Information message

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 10,747 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
See on a map
+ 19 Services

Hotel extras

  • Sea-water pool heated all year round, with panoramic view

  • State-of-the-art spa and thalasso

  • Direct access to Miramar beach, right in the heart of the seaside resort

  • Each room has its own terrace

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • Babysitting on request Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Thalassotherapy centre (nearby)
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on request Paying
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

13 rue Louison Bobet
64200 biarritz
france

Tel: +33559413000

Fax: (+33)5/59247720

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BIARRITZ :  14 MIRAMAR

  • By plane

    BIARRITZ PARME At 3km / 1.88 miles

  • By plane

    BORDEAUX AEROPORT At 200km / 125 miles

  • By car

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By car

    BIARRITZ LA NEGRESSE At 4km / 2.5 miles

  • By train

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By train

    BIARRITZ At 3km / 1.88 miles

GPS :43.487878, -1.554608

Our accommodation(s)

The 126 calm rooms, with MyBed comfortable bedding, are open on the long ocean beach or the city providing relaxation and an unforgettable stay.

Our restaurants and bars

Le Restaurant

Type of cuisine: Bistronomy

Our chef is inspired by local produce to create imaginative, balanced dishes. New menu every month for creative, seasonal dining. Check out the "Equilibre" menu for even more balanced options.

Menu (PDF)
  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

LE 'BAR"

Enjoy a moment of relaxation and sip a cocktail as the waves crash against the Roche Percée in the Bay of Biarritz. Light cocktails are also on the menu.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

LE 'SUITE"

Summer days on the coast can be long and lazy, so the ideal place for a snack or beverage is the poolside B Côté Terrasse. Open only in the summer, you can enjoy drinks and snacks as you gaze at the ocean from the pool and breathe in the fresh sea air.

Menu (PDF)

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Our thalasso and spa offers

Experience the benefits of seawater and seaweed in this Biarritz thalassotherapy hotel's unique Relaxation Lagoon and treatment pavilions. Professional therapists create sur mesure programs for detox, harmony, slimming, fitness, mother and baby, and more.

Visit the Thalassa Sea & Spa site

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 260

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

10,747 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,769 reviews

Run down, understaffed hotel

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Judith K. Families - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The facilities are run down and in urgent need for a proper renovation; rooms are old and filthy; service at the restaurant and pool is poor; overall totally understaffed

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Booking and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Be assured that your observations have been communicated to the management who will take the appropriate measures. We hope we will have the occasion to offer you the service quality and experience we attend to reach during a future stay in Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Old, aged hotel compensated by grate staff

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Francis P. Couples - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have been to the hotel for the first time in 1985 and... does not seem to have changed or been updated since, except for the Thalasso part. The hotel has aged totally, holes in the carpet, brown interior, rooms no longer up to the standard (no electric plugs e.g.), terrasses are old and not entirely clean, outside you see rust, outside is also not painted, etc. Staying at Sofitels around the world this is definitely NOT a reference anymore. Our stay was compensated a lot by the wonderful staff.

Dear Guest, We would like firstly, to thank you for the time spent in writing this review since every comment is essential for evaluating and correcting our weaknesses. We are sorry for your disappointment with the appearance of our hotel. Be sure that your comment has been communicated to the management who has taken note of all the elements mentioned. Your compliments regarding the staff has been communicated to all our Ambassadors who were touched by your words. We would be pleased to welcome you back on another occasion assuring you our best care and attention. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Huge room sleeping to the sound of the sea

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Penny F. Couples - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We came on Sunday and stayed two nights. We don't get to use the thalassotherapy unfortunately closed but we did get a swim send jacuzzi and a quick dip out-of-doors! It is a little old fashioned ( eg the pictures over the bed!) but we loved the really separated WC and bathroom from a very large bedroom and a massive king size bed with excellent bed linen and soft under-blanket. An uo date of the deco of the terrace would make it perfect! Staff were very kind and helpful

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa Sea & Spa. Your compliments regarding the staff has been communicated to all our Ambassadors who were touched by your words. We hope that we will have the opportunity to host you during a next travel to French Basque Country. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Not 5 stars

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Javier Families - 02/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really disappointed. Hotel has lack of maintenance, service is terrible and very expensive for the benefits received

Dear Javier Oscar B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Fabulous all-around

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jen V. Couples - 21/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From the moment we pulled our car up to the front door, we were welcomed warmly by the valet and front desk. Our parking and check-in experience was smooth and Jean showed us the important points of our room when he brought us our luggage. The room is clean but a little dated (room door a little dinged, carpet torn in corners and some rust on the balcony)... everything was in working order. We ordered room service for dinner and it was one of the best meals we have EVER had at a hotel for room service. Room service staff was very friendly and prompt. Cleaning and other employees we saw in the hallways and lobby were always polite, friendly, and professional. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to our friends, family and clients. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope we will have the pleasure to let you discover our fitness room with a panoramic view on the ocean during your next visit on the Bask Coast. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Super

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 26/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Super

Good stay, warm & professional welcome

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Rh Couples - 19/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent room, beautiful look at the seaside, excellent service, also the breakfast roomservice at six o clock in the morning, very comfortable interior and bed, quiet for a relaxing sleep

Could be much better !!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

dominioni2020 22/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel should be compared with Peninsula. Or Four Seasons or Shangri la Unfortunately it is far away and I am disappointed Service is at 3 or 4 stars level Maintenance. painting is a shame Food is so so

Dear dominioni2020, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Be assured that your observations have been communicated to the management who will take the appropriate measures. We hope we will have the occasion to offer you the service quality and experience we attend to reach during a future stay in Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Sofitel Biarritz July 2020

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Omar A 28/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is old and needs serious inside and outside renovation However The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and professional. Also they need to improve the quality of Breads and Croissant served for breakfast

Dear Omar A, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and we take your comments into account. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Wonderful location, aged amenities, terrible front desk experience

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

kirillbond2020 22/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has everything going for it - superb location, large rooms with terraces, excellent pool and spa facilities however the rudeness and incompetency of the guest relations manager and some of the front desk staff has spoiled our 8 night stay - we got the worst placed room with leaky bathroom ceiling, had to repack and wait to be moved to a new room (not an upgrade) that had construction in front of windows. When we finally were offered an acceptable room (only available upgrade), we lost a day moving 3 rooms in one day and the hotel staff lost my shows when moving my luggage. Only bright light was the hotel manager Celine stepping in on LAST day to offer compensation for lost shoes.

Dear kirillbond2020, We would like to thank you for the comment that you have left on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience caused during your stay. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. Best regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

a disappointing stay at a 5 star rated hotel in Biarritz

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

francoisxavierlouis 18/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

Room of médiocre style, balcon not neat, bath room veryxsmall and without a propre bath tube and shower place (5 star hotel....), lack of personnel to serve drinks by the pool (one guy only for over 50 long chairs), disastrous massage offering, no automatic replenishment of coffee, ...

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back at the Sofitel Biarritz during your next visit to Biarritz. Best regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Cosy and warm Sofitel biarritz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

629arnaultp Solo travel - 14/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Great stay in Biarritz, cosy and warm at Sofitel Sofitel well located close to beach and city center Excellent spa and pool facilities with heated outdoor Staff and service very professional But hotel should get some renovation

Dear Arnault P, Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa Sea&Spa. It is a pleasure to read your positive words which have been communicated to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit of Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Soon up for refurbishment

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

984oskara Couples - 20/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Starting to show wear and tear. The bar ( both lobby and pool) is outrageously expensive, charging 14€ for 15 cl glass of basic white and red and is therefore empty most of the time. Same goes for the restaurant that charge Michelin star price for below average food and service. One of two elevators where out of service most of our stay.

Well-located hotel with great pool and excellent service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

JEROMEHARRIS1 Family - 21/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

We spent four nights at this Sofitel in July 2019 - in a Junior Suite with sea view. It was wonderful waking up to the crashing waves. The food was good, the service was excellent - we had an amazing time. The pool area is an asset to the property. The only down-side is that the hotel feels like it needs a refresh, there is rust staining on the outside of the hotel, the balconies and rooms look tired - but it didn't affect our enjoyment of the property

Awesome and amazing stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

paulpI3521YZ Family - 09/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Our family holidays in Sofitel Miramar was a wonderful and amazing time , thank you for the hospitality and wonderful service, special the surprise for our son , who had his 5th birthday, the amazing view - just wow

Dear Ashley, Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. It is a pleasure to read your positive words which have been communicated to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Tony & Pauline’s Biarritz Holiday

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

tonybysouth Couples - 25/09/2018 TripAdvisor review

A truly luxury experience without being over the top. Perfect location with lovely views from our room.Excellent service overall, despite having to wait 5 hours after the promised check in time before being fully able to use our room. Drinks very expensive both in bar and at poolside. Our bed was not very comfortable this time, whereas on previous vi to same hotel our bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay in Biarritz for your birthday. We are glad to read that you've enjoyed your stay among us and that you particularly liked the location, the view on the ocean and the service. Be assured that we have well noted your remarks and will share them with the management in order to improve the quality of the services you've pointed. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again during your next holidays in the Basque Country. Best regards, Emmanuelle C. Communication & guest experience manager

Bad experience in a fine hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

David R Couples - 16/11/2017 TripAdvisor review

Impossible to sleep because of the noise from the ventilation system. The noise was constant during the 2 nights we stayed at this hotel. Wind against the windows is normal in Biarritz, but for the wind to get into the ventilation system creating a noise like a storm "inside the room" was totally unacceptable

Dear David, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. We are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences caused. I have shared your comment with our Management who will review it shortly in order to prevent future occurence. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back during a future trip on the Basque Coast and prove you this experience does not reflect the service quality we attend to deliver. Kind Regards, Emmanuelle C., Communication and Guest Experience Manager

Very Satisfied with everything

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Michael S Couples - 03/02/2017 TripAdvisor review

The initial welcome and general attitude of the staff was extremely warm, helpful and friendly. the accommodation was very comfortable, of a standard we expected, but the bed far exceeded expectations it was exceptionally comfortable. All facilities in the hotel were easily accessible and of the standard expected, and the restaurant was excellent all round.

Dear Michael, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedbacks and compliments ! We shared them with our Ambassadors who were touched by your words as they are commited to craft magnifique moments. Looking forward hosting you for your next wellness travel on the Basque Coast. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Spend you money elsewhere

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Juliette P Couples - 21/09/2016 TripAdvisor review

Terrible service - apart from the pool safety guard, charming Beatrice. Room service came at 5pm to make the room and evening service ... at 6pm ! When we politely asked whether they could possibly come back later, they said this was as late as it could possibly be ... So one hour between the time they make the room and the time they come back to prepare it for the night - when you pay EUR500 + per night you would expect this to be different. To visit the Spa, you have to go through the main hall / reception ... we had no gowns and got literally told off my concierge in the lift that we were not wearing suitable clothing. Old hotel - not renovated - and as expensive as it can possibly be. Maybe revisit customer care & service, at least.

Dear Mary, First of all, please accept our sincere apologies that your stay in the Sofitel Biarritz did not live up to expectations. It is through comments such as yours that we strive to improve our service and ensure that such errors do not repeat themselves. We will investigate the incidents experienced in the room service and apologize for the inconvenience caused. On a more positive note, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed Beatrice's service and your visit to Biarritz. I do therefore hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Sofitel Biarritz in the future to give you the experience you were looking for. Warm regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé

Looking forward to returning, wonderful experience!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

barksdalefarm24065 Couples - 11/09/2016 TripAdvisor review

We were visiting Southern France with friends and wanted a fewdays at the beach. A two night in Saint Jean Du Luz changed to one with our second night in Biarritz. Easy to book online, great price with ocean view, lucked out with a massage appointment the day we checked in. The restaurant was fabulous from service to the food! Price point from the restaurant to mini bar was the same. Bathroom was very nice in layout and function. Would design a bathroom similar for future construction. Outdoor pool was the best salt water pool, I've had the pleasure of using, pool attendants were on top of everything. Highly recommended and will stay again when we travel back to France.

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Firstly we wanted to sincerely thank you for choosing Sofitel Biarritz for your stay and for taking the time to share your views on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is precious to us since it helps us to constantly improve our services. We thank you for your comment regarding the restaurant, the pool and the view. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon for a new breathtaking! Kindest regards.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in biarritz