Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 3,556 reviews
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Hotel on the Copacabana beachfront

  • Events facilities

  • Local cuisine

  • Close to the city's main tourist attractions

  • Beach service

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Well-being
  • Bicycles rental (Nearby)
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Business centre

Hotel location

Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Avenida Atlantica
3716
Copacabana
22070001
rio de janeiro
brazil

Tel: +2135455400

Fax: (+21)35455400

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • AVENIDA ATLANTICA :  

  • CANTAGALO :  

  • By plane

    AEROPORTO SANTOS DUMONT At 11km / 6 miles

  • By plane

    GALEAO At 27km / 16.78 miles

GPS :-22.98139, -43.19006

Our accommodations

Classic with 1 Double Size Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 23
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Classic with 2 Single Size Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 23
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Executive with 1 Double Size Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Executive with 2 Single Size Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Renovated superior room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 26
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Renovated Superior room with 2 twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 26
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Luxury with 1 Double Size Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 20
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Luxury with 2 Single Size Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 20
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

FORNO E FOGAO

Type of cuisine: International

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Forno e Fogão restaurant overlooks the ocean and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner from Monday to Sunday. International cuisine.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LOBBY BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Lobby Bar serves drinks and cocktails and is open from 10am until midnight

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR DA PISCINA

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

POOL BAR OPEN DAILY FROM 9AM TO 10PM, SERVING DRINKS, SNACKS AND LIGHT MEALS

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 184

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 60 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.0/5

318 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

3,556 reviews

Good hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Pablo Business - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good hotel in an overview, bad and breakfast are the very best. Rooms are old, the power outlets are old and the hotel couldn't provide adapters suggesting that I could buy one near by the hotel. These details made the difference for the rate.

Dear Pablo M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Terrible and dangerous view from the room

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Charles Business - 30/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The terrible view from the room overshadowed the entire experience. I will not stay again.

Grand Mercure Copacabana

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Richard R Business - 23/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Everything was fine, the only complaint I have is that they only give you 2 coffee pods and do not replace them. When I enquired about this they said the first 2 are free then you have to pay. I don't like that because everywhere else coffee is free. However, if that is the Policy, they need to tell you when you check in because I would have gladly paid for more coffee.

Dear Richard R, Thank you very much for sharing your review about our hotel for the Trip Advisor community. I really hope we can welcome you again. Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Don’t don’t Risk It

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

br0n101 Solo travel - 17/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Check in took forever and the receptionist couldn’t tell me if the room had a sea view! The staff were unwilling to speak English but did it grudgingly with minimum information. I had the buffet dinner which was horrible although reasonably priced. I’d eaten entree by the time any one came to ask me if I would like a drink. I’d just about finished the main meal by the time the drink came. Breakfast was equally as bad with food that had been on the heat for hours, so the omelette was hard and scrambled eggs had split. The food from room service was by far the nicest meal. The instructions to put your code in the safe are wrong and by the time the maintenance man came to the room I’d missed my tour (the reception staff were unable to help with the safe issue). Reception just shrugged when I explained I had to wait so long for maintenance re the safe is missed my tour. All in all I wouldn’t go back, there are many other lovely hotels at Copacabana where the staff happily speak English and are happy to help!!

Dear br0n101, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I truly apologize for all you have experienced during your stay. I've shared your comments with out staff and we'll talk to them in person in order to improve our attention on those areas. I really hope we can welcome you again in a near future, where we can show you all the improvements we'll make. I'm at your disposal. Best Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Excellent Location and Staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Ados2 Friends getaway - 08/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has an excellent location for tourists in Rio. The staff is committed, nice, polite and very attentive. Some rooms and the pool on the rooftop have astonishing views of Copacabana beach. Small drawbacks are that a renovation would improve the comfort of the rooms, the pool is pleasant but too small for the size of the hotel and if you want a cozy and calm hotel, this hotel could be not the best option for you as it is busy and sometimes loud.

Hi, Ados2. Thank you very much for your review. We're currently renovating our rooms because we understand the need to improve our structure. I hope we can welcome you again really soon. Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Great accommodation

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great accommodation, with a excellent breakfast. Wonderful location in one of the best beaches of Rio de Janeiro.

Dear Daniel, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Cordial

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Hugo Couples - 21/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amable

Hola, Ricardo. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Quedamos muy felizes en saber que hemos proporcionado una agradable estadía. Espero volver a verle muy pronto. Un saludo,
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mark F. Couples - 21/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent holiday in Rio and stay at the hotel. Very good check in with Camila on my arrival. Nice room with welcome gift....Thankyou. The breakfast was one of the best at any Accor hotel I’ve recently visited. Very special mention to Claudia on the lobby bar....very friendly and she makes the best caipirinhas!

Dear MARK F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great location and lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Thomas C. Solo - 03/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were lovely and helpful, rooms gray have everything you need (they currently undergoing redecoration ). Breakfast is busy due to smaller sized donning room but always plenty available so once you’ve got a seat there isn’t any issue - managed well

Dear THOMAS C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good hotel by Brazilian Standards

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Brazil V. Business - 03/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

In general, the stay was good. Good room size (Rm 1566c), air-conditioning, clean. On the other hand, the TV did not work beyond 12 channels. I had to physically disconnect the mains power to reset the TV. Poor picture quality (grainy picture). Also, the toilet flush did not work as intended. I had to top-up the water in the flush tank externally, to get it to work. I left a message with reception, the day after my arrival but nothing was done till my departure.

Dear Winston, Thank you for letting us know your experience. We're sorry for these failures you found in your stay. Our maintenance team was notified to verify your room and this points you mentioned, in order to avoid that other guests experience the same. We really hope we can welcome you again in a near future. Best Regards,

Miss

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Aj Families - 24/09/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall the stay was very pleasant. Staff were consistently helpful. The only negative was that I stayed in room 1766, which is directly below the gym. Once in use you were awoke. The compounding noise of the treadmill.

Dear THERESA C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Decent hotel in a good spot

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

579loics Friends getaway - 24/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is in a good location; right in the middle of Copacabana. The room is ok, spacious but nothing spectacular (very moist and not that clean). They did give us an upgrade to the “best room” in the hotel for the last night after we had a terrible experience with the hotel’s bikes. It is a nice perk to have access to free bikes during a stay but those are definitely not in the best shape and not that safe. They also offer us a free dinner which was a nice gesture. However, someone from the staff (assuming the cleaning lady) cracked my iPad! Even though, the manager tried to solve the issue by looking for a screen to replace my cracked one, no one apologized for it! In the end they offered me a 75 USD discount on my bill... this hotel has potential but there is lots to fix...

Dear 579loics, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced. We explained that due the time you had, unfortunately we were not able to fix your screen so we called the Iplace support and asked how much it would be to replace it. The price was 399 reais and then we refunded you. All your comments will be led to our team in order to improve our service. I'm at your disposal and hope we can welcome you again. Rodrigo Landa

I expected more from Mercure

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Martin P. Couples - 19/09/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was spacious and clean, however having the part of bathroom (sink & related) in the room is not very convenient. Furthermore, despite having promised a view to the street, we had a "view" to a between-building-yard, where all the noisy machines were placed

Dear MARTIN P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We're verifying what happened since we didn't received any confirmation of a street view room. We really hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Superb stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gustavo Z. Business - 16/09/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

As a frequent guest, I chose Grand Mercury Copacabana for the perfect service and friendly staff that makes me feel very welcomed.

Dear GUSTAVO z., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Localization and accomodations

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Edson A. Business - 16/09/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed 2 nights only and is was very satisfied with the accommodations and the kindness of attendants. Also the localization is very good

Dear EDSON A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great stay......some upgrades needed

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Brazil L. Friends - 07/09/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I love the hotel....it has a really wonderful charm... Breakfast was awesome

Dear QUENTIN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Would love to come back!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Betti Solo - 05/09/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location, friendly staffs, good facilities.

Dear GLIER B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good Hotel, Location and Breakfast

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Gilson O Family - 28/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Very well located, excellent breakfast, but the service could be a little better. We were in three in the same room and they prepared the room only for two. As asked more pillows, blanket and hygiene items and we didn’t receive the blanket. Even so I would be staying at thia hotel again.

Dear Gilson, Thank you very much for sharing your review. We're really happy to know that you had an amazing time during your stay. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience - I have already talked in person to the housekeeping staff in order to avoid situations like that to happen again in future. We are looking forward to your next visit! Rodrigo Landa

Disappointing

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Friends - 27/08/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointing. The hotel is not up to Mercure's standards

Dear JULIO VICTOR V., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

very disappointed for cost and value

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gary Business - 27/08/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor. Elevators did not work, internet did not work, AC unit was loud, restaurant kept running out of cutlery and plates, hotel was understaffed and hotel was undergoing major renovations

Dear GARY T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in rio de janeiro