, the restaurant was fully booked and no alternative was proposed. 4th impression, after having had some food outside of the hotel, we came back around 23.15 in the hotel. We wanted to have a last drink (it was Friday evening) before going to sleep, and the bar was already closed! Overall impression of the facility, it seemed very outdated for a 5 star hotel. Good impression: the next day upon check out (Saturday morning 17th of July). The receptionist was extremely polite and professional. He was the positive note of this visit, but could have been the positive note of any visit. Very professional! Overall visit, and I have been traveling quite intensively across Europe the last 8 years, and have stayed at least 30 - 35 nights a year in any Accor hotel .... this was by far the worse price / quality ratio I have ever seen. Should have taken an ibis hotel for this specific evening. It would have around 1/5 of the price and for the same offering overall. I would never return to this hotel again, while there are plenty of accorhotels that I would highly recommend... Can happen..... pitty.

Dear Gideon h., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your arrival at the hotel did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We are sorry that the restaurant was fully booked. In this case, only room service is available. We would be happy to help you book a table for your next stay in Lyon. We are very sorry that you did not like the room. We exchange quite regurlarly with our headquarters about the refurbishment our hotel need. We hope it will take place soon. Thank you very much for your kind words about our receptionnist at check out. He was very happy to help you. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Excellent concierge service!

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Suzie Solo - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

For a 5 star hotel, it's very disappointing. The lady at the front desk didn't make me feel very welcome to start. She charged 600 Euros for a deposit for the room, which is high and was shocking. Then to tell me I can't eat dinner there because I didn't have reservations even before checking gave me a very uncomfortable feeling. When I did get to my room, that was the biggest shocker of all. With the COVID-19 issues, you would expect exceptional cleanliness, but there was a lot of mold on the bathroom tiles, which by the way was cracked. Most of the room furniture were badly scratched, damaged or dented. I made sure to take lots of pictures for backup in case I would be charged for already existing damages. The best thing about this hotel is the concierge, Sebastian! He seriously took care of my restaurant reservations, train tickets, and the reservations for my covid-19 testing for my return flight. There is a restaurant on the 8th floor which you'll be charged 30 Euro for breakfast but the 180 degree city view is totally worth it, and so is their croissant!!

Dear Suzie, We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that you did not feel welcome. Our procedures are imposed by our headquarters and/or by law and we cannot accept a customer without having a deposit first. The deposit is proportional to the price paid and the length of the stay. Please do not hesitate to ask our reservation agents the deposit price upon booking so that you can plan it. Please note that the deposit is entirely refunded after your check out. We are very sorry that our restaurant was fully booked when you arrived at the hotel. For your next stay, do not hesitate to book a table before arrival, we will be happy to welcome you at our table. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and that you found mold in the bathroom. We hope that you will accept our apologies. All surfaces, including bathroom tiles and joints, are thouroughly disinfected between each customer to ensure sanitary safety. Also, our strict respect of protocole made us win the Allsafe label, which is a guarantee of your security in our hotel. However, we are sorry that the bedroom seemed a bit aged to you. Please note that we regularly exchange with our headquarters about our refurbishment needs and hope that our hotel will be renovated shortly. We thank you for your positive feedback about Sebastian, our Head Concierge. He was very please to read all the nice comments you wrote about him and we thank you for that. We are very happy that he made you feel comfortable and home. He thanks you very much for your kind words and hopes to see you again soon. We hope to regain your trust during your next stay. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal. Sincerely yours, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

A big disappointment

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Mike M. Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed with Sofitel before and always had a good experience but this one let us down. We booked a superior river view room but the condition of the was terrible. Very outdated with damage to the furniture, Mark’s on the carpet, not even a proper shower, just a spray over the bath. It was like something out of the 80’s and very worn out. We were moved to another room that had been partly refurbished but overlooked the back courtyard and facing office buildings. There was a lack of sockets, one had to put the kettle on the floor to make a hot drink (extremely dangerous!) and unplug the main telephone to charge a cell phone. The toilet was off the living area but had no hand basin so it meant you had to go back to the bathroom anyway! Breakfast was overpriced and disappointing and the parking was also very expensive.

Dear Mr. M., We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. Our Ambassadors strive to provide a superior service experience for customers ; therefore your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies. We regularly exchange with our headquarter about our refurbishment needs and hope that our hotel will be renovated shortly. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We extended the buffet since your stay and we hope that you will like the new version. We hope to regain your trust during your next stay. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal. Sincerely yours, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Edward N. Couples - 09/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

comfortable

Location excellent. Helpful professional staff , efficient hotel, great experience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Margaret Couples - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent stay.

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anvera Families - 27/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Quite overdated, but good service. People are kind and warmth. However, not that many facilities available; even the restaurants on site were closed.

Excellent Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Marc Families - 04/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazing staff. Great location !

Dear Marc D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client
Customer review rating 2.0/5

John D. Couples - 03/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room three or four star level Breakfast v expensive for what was on offer

Dear John D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

well located. very friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Patricia Families - 25/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff is very welcoming, friendly and willing to help, the hotel is very well located on the Rhone, the food in the restaurant is good, but the room's furniture is a little old

Dear Patricia M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

disappointed

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Seaside61469216993 29/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is poorly maintaint ! I was booking junior suite and it was absolutly unacceptable bad smelling and everthing in the room was looking terrible old and out lived. I do not recomend this hotel for anyone. Staff was good !

We are very sorry, dear guest, that your experience with us did not meet you expectations since guests' satisfaction is our priority. A renovation project is under study and we hope that you will like the futur new decoration. In the meantime, we hope to welcome you back and to regain you trust. Best regards

Nice hotel, great location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

EddyTLV Couples - 04/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

The Hotel is nicely situated. We had a junior suite facing the river. The staff were very friendly and the room service (we had breakfast in the room) were very friendly but lacked consistency. The toilet cabin in the suite is tiny and the bath room relatively small. THe room need a face lift no doubt; the wooden decor is scratched and the carpet should be replaced by a wooden floor.

Thank you dear guest for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of our Ambassadors as well as the room service breakfast and the comfort of our rooms. We look forward to host you back soon again for another memorable stay. Best regards.

Lovely hotel but a bit tired

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Judi & David G Couples - 24/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Very friendly staff, great breakfast and lovely restaurant. The junior suite was clean and well equipped but in need of refreshing. Broken tiles, chipped furniture and dirty marks on the wall are not appropriate in a hotel of this standard.

Dear Guest, We thank you for your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast as well as the professional service from our Ambassadors. Please, allow us to express our sincerest apologies regarding the rooms. Also, we are glad to let you know that a global refurbishment project is currently under study, we look forward to showing it to you soon. Best regards,

phil collins in concert

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

martincorbyn1971 Friends getaway - 10/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

old style on outside viewing, we had a junior suite and was pleased with the room. had river view, lovely to be able to open the windows at night and hear the bustle of the city . breakfast very lovely and good choice, bar upstairs for very lush, very busy but only cause phil collins family and band memebers were staying to, but nothing was to much for the staff even though they were busy. definatley return thank you

bad check in

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

GoPlaces42743640013 Couples - 08/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

in check the personal offer us athe worst room that they have after we entred there we must come back to the check in and with after our claims the guys could change the room but they changed our room with their worst expresion

Dear GoPlaces42743640013, Thank your for your feedback on your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that you did not like your first room and that our Ambassadors appeared to have a bad expression. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our five star service and that we took the necessary measures to prevent a future occurence. Also, please accept our apologies. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your second room and hope to see you again soon. Best regards.

birthday visit to Lyon

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

T9345CVpaulg Couples - 25/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Stayed at the Sofitel Hotel Bellecour for my wife's birthday celebrations.Excellent hotel ,delightful room with river side views . dined at the Michelin starred restaurant , which lived up its reputation with sunning views .

Thank you T9345CVpaulg for you recent stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are pleased that you have choosen our hotel for your wife's birthday and that you will keep good memories ! We hope have the pleasure to host you back in a near futur for another wonderful stay ! Best regards.

Wonderful stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Resort294403 Couples - 19/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

A really great hotel with excellent facilities, we had a beautiful room on the third floor overlooking the river, everything you could want for a weekend away. Housekeeping was outstanding, our room was spotlessly clean in every way. Very welcoming from the minute we arrived till we departed. You must visit the bar on the top floor, the views in the evening are wonderful, and was the Espresso Martinis cocktails, a fabulous experience, well done Sofitel Bellacour team for a wonderful stay!

Thank you Resort294403 for your wonderful feedback. All the team thank you for your compliments and will be pleased to welcome you back for your next visit in Lyon. Warm regards.

One night in Lyon

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

aleric69 Couples - 06/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Excellent hotel. The staff were very courteous and very helpful. The business form with computer and internet was was for free and was very private with it sown individual cubicle. The room had a great view of the scenic river. Breakfast was set nicely and was situated near the window to have a great vie of the city. Breakfast was good and the staff was eager to serve and please the customers .

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in lyon