Information message

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 14,421 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel
See on a map
+ 22 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE NSF certified hotel

  • Terrace overlooking the Amstel river

  • Just 15 kilometres from Schiphol Airport

  • Bicycle rentals available

  • This hotel is cashless, only card payments are accepted

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

Joan Muyskenweg 10
1096 CJ amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31207219176

Fax: (+31)20/6948735

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • OVERAMSTEL :  51 OVERAMSTEL /EXIT JOAN MUYSKENWEG

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 17km / 10.63 miles

  • By plane

    EINDHOVEN At 200km / 125 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    SCHIPHOL INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT At 16.99km / 10.56 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 17km / 10.56 miles

  • By car

    S109 RAI At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By car

    S110 AMSTEL At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By car

    S111 WEESPERTREKVAART AMSTEL At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 2.6km / 1.62 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 4.1km / 2.55 miles

GPS :52.335579, 4.913228

Hotel services

FLOOR RESTAURANT & LOUNGE

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you can even relax on the terrace!

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • 2 Restaurants
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
    • Room service Additional charge
    • Breakfast à la carte Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 9 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Business center is wheelchair accessible
    • Self service business center
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 368 rooms
    • One room for people with reduced mobility
    • 16 family rooms
    • 15 connecting rooms
    • 368 non-smoking rooms
    • 18 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • Arabic
    • Spanish
    • English
    • Italian
    • French
    • Portuguese
    • Dutch
  • Lounge
    • Waiting area or lounge
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Pressing Additional charge
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
    • Laundry / Valet Services Additional charge
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet Additional charge
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Elevator to all floor
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Shoe shine machine
    • Umbrellas
Access to property
  • Parkinglot Additional charge
    • On site
    • 120 parking spaces
    • Private
    • Electric car recharging units 22 kVA
    • Electric car recharging units 7 kVA
    • Parking opened 24/7
    • Parking with security service
Well-being
  • Fitness Centre
    • On site
    • Sauna room
Family
  • Services for children
    • Childrens TV Channels

Our accommodation(s)

Whether you opt for the Standard room, the spacious Privilege room or the Standard Suite with a view over the Amstel, we at Mercure have done everything possible to ensure you have a pleasant stay!

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 11

  • Maximum size: 500

  • Maximum capacity: 350 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

14,421 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,769 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Well located and good stay.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Alois Business - 21/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I am very satisfied. Good and delicious breakfast.

Ca peut être mieux

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Decleyre Y. Families - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good evening, I would like to tell you about my sadness at the check out / stay in your "4" star hotel. Indeed, we asked for a baby bed when booking and during the fast check in on line on comment, during our check in at the hotel to find that in our room there was no baby bed. (Since there is no longer a telephone in the rooms, it is impossible to call reception). After a few minutes the bed was set up (without sheets). In one of your emails, it is stated that your priority is our security. This is also why the fire detectors in our corridor are hidden: https://photos.app.goo.gl/AuBAesYrhvBibfnP8 We got back to our room on Saturday 10/16 around 7pm, and our room was not cleaned. The cleaning ladies then offer me to do it on Sunday .... the day of our departure. I still ask to have a towel, but she does not speak English, so I will look for myself in the reserve (you can check on the images of the cameras). https://photos.app.goo.gl/SDq3nEGwnxuF5LXE6 I also ask to change the trash which will reset in the hallway all night (as well as his bottles from another room https://photos.app.goo.gl/EeEFSMMFdDnF9jh3A ) We also pay a supplement of 50 € to have a view of Amsterdam, here is a photo of our room, on a bridge under construction and the glass being very dirty .... https://photos.app.goo.gl/NnUJ5JHpyJq2TXKp6 Saturday evening, we then decide to eat at the hotel restaurant, but the only option is a pasta buffet at 25 € per person (excluding drinks). We find it too expensive, and the hotel propose us to take a takeway .... During our check out, I indicated to the reception that we had a small problem with cleaning the room (without mentioning the rest of my e-mail). This one then asks me if I want a € 5 coupon to use at the restaurant. I indicate to him that we are leaving now and that we have just had our breakfast. He has no solution for me since the balance is already debited from my Mastercard. I then ask him for a refund on my card, but this is impossible for him. He then asks me to wait again until his colleague can finish. I tell him that I have waited long enough for the cot and that I will send an email. There is also only 2 babys chair for the hotel :'( I hope that this email will be constructive and that a gesture on your part will also be made. (Room number 8032) Best regards, Y. Decleyre 00… 142 PS: Sorry for my English.

Dear Mrs. M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have taken your remarks to heart; we will use them to improve our service in the future. Since you had this experience, I would like to offer you one complimentary room night for your next stay with us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Francis A. Windt General Manager Mercure Amsterdam City

nice rooms

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tomaž Business - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

room is nice, also breakfast is nice, sauna should bi bigger and updated.

Friendly services

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Francis V. D. L. Business - 17/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice and friendly hotel. Convenient location

enjoyed the stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - 17/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay, the location was a bit far from public transportations for people without cars. But the service was great and the staff were friendly.

good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Gianluigi Business - 15/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

convenient for the office, clean, personnel kind and smiling

Good location, well equipped, great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Lee Business - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room and facilities better than many places I've stayed in locally, convenient for the RAI for conferences. Staff were absolutely fantastic.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ervin B. Friends - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice staff, helpful and a very nice stay

Dear Ervin , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Xadim Front Office

good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Varun S. Couples - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

we liked the stay at Mercure, it is conveniently located near to the city center and have good bar, lounge and restaurant. I would recommend to stay at this hotel.

Dear Varun, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Xadim Front Office

best spa and breakfast ever

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

738sunam 28/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hello you should stay at that hotel specially mercure amsterdam city hotel. The location is quite calm, serein and near the center. The spa- sauna and steambath are really sincerely great. And the breakfast is awesome. Enjoy the hotel!

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our sauna and steam bath. Furthermore, we are glad that the extensive breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations. Thank you for recommending us to others! We cannot wait to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Lovely Amsterdam

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

alanhdonnelly 25/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

Quiet location. Nice distance from airport and city. Not city centre. If you hadnt breakfast included it was expensive, and no where close by to eat. Overall lovely hotel with great staff and good food. Would definately be back.

Dear Alan, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to see that you had a pleasant stay and that you consider our hotel to be lovely. Your comments will be shared with our staff. For our breakfast we suggest to make use of our a la carte breakfast for your next visit. Here individual items can be ordered should you not want to make use of the extensive buffet. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

perfect

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Trail701866 Couples - 22/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

perfect hospitality throughout the stay (reception, breakfast, restaurant, bar). perfect room and very clean. promise customer Gold kept. effeiciency of the receptionnist on check in and check out related to questions on Booking with point. question sent after the stay regarding a lost item, and response was very quick and clear.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your perfect experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. We are delighted to be informed that you experienced perfect hospitality in all our departments and that you enjoyed your room. It is our aim to treat all guests as best as we can and we are glad to read that you felt happy as a Gold member. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Average hotel, with not friendly bar staff

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Traveler830045 Couples - 08/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Average hotel, doesn't feel like 4 star hotel, apart of lounge area (which is actually really nice). A la Carter menu in the bar - choice is small. Sleep quality afwull. Beds are absolutely old and uncomfortable. We didn't get proper sleep during all our stay. Rooms are much smaller than on picture, literally for two people there is no space even to turn around. I booked DOUBLE room, but got twin room. On the checkout Charged me more than was my booking. Also rude and not friendly some of the bar staff. I was very disappointed with hotel and my choice, will never go back. I would definately advise hotel to make refurb, change beds, and carpets, as our one was with big dirt mark in the middle of the carpet. It's not what you expect from 4 star hotel. By the way metro station is around 12 minutes walking (shuttle you can get on the weekdays only from 9am to10 am, weekends 9am to 11am).

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We highly regret to be informed that you would not want to come back to our hotel after your experience with us. It is our aim to provide comfortable nights sleep and are sorry to find out that the beds were not to your liking and withheld you from substantial sleep. Furthermore, it is possible that the city tax was charged upon checkout, as this is not always included in the rate when booking depending on the booking platform. In regards to the service provided in the bar I would like to inform you that our Food and Beverage Manager was informed about this issue. We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Perfect!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

bexwhite13 Couples - 05/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

From the moment we arrived, we loved it! The staff there are fantastic , so friendly and helpful in every way from travel arrangements to places to eat and visit. Check in was smooth and professional, service was great. A special mention to Michelle from the restaurant area who went the extra mile for my partners birthday on New Years Day, organising balloons, cookies and a lovely note on the bed for our return! Super clean and comfortable room, a lot bigger than many rooms in the Centrum area, very easy to get to the city. I’ve travelled a lot across the world and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Dear Guest, Wow, I am happy to read that my colleague Michelle made your stay at our hotel very special. I will pass on your kind words to her as I know she will love to hear your compliments. At mercure we try to make our guest feel special and I am happy to read that we succeeded in making you and your partner more than just a hotel guest. I hope that you enjoyed Amsterdam, and if you are ever in the neighbourhood again, do not hesitate to come by again. Kind regards, Amy van 't Veer Front Office Supervisor

Perfect business hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

joehO7216QL Business - 26/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Had a 4 day course at the hotel. Easy to get to, smooth checkin. Course was good and the facilities the hotel provides were great. Good snacks, morning croissants and afternoon snacks. Lunch was also very good. Even had a try out of the hotels spa. Not many machines but good sauna and steam sauna. Staff very helpfull

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to be informed that you enjoyed your 4 day course at our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you like our food offerings and that you appreciated the way our staff treated you. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Excellent hotel, excellent service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

IlseT44 Business - 15/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

This hotel has the warmest welcome ever. The team at the reception is so friendly, you really feel at home. Love coming back to this hotel every, single time. They have a lounge area and privilege breakfast for their accor members.

Dear Ilse, Thank you very much for your excellent rating of your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City. We are delighted to be informed that you had such a warm welcome and that you enjoy the way our staff treats you every single time. Your comments will be shared with the entire team. We cannot wait to see you again! Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Too far from city center

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

mrochape Business - 09/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is quite far from the city center and attractions. If you are traveling for business, it is fine, but if you are traveling for sightseeing, this is not the place to be. It is too far out from the city and transportation costs add up quickly.

Business trip - november

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

159nikg Business - 01/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

I had a pleasant stay with the guy checking me in making me feel privileged, the only disappointment and this is the 2nd time it has happened in succession is you are not mailing me my receipt for me to do my expenses after the trip and i have to then follow up afterwards to get it

Dear guest, Thank you for rating your stay and sharing your experience. We are sorry to find out that your invoice was not emailed to you for the second time in a row. Our Front Office Manager was informed about your case and will investigate how this happened, in order to prevent this from happening in the future. Nevertheless, we are happy to find out that you had a pleasant stay and that you felt privileged when checking in. We want to thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

All Good

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

bobA2972UA Business - 29/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

the hotel is a pleasure to stay in, Over time i have got to know the staff and they look after me very well. I am normally a long stay guest, staying either 4 or 8 weeks at a time. Normally on a Sunday evening the service due to the number of temporary employees on duty

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are happy to be informed that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel as you normally stay for a longer period of time. It is a pleasure to read that you generally enjoy your stays with us and the entire Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City Team looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel again very soon. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

You get what you pay for

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Greg N Couples - 16/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

The price was good but the staff were average. Very expensive to eat at the hotel. Rooms were good and bathroom excellent. Needed somewhere to put cases in room. A little table instead of the big chair. No welcome drink as promised and check-in painful

Dear Greg, Thank you for for sharing your feedback. Please allow us to express our apologies for the fact that the check-in took too long and that you did not receive your welcoming drink. We highly value Accor's members and aim to provide our best service possible, which we understand we failed to do in your case. We also regret to find out that the prices of our food offerings did not meet your expectations. Nevertheless we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam. For your next visit we will make sure you will receive a warm welcome. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam