Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 10,416 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
See on a map
+ 27 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Sea-water pool heated all year round, with panoramic view

  • State-of-the-art spa and thalasso

  • Direct access to Miramar beach, right in the heart of the seaside resort

  • Each room has its own terrace

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Thalassotherapy centre (Nearby)
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

13 rue Louison Bobet
64200
biarritz
france

Tel: +33559413000

Fax: (+33)5/59247720

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BIARRITZ :  14 MIRAMAR

  • By plane

    BIARRITZ PARME At 3km / 1.88 miles

  • By plane

    BORDEAUX AEROPORT At 200km / 125 miles

  • By car

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By car

    BIARRITZ LA NEGRESSE At 4km / 2.5 miles

  • By train

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By train

    BIARRITZ At 3km / 1.88 miles

GPS :43.487878, -1.554608

Our accommodation(s)

The 126 calm rooms, with MyBed comfortable bedding, are open on the long ocean beach or the city providing relaxation and an unforgettable stay.

Classic Room with 1 large bed or twin beds and terrace.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 25 / 269 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Superior Room with large bed or twin beds and terrace.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31 / 334 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Superior Ocean Room with partial sea view, 1 king-size bed or twin beds.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31 / 334 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Luxury Room with beautiful sea view, king-size bed or twin beds, terrace.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31 / 334 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

LE "RESTAURANT"

Type of cuisine: Healthy eating

Our chef is inspired by local produce to create imaginative, balanced dishes. New menu every month for creative, seasonal dining. Check out the "Equilibre" menu for even more balanced options.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

12:30 - 14:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

19:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE 'BAR"

Non contractual photo

Enjoy a moment of relaxation and sip a cocktail as the waves crash against the Roche Percée in the Bay of Biarritz. Light cocktails are also on the menu.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE 'SUITE"

Non contractual photo

Summer days on the coast can be long and lazy, so the ideal place for a snack or beverage is the poolside B Côté Terrasse. Open only in the summer, you can enjoy drinks and snacks as you gaze at the ocean from the pool and breathe in the fresh sea air.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our thalasso and spa offers

Experience the benefits of seawater and seaweed in this Biarritz thalassotherapy hotel's unique Relaxation Lagoon and treatment pavilions. Professional therapists create sur mesure programs for detox, harmony, slimming, fitness, mother and baby, and more.

Visit the Thalassa Sea & Spa site

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 260

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

10,416 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,740 reviews

Super

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 26/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Super

Good stay, warm & professional welcome

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Rh Couples - 19/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent room, beautiful look at the seaside, excellent service, also the breakfast roomservice at six o clock in the morning, very comfortable interior and bed, quiet for a relaxing sleep

Branding error ?

Customer review rating 4.4/5

B. Families - 06/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My score may seem severe, but it's a question of "expectations". Without being too negative (I will refrain from annoying specifics), I would summarize by saying that I didn't get he impression I was staying at a Sofitel. It "felt" as though Sofitel had just bought a property that they hadn't brought up to norm yet. The positive : the outdoor pool is nice (as is the smaller, indoor one). Thalasso infrastructure = OK, but eg even the Novotel Thalasso at Le Touquet is of higher standard. All in all : disappointing experience that I wouldn't recommend (will personally never return here).

Blissful

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Jenny Solo - 02/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I needed a break and this suited perfectly. The hotel is extremely well situated, the room with terrace looking on to the sea just what was needed and every staff member ready to assist.

Nice location just on the beach

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Valentina Couples - 29/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

+ Very clean and very soft bedsheets and firm mattresses. Spacious rooms and quality products. +++ the Thalasso, of course - restaurant service was very slow, and quite complicated( although is just a brasserie) - they do table service for bread which translates in not having enough bread and always hunting for a waiter to have some more bread; oysters served without butter - we had to ask for butter but nice butter made from raw milk / Loire Valley ; no salt and pepper on the table( we also had to ask for some, and it took a while to get it , wine service very slow - we only had a glass per person because after finishing the glass we couldn’t catch somebody s attention to have some more and we were to busy hunting for butter and salt and pepper. General nice atmosphere but too complicated service that doesn’t cover the basic needs first.

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and comments about your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar as it helps us identify potential issues and gives us the opportunity to improve. We are sorry that your experience with our Restaurant did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the service have been communicated to our Food & Beverage Director who will take the appropriate measures to avoid this problem again. However, what a pleasure to read that you appreciated the comfort of your room as well as the quality of Thalasso treatments. We hope we will have the opportunity to let you experience our professionalism and service quality equal to our reputation. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Could be much better !!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

dominioni2020 22/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel should be compared with Peninsula. Or Four Seasons or Shangri la Unfortunately it is far away and I am disappointed Service is at 3 or 4 stars level Maintenance. painting is a shame Food is so so

Dear dominioni2020, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Be assured that your observations have been communicated to the management who will take the appropriate measures. We hope we will have the occasion to offer you the service quality and experience we attend to reach during a future stay in Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Everything You Need to Relax

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Jennifer Solo - 08/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Audrey at the Reception made everything easy and friendly for my last-minute stay. She made me feel welcome immediately and even upgraded my room. The facilities are well-designed for ultimate r&r, even during the COVID19 pandemic. Safety and hygiene protocols were well-executed. The only negatives for me were the in-attentive and unfriendly poolside waiters and attendants (I had to actually stop a server and ask for service after she walked right by me for the 5th or 6th time during 20 min. And the area was nearly empty). And the quality of the food—room service and poolside—was disappointingly average. Also, please provide hand & body lotion with the bathroom amenities! Overall, however, you can forget indifferent poolside attendants, dry skin, and overcooked burgers with undercooked fries with the sound of ocean waves and the tranquility of the property.

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. However, I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience caused around the pool. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. We all look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

beautiful view

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Fklee Families - 07/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

very nice location, good food, friendly staff! it could be cleaner and they could renovate it.

Dear Guest, First of all thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I am delighted to see that your experience with us has fulfilled most of your expectations, this is truly rewarding for all of us. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

All was perfect

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mónica O. Families - 30/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As always, perfect. Specially Philipe at room service. He is very kind and a good profesional.

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Sin-par COVID control

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Steve Families - 24/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice suite (prestigie), however, located above the parking ramp which meant that early in the morning it was very noisy as a result of what we think must have been deliveries. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful and attentive, however we were shocked by the lack of COVID controls in the swimming pool area, with very little space between seats and a lot of people. This certainly detracted from our experience.

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience you have experienced in your room with the noise the deliveries. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the department concerned. Regarding the COVID measures, we have implemented a strickt protocol to promote barrier gestures and ensure your safety, both in the establishment and around the swimming pool. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Sincerest regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

A great stay in difficult times

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Christopher B. Families - 23/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great stay. The staff were excellent and the service more than made up for a hotel room starting to show its age. In these days of Covid this worked out perfectly, although the breakfast coffee was not great.

Dear Guest, First of all thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I am delighted to see that your experience with us has fulfilled most of your expectations, this is truly rewarding for all of us. We took note of your remark regarding the breakfast coffee. All your comments have been transmitted to the departments concerned. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Nice view from our room, but our children room not so nice

Customer review rating 4.4/5

G. Families - 14/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Your hotel has a good location and the pool was very nice. The rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable. Housekeeping staff very friendly and clean well. If I may make a suggestion offer a water cooler upstairs by the poolarea. This as your waiter staff never is around to order a drink and if you do it takes forever. Your cocktails are horrible in a tiny plastic cup and tasteless. I understand the use of plastic by the pool but there must be nicer glasses to serve a nice cocktail which cost you 12 euro. As I said service by pool so slow that I am sure you miss a lot of revenue there! Why not ask staff to go and see guests if they like a drink? We had to search high and low for a waiter. I am sorry to say and than there mostly very grumpy. However your Concierge Claude and his staff are fantastic. Friendly and service orientated and you expect in a 5 star hotel. Always with a smile and patient. John and Gorka and his team always around for help and advice. Thanks to these guys our stay was amazing. Your reception staff was friendly and fast. The restaurant I was disappointed by the first evening the quality/price did not level so we decided to eat of the hotel for the next 16 nights. Overall we had a good holiday and stay. Thank you very much

Dear Guest, We would like firstly, to thank you for the time spent in writing this review since every comment is essential for evaluating and correcting our weaknesses. We are sincerely sorry to note that the service around the swimming pool as well as the restaurant did not satisfy you. However, We are very pleased to read that you have loved your room and the welcoming attitude from our staff. We would be pleased to welcome you back on another occasion assuring you our best care and attention. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Well located and excellent service

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Luis Couples - 05/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

100% of staff very pro and gentle. The aesthetics of the hotel are kind of old but very well located.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

F M. Families - 03/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

great stay, prime location, very friendly staff and good service the rooms are due for a renovation to stay competitive with similar 5 stars hotels

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Sofitel Biarritz July 2020

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Omar A. Couples - 28/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very Good stay in gerneral The hotel is old and need serious renovation from the inside and outside However The Rooms are very spacious, very clean and very comfortable also the staff is excellent, professional and very friendly. Breakfast is good however they need to improve the quality of Bread and Croissant

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room. Also, we take your comments into account. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Sofitel Biarritz July 2020

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Omar A 28/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is old and needs serious inside and outside renovation However The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and professional. Also they need to improve the quality of Breads and Croissant served for breakfast

Dear Omar A, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and we take your comments into account. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Enjoyed our stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Gail E. Couples - 26/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed ourselves. Given the conditions that the Covid-19 presents, we found the hotel very comfortable. We went to the beach, took walks, played tennis nearby and ate at several different restaurants.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. It is a pleasure to read your positive words which have been communicated to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

T. Couples - 24/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

refreshing and relaxing at the same time

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Wonderful location, aged amenities, terrible front desk experience

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

kirillbond2020 22/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has everything going for it - superb location, large rooms with terraces, excellent pool and spa facilities however the rudeness and incompetency of the guest relations manager and some of the front desk staff has spoiled our 8 night stay - we got the worst placed room with leaky bathroom ceiling, had to repack and wait to be moved to a new room (not an upgrade) that had construction in front of windows. When we finally were offered an acceptable room (only available upgrade), we lost a day moving 3 rooms in one day and the hotel staff lost my shows when moving my luggage. Only bright light was the hotel manager Celine stepping in on LAST day to offer compensation for lost shoes.

Dear kirillbond2020, We would like to thank you for the comment that you have left on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience caused during your stay. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. Best regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

good location, good stay, wouldn't stay there next time

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Rawleigh R. Families - 19/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

the staff were all exceptional, but the food and condition of the hotel and rooms were not great, certainly below expectations.

Dear Guest, We first would like to thank you for letting a comment to share your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the incidents encountered during your stay. Your observations regarding the food and the bar have been communicated to the managers who will undertake the appropriate measures. Our hotel is willing to offer you the best experience, thus, your opinion is precious in order to keep improving our service quality. We hope we will have the opportunity to let you experience our professionalism and service quality equal to our reputation. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in biarritz