Information message

ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square (new rooms) Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 7,669 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square (new rooms)
See on a map
+ 6 Services

Hotel extras

  • Moments from the Royal Mile and all the major attractions

  • Unique bar experience with choice of Whisky and Scottish Gin

  • Fogg's Restaurant serves a choice of regional cuisine

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service

Hotel location

ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square (new rooms)

6 Hunter Square
Off Royal Mile
EH1 1QW edinburgh
united kingdom

Tel: +441316192800

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    EDINBURGH TURNHOUSE At 13km / 8.13 miles

  • By car

    A1 At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    M8 At 10km / 6.25 miles

  • By car

    M90 At 10km / 6.25 miles

  • By train

    HAYMARKET At 3.22km / 2 miles

  • By train

    WAVERLEY At 0km / 0 miles

GPS :55.949698, -3.187988

Our accommodation(s)

Inviting, modern and cosy, with a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. The ibis room has got everything you need for a pleasant stay. Hotel 100% non smoking

Our restaurants and bars

FOGG'S @ IBIS ROYAL MILE

Type of cuisine: Regional

Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

BAR

Unwind with a coffee, sip a chilled sauvignon or bond over a beer or two. Our stylish on-site bar is the perfect place to kick back and relax or spend quality time with your travel companions.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

Our guest reviews for
ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square (new rooms)

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

7,669 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,861 reviews

Modern, Clean & Central Location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

stevefly82 26/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Modern hotel in central location. The hotel was clean with simple but well appointed rooms. The staff were polite and helpful, and hotel has good on-site facilities. We used it to stay for a night prior to an early morning trip from Waverley Station. It was easy to access to and from the station. The immediate area has plenty of eating and drinking options, and the overall location is central for all Edinburgh attractions.

Enjoyable Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kirsti A. Families - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean and welcoming. Fantastic location!

Thank you very much Kirsti! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon! :D Marina

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Denise Solo - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Your towels need to be replaced. I remember visiting two years ago and they were in slightly better condition. I accept that rooms aren't cleaned daily. If you offer tea and coffee services then rooms should get these replenished daily. I asked for coffee and had to swap my coffee decaffeinated for caffeinated!

Thank you for your review Denise! Thank you for your understanding regarding the daily cleaning. As we don't clean the rooms everyday, we can't know if our guests need more coffee or tea, (we try to enter the rooms the less possible). However, at reception we have plenty of coffee and decaf coffee, tea, milk and sugar. If you would like to book again with us, just let us know and we can give you extra decaf coffee! :D Kind regards, Marina

The hotel is ideally located for attractions and tours.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Carol Solo - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff are extremely helpful. They are happy to help direct you from anything like a prearranged tour, to a nice local restaurant to meet a friend. The hotel itself is very welcoming and clean, but as my stay was only 2 nights was not cleaned due to covid restrictions. Hunters sqare was noisy but no fault of hotel.

Thank you very much for your review Carol! We are glad you found our staff helpful, we always try to make our guests feel as homely as possible :D Marina

Amazing stay great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul J. Friends - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Thank you for looking after us wee had an amazing stay loved this hotel will be back soon

Thank you very much Paul! We always try take care of our guests, we are happy you felt that way! :) Kind regards, Marina

Well Located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Lynne Couples - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointed with the bed it was 2 single put together for a double was not comfortable

Thank you for your review Lynne! We are sorry you didn't found comfortable our beds, sometimes we have to adapt and we have to change the bed types everyday. If you would like to stay again with us, just let us know about your experience and we can try to allocate you in a better room! Marina

Good location, Poor hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We arrived at the hotel at 13:42 and we asked if we could pay to check in early and change but was told this was not an option and to come back at 2pm (18 mins later) we had tickets for the zoo for 14:00 and were already running late so we decided to just leave our luggage. When returning after our trip to the zoo we were given a room on 5th floor (room 512) the room was tiny, bathroom was so claustrophobic you couldn’t have 2 people in there to brush teeth and carpet had stains on. Considering this room cost us £117 I have stayed in better premier inn hotels for less than £30. I have stayed in plenty of ibis hotels both in the UK and also in Europe and they have been great. This hotel did not live up to the usual ibis standard and we were disappointed. Edinburgh is a beautiful city and we will return to fully explore but sadly will not be booking to stay at any ibis hotels.

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry you were running late to the zoo, however, we can't guarantee an early check in. We always try to give our guests their rooms sooner than later, though sometimes we can't always do that. Regarding the price, (and related as well with the early check in), summer and Christmas are the busiest periods for tourism, so usually prices rises in touristic accommodations. Finally, we are sorry you didn't find the room big enough, if you would like, you can send us a more extended feedback to our email h2… If you change your mind about staying with us in the future, just let us know about these concerns, and we can try to allocate you in a bigger room :D Kind regards, Marina

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Marc Couples - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Spacious room, comfortable bed, fantastic location

Thank Marc! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us :D Marina

Great place

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mona Solo - 23/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a great stay here. The location is perfect for going anywhere in Edinburgh.

Hello, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hannah

Another good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Marilyn M. Couples - 23/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We are regular visitors to this Ibis- has to be one of if not the favourite. This was our first visit since January 2020 due to Covid.

Dear Marilyn, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Hannah

Good central location and comfy rooms

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ingthor H. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay for a specific visit to Edinburgh. Close to Royal Mile for food and drink. Were unlucky that there was some building work happening next door to sit outside in next doors restuarant and there was a congregation of street drinkers on the square opposite (none of which the hotel’s fault). Pleasant and courteous staff.

Good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Paul D. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay, friendly staff.

Lovely break

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John C. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located,staff always friendly and helpful

Super location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Eilish C. Families - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location, clean rooms , just a bit of a strange sweaty smell in one of the rooms we had booked , other one was perfect .pleasant staff , will definitely be back

A two night stay in Edinburgh

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bernie W. Couples - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

All staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to keep our bicycles inside in a safe place. Covid-19 restrictions were well followed and we felt safe at all times. There was a good choice for breakfast and my gluten free needs were catered for. The hotel is very central being just off the royal mile. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Great location and hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jw Couples - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy check-in (and they let us check in early), great room, great location and really helpful staff. Not the best view and the square outside felt a little unsafe but other than that I would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Pleasant staff and great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Munish A. Families - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The property is located at a prime location and staff is super friendly. We made some exceptional request at times to help with the baby food and staff was more than willing to help. Rooms were big enough for a family and absolutely clean. Loved our stay!

Amazing Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Linda P 17/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Myself and my daughter stayed here in April, the staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was modern and absolutely spotless. Despite no hot options breakfast was plentyfull. We would definitely come back

Hello Linda, Thank you for your positive feedback. The entire team is happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Your feedback will act as an encouragement to keep striving for excellence. We are very much looking forward to being able to have our Scottish breakfast buffet back in action. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Edinburgh in near future so you can experience the breakfast in full swing and the gorgeous city we are in. Thanks again for your feedback and see you soon. All the best, Justiina - Ibis team member

Dougie elliotts stay at ibis edinburgh centre

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

dougie e 29/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel was amazing the staff are fantastic and go above and beyond to make me feel welcome. The rooms are great and i enjoy the views of edinburgh, food is first class as is the service, the location is superb as you are right in the heart of old edinburgh. I cant wait to go back,d..❤

Hello Dougie! Thank you for this amazing review, We will try our best to give you the room with view on the square, so you can take as many photos as you want =) It was a pleasure seeing you again! Take care, Laetitia Front office Manager

A great hotel for exploing Edinburgh

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

K7693NCjohnb 19/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is situated just off the Royal Mile, within easy walking distance of Waverley station, hop-on/off buses and airport link buses. Staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel has a lift and the bedrooms, although not large, are clean, comfortable and well presented. Breakfast was good, with a selection of both hot and cold options, fruit and drinks. The hotel has no restaurant, but there is a multitude of places to eat within a minute or twos walk. Overall a great hotel for exploring Edinburgh.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in edinburgh