Novotel Liverpool Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 8,067 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Novotel Liverpool Centre
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • Central location, close to Liverpool One shopping centre

  • Leisure facilities including swimming pool, steam room and gym (reopening 25th July)

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby travel links

  • Q-Park Hanover Street offers safe, secure, parking for guests of Novotel at a 30% discount

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Liverpool Centre

40 Hanover Street
Merseyside
L1 4LN liverpool
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)01517025110

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    JOHN LENNON AIRPORT At 11.26km / 7 miles

  • By train

    LIVERPO LIME STREET At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS:53.403169, -2.984534

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

ROPEWALKS BAR AND KITCHEN

RopeWalks Bar And Kitchen is currently running a reduced menu on reopening. Please contact the hotel on h6495@accor.com for more information.

Our accommodation(s)

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 80

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 60 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Liverpool Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

8,067 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

3,030 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Liverpool visit for anniversary

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

sabrinakZ6613ZF 01/12/2021 TripAdvisor review

The staff and service we received from front of house and room service was excellent, friendly professional and very helpful. The room had stain on the carpet floor, there was a constant leak in the corner if the room. It was difficult to sleep at night due to the noise from the extraction fan which couldn't be turned off during our stay. The room had plenty of space but felt shabby

Helpful staff, brilliant location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul M. D. Families - 29/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a great stay here last week, travelled as a couple with ten year old for his birthday trip to Anfield, Staff were extremely helpful, we arrived at 8am for a 3pm check in, explained to reception our sons leg was in a brace from a fracture and asked to be let known if a room came available any earlier, the hotel was full to capacity as there was a big soccer game the evening before, they still managed to have a room ready about 12.30pm for us, which was a great help, Beautiful pool area, excellent buffet breakfast, Rooms a decent size with everything you could need. For the money we paid, the hotel, the location, the staff and the facilities were well above what we expected and Novotel would be our first choice again the next time we visit. Thanks for a great stay and understanding and accommodating our needs. We will definitely return

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL members. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr M., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN
Customer review rating 2.5/5

Mr B. C. Couples - 29/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay apart from being woken up at approx 12.30 with the fire alarm going and having to rush outside in the freezing cold

Dear Mr C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion due to a false fir alarm; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Mr C., we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

overall great stay, perfect location.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 29/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

everything went smoothly with check in, parking available very close by and room is at a high standard.

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL members. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr M., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Good hotel but

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Ian L 29/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

I was greeted and had a room upgrade on the eleventh floor which was all excellent. Went down for dinner and in 20 minutes just managed to get a drinks menu. The chef in the kitchen was leaning in the counter doing nothing. Two other tables were waiting to be served. So I walked out and ate elsewhere.

Extremely ordinary

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Daniel F. Families - 28/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked this trip using the Accor website. This crashed several times and managed to double book my trip without telling me. I spent half an hour on the phone afterwards trying to sort this out but they told me this wasn’t possible but that the hotel staff would be able to. This sounded wrong but turned out to be right, if fairly annoying. The room was exactly what you’d expect at any Novotel which is why I booked to stay there - clean, basically comfortable. The breakfast was easily the worst Novotel breakfast I’ve ever had. Leathery bacon, boiled mushrooms, the staff were refilling the juice containers using budget fruit juice, the scrambled eggs were being topped up from blue plastic containers. The layout was crazy and involved you walking miles between your table, coffee machine, food stations etc. it felt like some kind of challenge and really required a tray given the staff provided no service at all.

Dear Mr F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Mr F., we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Nice room

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Sasha Couples - 28/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arriving only 1 person checking in dozens of guests, so not a great 1st impression. Room was lovely. Overall look of hotel was nice, but thats about all the positive. No mention on booking of carpark discount so my prebooking lost me that. Bar was again, short staffed so waiting a long time. No room service available and bar closing at 10pm is ridiculous! Pool was cold and changing facilities were lacking. Stressful stay due to a local incident (nothing at all to do with hotel) but at no point were we asked if everything was ok or even spoken to by staff actually? Quite 'unfriendly' overall.

Dear Ms R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion in particular with the car park discount information and the waiting time to be served at the bar; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Ms R., we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Les Couples - 28/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were given a room in the 11th floor, and my wife has a fear of heights. Despite the hotel being fully booked we asked to change rooms, and were given an alternative on the first floor.

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal Silver member. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr H., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Decent stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Chris Business - 28/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Decent enough stay but a few issues. Fire alarm going off at midnight and ending up in a kitchen trying to get out of the building. No real explanation as to what was going on after getting to reception, there seemed to be very little organisation which may be a big issue if there is an actual fire rather than someone burning something in the kitchen going by the smell when I was in there. Bill received during the night via email which has a breakfast charge on it but told at breakfast that it hadn't been charged. All rather silly little things that can be fixed with a little attention - the fire alarm issue and planning does need urgent attention though. Other than that the stay was good with no major issues. The tiles on the bathroom floor felt a bit look though and it would be worth having maintenance take a look at that.

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback, especially from our loyal Silver member. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr M., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

LOVELY STAFF

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 28/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel reception staff member Jade always goes above and beyond for everyone. We watched Jade ensure hotel guests were happy over and over again, whilst maintaining a calm, professional & friendly manner. Nothing was too much for her. Credit when it's due - this is the ideal staff member you would want to be met by during your hotel stay. Thank you Jade

Dear Ms N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL member. I will share your comments with our team and in particular to Jade. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Ms N., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

David C. Solo - 27/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location is the best in the city centre. The bar & restaurant always have a friendly atmosphere & food is delicious. The entrance area is either congested or quiet & as keys often need re coding, can be a frustrating wait.

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback, especially from our loyal Silver member. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr C., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Excellent Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Myumyun E. Friends - 27/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite arriving very early i was able to check-in with the night receptionist and he was helpful by changing the room from double to twin, as i mistakenly booked wrong one. Room was nice and clean excactly what you need for. Well done to housekeeping. The staff at the bar were very cool and friendly Ethan and Lenka you guys are top, also the FO Manager from Venezuella (sorry forgot his name) was super friendly to. Breakfast despite it was very busy, very well orginised and you had everything you could wish for. Definitely would be back again. Keep up the good work ;)

Dear Mr E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL members. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr E., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Family Business Trip

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mr. D. Families - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was amazingly clean and we were ahply with the front dest staff.

Dear Mr AZLAN BIN, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL members. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr AZLAN BIN, thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Very comfortable and helpful staff.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Margaret P. Couples - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcome was good, helpful staff,good breakfast.clean and comfortable.

Dear Ms P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Ms P., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Disappointing stay at his time :(

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Sam R. Business - 24/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointing. I stayed in the summer and had a great time at the hotel but sadly this stay was disappointing. The pools water was very cloudy and murky abd the chlorine level was too high so I got very bad sinus problems from it. Last time the water was very clear and clean and I did not have this issue. The air con in the room was not working and it was very stuffy and uncomfortable whereas last time it worked well. In the middle of the night there was a fire alarm (I do not believe this was the hotels fault) but the communication was poor and this lead to a very disturbed sleep. In the morning there were repeated disruptions someone came to knock on the door and change a light in the room prior to me checking out insisting that it must be changed although I had not reported the light as broken and it was working fine. This was while I was trying to sleep after the lengthy fire alarm in the middle of the night disturbed my sleep. You would think the maintenance staff should have been told about the alarm and left routine light bulb changes until the gap after checkout. On checkout the reception staff was not friendly and was frosty and hesitant in keeping my luggage for me (I was attending a NHS course). Last time the staff had been very friendly and willing to help and this warmness made me choose to come back. All in all a very disappointing stay falling below my expectations as rebooked having had a great experience the first time at Novotel liverpool. I will be attending future NHS courses in liverpool but after this stay I will probably go to stay at another hotel.

Dear Mr R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. As you mentioned it is not the usual standard you have experience in the past, therefore I would be pleased on your next visit to Liverpool to give you a free upgrade to our Executive room, upon availability. Please contact me directly and I will confirm back. Mr R., we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Hayhurst Solo - 24/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

large room, large tv, modern, comfy bed.

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL members. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr H., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Good location, helpful staff, but rooms really need a refresh!

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Rb Business - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is in a great, central location and the staff were helpful. The pool is nice and the breakfast was good quality. However, my room was very dated and needed maintenance - chipped furniture, chewing gum on the carpet, marks on the walls. I know it's a mid-range hotel brand but it wasn't particularly cheap so I hope the hotel can be better maintained in future.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback, especially from our loyal ALL members. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mr B., thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN
Customer review rating 3.0/5

Arwyn J. Families - 22/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was not happy as to the fact that the kettle top was broken and i could have burt myself when pouring it and also the toilet would not stop flushing and a very strong smell coming from the bathroom sink hole .

Dear Mr J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Liverpool Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion in particular with kettle and the smell issues; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Mr J., we appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Gilles MATTERN

Meeting Family

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

physicsclub2016 17/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Staff were always helpful and approachable.Jade and Maria went the extra mile. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. The swimming pool was great for the family. Booking in for it was a good idea.

Dirty

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Reja G 10/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Really disappointed with the poor cleanliness. We felt disgusted. This hotel is not cleaned adequately. The allsafe notices everywhere were an absolute joke as the dirt was visible! The staff did take our complaints seriously and moved us to a different room but the communal areas were also unclean. Have given my feedback and the Novotel/Accor chain replied and said they apologise and are looking into the issues which I appreciate. This should never happen however, especially in a pandemic. I did not feel safe.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in liverpool