ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile Hotel 3 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 3,239 reviews
ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile
See on a map
+ 12 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • 259 modern guest rooms with family rooms available

  • In central Edinburgh with easy access to Edinburgh Castle

  • Facilities for disabled and public outdoor parking

  • Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

  • Hotel Bar & Restaurant with international cuisine

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Laundry
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
Business services
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

77 South Bridge
EH1 1HN
edinburgh
united kingdom

Tel: +441312920000

Fax: (+44)131/2920001

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • LOTHIAN BUSES :   35 SOUTH BRIDGE

  • By plane

    EDINBURGH AIRPORT At 14.4km / 8.95 miles

  • By train

    WAVERLEY STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :55.948617, -3.186982

Our accommodations

Double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Twin room with 2 beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Premium room with Double bed and comfortable seating area

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Our restaurants and bars

FOGG'S

Type of cuisine: International

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

Lunch

12:00 - 18:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Unwind with a coffee, sip a chilled sauvignon or bond over a beer or two. Our stylish on-site bar is the perfect place to kick back and relax or spend quality time with your travel companions.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

11,020 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

3,239 reviews

Location good

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Eddiesangel Couples - 06/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Return visit met with usual expectations Room clean basic and somewhat utilitarian but fine if you are only sleeping here Breakfast good plenty of choice staff friendly and efficient very busy most of the time some queues noisy in main area No coffee or tea on offer on reception unlike other ibis styles only hot chocolate Recommend here close to museum of Scotland and the city are centre but an uphill walk from Waverley Good for Cowgate and the Grassmarket and if your legs work you can easily walk from one end of the city to the other

Good place for a short visit to Edinburgh

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Annie Couples - 29/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room very clean and quiet. Bed comfortable. Good breakfast. Good central spot for experiencing Edinburgh. Unhappy with ... length of time waiting for a sandwich at lunchtime! Door to shower room very noisy. Probably woke the neighbours! More coffee, milk etc. Would have been useful. Had to go to reception to obtain more.

Dear ANNIE T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. My apologizes about the noise from the bathroom door and the replenishment with the milk and coffee. Also with the inconvenience during the lunchtime. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Pablo HUERTAS Front Office - Team Member

Nice friendly warm welcome

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Giovanna Couples - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Satisfied

Noisy

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Simon M Solo travel - 27/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Hotel fine except for the noise and vibrations from the club next door which continued until 3am so ruined my stay. I complained at the time and on check out but have heard nothing so will be contacting them for a refund

Great location and nice room.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ellen Solo - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is in a great location. The room was simple, but clean and efficient. Unfortunately, I was woken up each night by the partying at the pubs nearby. The staff was friendly, but refused to give me a receipt when I checked out, saying I need to contact hotels.com for the receipt. My stay was good until this. I don’t think it was an unusual request and left me with a bad impression.

Dear ELLEN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry for any inconvenience might caused.As it was explained, your reservation was made by a third party in that case expedia.com. In addition to that we charged a virtual card provided by expedia and the hotel is not allowed to disclosure the information of the payment. You paid straight to the company that is why they are able to provide your invoice. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

A great place to stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Kathy M. Solo - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Ibis Hotel South Bridge is located in a good part of Edinburgh, right off the Royal Mile. There are great restaurants and pubs, museums, shops, and lots of city buses. The staff at the Ibis were welcoming, helpful and friendly. My room was warm and comfortable. An excellent breakfast. I shall be coming back to Edinburgh with a friend in April 2020, and will again be staying at the Ibis.

Dear KATHARINE, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again very soon. If you haven't already, we would be very grateful if you could take a few minutes and share your positive experience with others on <a href=&quot;http://bit.ly/2jZYbVE&quot;>Tripadvisor</a>. Best regards, Katerina - Front Office Team Member

Wonderful experience!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Aurora L. Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The facilities are great, the staff are friendly and helpful, the place is very accessible.

Dear AURORA L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yvan-Reception

Poisoning pigeons in the park (tongue in cheek)

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Freda Couples - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Couldn’t find reception when we arrived. Discovered we had walked straight through it. No clear indication of who was on duty & no queuing system. Woman ahead of us asked for a room near a lift as she was travelling alone. Not offered, but should be standard for safety. Room was set out as a twin, not a double as requested. Sorted promptly by house keeping. Accessible shower was good. View from room - pigeon excrement - not pleasant.

Everyone of your staff fro. Welcome to leaving is worth their weight in gold.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Irene F. Families - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I arrived early, being home In Edinburgh because of a sudden death in my family from Australia. After travelling unexpectedly nearly 17000klm I was quite fragile but your staff from the moment I arrived took Special care of me. Nothing was any bother to them and I witnessed this at all times with other guests too. Special mention to Tracy who attended to me on arrival, Anna also who showed genuine empathy and always had a smile for everyone. Daniel, in the Bar, along with another tall chap serving meals showed they loved their guests and their jobs and went the extra mile. I would stay there again because of your staff.

Dear Irene F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yvan-Reception

Not good value for money

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Neil Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Given the price paid, which was a cheaper advance booking. I still felt that it was not good value for money. The room was basic, the bathroom cramped. And the air conditioning unit kept turning on and off during the night, worst 2 nights sleep I’ve had in a hotel in a long time. Added breakfast onto the booking, it was average, everything was overcooked, sausage, potato scones, the haggis was plasticity mush and the boiled eggs had been in FAR too long. Will not be booking Ibis again.

Noisy club ruined my stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Simon Solo - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Appalling. The noise from the club below kept me awak until it stopped at 3am. How a hotel could be built next to a loud club or one be allowed to open near a hotel I don't know. Ruined my short break

Good

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Enise B. Solo - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good. Clean. Convenient location. Especially the £5 vouchers if opting out of room cleaning service and changing towels if staying more than one night.

Dear NUR A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Pablo HUERTAS Front Office - Team Member

clean, well stocked and helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Julie H. Friends - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very efficient front staff, but give them a seat to sit on please!!!! Found that toilet rolls were sparse and if two staying in a room, possibly a further roll if the one on the holder is almost used.

Dear Julie H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We will take in consideration your comments to make even better your next stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Pablo HUERTAS Front Office - Team Member

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

. Couples - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

All staff friendly and helpful

Dear Jacqui C.,, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Yvan-Front office

very satisfying

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ulrike Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

a short visit for a conference

Dear ULRIKE B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Pablo HUERTAS Front Office - Team Member

Outstanding

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Daniel G. Couples - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

From checking to checking out the whole process was easy and hassle free. The room was immaculate and I couldn't fault our stay. We will definitely be stopping here on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Dear CHARLOTTE, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again very soon. If you haven't already, we would be very grateful if you could take a few minutes and share your positive experience with others on <a href=&quot;http://bit.ly/2jZYbVE&quot;>Tripadvisor</a>. Best regards, Pablo HUERTAS Front Office - Team Member

I woke up because of the noise of a neighboring pub/bar at 2:00 in the morning.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Solo - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

My experience with this hotel was bad because I was woken up by the noise of a neighboring pub and could not sleep for two hours. You could not only hear the loud music, but also the screaming of the guests and the disposal of glass. Apart from that, the hotel would have been fine.

Very pleasant stay. No issues.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Harry G. Families - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had no issues. It was our second stay in that particular Hotel. Staff very accommodating. Room clean and well presented.

Dear HARRY G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yvan-Reception

Pretty good

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Richard Solo - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location, reasonable price for size of room. Could have done with more teabags/milk in room and a kettle that plugged in nearer the tea/coffee area.

Dear JULIE A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We will take your comments in consideration to make your next experience even better than the previous one. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Pablo HUERTAS Front Office - Team Member

Good hotel in prime location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

David H. Business - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was lovely and the little extras provided (water, fruit and chocolates and popcorn) a lovely touch. Check in was a disaster. No queing system, folks milling around, no priority desk, card machines not working. Bar good but again spoilt by food ordered not making it from the servers tablet to the kitchen. Only got it after a reminder.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in edinburgh