Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 337 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 19 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • GolfPaying
  • TennisPaying
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Classic Room with one King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic Room with two Single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Privilege Room with one King Size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

92 RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1552 BAR

Non contractual photo

Our Sports Bar boasts a great location to sit back and relax with a drink in hand. With BT Sports on the big screen, you are sure not to miss any big sporting event.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

337 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

43 reviews

2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2020

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anthony E. Business - 13/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The service was excellent

Dear Mr e. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Lovely Hotel, AMAZING staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

M R. Business - 25/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at this hotel after the original hotel we booked into let us down. Therefore we needed somewhere to stay for our training that was taking place near by. We come across this hotel and thank god we did!!!. What a lovely hotel and staff. We arrived late, which wasn’t a problem for the staff who checked us in very quickly. We stayed in the Suite and it was fantastic. Lovely room and very spacious. We had a lovely nights sleep which was fantastic as we had a long training course ahead. We then decided to return to the hotel that night to stay again for our second day of the training course. Once again the staff remembered us and had a room sorted immediately, Fantastic, we stayed in another suite which was again amazing. The soft drinks in the fridge where a great touch, shame we didn’t receive them on the first night but nothing major. We also decided to get room service. The food was ok but the portion sizes didn’t meet the price we paid if I’m being honest. The jacuzzi bath in the second room unfortunately didn’t work but it was still a great room and worth the money. Overall we had a great stay and we will certainly be returning after the lockdown is lifted. Thank you to all the staff

Dear Mr R., Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! I'm sure that all the team here will appreciate your kind words. I will ensure that the the feedback that you have provided regarding room service is relayed to our senior management team. Please accept my apologies for the confusion caused on check out; it is the hotel policy to check all rooms before completing the preauthorisation and this should have been explained on check in. I will ensure that this is followed up with the Reception Team to ensure that there aren't any inconsistencies for any guests. We hope that you enjoyed your training and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Shambless

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Charles Friends - 20/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We booked a suite and were charged £10 extra upon arrival they denied all knowledge of suites and placed us in two of the basic rooms with 2 single beds . The initial rooms we were given as we entered one the room had a pungent horrible smell to it , the second room we recieved a faulty key which did not work however after some time in reception this was sorted and we were given two replacement rooms in wich were okay however the air cons did not work in either and the furniture was damaged for example the bedside table and the chairs legs were very wobly of some weight was placed on them they could have easily collapsed after all this we went down to the bar were we met a very pleasant and helpful bar staff named vicky she was polite and served us right away this was the best experience of the whole stay as she made us feel welcome and went our of her way for us .

Dear Mr L. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anthony E. Business - 18/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice stay,very friendly staff

Dear Mr e., Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Steamy windows

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Sort out the air conditioning/heating system, mate.

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

Comfortable stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

J H. Families - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovey warm room. Very clean. Reception very friendly, handy for the town but it is a busy road to walk along to access the shops. Room has a fridge and safe.

Dear Ms H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Naomi Reception Managaer

Clean and convenient

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Julmartrich 11/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hotel in the town centre and is a couple of minutes walk into the town on a busy main road, there used to be a gate to cut through but this has been closed due to COVID . Room was very clean, with a fridge kettle and safe. Comfortable beds, good shower and clean towels. Cannot fault for the price, I didn’t bother with the breakfast bag as it’s not really worth the £10.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that the team here will appreciate your comments. I will ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team here to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Gary H. Families - 09/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reall nice room staff really good

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

Good Location for Work

Customer review rating 4.0/5

James F. Solo - 02/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel was clean and comfortable and room service meal was of excellent quality

Dear Mr F., Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure that the food and beverage team will appreciate your lovely comment. Please accept my apologies for the issue with toiletries in the bathroom along with the response at reception when this was mentioned. This is certainly not the standard which we strive to deliver and has been fed back to the senior management team here to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Room & room service great, checkout abysmal!

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Tim H. Business - 28/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friday evening prior to checking out on Saturday morning I asked for my receipts for each transaction, informed these could only be done on check out. I specifically asked for a receipt for each credit card transaction of which there were three, two room booking one evening meals transaction. When checking out I was unable to get any hard copy receipts for some reason. Again informed the person at the desk I needed three receipts. Only option was to give my email address and they would be forwarded to me. They were emailed but only two!!!! Disappointed that the system Mercure use seems not to be user friendly surely it’s not difficult to produce these receipts which had been paid on arrival sooner than on departure. I have phoned the hotel and they are looking into it but as it’s the end of the month these errors will delay me with expense claims I need to submit. Hence my score is influenced by this poor experience on checkout, otherwise I enjoyed my stay.

Dear Mr H. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I hope that following our conversation this week, you understand that this is not the standard that we expect to deliver and that we have now been able to resolve the issues with your invoice. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Clare Couples - 23/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Met by a very pleasant lady on reception covid secure very bright clean reception area. Went into my room bits of whatever it was underneath the desk and the carpets could of done with a major carpet clean could see the stains on it. Towels could of been bigger and an extra set of shower products as the one set isn’t enough for one never mind two ! Overall it was a real nice experience for a night away from my home area

Dear Ms S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

having used this hotel previously I had no hesitation in using the hotel again.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mr R. N. Business - 08/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

under difficult circumstances the hotel staff as always most attentive and knowledgeable about the current situation and been able to converse quite comfortably and with genuine aplomb

Dear RAYMOND n., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Its a comfortable and quiet hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Laurence Business - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed 2 nights. Because of COVID I kept to my room during the stay, room service meals. Everything was good for me

Dear LAURENCE F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Pleasant Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Caroline Couples - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great welcome by reception. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable room. Highly recommended

Dear Ms B., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that all the team here will appreciate your fantastic feedback! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Worst visit yet.

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

kevinallan 01/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

I've stayed at this hotel several times now and it seems to be getting progressively worse. I encountered several things which couldn't have been better. When I first entered the room there was a damp smell which lingered throughout my stay. I put this down to the lack of air conditioning in my room due to COVID. However my room window wouldn't be opened and I was left with the smell throughout my 3 night stay. The beds we two single beds joined together, one being a slightly higher then the other, this mean I slept on a single bed most of the time. When I booked my visit online I selected and pre-paid for my breakfast, 10 pounds, the usual amount you'd expect to pay. However when I went for breakfast I was given a paper back, containing the worst sandwiches, a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar along with brown sauce and tomato ketchp (no idea why). This was not a worth the money. The excuse given for no hot food, was it was down to COVID. As I'm classed as an essential worker, I've travelled all over the UK during COVID. This is the only hotel that's not provided hot meals for breakfast. .

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I treat all feedback with the upmost seriousness and please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfall you have experinced. I do wish that you had let us know while you still with us and we could have looked into the issues with the room for you at the time or we could have moved you to a more suitable one. On check out I do believe you were asked if everything was ok with your stay and nothing was mentioned. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please email me on hb4z1-gm@accor.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon Kind regards

Okay stay.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Q.a. Business - 22/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall stay was okay. Selected hotel due to fitness facilities. These closed at short notice with a letter on the door. Breakfast was okay. 1st day there was no vegetarian option just a meat sandwich. Which was disappointing. Was rectified for the other four days. Room was quite tired - broken tiles in bathroom, broken bath. If its was a work trip dn a personal trip I would have requested a room change.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't 100% and I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sam M. Business - 18/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed for one night and can honestly say that I cannot fault the service and professionalism of the staff. The hotel is beautifully maintained and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a good night’s sleep. Due to the current covid situation you are able to text staff 24 hours with any queries and their response is swift. We texted for help with the heating in the room and someone was there within a couple of minutes. Unfortunately due to Covid, breakfast is a continental take away arrangement. The selection and quality of the prepackaged food is awful and not worth the extra £10 per person. I think that upon booking the breakfast arrangements should be made clear so that you can make an informed decision about adding breakfast to your booking. I was given a ham brioche sub and texted to say that I do not eat pork products. The manager responded immediately and said there was a vegetarian option and was at the room within a minute. Despite his efforts it was just a cheese sandwich in white bread which did not look appetising and I did not eat it. You’re actually better off taking the short walk to the local McDonalds for breakfast if you don’t have Uber eats. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

Dear SAMANTHA M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services including the breakfast which under review to try and find a better way to deliver a high quality within a covid safe. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Enjoyable, but could be better.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Mr A. G. H. Solo - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hi guys, It was a good stay overall. The room amd staff was great. The spa area, its staff and the gym were also great. Below ill leave some feedback on what can make the stay better for next time. 1. Always do a quick check of rooms before you give the guest a keycard so you can make sure things such as the fridge is plugged in so it doesnt take a long time for drinks/snacks to get cold. 2. ICE! ICE! ICE! Get an ice machine for each floor! I cannot stress this enough. Clear out a closet and put your storage on the ground floor or basement. Even if you order cheap ones from china through ali baba... sort it out. No one wants to walk to the front desk to ask the receptionist for a tiny bucket of ice. They likely wont wash their hands. Theres no sureity the buckets are clean. Wheres the ice scooped from? Even if the answers are goid answers, no guest want to have to ask in the first place. Make it happen guys. 3. Get some music for your lobby and restaurant. Its eerily quiet. And whats up with the books in the dining area? Gives me library vibes lol no one wants to eat in a library. 4. Wash cloths for the bathrooms would be nice. You dont want to have to scrub yourself with a bar of soap. 5. A designated area for smokers with shelter is very important! No one should have to go outdoors for a cigarette in the rain. This is an easy way to ensure people do not smoke in the rooms. This is England and it rains every other day. 6. Get some small packets of bubbles for the bathtub in the suite. It would encourage use. Who doesnt love a bubblebath. Thanks for the hospitality, i hope you find this helpful. All the best. Cheers.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will also ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team to review. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Would highly recommend

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Karen Couples - 04/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

All staff were very professional but also very friendly helpful and approachable. They adhered stringently to all Covid safety guidelines. The rooms were spotlessly clean as was all areas of the hotel. Being in a town centre the hotel is close to all amenities and although near a very busy road no traffic noise could be heard from within the hotel. I would highly recommend staying at the Mercure St Helens.

Dear KAREN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

T M. Families - 28/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Towels were a bit old and could have done with more towels and pillows but overall a nice hotel

Dear Ms m. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will also ensure that your feedback regarding the towels and pillows are given to the senior management team to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens