Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Information message

Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.5/5 703 reviews

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Pet-friendly hotel! Dogs and cats up to 22 lb are welcome here.

  • Ideal for families! Children aged 07 or younger stay free of charge.

  • Exclusive concierge service for your convenience

  • 20-minute drive to the Rio Sul Shopping Mall

  • 8-minute walk from the General Osório subway station

Hotel location

Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Rua Souza Lima, 48, Copacabana
22070001 RIO DE JANEIRO
Brazil

  • AVENIDA ATLANTICA: 

  • CANTAGALO: 

  • By plane

    AEROPORTO SANTOS DUMONT At 11km / 6 miles

  • By plane

    GALEAO At 27km / 16.78 miles

GPS:-22.981677, -43.1928439

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms

Breakfast Non contractual photo

Our accommodation(s)

Accommodations at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana are great for resting after a long business day or leisure in the city. With a modern and cozy atmosphere, all rooms offer high-speed free Wi-Fi , A/C, safe and blackout curtains. Guests also have 24/7 room service.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.5/5  703 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  3,680 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

Best service, best location, good price ! Hottest spot south of Havanna ! Copa !! Copacabana !!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Silvio Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent service and serene athmosphere ! Great breakfast buffet ! Very good location !

Olá Silvio, muito obrigada pela sua avaliação. Ficamos felizes em saber que você curtiu sua estada conosco! Até a próxima, Maíra Fernandes Guest Relations

The staff is awesome and great breakfast

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Harel Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff is awesome and great breakfast, very clean.

Dear Jennifer Vanessa Mendez O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Josh Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

bed was large with thick pillows and blankets

Hi Josh, thank you for your review. We're glad to know that you had a comfy stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Maíra Fernandes Guest Relations

excellent location and hotel installations very "cozy"

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Carlos H. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

the hotel offers everything you need for a short staying, with very strategic location in Rio.

Carlos, thank you for sharing your review. We're glad to hear that you had a great time in Rio, enjoying our great location and all its "carioca" experience. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Maíra Fernandes Guest Relations

Partial sea view is misleading, expect to barely see the beach

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Y L. K. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel was recently renovated and was not thoroughly cleaned after, we could see paint stains and such. Room was not clean when we arrived and the partial sea view ad is not accurate, we could barely see the beach. Pool was under renovation so we could not enjoy it. Also, the room does not come with an iron, which upon request they sent it over but without any support to iron clothes.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Paal R. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location. Ok gym, But need more equipment, bars and Hantel, The breakfast room is ok But hope when the hotel is finich a better room. The catering is ok, like Novitel. But hope better breakfast / ur upgrade. The people was Nice! If the price are the same later, i will return!

Dear Paal R., thank you for your feedback. We're glad that you've enjoyed our location and service! We look forward to welcome you back in the near future so you can enjoy our whole structure. Sincerely, Maíra Fernandes Guest Relations

Well located and clean

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Flavio Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a nice experience. The room was nice and had good amenities. We booked this hotel because it said on booking it had a pool but it was currently under renovations and the pool was not available. The hotel was pretty clean but the lobby was always so cold and it had a really nauseous smell.

Dear Flavio, thank you for your review. It is good to know that you've had a good stay here at the Grand Copa. We apologize for any inconvenient that might have affected your experience with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Maíra Fernandes Guest Relations

Excellent Staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Wayne E. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff was very helpful and assisted in every way

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We're really happy to know that you had a good time during your stay. We look forward to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Good place to stay in Rio

Customer review rating 4.5/5

B. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent welcome from the personnel. Room was very calm and spacious. The only drawback way the noisy Air Conditioning System.

Dear B., Thank you very much for sharing your review and your suggestions. We're really happy to know that you had a good time during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Friendly staff, perfect location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Nicole Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I've had wonderful weekend, with friendly and helpful staff. The room was extra clean and the breakfast is full of options

Dear Nicole, Thank you very much for sharing your review. We're really happy to know that you had an amazing time during your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Good Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Thuany R. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

I was actually received. I loved the room, the employees and the hotel smell.

Thuany, thank you for your review! We look forward to welcome you back soon! Maíra Fernandes Guest Relations

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

everything was great

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. My entire team and I are awaiting your return! Rodrigo Landa

Poor service, poor room, poor after stay

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Escape63480181595 Business - TripAdvisor review

I've had problems with all areas in th hotel. Now I need my receipts from meals and can't get them. My saga began in my second day of stay when I notied my bathroom was full of mosquitoes. After changing rooms about 11PM when I asked for food and realized the table in the room does not support a tray with my request. Breakfast is a mess - there is no appropriate fork, knife and spoons for a breakfest meal + the noise in the restaurant is umbearable - waiters work like Vikings in a battle and I have no words about the crowd in there. In the last day thre were no enough spoons and wood palletes were given to substitute. To close all the mess, when doing my checkout took me ages because a newly implemented system that no one looks to understand how to operate. Complete nightmare!!!

Dear Escape63480181595, Thank you very much for your review about us. I'm truly sorry for we couldn't meet your expectations. Your comments were led to our teams and we'll work in order to improve our services and our attention on these areas. I really hope we can welcome you again to offer you a better experience. Best Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Grand Mercure Copacabana

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Richard R Business - TripAdvisor review

Everything was fine, the only complaint I have is that they only give you 2 coffee pods and do not replace them. When I enquired about this they said the first 2 are free then you have to pay. I don't like that because everywhere else coffee is free. However, if that is the Policy, they need to tell you when you check in because I would have gladly paid for more coffee.

Dear Richard R, Thank you very much for sharing your review about our hotel for the Trip Advisor community. I really hope we can welcome you again. Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Don’t don’t Risk It

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

br0n101 Solo travel - TripAdvisor review

Check in took forever and the receptionist couldn’t tell me if the room had a sea view! The staff were unwilling to speak English but did it grudgingly with minimum information. I had the buffet dinner which was horrible although reasonably priced. I’d eaten entree by the time any one came to ask me if I would like a drink. I’d just about finished the main meal by the time the drink came. Breakfast was equally as bad with food that had been on the heat for hours, so the omelette was hard and scrambled eggs had split. The food from room service was by far the nicest meal. The instructions to put your code in the safe are wrong and by the time the maintenance man came to the room I’d missed my tour (the reception staff were unable to help with the safe issue). Reception just shrugged when I explained I had to wait so long for maintenance re the safe is missed my tour. All in all I wouldn’t go back, there are many other lovely hotels at Copacabana where the staff happily speak English and are happy to help!!

Dear br0n101, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I truly apologize for all you have experienced during your stay. I've shared your comments with out staff and we'll talk to them in person in order to improve our attention on those areas. I really hope we can welcome you again in a near future, where we can show you all the improvements we'll make. I'm at your disposal. Best Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Excellent Location and Staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Ados2 Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

The hotel has an excellent location for tourists in Rio. The staff is committed, nice, polite and very attentive. Some rooms and the pool on the rooftop have astonishing views of Copacabana beach. Small drawbacks are that a renovation would improve the comfort of the rooms, the pool is pleasant but too small for the size of the hotel and if you want a cozy and calm hotel, this hotel could be not the best option for you as it is busy and sometimes loud.

Hi, Ados2. Thank you very much for your review. We're currently renovating our rooms because we understand the need to improve our structure. I hope we can welcome you again really soon. Kind Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Decent hotel in a good spot

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

579loics Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is in a good location; right in the middle of Copacabana. The room is ok, spacious but nothing spectacular (very moist and not that clean). They did give us an upgrade to the “best room” in the hotel for the last night after we had a terrible experience with the hotel’s bikes. It is a nice perk to have access to free bikes during a stay but those are definitely not in the best shape and not that safe. They also offer us a free dinner which was a nice gesture. However, someone from the staff (assuming the cleaning lady) cracked my iPad! Even though, the manager tried to solve the issue by looking for a screen to replace my cracked one, no one apologized for it! In the end they offered me a 75 USD discount on my bill... this hotel has potential but there is lots to fix...

Dear 579loics, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced. We explained that due the time you had, unfortunately we were not able to fix your screen so we called the Iplace support and asked how much it would be to replace it. The price was 399 reais and then we refunded you. All your comments will be led to our team in order to improve our service. I'm at your disposal and hope we can welcome you again. Rodrigo Landa

Good Hotel, Location and Breakfast

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Gilson O Families - TripAdvisor review

Very well located, excellent breakfast, but the service could be a little better. We were in three in the same room and they prepared the room only for two. As asked more pillows, blanket and hygiene items and we didn’t receive the blanket. Even so I would be staying at thia hotel again.

Dear Gilson, Thank you very much for sharing your review. We're really happy to know that you had an amazing time during your stay. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience - I have already talked in person to the housekeeping staff in order to avoid situations like that to happen again in future. We are looking forward to your next visit! Rodrigo Landa

3+ hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

bploch Business - TripAdvisor review

Good location and clean rooms. The staff is a bit arrogant and when asking for an hour extension on check-out did not bother to check availability. The rooms are not equipped with iron or ironing board so not the best choice for business travellers (ironing is available with housekeeping but charged additionally).

Dear bploch, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. I have already talked in person to my team in order to remind them how important it is to give our guests the best service and attention. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again and show how important you are to us. Rodrigo Landa

Cold be better

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Juliopbt Families - TripAdvisor review

The rooms are good and clean, but the swimming Pool is very small and the breakfast is terrible, missing cups, plates, silverchairs, napkins. The hotel does not have structure to recieve too much people

Hi, Juliopbt. Thank you for your review about the Grand Mercure Copacabana Hotel. I'm sorry for those issues in our breakfast service, your comments will be briefed with our team in order to improve the disposal of these items and their attention. I really hope we can welcome you in a near future. Best Regards, Rodrigo Landa

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in RIO DE JANEIRO