ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 11,731 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile
See on a map
+ 13 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • ALLSAFE Bureau Veritas certified hotel

  • In central Edinburgh with easy access to Edinburgh Castle

  • Facilities for disabled and public outdoor parking

  • Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

  • Hotel Bar & Restaurant with international cuisine

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Laundry
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
Business services
  • Copy/print service availablePaying

Hotel location

ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

77 South Bridge
EH1 1HN
edinburgh
united kingdom

Tel: +441312920000

Fax: (+44)131/2920001

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • LOTHIAN BUSES :  35 SOUTH BRIDGE

  • By plane

    EDINBURGH AIRPORT At 14.4km / 8.95 miles

  • By train

    WAVERLEY STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :55.948617, -3.186982

Our accommodation(s)

Double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Twin room with 2 beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Premium room with Double bed and comfortable seating area

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

FOGG'S

Type of cuisine: International

Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

Lunch

12:00 - 18:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR

Non contractual photo

Unwind with a coffee, sip a chilled sauvignon or bond over a beer or two. Our stylish on-site bar is the perfect place to kick back and relax or spend quality time with your travel companions.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

11,731 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

3,329 reviews

Great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Sarah Couples - 19/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were all super helpful and friendly! Ideal spot and great food and drinks! Very happy!

Dear Sarah We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. Thank you for all your comments I will mention about the yogurts to our breakfast team to keep an eye on that. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stacey, ibis reception

Well located

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mary Couples - 18/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Thank you for your attention during our stay. Was a pleasure to seeing you again during the hard situation that we have today with the pandemic. Hope to see you soon.

Dear MARIA DE LA LUZ N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

Can't fault the hotel or the staff

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mr A. M. C. Couples - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very welcoming and friendly staff, comfy beds and a good night sleep. Lovely food in the restaurant but limited menu. This was our 2nd attempt at a weekend stay in Edinburgh due to lock down measures. Guess what happened this time....Scottish government decided to shut bars and restaurants again, which put a dampener on our visit. However we could not fault the staff or the hotel who did all they could for our comfort. We might even try a 3rd time when this is all back to normal.

Dear MR AND MRS C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Hopefully it wont be too much longer before things return to normal and we can welcome you back again, until then take care. Sincerely, Stacey

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Stewart T. Solo - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was well managed, they had a 1 way system in reception and hand sanitizer available. The team were friendly.

Dear MR T., We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete our survey and provide feedback, as we use this information as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Regards, Stacey

City break

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Gloria Friends - 11/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Value for money friendly hotel in a central location. The room was smaller than expected and the beds were not full size singles , OK for two woman on a girlie weekend but larger men might struggle for comfort. Good shower and large fluffy bath towels. All in all good value for whatever paid.

Dear GLORIA K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests so we know which areas we can work on, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stacey

Excellent staff, Good stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Aneeka Solo - 11/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Firstly, I had to change my booking multiple times due to multiple changes in my flight schedules (cancellations due to covid). However, the administration at your hotel made it so easy for me. Initially there was an issue with my room and I was offered another room. It was a hassle to move my stuff as I was not travelling light. Nevertheless, the whole stay made it all very pleasant. I was able to extend my stay easily as well. The staff always tried to help me out even if they had to go out of their way. They were always present to help out and I really want to mention this that it is not easy due to covid but they always greeted happily. The only issue I faced was that the room service was not great. Even after the cleaning the floor of my room was very dusty. I even brought this up but it was the same. The helper lady was very nice but not sure if there is some lacking in the service.

Dear ANEEKA, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I am sorry that the housekeeping service was lacking for you, please rest assured we will mention it to the team to prevent future occurrences. I am glad however that it did not impact too much on your overall experience. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stacey

Great location and lovely and clean!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Gillian W. Families - 10/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were lovely and left my daughter a handmade birthday card and some Edinburgh rock in the room!

Dear Gillian, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again very soon. If you haven't already, we would be very grateful if you could take a few minutes and share your positive experience with others on <a href=&quot;http://bit.ly/2jZYbVE&quot;>Tripadvisor</a>. Best regards, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

Good location, empty feelinflg

Customer review rating 4.4/5

L Couples - 08/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good check-in quick and easy....room felt used although had been cleaned. No extra pillows in room, breakfast cold options only. Been to other places with hot options to order. Room was bright no windows to open however made it feel stuffy. Would return once breakfast fixed.

Dear L Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. I am sorry that your experience did not quite meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I understand about the breakfast options but t this time we are limited, but i do truly hope that you will come back and stay once again when we resume our normal service. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stacey

Good location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

L C. Couples - 08/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was really disappointed when we arrived at the hotel, it really wasn’t what I expected for the cost. We booked for March and because of lockdown had to rearrange at considerable cost, both the hotel and the flights. Myself and my husband have come to Edinburgh almost every year for the last 15 years for the Fringe festival, so we saw this as an opportunity to see the ‘real Edinburgh’. The room we were allocated had blood stains on the mattress topper so we were moved to another room. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to any friends or family.

Dear Ms C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that the usual Ibis standard, and our beloved hotel, did not meet your expectations. Please note that Ibis is a budget scale brand although the prices could be higher due to the location and the different seasons. As I explained on your arrival it is not the hotel who set the prices but will pass on your concerns to our Head Office for further consideration. With regards to the &quot;stain&quot; on the mattress topper I can just confirm what my colleague explained to you when you raised your concerns on this matter: the mattress topper was clean however there was a mark in the material indeed. I apologize for this, this issue has been forwarded to our linen provider and Housekeeping Management for further investigation. We also appreciate your feedback on our reception area, which is also in line with the Ibis standards and the Covid regulations. If you feel that any of the photos online are misleading, please email me directly and I will have them checked with our marketing team. Please note that due to the pandemic we had to change the layout of the public areas as our guests' and team's health and safety is the utmost priority. I'm really sorry that you felt disappointed. Our Team works hard to provide an excellent service and experience to all our guests but I can see that we failed to do so in your case. I can only wish that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better on another occasion. I remain at your service. Kind regards, Daniel Hajas Front Office Manager

Very good location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 06/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Location was amazing, but I can’t say my room was very clean even with all of what’s happening due to Covid. No one even cleaned our room after 3days, we we been told at the reception maybe that’s even better consider women who was cleaning other rooms wasn’t even wearing face shield or face mask!

Dear ELIZABETE,, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry that you did not fully understand that your room would not be serviced during your stay, we did state it on the information sheet provided at check in. Never the less please let me apologize and please rest assured that we will look into the matters which you have brought up. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stacey, ibis reception

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Abbie Friends - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly staff, clean room with everything you need.

Dear ABBIE, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again very soon. If you haven't already, we would be very grateful if you could take a few minutes and share your positive experience with others on <a href=&quot;http://bit.ly/2jZYbVE&quot;>Tripadvisor</a>. Best regards, Elena Front Office Team Member

Good, comfortable stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Pauline Couples - 03/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent location, good covid measures at breakfast, very comfortable sleep and clean room.

Dear Pauline S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

Well located

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Dan M. Friends - 03/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a great nights sleep, bed was comfy, room was clean and the staff were friendly.

Dear Daniel M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

Good stay nice staff

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Denise A. Solo - 02/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

iv stayed here a few times find it very good for my needs friendly staff

Dear Denise A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

Great central location near the train station

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Adrienne Couples - 01/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great hotel and staff

Dear ADRIENNE , Thank you for choosing the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile we are so thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay. I shall pass on your regards to Floriane I am sure she will be hay that her efforts have been noticed. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stacey, ibis reception

Great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Andrew M. Solo - 30/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were great, location was just off the Royal Mile great price, 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh waverly Station.

Thank you very much Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards, Stacey, ibis reception

Great! Well located and Clean!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Farah.f Couples - 28/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect! We had a very nice stay thanks to the reception teams, The breakfast was very good, the bed was big and comfortable, and everything was clean :). The location is very central, many shops and restaurants are just down the hotel! 2 minutes away! i loved it :)

Dear FARAH, Thank you for choosing ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile for your visit to Edinburgh.We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stacey, ibis reception

Great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Molly M. Couples - 27/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were so friendly and thanks so much for my Birthday Card! Really clean & quiet. Only one wee negative is only having one pillow each, but I should have asked for another and I'm sure you guys would have happy to provide this.

Dear MOLLY M., Thanks so much for your comments we appreciate it. I am so happy that you liked your card! I hope that you had lots of fun celebrating your birthday in Edinburgh. You are completely right we would have been more than happy to provide you with extra pillows, we keep them near reception. Next time you will know :) Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards, Stacey, ibis reception

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Susan Families - 27/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was well placed for central Edinburgh.

Dear SUSAN, Thank you very much for your kind review, we are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I hope that you will come again soon. Kind regards, Stacey, ibis reception

Not the most comfortable

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Aaron B. Couples - 26/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was really basic and the mattress on the bed was more like a mattress topper. One 1 pillow per person without extras in the room. When I say basis I mean basic. The cupboards did not have doors etc on them.

Dear Jamie-Lee, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that due to covid restrictions we don't place extra pillows in the rooms, however we provide them upon request. I'm sorry to hear that the breakfast selection did not meet your expectations. Due to Covid restrictions we can't provide the usual cooked buffet, though our selection is wider than the usual Ibis standards. We'll have a look and see what improvements we could do in order to offer a better service. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Daniel Hajas Front Office Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in edinburgh