Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Information message

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.2/5 2,015 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Certified ALLSAFE by Bureau Veritas

  • Panoramic buffet breakfast

  • 2 panoramic restaurants: Les 3 Dômes, 1 Michelin star; Le 8, local products

  • In the downtown area, Concierge Keys d'Or at your disposal

  • Biologique Recherche treatments and Deep Nature massages

Hotel location

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

20, quai Gailleton
69002 LYON
France

  • BUS:  Multiples BELLECOUR

  • LYON:  A-D BELLECOUR

  • By plane

    LYON BRON At 20km / 12 miles

  • By plane

    LYON SAINT EXUPERY At 35km / 21 miles

  • By helicopter

    BRON At 20km / 12 miles

  • By helicopter

    SAINT EXUPERY At 35km / 21 miles

  • By car

    LYON CENTRE At 1km / 0 miles

  • By car

    LYON PRESQU'ILE At 2km / 1 miles

  • By train

    LYON PART DIEU At 5km / 3 miles

  • By train

    LYON PERRACHE At 2km / 1 miles

  • By train

    PERRACHE At 2km / 1 miles

GPS:45.754188, 4.834351

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

Our accommodation(s)

Book luxury Lyon accommodation at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour: 164 rooms feature satellite TV, high speed internet and the famed Sofitel MyBed®. Prestige suites have large living rooms, free minibars and river views. Superb central Lyon accommodation.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.2/5  2,015 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  2,580 reviews

Good stay, friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dan E. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is a bit dated but rooms are pleasant. Staff is very helpful and friendly, the "8" restaurant is good, the location is excellent - overall a very good experience. My only complaint: a 5-star hotel should not use bath products from dispensers passed on from guest to guest - both from the hospitality and the hygiene angles. That was an unwelcome change from our previous visit in 2019.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ronen999 Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Wonderful service from all staff including reception, concierge and dinning room for breakfast. Great breakfast. Room was clean and spacious. All very satisfactory.

Dear Ronen999, Thank you for your wonderful comment about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We will share your comments with our team : your satisfaction is our greatest reward. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Tired hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Ian P. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The room we were show was dark and depressing. So we up graded at a cost to a more spacious and cheerier room but missing the all important walk in shower as one of us has a disability. So we reduced our stay to one night and resorted to a hand wash. The hotel is well located but need a refurbishment. Another key requirement was gluten free bread at breakfast for toast. We had been assured multiple times by reception that this was no problem. In fact there was no gluten free bread.

Dear Mr. P., We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies. For your next booking, our reservation department would be happy to guide you towards the kind of room you need. Also, we are very sorry concerning the gluten free bread. We have several gluten-free options at breakfast and we will make sure that they are available for our customers at any time. We hope to regain your trust during your next stay. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal. Sincerely yours, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Good H. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed family h.

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We were very happy to welcome you and your family and it is a pleasure to receive this lovely feedback. We will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Excellent location , great bed, very quiet and wonderful breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mark S. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay. We were departing on an AmaWaterways river cruise the day after our arrival from the US and used the Sofitel for our overnight. The rooms are on the small side and a little dated, but very comfortable and quiet - perfect for jet lag recovery. The staff was very friendly and the location couldn’t have been more convenient located almost directly across the river from our boat. It was also easy walking distance into the charming old town of Lyon.

Dear Mark S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very happy that you enjoyed the quiteness and comfort of our rooms to get some rest. Thank you so much for your nice comments about our staff. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for 1 night, rooms are in need of refurbishment but the linen was top class, breakfast was fabulous & staff friendly.

Top location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Baris G. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good location, very clean like Sofitel should be - We stayed at a Suite which needed a renovation. Lots of wood coverings most probably from 80s or 90s. The decoration is basically not up to date.

Excellent location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

It's a nice hotel in a great location with a pleasant staff. Our room, a 2-room junior suite, was spacious, however, the decor was a little dated. It was also hard to find a spare outlet to charge our phones, etc. The breakfast buffet was okay, nothing remarkable.

Very old hotel and dirty

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Alberto Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Not good experience, because problems with lift (5 minutes to attend), window very dirti, in general very old and not maintenance in hotel

Dear Alberto, We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies. We took note of your remarks concerning the windows and the maintenance in general and will make sure to improve these points. Indeed, your comfort is our priority. We hope to regain your trust during your next stay. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal. Sincerely yours, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client

Great Location and Fantastic Service

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Derek Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel location was great and the service spectacular.

Great hotel on the Rhone in Lyon

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ian C. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

This hotel has a stunning view of the Rhône from West facing rooms and from the restaurant on the eighth floor. It has secure underground parking and as well as modern, large rooms. The bathrooms are spacious, and the soft drinks in the fridge are free of charge. Breakfast in the restaurant is not be missed and the cocktail bar is great. The brasserie is now in the top floor with good views, and is reasonably priced. We first stayed in this hotel 5 years ago. It remains good value with excellent staff who can’t do enough to make you welcome. Having to work from the room, I appreciated the large table in our superior room and good WiFi. Many thanks to Geoffrey for his welcome at the front door, and to all the staff who make this a great experience.

Ok

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mike S. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms small & now dated, breakfast €30! Staff very nice, panoramic bar not open when we visited? Bar in reception limited & dark

Dear Monsieur S., Thank you for your comments about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; we sincerely apologize. Please rest assured that we are waiting for the appropriate measures to renovate our rooms and we hope that our bar on the 8th floor will be open every day soon, like before the health crisis. We thank you for your really nice comment on the staff, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future when the rooms will be renovated. Best regards, Pauline, Guest Relation

Good location, pleasant but at reception impersonal staff.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Clive B. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is calm , efficient and somewhat impersonal. EXCEPT in the restaurant where at the two breakfasts we had the staff were charming, chatty and informative. On the negative side, it is really sad/bad that the Michelin starred restaurant is closing and becoming a Brasserie. A major incentive for staying at the hotel has now gone. In the rooms the shower is designed so that one has to stand uncomfortably close to the wall to enjoy the flow of water; and very importantly for male guests, the seat on the toilet does not stay upright. It presents quite a challenge of hand and balance to those who do not want to sit down to urinate.

Brilliant staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

A Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We just loved all the staff, from Check in, Conciege, Diner and breakfast teams, everyone was professional and had that little touch that raised the bar. Well done

Great location, high standard

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is a high standard. The staff friendly and efficient. The rooftop breakfast room, restaurant and bar are excellent. The rooftop bar got very busy and I felt that they should have given priority to people staying at the hotel to get the window seats. The room we booked was a Superior room which was spacious but the TV dominated the room and there wasn't a mirror next to a desk with power points for someone to put make up on/dry hair whilst a partner was in the bathroom. The decoration was very dull and the hotel floor and corridor was tired - the carpet needed a good clean. We didn't have a river view which would have been nicer. I had a much nicer, larger room on a previous stay but this may have been a higher class.

.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

.

Excellent stay at the Sofitel Hotel in the heart of Lyon

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul G. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

My wife's birthday weekend , perfect location and up grade to junior suite decorated for my wife's birthday . First class service at the hotel , very good concierge service. Enjoyed the breakfasts in the eight floor restaurant and drinks in the the cocktail bar .

Would not recommend that hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great breakfast and restaurant with amazing view. However room are not at the standard you should expect for such hotel. Need to redecorated bedrooms. Far too old furnitures, bathroom are from another century (particularly the toilet), carpet in the corridors and bedroom need to be removed

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to renovate our rooms as soon as possible. Thank you very much for your nice comments about the breakfast and the restaurant. We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future when the rooms will be renovated. Best regards, Pauline, Guest Relation

Platinum member bad experience

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

markgoerlitzca Business - TripAdvisor review

At 9.00 am, the house keeper walked into my room on November 12th without knocking while I was naked. I called front desk to complain and they did nothing. This is the second occurrence. Soaps are cheap dispenser. Room is out dated. TV Chrome cast does not work.

Dear Markgoerlitzca, Thank you for your comment about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry for the incident with the house keeper and understand your disappointment. It is exceptionnal and absolutely does not reflect our five star service. We apologize sincerely. Please rest assured that we took the appropriate measures with the housekeeping departement. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our soap dispenser in your room. Our Balmain products are available in dispensers in order to reduce our environmental footprint : it dicreases drastically the soap and plastic waste. Our customers are usually very enthusiastic with this new solution. Also, we are sorry that you did not like your room. We exchange very regularly with our headquarters about the refurbishments we need. We hope they will take place soon. Last but not least, we are very sorry that the TV Chromecast did not work. Next time, do not hesitate to tell us - we would be more than happy to help you. We sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to regain your trust during your next stay. Best regards.

Hotel in serious need of renovations

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

allangeoff TripAdvisor review

From the outside to the decoration of the rooms and public area, this hotel has not changed since the 1980s. And, ok its August but not possibility of having more than a tapas to eat? (Except for breakfast)

Dear Allangeoff, Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are really sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our priority is always to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important for us. Please rest assured that we will take appropriate measures to embellish our rooms and our catering. We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to better welcome you when our rooms will be renovated. Best regards,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in LYON