The Chen Melbourne - Art Series 4.5 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 1,213 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • Zhong Chen Art and Art Library in every room

  • Uninterupted views of CBD skyline from level 24 Pool Deck

  • Onsite restaurant and room service available.

  • 5 minute walk to Epworth Private Hospital and Box Hill hospital

  • walking distance to Federal, State and Local government depts.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • TULLAMARINE AIRPORTPaying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LaundryPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 2 Restaurant(s)
Business services
  • Copy/print service availablePaying
Information message

Hotel location

The Chen Melbourne - Art Series

850 Whitehorse Road
3128 box hill
australia

Tel: +611300092875

Fax: (+61)3/91310201

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    TULLAMARINE AIRPORT At 36km / 22 miles - Shuttle paying

GPS :-37.817567, 145.118462

Our accommodation(s)

Boasting 100 suites, guests can expect complimentary WiFi, Art Series Signature beds, 49" TVs and super luxe minibar treats. Zhong Chen digital archival fine art editions adorn the walls and are complemented by an in-house art library and artist documentary.

Studio Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 27 / 291 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

Studio Suite with Two Queen Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 27 / 291 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

Deluxe Studio Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 34 / 366 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone

Deluxe Studio Suite Balcony

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 34 / 366 sq ft
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Mini Bar

2 Bedroom Deluxe Interconnecting Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 58 / 624 sq ft
Suites

Our restaurants and bars

GOLDEN LILY

Type of cuisine: International

This spectacular Chinese restaurant will impress as soon as you walk through the doors. Located on the first floor of The Chen Hotel, Golden Lily offers an authentic taste of yum cha dim sum and Chinese cuisine.

WHITEHORSE CHLOE

Type of cuisine: International

Whitehorse Chloe is located in the main foyer opposite the reception desk. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner offering a diverse menu that celebrates modern australian cuisine with an Asian influence.

Our guest reviews for
The Chen Melbourne - Art Series

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

1,213 reviews

Comfortable and convenient

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michelle Solo - 11/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reliable, good quality facilities, convenient location and helpful staff

Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Chen. We greatly value and appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Your experiences will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Nice Pool

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 11/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent

Dear Gayasri, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Chen. We greatly value and appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with Krishna and all of our team. Your experiences will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Great Location - Amazing Service - Awesome Facilities

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Megan Business - 11/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A great stay. I will absolutely be back.

Dear Megan, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Chen. We greatly value and appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Your experiences will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Always a good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Dp Families - 10/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was clean. Pool warm. No towels in pool area which means you need to be a bit careful. Have been here a few times and it is good value

Dear Daniel, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Pool towels are usually stored in our rooms, however due to Covid-19 restrictions and guidelines these have been removed to reduce touch points. They are available upon request from reception. We do hope to be able to return to our usual services soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tan Couples - 09/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was our second stay and we loved it just as much as the first. Will definitely be back.

Dear Tanya, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Madusha de Mel Duty Manager

Great location, comfortable stay.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tanya Couples - 08/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved our stay. Front Office staff extremely polite and helpful. Go above and beyond to make your staff comfortable. Parking is affordable and also has space for a higher 4WD which is very convenient. Will definitely be back.

Dear Tanya, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Reduced service during our stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jaway2 Couples - 07/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed at this property on many occasions since it opened. This was the fist time we could not get parking, and staff were very helpful with options which worked out over a holiday weekend. I was not expecting no service of room for a 3 night stay, but I accepted it. We had a room with kitchenette but this was very limited compared to previous stats. No knives, no bowls. Also no minibar or pool towels or spare loo paper. Hopefully just a COVIDSafe measure that will be adjusted Still good value.

Dear Janet, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. Please allow me to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues with parking. I am pleased to read that we were able to assist you in finding a suitable alternative. Due to COVID-19 restrictions and guidelines, our housekeepers are no longer permitted to enter your room to ensure the safety of both our guests and staff. A few items have also been removed from the room to reduce touch points. All items are still available upon request from reception, including additional toiletries, minibar, and kitchen utensils/supplies. We hope to be able to return to our usual services soon! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to The Chen in the near future. Sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Well located,Poor sound insulation

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Huey C. Couples - 07/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location of Art Series The Chen was fantastic, the central and stores are just few minutes walking distance. The room were nice and clean. However, the room sound insulation is not good, as I can hear the sound from both upstairs and next door rooms during the middle of the night, which is quite an unpleasant experience. Beside that, everything was good.

Dear Huey, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Art Series, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anthony Couples - 07/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Beautiful room, Felt welcomed when checking in. Amazing rooftop areas

Dear Anthony, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Shannyn Couples - 05/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really great service and hotel staff! Great location with lots of good food options

Dear Shannyn, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Madusha de Mel Duty Manager

The room was adequate, the staff friendly but the parking experience was a nightmare!

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Families - 04/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We telephoned to ask about parking. This was quite an ordeal. Park, check in and then navigate back to the car and travel and find a car park. This was confusing and time consuming. A very onerous experience.

Dear Isaac, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Art Series, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Madusha de Mel Duty Ma

good location, but pay me back the $100 you took from me

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Rex V. Couples - 03/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

why wasnt the "covercharge " refunded on our departure??????!!!!!!!

Dear Mr. v., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Art Series, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. According to our records we have charged $18.23 for car parking from your $100 deposit at the time of check out. This was not a charge at time of check in. If this does not reflect in your transaction records please contact the property and we can look in to this further. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Madusha de Mel Duty Manager

Well lovated

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Liz B. Families - 02/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very satisfied with all services

Dear Elizabeth, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service and we will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to Maddy Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Melissa Gason Night Manager

Great

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 02/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff

Dear Elizabeth, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service and we will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to Maddy Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Melissa Gason Night Manager

Bougie rooms

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Liz Business - 01/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved the room, it felt so luxe and bougie. Was kind of hard to find using my phone’s GPS but that could be an Apple issue not the hotel... Desk staff were lovely and welcoming. Enjoyed the amenities in the room, and loved the water pressure in the shower. Also so glad to see you use “who gives a crap” toilet paper!!

Dear Elizabeth, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Audrey R. Families - 31/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly helpful staff clean accomodation Pool amazing Some suggestions would be to have more direct lighting at the top of the stairs by the pool as it’s a safety concern at night and also the bbq area needs to have more direct lighting so u can see what your cooking at night I had to use my phone torch just to see what I was cooking . A microwave in the rooms would be handy as well

Dear Audrey, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Good stay, lovely staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mm Couples - 31/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was for our 15th Anniversary. Perfect timing, not too crowded, barely anyone there. Staff were great and the location was good.

Dear Monch, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Very accommodating

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jack Couples - 30/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The get away from the kids

Dear Jackson, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. We're so glad you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay-cation!! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - 30/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable setting, great shower and located perfectly for my needs. Friendly helpful staff.

Dear Celia, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Chen. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Chen in the near future. Yours sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Fantastic staff, great box hill location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

James Couples - 28/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From the moment we walked in the door the staff were amazing! In particular a huge thanks to Maddy and Melissa who both went out of their way to assist us with some requests that came up as part of our stay. We had our wedding reception booked at Golden Lily downstairs and these two in particular helped us immensely to accommodate us and our guests. The room was well fitted out. Clean etc. The big problems were largely structural. The air conditioning was next to useless and we had the same comment from several friends also staying at the hotel. When we checked in we were informed that “due to coronavirus” the rooms weren’t going to be serviced. I’m sorry but this should have been in big bold block letters all over our booking confirmation. This was completely unacceptable. If we were paying a significantly discounted in accordance with the lack of servicing then fine, but we weren’t. We’re stayed at other Accor hotels in Melbourne who certainly cleaned and serviced our rooms each day. To have to call for extra towels, toiletries etc at a 4 star hotel was a joke. This needs to be communicated when booking. If we’d known well in advance we may not of booked the hotel. Or checked out everyday to ensure a serviced room. The staff were so incredibly fantastic that it’s pulled my rating up a lot to 7.

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Chen, and another big congratulations on your special day! At Art Series, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We completely understand your frustrations in regards to the room servicing. This is a practice that has been implemented throughout all of Art Series hotels to ensure the safety of both our guests and staff. We hope to be able to return to our normal daily services soon, however in the interim please rest assured that we will be taking the appropriate measures to ensure our guests are aware of this when making their reservation. Despite this inconvenience, I am so pleased to read that our staff were able to make a positive impression and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments and compliments. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Maddy Sara Duty Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in box hill