Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 13,900 reviews
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel
See on a map
+ 27 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Just 15 kilometres from Schiphol Airport

  • Shuttle service to the centre of the city

  • Bicycle and scooter rentals available

  • Breakfast buffet, bar and restaurant at the hotel

  • Fitness centre, sauna and 24/7 reception

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
  • Boat excursions
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 14 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic and government guidelines we have taken the difficult decision to close the hotel. Our thoughts remain with everyone impacted across the world and we look forward to welcoming guests and visitors back soon.

Hotel location

Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

Joan Muyskenweg 10
1096 CJ
amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31207219176

Fax: (+31)20/6948735

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • OVERAMSTEL :  51 OVERAMSTEL /EXIT JOAN MUYSKENWEG

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 17km / 10.63 miles

  • By plane

    EINDHOVEN At 200km / 125 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    SCHIPHOL INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT At 16.99km / 10.56 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 17km / 10.56 miles

  • By car

    S109 RAI At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By car

    S110 AMSTEL At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By car

    S111 WEESPERTREKVAART AMSTEL At 1.5km / 0.94 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 2.6km / 1.62 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 4.1km / 2.55 miles

GPS :52.335579, 4.913228

Our accommodations

Whether you opt for the Standard room, the spacious Privilege room or the Standard Suite with a view over the Amstel, we at Mercure have done everything possible to ensure you have a pleasant stay!

Accessible room

Classic guest room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 26
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Business Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 21
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Privilege Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 21
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Room with 1 queensize bed and sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 26
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Business Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 21
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone
Accessible room

Classic guest room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 25
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone
Accessible room

Classic Triple Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: River side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone
Accessible room

Classic Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 34
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Double Executive Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 26
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Twin Executive Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Triple Executive Room with 2 single beds and single sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Double Executive Room with queensize bed and double sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 44
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Studio with 1 queensize bed and sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 34
  • Views: City side, Park view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Executive longstay studio with queensize bed and single sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 27
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Our restaurants and bars

FLOOR RESTAURANT & LOUNGE

Type of cuisine: International

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you can even relax on the terrace!

Lunch

10:00 - 17:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:00 - 23:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

FLOOR BAR & LOUNGE

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

In Restaurant & Lounge FLOOR we serve dishes inspired by local cuisine, prepared by our Chef Rinze Muizelaar. The right mix of design, great food and excellent cocktails makes this the place to spend your day! In summer you cna even realx on the terrace!

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 14

  • Maximum size: 500

  • Maximum capacity: 350 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

13,900 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,747 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have asked for refund as trip to Amsterdam had to be cancelled due to COVID-19 situation (university open day was cancelled) - my request was refused. In current situation when even Booking.com is providing cancellations and refunds your approach is unacceptable. You lost a guest for the future.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

P.k.a. Couples - 22/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On the whole very happy with the hotel. with regards to the bedroom,6004, felt the lighting was very poor. It weas very diddicult to read in bed. P.K.A.

Dear Peter A., Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to find out that it was difficult to read in your bed because of the lighting. Our Maintenance Department was informed about this issue. Nevertheless, we are happy to find out that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Has to cancel because of COVID 19 but no refund

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I am a regelar customer of Accor Hotels, and cannot understand that no refund was possible after cancelation of the trip due to the Corona virus threat

Great location. Easy to get to the airport and central Amsterdam.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Haddy J. Business - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a pleasant stay. The staff was friendly and willing to help in anyway. My room was comfortable and clean.

Dear Haddy Jellow, Thank you very much for your great rating and for taking the time to complete our survey! We are happy that you had such a pleasant stay and liked our staff so much. It is a pleasure to find out that that you felt comfortabel throughout your stay as well. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Well located, helpful and polite staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Friends - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

3day stay with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed. Hotel was clean and freshly decoratred

Dear guest, Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are very happy to find out that you had a wonderful stay with your friend here. For your next trip to Amstedam we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Very helpful hotel staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Monique W. Business - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was super ! Quick, professional, free upgrade. Room temperature was pleasant when I entered the room. Nice view over the Amstel River. Nice paintings, stylish decorated , well equipped room and bathroom. Comfortable furniture. Staff very helpful about transportation. They even helped me installing the uber app and schedule my ride. Not having a car is the only downside, the hotel is located along the highway, isolated, 10 minutes walking through industrial area to the nearest tiny train station, no supermarkets, hardly any choice in restaurants. The open restaurant area next to the bar and lobby of the hotel was not appealing for me to have a quiet diner. The main restaurant was closed for a private diner function that never took place, so the big restaurant remained empty the entire evening. On the other hand the catering during the meeting was exceptionally good. Above average.

Unfriendly Staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Kevin Couples - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We received a very warm welcome by Mr. Xadim at the receptionist, thanks to him for making a very good first impression. Unfortunately, the other receptionists, and staff at the breakfast and restaurant were very unfriendly and unaccomodating, which needs to be improved.

Nice stay. Friendly staff.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Razman R. Couples - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a nice and comfortable stay. The room was clean and room keeping was good. However, some improvements could be made. The TV kept switching off by itself all the time. Made to order breakfast like sunny side up eggs would be nice instead of scrambled every day. A small booklet could be offered to foreign guests on common Dutch phrases. Should have a prominent notice board on how to get around the city.

Dear Razman R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Amsterdam City Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you had a comfortable stay and that you considered all staff to be friendly. For the fact that the TV kept on switching on and off we would like to express our sincere apologies, as this is very annoying. Our Maintenance Department will look into this. Furthermore, we want to thank you for your additional comments and see how we can implement these. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Brilliant staff, great breakfast

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Virginia Couples - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had to end our trip early due to Coronavirus, the staff were brilliant, keeping us informed and making sure we were ok. On our return to the Uk we discovered we had left our car keys in our room, after speaking to one of the receptionists our car keys were found and arrangements made for them to be returned to us. Brilliant customer service. All staff deserve a mention, receptionists, breakfast staff, bar staff and restaurant staff who were all extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back to finish off our trip once the very uncertain times we are all facing are over. Thank you to everyone.

Dear Virginia, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel elaborately. We also want to thank you for your lovely comments. In this unusual situation, this means a lot our entire team. It is a pleasure to find out that our staff helped you out in a courteous and attentive manner. We are flattered to hear that you consider our team from all departments brilliant. We hope that you had a safe trip and feel comfortable at home again. Hopefully, the car keys will arrive soon as well! Thank you very much for your lovely and kind review. The entire team would love to host you again for you to finish your trip to Amsterdam in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Very nice rooms

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not located in city center but public transit is a short walk away. Expensive but wonderful breakfast. We stayed in newly renovated rooms and did hear construction noise but not before 8 am. Front desk personnel very nice and helpful.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to be informed that you had such a pleasant stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to find out that you enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet as well as our newly renovated room. We also hope that the construction noises were not of too much inconvenience to you. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Excellent experience on the worst days

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sumihiro I. Business - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was staying at your hotel, Mercure Hotel Amsterdam city on business. I am really impressed with your service. When I arrived at Amsterdam airport with KLM on 3rd March, I found KLM had lost my suitcase. I was depressed and confused badly because this is my first experience in my life and everything was packed in my suitcase including a present from my dear friend. And KLM was not keen to settle this issue down immediately. I had to leave the airport for your hotel without any hopes. A gentleman at your reception on that day was very kind enough to understand my hard situation and give me some possible options ( He even gave me a tooth blush). How relieved I was with his kind treatment. I am really stupid. I never asked his name. On the next day, I was informed that my luggage had been found and were on the way to Amsterdam. I wanted to received my luggage by myself. However I had to go out to see my customer. I asked your hotel to help me. The lady at the reception, Ms. Haweya Issa, kindly made a call to KLM and arranged everything! Amazing! And the other gentleman (I am stupid again that I never asked his name), also tried to help me. When I came back hotel from the customer, another gentleman at the reception whom I never met, informed me that my suitcase had been delivered to my room. Not kept it at the hotel lobby. Delivered to my room! I never asked him if your hotel had received my suitcase already or not. Without asking, he informed us because I believe he knew how depressed I was. It means each member in your team shares the information and knows what your guest expects! What a wonderful team you have! Isn't it fantastic! Again the present from my friend is a wonderful gift that money can't buy. I realize what it means to me after losing it. I cannot how happy I was to see the resent in the suitcase kindly delivered to my room by your kind team. I am moved. Please find the team members on the days, especially Ms. Issa, and say Thank you for the fantastic experience in your hotel on behalf of me. How happily I stayed at your hotel. Thank you! Dankjewel

Dear Sumihiro I., Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and for rating your stay at our hotel. We are incredibly happy with you taking the time to sharing this story elaborately. These stories mean a lot to us and show that our staff will always try to go above and beyond to do the right thing. We are sorry that your suitcase got lost, but are very happy that the way the situation was dealt with made you feel calm and happy again. Offering the tooth brush was the least we could do, but what Haweya did for you truly courteous and attentive. Your comments are very flattering and we are incredibly happy that you are impressed by our team work. Thank you very much for this. Haweya is very thankful for being mentioned and wants to thank you for this. We want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Amsterdam and the entire Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City Team looks forward to welcoming you again very soon! Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Unfortunately we did relax sorry to say!!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have allways stayed att Mercure Hotel because of the pleasant staff & location. Over the last 5 years we have stayed at your hotel over 10times, there have'nt been any problems. Kristzina Makula allways wellcomes us from the first day we arrive and she has never forgotten a birthday or even our honeymoon which we just celebrated att your hotel, in room (1832) . Kristzina Makula decorated the room very nice for our 4nights stay . But unfortunatly the fire alarm went off 2days in a row, there was some problems with water cables and construction workers that set it off. First time on Friday around 08:15 & Saturday 09:00 . The first time no problem but the second day again not so good at all, had to run down 18 floors in a panic again it was horrible!! I just had to speak to the manager because of the situation, we couldn't relax during those days . The manager apologised for our discomfort and asked what she kan do for us, i said it was up to her, we got a voucher at the bar & they call up to our room on Sunday to just reasure us that the problem wont Come back. The Manager told me the following Morning Sunday that they closed the section that was on our side were the problem was. The problem still stands it feel like 2 days of disappointment and stress it takes time to recuperate and only on our very last day which was the Sunday we felt relaxed again . In juli we will be celebrating my husbands birthday & our Anniversary because thats the same day we meet. And we where thinking of staying again at Mercure . Its very important to know that the staff & Hotel manager was very professional to us we havent had a problem with the staff. // Best regards Carol & Andrea Daunfledt

Dear Carol and Andrea, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our survey and for sharing your experience elaborately. First of all, we would like to express our sincere apologies for the panic that was caused by our fire alarm going of two days in a row. This is highly undesirable and running down 18 floors is not easy at all. We can imagine you had a hard time to relax as you have to recuperate from the high stress levels. This is not what we want for our guests. Having said that, we are very pleased to find out that the two of you have been visiting us so often in the last 10 years. Krisztina is also very happy by you mentioning her, she is truly attentive indeed. She wants to thank you for being mentioned and she loves to decorate your room for all sorts of special occasions. Furthermore, we are happy that despite the fire alarm going of you appreciate our professionality. Our guest’s safety and well being is our top priority and we believe that we should better be safe than sorry. All in all, we would like to thank you very much for visiting us regularly and we will make sure your stay will be memorable in July! Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Mike Business - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay, good service, nice clean spacy rooms, very friendly and helpful staff especially the bar and restaurant staff, I’ll be back!

Dear Mike, Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to complete our survey. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your time with our bar and restaurant staff. Your comments will be shared with them. Furthermore, we are happy you say you would want to come back. On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Satisfied

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy check out, clean room...no negative side.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are incredibly happy to find out that you had a pleasant stay without any negativities. We hope that your next stay at our hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. See you soon again! Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Good service

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

An example, I came down late (after the bar had closed) to ask for a glass of wine. The staff took the effort to get me a glass. Nice touch

Dear guest, Thank you for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the service provided and are happy to see that the courteous gesture of our staff was appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Fantastic hotel!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Raja A. Friends - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was beyond my expectations. They deliver great customer service and provide a service which you can't complain against. Friendly staff from reception to room staff. Warm atmosphere and very welcoming and very clean and tidy hotel.

Dear Raja, Thank you very much for your kind comments and for completing our survey. We are very happy to read that your expectations were exceeded by the service provided. It is also a pleasure to find out that you felt at home due to the warm atmosphere in the hotel. On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for staying with us. We cannot wait to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Well located but very hot room.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Clare Couples - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

weekend break in Amsterdam. Ideal location for the metro into Amsterdam. Friendly and helpful staff but very noisy air conditioning unit which meant to sleep we had to turn it off - the room then became stiflingly hot and uncomfortable

Dear Clare, Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for completing our survey. We are incredibly sorry that the air control system in your room was not working properly. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies for this, as it is unpleasant to sleep in a room which is too warm. Our Maintenance Department was informed about this. Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Good hotel, clean room.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel and good service.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are very happy to find out that you had a satisfactory stay in which you were happy with your room and the service. For your next trip to Amsterdam we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Kind regards Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Charlotte R. Friends - 06/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

all staff were lovely and very helpful room was clean and comfortable and the hotel had many amenities that we useful.

Dear Charlotte R., Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and for taking the time to complete our survey. We are very happy to find out that you had a pleasant stay and that all that you needed was arranged for. The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Kc L. Business - 06/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good check in service, very helpful front desk, good breakfast selection.

Dear KC L., Thank you very much for completing our survey and for sharing your feedback. We are happy to find out that you had a pleasant stay and we are happy with your comments, also about the breakfast food selection. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Ben Breekveldt Management Assistant
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam