Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,668 reviews
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel
See on a map
+ 27 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • A daily morning shuttle to the metro station Overamstel.

  • Conveniently accessible by car and public transportation

  • Daily boat transfer to the city centre at a surcharge

  • Waterfront terrace

  • Free WiFi throughout the hotel

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
  • Boat excursions
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 14 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

Joan Muyskenweg 10
1096 CJ
amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31207219176

Fax: (+31)20/6948735

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • OVERAMSTEL :   51 OVERAMSTEL /EXIT JOAN MUYSKENWEG

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 17km / 10.63 miles

  • By plane

    EINDHOVEN At 200km / 125 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    SCHIPHOL INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT At 16.99km / 10.56 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 17km / 10.56 miles

  • By car

    S109 RAI At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By car

    S110 AMSTEL At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By car

    S111 WEESPERTREKVAART AMSTEL At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 2.6km / 1.62 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 4.1km / 2.55 miles

GPS :52.335579, 4.913228

Our accommodations

Whether you opt for the Standard room, the spacious Privilege room or the Standard Suite with a view over the Amstel, we at Mercure have done everything possible to ensure you have a pleasant stay!

Classic guest room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 26
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Business Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 21
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Privilege Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 21
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Business Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 21
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic guest room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 25
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic Triple Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: River side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 34
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Room with 1 queensize bed and sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 26

Studio with 1 queensize bed and sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 34

Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 44
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Our restaurants and bars

FLOOR RESTAURANT & LOUNGE

Type of cuisine: International

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you can even relax on the terrace!

Lunch

10:00 - 17:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:00 - 23:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

FLOOR BAR & LOUNGE

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you cna even realx on the terrace!

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 14

  • Maximum size: 500

  • Maximum capacity: 350 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

13,215 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,668 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Business trip - november

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Nik G Business - 01/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

I had a pleasant stay with the guy checking me in making me feel privileged, the only disappointment and this is the 2nd time it has happened in succession is you are not mailing me my receipt for me to do my expenses after the trip and i have to then follow up afterwards to get it

Great place to stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Zohair Couples - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazing place to stay. Excellent staff. Overall a very pleasant experience. Will highly recommend.

Predictable

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Philip B. Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean, tidy and as expected but expensive with very slow check-in

Ok

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Patricia Friends - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was a bit surprised that we only had tiny paper cups and plastic glasses to drink out of, the room was a bit narrow for 3 people. The staff were friendly enough but the bar staff weren't especially friendly drinks were also very expensive.

Dear Patricia, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to complete our survey. We are sorry to find out that the room did not live up to your expectations since there were plastic and cardboard cups. This is something we strive to improve on with all Mercure hotels in Northern Europe. We are currently busy to change this. So thank you for your comments about this. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the way our staff treated you. For your next trip to Amsterdam, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Amazing service, beautiful room and extremely satisfied!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Charlotte G. Couples - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had an amazing stay for my boyfriends birthday! We got upgraded to a privelidge room and was welcomed in our room by balloons and banners as well as sweets and a little note wishing him happy birthday! It added such a beautiful touch to the stay and we really really appreciated it! It was an amazing location with easy access to public transport with a 10 minute journey to the centre!! Would certainly recommend and would definitely stay here again!! Overall the staff were lovely and accommodated our needs allowing us to leave our bags before and after check in/out times as our flights were early hours so we didn’t want to be dragging our luggage around for the day! Really please with the other all service, the one thing which did let it down was our initial welcome when we arrived, we asked to place our bags somewhere and we got told to sit down and wait, we waited 10 minutes before we then had to ask again as she was serving other people and didn’t understand what we even asked for! She was also a little rude and told us the wrong information about check in which we later found out, but apart from that every other staff member were brilliant for our stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was not clean, carpet full of something which I do not what to know what, window dirty from the inside, a loaf of bread in the corner.....I had to report these three time when a few of them were handled. Disgusting. Not offered even a singe drink for the inconveniences caused....

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and for sharing your feedback. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the fact that the room was not cleaned appropriately. This is not in line with our minimum hygiene standards. Our Housekeeping Coordinator was informed about this issue in order to prevent such situations from happening in the future. Nevertheless, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

We had an amazing time

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Lumi D. Friends - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Top class service. Very nice hotel and very friendly and helpful staff. In one word they make our stay in this hotel an unforgettable experience

Cold bathroom

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Yu Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was really cold. Not enough place to hang four towels. One small free bottle of water for two people (and not every day). One can not pay with ApplePay at the bar.

Dear Yu, Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to find out that the bathroom was too cold. This is not pleasant at all and we would like to express our sincere apologies for this. Furthermore, we regret to be informed that there was not enough room for you and that the bottle of water was not replenished consistently. Nevertheless, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Service in the restaurant was awful until I complained. Manager (Michelle) was very rude and unaccommodating. Unable to accommodate big groups with separate billings in the restaurant.

Dear guest, Thank you for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to find out that Michelle was not accommodating in a courteous way as you wanted to pay your bills separately. This will be addressed with our Managers. Despite this issue we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

not great

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Huge line at check, as the one person on duty helped a group of people organize a week long trip while the rest of the line could not check in; room not clean.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey and for sharing your feedback. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for the fact that the room was not cleaned properly. Our Housekeeping Coordinator was informed about this issue. Furthermore we are sorry to find out that the check-in took very long. We aim to provide a smooth and efficient check-in procedure and will communicate your comment with our Front Office Manager. Nevertheless, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Business Trip

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The majority of my stay was pleasant. Food in the restaurant was good and the reception areas are pleasant. My room on 4th floor was functional but I could hear constant traffic noise and the air con was unbearably noisy so I had to refrain from using it. Your check in reception area is very understaffed and while the majority of your staff are accommodating and helpful, one female member of your team was rude, ignored me when I had already been waiting and served the customer that suited her in a manor that demonstrated significant unconscious bias. When I picked up on her behavior rather then acknowledging and apologizing she went into self justification mode which took the situation from bad to worse.

Dear guest, Thank you for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We regret to be informed that despite the fact that the majority of your stay was to your satisfaction there were some points of improvements. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for the staff member at reception that did not meet the expectation of providing professional and courteous service. We aim to serve guests as best as we can and strive to continuously monitor this. Your comments will therefore discussed within our Front Office Team. Furthermore, we are sorry to find out that the air con was noisy. Our Technical Department is currently mounting this issue. Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed the food served in the restaurant and we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Great hotel with friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Fiona M. Business - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms were clean and generous in size with all the basic facilities needed. The hotel was well maintained and the 24/7 shop was an added bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Xadim who checked us in and helped with directions - such a happy chap.

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Rene L. Business - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was in and out most of the time so could not ascertain all the facilities. However I experienced no problems.

Great management and staff. Great location. I highly recommend the Mercure Hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Eyal B. Business - 21/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

This hotel chain is well known and has a quality product. I was however especially impressed with the team in Amsterdam. Francis Windt the General Manager and her team went out of their way to rectify a very problematic issue we had during our stay. I cannot say enough about the whole team at this location which includes the management, receptionists and servers. This is a team that truly cares and it shows. I highly recommend this hotel you can't go wrong!

Good

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Gavin Business - 21/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything fine except tea and coffee plus soap etc was nor replenished on day 2

dissatisfied

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Laura V. B. Solo - 20/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

My experience in this hotel went I arrived it was ok the receptionist know how to speak many language in my case Spanish, the room was clean and nice also the restaurants and around in the hotel, the mini super market was open 24 hr but the food was very expensive to buy same thing, usually I go out in the morning to visit many places when I am tourist in other country I arrived around 5:00pm my next day at the hotel and hausekeeping didn’t came to my room I called to reception Very angry because like a told her the hotels clean the rooms early and this hotel is supposed 4 stars and she told me that is the only hotel that until that time there are still clean the rooms, she didn't even apologize it's unacceptable... I travel by myself and I eat every morning my breakfast downstairs which is buffet it was delicious, at first there was a very friendly waiter, but then he began to flirt with me, which I think is a lack of professionalism, and the waitresses were too scandalous when they talked to each other.

Dear Laura b., Thank you for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We regret to be informed that you had an unpleasant stay at our hotel, because of the timing of the housekeeping as well as the way our waiting staff during breakfast behaved. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for this. We train all staff to behave professionally and courteously and take these matters very seriously. This will be addressed within our team. Nevertheless, we want to thank you for staying with us during your trip to Amsterdam. Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Pretty standard business travel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was slow because there were not enough staff members. Room was extremely hot because radiator was on and it took a while to figure out how to fix. Apart from this, stay was very pleasant and room was nice. Breakfast was great--especially liked the orange juice machine.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We are sorry to find out that the temperature in the room was inadequate and that the check-in was not timely. Nevertheless, we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay including our extensive breakfast buffet. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

comfortable stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Ilknur Couples - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Me and my husband had a comfortable sleep in our room, personal was very friendly and room was clean. we wished to have a great view,and receptionist give us nice view room. The only thing we didn't like is having no bathtub. In the room description there was written bathtub but we didn't have, we didn't think it would be nice to change the room. But if the reception informed us at the beginning we would choose bathtub over view.

Dear Ilknur, Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to find out that the room did not include a bathtub. Other room types do have one. Nevertheless, we are happy to find out that that you had a comfortable stay and could enjoy the great view. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Solo - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

the room is dirty and the reception is not nice

Dear guest, Thank you for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to find out that your room was not cleaned properly and that you did not receive a warm welcome. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for this. Our Managers were informed about these issues and will investigate how this can be avoided from happening in the future. Nevertheless, we want to thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 18/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I found that shampoo and shampoo gel were not replenished just on one day. Except that, I had a comfortable stay.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam