ibis Koeln Centrum Hotel 2 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 1,545 reviews
ibis Koeln Centrum
See on a map
+ 16 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Excellent connections to the Barbarossaplatz and Poststraße public transport stops

  • 50% of our rooms have been renovated rooms for you

  • 63 underground parking spaces in the city center (charges apply)

  • Multilingual staff who are already looking forward to welcoming you

  • Large selection of restaurants in the direct vicinity

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 bar(s)
Leisure and activities
  • Bike rack facilities
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Up to and including August 2018, extensive renovation work will be carried out around the bedroom area of our hotel. We will do all we can to keep disruption to a minimum. Our hotel's new design is certainly something to look forward to.

Hotel location

ibis Koeln Centrum

Neue Weyerstrasse 4
50676
koeln
germany

Tel: +4922120960

Fax: (+49)221/2096199

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • U16 - U18 :   U16 - U18 BARBAROSSAPLATZ

  • By plane

    DUESSELDORF At 50km / 31.25 miles

  • By plane

    FRANKFURT RHEIN MAIN At 173km / 107.5 miles

  • By plane

    KOELN BONN AIRPORT At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By car

    KLETTENBERG At 4km / 2 miles

  • By car

    KÖLN ZENTRUM At 2.5km / 1.56 miles

  • By car

    LOEWENICHIWEIDEN At 8km / 5 miles

  • By train

    COLOGNE/KOELN At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    KÖLN BAHNOF At 3.5km / 2.19 miles

GPS :50.929936, 6.944955

Our accommodations

Comfort day and night: our 208 rooms are soundproofed, with generous Sweet Bed by ibis beds for a stress-free night's sleep, adjustable air conditioning, desk, free WIFI and TV including a choice of Sky channels.

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

MyRoom by Sophie: Alpine hut/room with 2 single Sweet Beds by ibis

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 13
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

MyRoom by Erdem: The Orient Room/Standard Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 13
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

MyRoom by Jo-Ann: Home Away from Home/Standard Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 13
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Business Desk

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Business Desk

Our restaurants and bars

BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Our bar is always there for you: Every day, we serve round-the-clock beverages and refreshments, hot drinks and tasty food. Crispy paninis are available in five delicious versions, and can also be taken away! Live sporting events are shown on Sky.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 37

  • Maximum capacity: 25 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
ibis Koeln Centrum

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

3,624 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,545 reviews

Delivered a great experience as we expect from Ibis

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Joseph M. Couples - 05/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Central, comfortable and friendly staff

Dear Joseph F M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

nobody likes unpleasant surprises

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Kyriacos Couples - 05/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

it's unacceptable not to include taxes in rooms price and being asked to pay 5% (or whatsoever) extra at the check-in. it ruins your budget and the whole experience. I've booked in accor group hotels all over the world many times, always through booking.com and i always knew the exact amount i had to pay and so i was happy. i'm very disappointed and i'm thinking to move legally against the group.

Dear Kyriacos K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. The city of Cologne receives this local tax of 5% of the overnight price from all private travelers. This fact is pointed out on all internet platforms. If there are any disagreements, I apologize. The hotel serves the involvement of all hoteliers, involuntarily but forcedly as tax collectors. Unfortunately we are legally obliged. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Does the job

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Nicole Couples - 03/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Average hotel in a fairly central location. Good location for exploring, 20-25min walk to the centre or 10min on a scooter. Rooms are very small and loud as the hotel is on the main road but fine for just a night or two. Clean and staff friendly.

Dear Nicole J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Value for money. Clean and Cozy

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Labanyendu Couples - 02/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean and cosy rooms. Small but well organised. Hotel staff was good.

Geachte Labanyendu N., Wij stellen uw opmerkingen over uw verblijf in ibis Koeln Centrum erg op prijs. Het is altijd prettig om positieve reacties te mogen ontvangen. Uw opmerkingen zullen wij overbrengen aan ons team. Wij zijn ervan overtuigd, dat uw reactie ons personeel zal stimuleren om voortdurend te blijven streven naar een hoge kwaliteit van onze dienstverlening. Nogmaals bedankt voor het delen van uw ervaringen en wij hopen dat uw volgende bezoek even prettig zal verlopen als het vorige. Hoogachtend, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Good overall.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Andre S. Couples - 30/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Visting the city. Good location, only thing I would say is, the bathrooms are quite small and awkwardly positioned.

Dear Andre S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We wish you all the best for the new year! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Amazing

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Maja Couples - 30/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location is great, clean hotel, friendly staff

Dear Maja T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We wish you all the best for the new year! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ok Couples - 30/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect

Sehr geehrter Herr K., wir danken Ihnen vielmals für Ihre Bewertung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt im ibis Köln Centrum. Über Ihre lobenden Worte freuen wir uns sehr. Ihre positiven Würdigungen werden wir selbstverständlich gerne an die betreffenden Mitarbeiter weiterleiten. Wir wünschen für das neue Jahrzehnt alles erdenklich Gute! Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit herzlichen Grüßen Thomas Keilbar Hoteldirektor

Ibis Koeln Centrum

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Isabel M. Couples - 29/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Checking in on line was waste of time as we waited for ages to check in and had to complete more paperwork. We have stayed here before but the room we had for 4 nights was tiny. You had to be quite slim to squeeze by the basin to reach the toilet in the bathroom. There were a few hangers but nowhere to put any clothes. The duvet was heavy and lumpy and so were the pillows ( we changed those). There was an enormous tv, nearly a metre wide!!! I complained to reception about the size of the room for 4 nights but there was nothing they could do. The hotel was busy on one of the nights but it certainly didn't seem full. We had booked in advance. I couldn't really recommend staying for longer than 1 night. We have had better rooms previously.

Dear Barry M., Dear Daniela, thank you for your review of your stay in our hotel in Cologne. We are very sorry that you did not feel 100% comfortable in our hotel. Due to the construction, the rooms including the bathrooms in the ibis Hotel Köln Centrum with 13.4 m² are somewhat smaller than an ibis standard room. The hotel has very few slightly larger rooms. We apologize that we were not quick enough when we checked in. Nevertheless, I hope that you were satisfied with our hospitality. Best wishes for the new decade! Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Good value for money.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Robin Families - 28/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Efficient, friendly. Room clean, agreeably arranged. Quiet. In particular: EXCELLENT breakfast. Good value for money. Hotel conveniently situated. All that we need for a short stay.

Dear ROBIN L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We wish you all the best for the new decade! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Convenient, nice hotel.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Mark D. Families - 28/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Conveniently located near Barbarossaplatz, so close to public transportation to get around Cologne. Hotel was clean, nice lobby and very friendly staff. I booked this hotel as it was close to where I needed to be and had indoor parking. Room was small as was the bathroom but sufficient for a short stay. As with almost all German hotels it lacks American features like A/C (not necessary at this time of year anyway) and ice machines. And be sure to pack wash clothes if you use them. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was standard fare continental buffet. Great crispy rolls, cheese, sliced meats, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, fruit, yogurt, etc.

Dear Mark D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. The hotel rooms have a fan coil and can be supplied with coolness in summer. We wish you all the best for the new decade! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Basic but comfortable

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Jean S. Couples - 22/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Basic rooms but clean. Very pleasant and efficient staff who were helpful when asked for anything.

Dear Jean S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a good start to the new decade. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Nice hotel, nice stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Nibat Friends - 16/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not as close to the centre as the name suggests, but nice hotel nonetheless. New Ibis decoration throughout, pretty comfy bed, good WiFi and a very good selection of TV channels. All in all, a very good place to stay!

Dear Irkus B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Good value and friendly reception staff

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Value F. M. H. Families - 13/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Warm and friendly h. Cheerful reception staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Ideally placed for the different Christmas markets. Excellent breakfasts.

Dear Bryan John H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Sanjay M. Business - 12/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

+ Breakfast was good. Clean and friendly staff. - Super tiny room with a super tiny bathroom. Heating was old fashioned.

Dear Sanjay M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Great place to stay for a visit to the Christmas markets Cologne

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Karen R Friends getaway - 12/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

We had a very comfortable 5 night stay at this hotel. The room was clean and although the bathroom was very small, it was more than adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. Only 4 stops on the tram to the Cathedral. Would definitely stay here again, we had a great time.

Dear Karen R., Thank you very much for your rating and comments on this portal. We look forward to welcoming you again. Your ibis Team Köln Centrum

Short stay!

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

puneetchellaram Couples - 03/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

We stayed here for a night only. We had booked a train journey from Amsterdam to Cologne and had our train cancelled. As a result, we had been travelling for 6 hours and were left with only a few hours to spend in Cologne. The staff who helped us with the check in was really professional, kind and extremely helpful. He suggested the places we should visit, places to eat and drink and even marked these for us on a map, so that we could save time and make the most of stay. I only wish I could recall his name to give him all the due credit for being helpful.

Dear puneetchellaram, thank you so much for this great review. We are happy to hear that we could help you making the best of the situation. In general the entire staff gets to read all the reviews so probably the colleague who took care of you will read it and be happy to hear that he could help. Probably you did not make it to see all the beautiful and interesting sites Cologne has to offer so we would be happy to welcome you again here! Best regards and wishes for Christmas, your team from ibis Köln Centrum

Nice stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

A., M. Business - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a nice stay as I used to in Ibis hotels, but rooms in this hotel is a little bit smaller than other Ibis hotels in Europe! City tax wasn't mentioned to be paid in my booking confirmation, so I paid it, then when I confirmed my stay is for business reasons I got them back! I think reception should ask first reason for visit before collecting city tax or should be mentioned clearly in booking confirmation! Over all experience was so good, nice hotel and easily accessible by public transportation!

Dear Mr. A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Regarding your remarks on the whole city-tax-process I can tell you what the can fully understand that. Unfortunately we are forced to claim the tax from the guests by the city of Cologne. We will do our best to optimize the handling in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ricarda von Foller Assistant to Manager

Very good. Few areas can be improved

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ni… Solo - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good experience, but disappointed not having a wardrobe in the room, breakfast must be improved with a different selection of egg preparation; need to improve the quality of bread as it is hard as rock - someone knowing about good quality bread in Germany, it is disappointing.

Dear Nilmin N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Koeln Centrum. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I will tell our staff in the breakfast area of your experience. We will certainly be able to improve this. Thanks for the hint. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Bed bug infested room

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Unlucky G. Families - 12/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have had a horrible experience staying in this hotel. The room I was given was infested with bed bugs. Never again.

Dear Claudia E., First of all, I thank you for being so open and sharing your experience with us. After detailed check In this matter, we would like to inform you that we closed the room you occupied and have thoroughly checked and unfortunately a pest infestation was found. We want to assure you that such pest incidence is not due to poor hygiene and care. Unfortunately, it is due to the constant fluctuation of guests always possible that vermin is introduced. An initial contamination is on not recognizable at first sight and can neither with usual cleaning agents or constant change of the bedlinen still be avoided. In fact, therefore, we rely on customer feedback and can usually only respond because of this instead of acting preventively - we hereby apologize. Of course, the necessary control measures were taken already initiated and started by a specialist company. We deeply regret the inconvenience! Sincerely, Thomas Keilbar General Manager

Could be better

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ms Business - 06/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hot water kettle and coffee Sachs in room would be great

Dear Mr. S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Koeln Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Regarding your annotations concerning a hot water kettle in the room I can tell you that the fire risk coming from these items is extremely high. This is why we have decided to not put them up. But we are happy to welcome and serve you at our 24h opened bar. Concerning your comment on the vegeterian products on the breakfast buffet I can inform that we will do our best to increase the variety. Sincerely, Ricarda von Foller Assistant to Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in koeln