Information message

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 10,433 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
See on a map
+ 27 Services

Hotel extras

  • Sea-water pool heated all year round, with panoramic view

  • State-of-the-art spa and thalasso

  • Direct access to Miramar beach, right in the heart of the seaside resort

  • Each room has its own terrace

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Thalassotherapy centre (nearby)
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

13 rue Louison Bobet
64200 biarritz
france

Tel: +33559413000

Fax: (+33)5/59247720

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BIARRITZ :  14 MIRAMAR

  • By plane

    BIARRITZ PARME At 3km / 1.88 miles

  • By plane

    BORDEAUX AEROPORT At 200km / 125 miles

  • By car

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By car

    BIARRITZ LA NEGRESSE At 4km / 2.5 miles

  • By train

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By train

    BIARRITZ At 3km / 1.88 miles

GPS :43.487878, -1.554608

Our accommodation(s)

The 126 calm rooms, with MyBed comfortable bedding, are open on the long ocean beach or the city providing relaxation and an unforgettable stay.

Classic Room with 1 large bed or twin beds and terrace.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 25 / 269 sq ft
  • Views: Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Superior Room with large bed or twin beds and terrace.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31 / 334 sq ft
  • Views: City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Superior Ocean Room with partial sea view, 1 king-size bed or twin beds.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31 / 334 sq ft
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)

Luxury Room with beautiful sea view, king-size bed or twin beds, terrace.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31 / 334 sq ft
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Direct dial telephone(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

LE "RESTAURANT"

Type of cuisine: Healthy eating

Our chef is inspired by local produce to create imaginative, balanced dishes. New menu every month for creative, seasonal dining. Check out the "Equilibre" menu for even more balanced options.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

12:30 - 14:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

19:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE 'BAR"

Non contractual photo

Enjoy a moment of relaxation and sip a cocktail as the waves crash against the Roche Percée in the Bay of Biarritz. Light cocktails are also on the menu.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LE 'SUITE"

Non contractual photo

Summer days on the coast can be long and lazy, so the ideal place for a snack or beverage is the poolside B Côté Terrasse. Open only in the summer, you can enjoy drinks and snacks as you gaze at the ocean from the pool and breathe in the fresh sea air.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our thalasso and spa offers

Experience the benefits of seawater and seaweed in this Biarritz thalassotherapy hotel's unique Relaxation Lagoon and treatment pavilions. Professional therapists create sur mesure programs for detox, harmony, slimming, fitness, mother and baby, and more.

Visit the Thalassa Sea & Spa site

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 260

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

10,433 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,746 reviews

2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2020

Super

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 26/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Super

Good stay, warm & professional welcome

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Rh Couples - 19/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent room, beautiful look at the seaside, excellent service, also the breakfast roomservice at six o clock in the morning, very comfortable interior and bed, quiet for a relaxing sleep

Branding error ?

Customer review rating 1.0/5

B. Families - 06/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My score may seem severe, but it's a question of "expectations". Without being too negative (I will refrain from annoying specifics), I would summarize by saying that I didn't get he impression I was staying at a Sofitel. It "felt" as though Sofitel had just bought a property that they hadn't brought up to norm yet. The positive : the outdoor pool is nice (as is the smaller, indoor one). Thalasso infrastructure = OK, but eg even the Novotel Thalasso at Le Touquet is of higher standard. All in all : disappointing experience that I wouldn't recommend (will personally never return here).

Blissful

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jenny Solo - 02/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I needed a break and this suited perfectly. The hotel is extremely well situated, the room with terrace looking on to the sea just what was needed and every staff member ready to assist.

Nice location just on the beach

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Valentina Couples - 29/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

+ Very clean and very soft bedsheets and firm mattresses. Spacious rooms and quality products. +++ the Thalasso, of course - restaurant service was very slow, and quite complicated( although is just a brasserie) - they do table service for bread which translates in not having enough bread and always hunting for a waiter to have some more bread; oysters served without butter - we had to ask for butter but nice butter made from raw milk / Loire Valley ; no salt and pepper on the table( we also had to ask for some, and it took a while to get it , wine service very slow - we only had a glass per person because after finishing the glass we couldn’t catch somebody s attention to have some more and we were to busy hunting for butter and salt and pepper. General nice atmosphere but too complicated service that doesn’t cover the basic needs first.

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and comments about your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar as it helps us identify potential issues and gives us the opportunity to improve. We are sorry that your experience with our Restaurant did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the service have been communicated to our Food & Beverage Director who will take the appropriate measures to avoid this problem again. However, what a pleasure to read that you appreciated the comfort of your room as well as the quality of Thalasso treatments. We hope we will have the opportunity to let you experience our professionalism and service quality equal to our reputation. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Could be much better !!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

dominioni2020 22/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel should be compared with Peninsula. Or Four Seasons or Shangri la Unfortunately it is far away and I am disappointed Service is at 3 or 4 stars level Maintenance. painting is a shame Food is so so

Dear dominioni2020, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Be assured that your observations have been communicated to the management who will take the appropriate measures. We hope we will have the occasion to offer you the service quality and experience we attend to reach during a future stay in Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Everything You Need to Relax

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jennifer Solo - 08/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Audrey at the Reception made everything easy and friendly for my last-minute stay. She made me feel welcome immediately and even upgraded my room. The facilities are well-designed for ultimate r&r, even during the COVID19 pandemic. Safety and hygiene protocols were well-executed. The only negatives for me were the in-attentive and unfriendly poolside waiters and attendants (I had to actually stop a server and ask for service after she walked right by me for the 5th or 6th time during 20 min. And the area was nearly empty). And the quality of the food—room service and poolside—was disappointingly average. Also, please provide hand & body lotion with the bathroom amenities! Overall, however, you can forget indifferent poolside attendants, dry skin, and overcooked burgers with undercooked fries with the sound of ocean waves and the tranquility of the property.

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. However, I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience caused around the pool. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. We all look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

beautiful view

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Fklee Families - 07/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

very nice location, good food, friendly staff! it could be cleaner and they could renovate it.

Dear Guest, First of all thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I am delighted to see that your experience with us has fulfilled most of your expectations, this is truly rewarding for all of us. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

All was perfect

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mónica O. Families - 30/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As always, perfect. Specially Philipe at room service. He is very kind and a good profesional.

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate the time you took to answer our satisfaction survey following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is a pleasure to read that your experience met your expectations. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Sin-par COVID control

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Steve Families - 24/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice suite (prestigie), however, located above the parking ramp which meant that early in the morning it was very noisy as a result of what we think must have been deliveries. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful and attentive, however we were shocked by the lack of COVID controls in the swimming pool area, with very little space between seats and a lot of people. This certainly detracted from our experience.

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience you have experienced in your room with the noise the deliveries. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the department concerned. Regarding the COVID measures, we have implemented a strickt protocol to promote barrier gestures and ensure your safety, both in the establishment and around the swimming pool. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Sincerest regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Sofitel Biarritz July 2020

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Omar A 28/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is old and needs serious inside and outside renovation However The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and professional. Also they need to improve the quality of Breads and Croissant served for breakfast

Dear Omar A, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and we take your comments into account. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Wonderful location, aged amenities, terrible front desk experience

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

kirillbond2020 22/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has everything going for it - superb location, large rooms with terraces, excellent pool and spa facilities however the rudeness and incompetency of the guest relations manager and some of the front desk staff has spoiled our 8 night stay - we got the worst placed room with leaky bathroom ceiling, had to repack and wait to be moved to a new room (not an upgrade) that had construction in front of windows. When we finally were offered an acceptable room (only available upgrade), we lost a day moving 3 rooms in one day and the hotel staff lost my shows when moving my luggage. Only bright light was the hotel manager Celine stepping in on LAST day to offer compensation for lost shoes.

Dear kirillbond2020, We would like to thank you for the comment that you have left on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience caused during your stay. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. Best regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

a disappointing stay at a 5 star rated hotel in Biarritz

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

francoisxavierlouis 18/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

Room of médiocre style, balcon not neat, bath room veryxsmall and without a propre bath tube and shower place (5 star hotel....), lack of personnel to serve drinks by the pool (one guy only for over 50 long chairs), disastrous massage offering, no automatic replenishment of coffee, ...

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back at the Sofitel Biarritz during your next visit to Biarritz. Best regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Cosy and warm Sofitel biarritz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Arnault P Solo travel - 14/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Great stay in Biarritz, cosy and warm at Sofitel Sofitel well located close to beach and city center Excellent spa and pool facilities with heated outdoor Staff and service very professional But hotel should get some renovation

Dear Arnault P, Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa Sea&Spa. It is a pleasure to read your positive words which have been communicated to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit of Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Soon up for refurbishment

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

984oskara Couples - 20/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Starting to show wear and tear. The bar ( both lobby and pool) is outrageously expensive, charging 14€ for 15 cl glass of basic white and red and is therefore empty most of the time. Same goes for the restaurant that charge Michelin star price for below average food and service. One of two elevators where out of service most of our stay.

Well-located hotel with great pool and excellent service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

JEROMEHARRIS1 Family - 21/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

We spent four nights at this Sofitel in July 2019 - in a Junior Suite with sea view. It was wonderful waking up to the crashing waves. The food was good, the service was excellent - we had an amazing time. The pool area is an asset to the property. The only down-side is that the hotel feels like it needs a refresh, there is rust staining on the outside of the hotel, the balconies and rooms look tired - but it didn't affect our enjoyment of the property

Awesome and amazing stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

paulpI3521YZ Family - 09/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Our family holidays in Sofitel Miramar was a wonderful and amazing time , thank you for the hospitality and wonderful service, special the surprise for our son , who had his 5th birthday, the amazing view - just wow

Dear Ashley, Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. It is a pleasure to read your positive words which have been communicated to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments. Looking forward welcoming you for a next visit on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Tony & Pauline’s Biarritz Holiday

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

tonybysouth Couples - 25/09/2018 TripAdvisor review

A truly luxury experience without being over the top. Perfect location with lovely views from our room.Excellent service overall, despite having to wait 5 hours after the promised check in time before being fully able to use our room. Drinks very expensive both in bar and at poolside. Our bed was not very comfortable this time, whereas on previous vi to same hotel our bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay in Biarritz for your birthday. We are glad to read that you've enjoyed your stay among us and that you particularly liked the location, the view on the ocean and the service. Be assured that we have well noted your remarks and will share them with the management in order to improve the quality of the services you've pointed. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again during your next holidays in the Basque Country. Best regards, Emmanuelle C. Communication & guest experience manager

Bad experience in a fine hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

David R Couples - 16/11/2017 TripAdvisor review

Impossible to sleep because of the noise from the ventilation system. The noise was constant during the 2 nights we stayed at this hotel. Wind against the windows is normal in Biarritz, but for the wind to get into the ventilation system creating a noise like a storm "inside the room" was totally unacceptable

Dear David, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. We are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences caused. I have shared your comment with our Management who will review it shortly in order to prevent future occurence. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back during a future trip on the Basque Coast and prove you this experience does not reflect the service quality we attend to deliver. Kind Regards, Emmanuelle C., Communication and Guest Experience Manager

Very Satisfied with everything

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Michael S Couples - 03/02/2017 TripAdvisor review

The initial welcome and general attitude of the staff was extremely warm, helpful and friendly. the accommodation was very comfortable, of a standard we expected, but the bed far exceeded expectations it was exceptionally comfortable. All facilities in the hotel were easily accessible and of the standard expected, and the restaurant was excellent all round.

Dear Michael, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedbacks and compliments ! We shared them with our Ambassadors who were touched by your words as they are commited to craft magnifique moments. Looking forward hosting you for your next wellness travel on the Basque Coast. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in biarritz