Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 3,389 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
See on a map
+ 27 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Location: Central, RAI staion and A10, business district

  • Breakfast buffet: American Breakfast

  • Congress center: 1000m² of meeting space

  • Eat, sleep, meet under one roof

  • 120 parking spaces

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PMPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 20 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Amsterdam City

Europaboulevard 10
1083 AD
amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31207219179

Fax: (+31)20/6462823

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • From Central Station :   51 Amstelveen RAI

  • From Central Station :   4 RAI RAI (Last Stop)

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 64km / 39.77 miles

  • By plane

    SCHIPHOL AIRPORT At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By boat

    AMSTERDAM CENTRAL STATION At 6.6km / 4.1 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 13.5km / 8.39 miles

  • By car

    RINGROAD SOUTH At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 3.3km / 2.05 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAAL STATION At 6.6km / 4.1 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION ( TRAM 4 METRO 50/51 At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 2.3km / 1.43 miles

GPS :52.333579, 4.888825

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs. We treat your children as our VIP guests. Accommodation and breakfast are free of charge for one child up to 16 years when sharing a room with their parents or grandparents.

STANDARD ROOM WITH QUEEN-SIZE BED

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

STANDARD ROOM WITH QUEEN BED (renovated)

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

EXECUTIVE ROOM WITH QUEEN BED (renovated)

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

STANDARD ROOM 2 SINGLE BEDS (renovated)

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

STANDARD TRIPLE ROOM WITH QUEEN BED & SOFA BED

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Double Room for persons with reduced mobility

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT URBN FOOD & DRINK

Type of cuisine: International

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

We are more than happy to welcome you in our restaurant and bar. Our restaurant is open, relaxed and stylish. The menu is varied and the dishes are pure and honest. Feel welcome.

Lunch

11:00 - 17:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:00 - 23:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR-LOUNGE@NOVOTEL

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

In our 49-ft (15-meter) long bar, we serve a wide range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and a selection of home-made sushi and tapas. Our bar is the perfect location for a drink, whether with a small or large group.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 20

  • Maximum size: 185

  • Maximum capacity: 176 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 110 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Amsterdam City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

13,470 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

3,389 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Not worth it

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Jesper M. Business - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Extremely expensive, compared to what was offered.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for dedicating your time to review your experience with Novotel Amsterdam City. We wish you had a much more pleasant experience. Our roomrates are flexible and will change when the demand in Amsterdam increases. Just like in any other hotel. We constantly work on meeting and exceeding our guest expectations, and therefore, we would love to have a chance to welcome you again at the Novotel Amsterdam City and hope to provide you with the level of service that results in high satisfaction of many of our guests on the regular. Erica G. Management Assistant

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.2/5

John S. Couples - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything went well

Dear John S., Thank you so much for evaluating your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City so positively! We are so proud to hear that we have managed to meet and, hopefully, even exceed your expectations, and thank you for taking the time to let us know we have provided you with an entirely pleasant experience. We would appreciate it greatly if you also take a minute to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you and we hope to welcome you at our hotel again in the near future, and we will, as always, do our absolute best to make you have a good time and enjoy every aspect of your stay. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

Pleasant

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Jayaraman R. Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay at the hotel was satisfying.

Dear Jayaraman R., How great it is to hear that we have managed to fully meet your expectations with your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive impression of our hotel, we appreciate it greatly and hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Families - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We like the hotel lobby, which was spacious. The receptionist was friendly at all times. We enjoyed the breakfast and the fresh orange juice. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. The only thing we didn’t like was the renovation that was going on that time.

Dear Valued Guest, It is lovely to hear that everything from the rooms to the attentiveness of our personnel left you feeling so pleased with the Novotel Amsterdam City! We thank you for taking the time to let us know we have managed to impress you this much. We are indeed completing a renovation of the corridors. Once the renovation is completed, we would love to get a chance to welcome you back in our hotel to show the beautiful result. Erica G. Management Assistant

Stayed to attend the METS at the RAI

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

JRCTIM Business - 25/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Clean facility with very efficient staff, short walk to the RAI which is a nice way to start and finish the day. The breakfast facilities are fantastic, the restaurant looked great but i didn't use it. The staff were very slow at the bar, not really fair to punish the Novotel for this though. The lifts were slow when busy but not really an inconvenience.

Dear JRCTIM, Thank you so much for this positive review of your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City and the compliments for our breakfast and the reastaurant. We appreciate your understanding and you taking the time to let us know that the efficiency of our staff at the bar was not up to your expectations. We are glad to hear that this was not the case at other parts of the hotel and that you feel like you received sufficient attentiveness in other aspects of your stay. We would love to welcome you again and demonstrate you the top level of service we are known to deliver to lots of our guests on the regular, and in the meantime we will continue working on improving the consistency of this top level of service. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

Not great

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

annoyedguest2018 Business - 25/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Having been a platinum member of Accor for a number of years and using the chain for nearly all our company business because of the consistent standards if was a real shame to stay in the Novotel in Amsterdam. The stay seemed particularly expensive compared to normal but I guess that's just supply and demand however, what was very disappointing was the fact you walked out of the lift and there were dust sheets all over the floor and more worryingly wires poking out of the walls and ceiling. To make matters worse first thing in the morning there was a man on a ladder outside my door banging on the ceiling for an hour. I understand work needs to be done but either do it floor by floor and don't use that floor for guests or let people know and offer discounts. Very poor service.

Loved the place

Customer review rating 4.2/5

R N. Business - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy and relaxing from check in to check out.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for evaluating your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City so positively. We are so proud to hear that we have managed to meet your expectations, and thank you for taking the time to let us know we have provided you with a pleasant experience. We would appreciate it greatly if you also take a minute to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you and we hope to welcome you at our hotel again in the near future, and we will, as always, do our absolute best to make you have a good time and enjoy every aspect of your stay. Erica G. Management Assistant

Good stay with close proximity to RAI

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Fredrik Business - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Painfully slow check in. Good room but the corridor was under construction. Breakfast was really good. Fast and easy quick check out.

Dear Fredrik, Thank you for this positive review of your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, and found our location convenient for you. That's a shame that you experienced a slower check in than usual. It can happen at times with an unpredictably high amount of arrivals all at once. Luckily the check out went smoothly for you. And we apologize for the inconvenience associated with the renovation. We work hard to finish this project as soon as possible and provide our guests with a fresh and modern look and feel of all the parts of the hotel. We would love to get a chance to welcome you again and do our absolute best to make an even better impression and provide you with a pleasant experience of our constantly improving quality of service and comfort of our guests, which we put a lot of effort into. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

Overall, slightly disappointed. The rooms were very small and the corridors were very shabby.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

James M. Families - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have stayed at multiple Novotels and booked 2 rooms this time. Both bathrooms were incredibly cramped. Also some refurb work is taking place which meant the corridors were very shabby. All in all it was quite a disappointing trip and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Dear James M., Thank you for dedicating your time to this review of your experience with Novotel Amsterdam City. We wish you had a much more pleasant experience. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience with the renovations. We are currently making sure all the parts of the hotel have a clean, fresh and modern feel to them, and are almost finished with this project. That's a pity that the stay did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on meeting and exceeding our guest expectations, and if you do happen to choose us once again (which we truly hope for) hope to impress you much more during your next stay and provide you with an exceptional hospitality we are known for. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

Fantastic!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Juan Solo - 21/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was absolutely amazing and recommend it to anyone I know. Easy check in and check out and just a great experience overall!

Dear Juan, This makes us so happy to hear you will be recommending Novotel Amsterdam City, as we managed to fully deliver on your expectations! Our staff will be happy to know you have noted and appreciated their effort in smooth check-in and check-out process. You are very welcome to visit us again soon, and we will, as always, do our best to make you enjoy every aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review. We would highly appreciate it if you take a minute to leave a review on TripAdvisor as well. Thank you! Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Sd Business - 21/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel, great room, staff nice and good breakfast

Dear Guest, It is lovely to hear that everything from the rooms to the attentiveness of our personnel left you feeling so pleased with the Novotel Amsterdam City! We thank you for taking the time to let us know we have managed to meet your expectations and provide you with a pleasant experience. We would love to get a chance to do so again, during your next stay, and hope to become you hotel of choice! Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

most satisfactory

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Paul T. Business - 21/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving such a positive review of Novotel Amsterdam City. We are happy to hear that the hotel was to your liking as well as the overall experience! We would love to welcome you again, and will once again do our absolute best to make you enjoy your stay just as much and even more, as we are always working on not only meeting but exceeding our guests expectations. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

Extremely dissatisfied and a Novotel brand hotel should be of a much better quality

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Genadi E. Families - 20/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I would like to send you my experience with my stay at Novotel Amsterdam City during this weekend. The first impression was not great - we had to wait quite some time in order to discuss our stay with two dogs in our room - we had specifically booked a room for two and we were quoted 15EUR per dog for the stay. When we went there we were told that the price would be 25 EUR per dog per night, which is almost three times as much as previously stated. At the same time we were told that the hotel policy was to not leave the dogs unattended for more than 15 minutes, which is the first time we've heard about it even after staying at plenty of different hotels all over Europe, including hotels from the ACCOR Hotels chain. This "warning" was presented rather rudely, and shortly after the "front office manager" came, didn't tell us his name and rudely explained that it is basically impossible to leave the dogs inside even over dinner, because of "preventing barking and uncomfortable situations". As previously mentioned - we've never EVER had any problems with leaving the dogs in the room for dinner. I am not even going to explain the bad attitude we received, the rude explanations and the "take it or leave it" option we were presented. In the end, to prevent problems with our stay we had to give the dogs to our friends who stayed nearby in another hotel. Needless to say there were exactly zero problems with their stay, the price was much lower and everyone was happy, apart the bitter taste that stayed in us after such rude welcome and check-in experience (which lasted 15+ minutes at the same time). Unfortunately, the bad experience was not even over yet. Upon entering the bed sheet was torn - and it's not a small tear either, it was a big tear - see the picture attached. One of the bed towels had foundation marks on it. It was too late for us to call the reception as we had to go out for dinner and had to rush to our restaurant's reservation as we were delayed at the reception previously. We thought that this could happen and it'll be fixed the next morning by househeeping. Alas, even worse - the next morning, despite the "Please don't disturb" sign the housekeeping staff entered the room while we were still there. After going out later on and returning to our room in the afternoon, our surprise was that the bed sheet was NOT replaced at all and it was the same - see the second picture. I find it inexcusable for a Four Star hotel such as Novotel City Amsterdam to greet their guests with such an attitude, to have torn bedsheets and for housekeeping to ignore the "do not disturb" signs. I've had much better stays during visits in other chains of the Accor Hotels and it's simply inexplicable for me to have such an experience in Amsterdam

Dear Mr. E., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, we always strive to provide the superior service for every customer. Regarding your experience related to your dog, on our website (Accorhotels.com), it mentions that pets are allowed and it is a paid service, the price of 25 euro is not yet mentioned, we will put the price on the website for future reference. Thank you for your comment. Our hotel are very happy to welcome your pets to be with you during your stay, however, it needs to be aligned with our hotel’s policy. To avoid any possible guests’ complaint or uncomfortable situation for our guests, we require the pets must always be under the supervision of the owner since when pets experience the separation from their owner or being keep in a new and closed environment, they tend to have panic attack and call for the owner, therefore, it might cause some noises which might affect other guests nearby. As a dog owner, we believe you acknowledge this as well. We hope we can have your understanding for us. Regarding the conversation you have had with our Front Office manager at that moment. I have spoken to him and he thanked for the feedback that if his approach might cause you feel uncomfortable or might perceived as rude. He is looking forward to another chance to welcome you and show the hospitality that we present. Regarding the experience you have had with our cleaning department, we will look into the issue and make sure it will be discussed and used to improve our service delivering by Housekeeping. In the end, your feedback is what help us live up to the standard. We, nevertheless, hope to welcome you at our hotel once again, so that we can make a much better impression and demonstrate the top level of service we are known to deliver to many of our guests on the regular. Sincerely, Winky Yeung Guest Relations / Manager on Duty

Good location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

T J. Business - 20/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good location for exhibition Fast check in and out

Dear Valued Guest, We are pleased to read your positive feedback regarding your stay at Novotel Amsterdam City.Thank you so much for dedicating your time to let us know how well we have managed to accommodate you during your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. Looking forward to welcome you again at Novotel Amsterdam City! Erica G. Management Assistant

Nice weekend stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Frank E. Couples - 20/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

For a change to the usual work related stays, I spend the weekend with my girlfriend at Novotel. Very nice and relaxed, same great selection on breakfast buffet. Very helpful front desk staff to answer questions.

Dear Valued Guest, It is lovely to hear that everything from the room to the attentiveness of our staff left you feeling so pleased with the Novotel Amsterdam City! We thank you for taking the time to let us know we have managed to impress you this much. All feedback of our guests, especially from our Le Club members, is important to us. We would love to get a chance to welcome you again and we will, as always, do our absolute best to make you have a good time and enjoy every aspect of your stay. We would highly appreciate it if you take a minute to leave a review on TripAdvisor as well. Thank you! Erica G. Management Assistant

Hotel ok, food through room service was terrible.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Dee Couples - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel was good, staff were very helpful. Food ordered through room service was terrible. Even sent back twice and 'Winky' needed to rectify situation.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your time to leave a review about your experience at Novotel Amsterdam City. Due to your points of attention we are able to improve. While I wish you had a better experience with our service, it is apparent in this case that we fell a little short in providing you with a meal that was up to your expectation when you ordered room service. Our apologies, once again, for the inconvenience. I would like to assure you that we are investigating this to prevent it from happening in the future. However, I am pleased to read that you were overall satisfied with your stay and that Winky assisted according to the best of your satisfaction. We would be honored to welcome you again in our hotel and I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that will meet up to your expectations. Sincerely, Erica G. Management Assistant

Always a good choice

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ana Couples - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

As I stayed many times in this hotel I had big expectations. Some of them are met and other not. Room is comfortable and renovated but there is no space for personal things in the bathroom. Cleaning was good and free espresso is really appreciated. The corridor renovation has to be finished quickly... Breakfast offers lot of choice and service is fast. Some servers in the restaurant need more training. Overall, we will come again. Let me just point one bad moment - some guests we know were offered upgrades and restaurant vouchers for being guests for 8 years, others who are guests for 20 years didn't get anything (very important ones, not me)... You should take better attention at the front desk.

Dear Ana, Thank you so much for such an elaborative review. We highly appreciate you taking the time to share the things you liked about our hotel and mentioning the points of improvement. We are glad to hear you appreciated the cleanliness of your room, the personal Esperesso machine and our wide selection fo breakfast dishes. We put a lot of effort into continuous improvement of the quality of service and experience we provide our guests with, and we always base it on the feedback like yours. We are doing our absolute best with the speed of the renovations and plan to finish it very soon. All your other comments were noted as well, thank you for bringing our attention to them. We would love to become your choice once again and intend to impress you more with our constantly improving quality of service. Sincerely, Anna C. Operations Management

It was great

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Alexander M. R. Solo - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The experience was great. The staff was awesome. They were very curious and nice.

Dear Guest, What a pleasure it is to receive such a generous evaluation of our hotel from you! We thank you so much for letting us and others know that your experience with the Novotel Amsterdam City was nothing but delightful. This means that our hard work to deliver exceptional guest experience is paying off. We hope to become your choice during your next stay in Amsterdam, and would be happy to provide you with our exceptional hospitality and attentive service once again! Warm regards, Erica G. Management Assistant

Nice stay for two nights

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Tim T. Business - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice stay for two nights in Amsterdam. Rooms are not very big. Good variety in breakfast buffet. Some waiting for check in.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Novotel Amsterdam City. We are so pleased to receive such a positive review of your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. We pay close attention to our Breakfast buffet as this is the place where our guests start their day. Top quality and enough variety in dishes is what we are striving for. We hope to welcome you at Novotel Amsterdam City during your next visit, and will, as usual, do our absolute best to make you have a great time. Erica G. Management Assistant

Love it!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Valerie Couples - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

As we stayed only a weekend,everyhting was nice, the staff, the view of the city, at the 13 floor was quite we didn't had probleme. We really loved it our stay. Looking to come back!

Dear Valued Guest, It is lovely to read that you will be coming back to Novotel Amsterdam City, as we managed to fully deliver on your expectations! Our staff will be happy to know you have noted and appreciated their effort and attentiveness. I will pass on these compliments! You are very welcome to visit us again soon, and we will, as always, do our best to make you enjoy every aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review. Would you be so kind to take a minute to leave a review on TripAdvisor as well? We would appreciate it greatly. Erica G. Management Assistant
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam