Novotel London Stansted Airport Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.2/5 2,143 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Novotel London Stansted Airport
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • Our bright and airy rooms are 17 sqm, feature a separate work area, a 55 inch LCD TV and WiFi

  • 8 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 250 guests

  • Easy access shuttle running every 30 minutes

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving international cuisine

  • Over 500 onsite car parking spaces for all guests

Hotel location

Novotel London Stansted Airport

Round Coppice Road
CM24 1SF stansted
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)1279/665750

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON STANSTED At 1km / 1 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By train

    STANSTED At 1km / 1 miles

GPS:51.876566, 0.211697

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Car park
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

HOTEL RESTAURANT

Join us in our stylish restaurant for a variety of international and innovative dishes, prepared with fresh and locally sourced ingredients. If you are flying off early enjoy our hearty breakfast or choose from a selection of light and healthy options.

Our accommodation(s)

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 244

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel London Stansted Airport

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

2,143 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

887 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Great stay, great personell

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 09/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Generally a great stay Rooms, mostly moquette needs to be refurbished as they appeared soiled, and some interiors like toilet doors do not close properly. Restaurant food is ok, but lower quality and higher price compared to the past.

Good room, Disappointing food

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Families - 08/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booking in quick and pleasant, no mention made wrt booking breakfast and the increase in price if we should not book the night before. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Evening meal adequate but a little disappointing, service was good. Breakfast was disappointing, plates cold, food not as hot as it should have been, helpful staff

Great service great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - 08/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everyone here was was polite welcoming checking was excellent great room . Thank you Novotel staff on reception especially.

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Clive B. Solo - 07/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have forwarded a letter of complaint

Excellent Service: Mariana

Customer review rating 4.5/5

L. Couples - 05/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazingly compassionate and helpful service from Mariana at Reception. Thanks a million. You are amazing.

Huge disappointment from a frequent customer

Customer review rating 0.5/5

João Business - 30/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Travelled for work as always and have stayed at these facilities more times than I can even remember. Some small things that have completely ruined the experience for me and that makes it an expensive place to stay for what you get. The walls in the room were full of scratch marks, makes you uncomfortable wondering what has even happened there. No longer possible to select the temperature we want in the room. The small display was blank and not working. No extra blankets in the room, so you can’t select the temperature and neither get more comfortable in those very cold nights. The water pressure in the shower was very poor. In the past it was superb but now it’s terrible . Breakfast only available from 6am ?! In an airport hotel, full of guests with early flights, customers or staff, it doesn’t make sense. It used to be available from 4am or 4:30 and this time I had to go to work on an empty stomach because of this. Not an experience I’d like to repeat.

Well located good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Paul J. Couples - 30/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Needs better food selection Taps need changing in room 313 Too many children

Ok

Customer review rating 2.0/5

A. Couples - 29/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Was expecting a little better, breakfast was poor and no real effort for any hot vegan/ vegetarian selection.

Far from the airport

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Saverio L. Couples - 29/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is not that close to the airport as described. In need of modernisation

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Helen S. Business - 28/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice personnel, excellent service. Very good to be able to prepare the breakfast also for take away.

Good location for airport parking

Customer review rating 4.0/5

K. C. Couples - 26/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

On our arrival initially reception staff were unable to locate our booking. They eventually found the booking which included four days parking. After our departure I discovered that the hotel had charged me £10 for parking which they eventually refunded after I pointed out their error. We found the food to be over priced for what were pretty average meals, but with excellent service by staff in the restaurant.

Nice Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Rainer S. Business - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a nice stay, but I hope the Gym opens soon again.

Dear Rainer S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Stansted Airport. We are happy to inform you that the gym is opened again! Can not wait to welcome you back at the Novotel. Sincerely, Novotel London Stansted

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was nice, a slightly larger table would be nice. Gym was closed, and no info about this was shared anywhere, except on the door to the gym. It was a large reason as to why i chose to Novotel, because you have a nice gym, so i was very disappointed that it was closed. And even more so that this was not readily available info. Breakfast is nice, and all the staff were helpful Fire alarm going off in the night was very annoying.

Reasonably convenient for Stansted Airport

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Peter Couples - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Definitely requires use of bus shuttle at £4 per person or taxi if arriving at airport. Local bus stops a short distance from hotel if then departing towards Harlow/Bishop Stortford. Despite pre-registering, still took circa 10 minutes to check in. On arrival at 23:30, all bars/restaurants unsurprisingly closed, but no other means of obtaining refreshments as the (sole?) vending machine out of order. Decent breakfast and room perfectly adequate, although not large.

good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Nigel H. Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Have been visiting you for many years as Ryanair Captain and enjoyed my recent stay very much, room very comfortable, staff very helpful.

Dear Nigel H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Stansted Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Novotel London Stansted

great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kate S. Solo - 17/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

comfortable quiet room and it was well ventilated. Very clean and well cared for including ensuite. Supper meal was good.

Dear Catherine F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Stansted Airport. We will share you kind comment with our Housekeeping and Kitchen staff members. Sincerely, Novotel London Stansted

Good connection

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Ariadna Business - 17/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was ok, I am missing more options in the breakfast (nothing for gluten allergies, so I don't have a lot of options)

Dear Ariadna A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Stansted Airport. We will share you comment with Head Chef regarding more gluten free options. We hope to welcome you back in our hotel. Sincerely, Novotel London Stansted

Very good stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Culture51566475686 Business - 15/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

Very good stay, giving the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic restrictions. The hotel is very well organised in dealing wit the situation, personnel very friendly. And, the food supplied at the hotel: a lot of choice, good quality, warm and plenty. Again a good stay and experience. Great thanks to all the staff.

Dear Culture51566475686, Thank you for your feedback regarding our food and friendly staff – we endeavor to treat our guests like royalty and I am pleased you experienced our exceptional service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Kind regards.

2 horrible nights at the Novotel

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

capjac65 Business - 24/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

I booked a room for 3 nights (19-22/1 2011). When I booked, via telephone, I was informed that I could have access to the room from 14:00. I then asked if it was possible to get the room earlier, as I would arrive earlier. You have to talk to the receptionist when you get here, I was told. Just to mention...the booking took almost 20 minutes to complete and the person I talked to was showing very little competence and the English language was not very well. When I arrived in the morning, I was told that it was NOT possible to get access to the the room. I asked why. And the only answer I got (3 times) was that it was available from 14:00, but I could pay 10£/hour up to maximum 2 to get it a little earlier. Is the room not ready, I asked. Same answer. What’s the reason. Same answer. There was no way she would help. When I asked if I could leave my suitcase somewhere in the hotel, the answer was no! Because I didn’t have a room!!! The rooms were ready! The rooms were cleaned! But No! I went to our training center with all my belongings and worked for 8 hours. Got back to hotel and finally got my room. Cold! Not possible to adjust the temperature and a filthy, disgusting toilet. The room was facing the runway and was very poorly insulated, so the noice from outside was very disturbing. The food and restaurant thing is a story for itself...I will only mention the fact that I was told breakfast was from 6:30-10:00. I was down to order at 6:28 one morning. In order to be able to take the correct bus. As the hotel shuttle bus all of a sudden was taken out of service for the guest!!! I was then told that the breakfast isn’t ready until 6:45!!! If you informed me about breakfast from 6:30-10:00 it should be possible to get breakfast at that time. If not the information should be something else. The room was never cleaned! I canceled my last night (booked another hotel) checked out one day earlier. All in all this was a disaster of experience. I have stayed at numerous hotels through in my life, but never experienced this low standard. I know...we have a pandemic in the world, but the pandemic and the virus should not be a reason for not being able to live up to a better standard.

Dear capjac65, We are sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience here at the Novotel Stansted Hotel. With regards to some points during this tough time it is very difficult for all of us, the early check in fee is a standard with all hotel at the airport and this is something that has been in place for many many years and this is not just because of the pandemic we are going through now. Due to the fact that we don’t have all the rooms clean in the hotel as we need to have time between each guest for the room to stay free. The reason your room was not cleaned during your stay is that we cannot enter a guests room while they are staying in the hotel this is a government rule and we have to leave time between each stay and this should have been told on check in to each guest. The shuttle bus is a third party and at the time of check in the information that was given out was correct, this changed overnight and then by the time you came to take the shuttle this information had changed. We don’t really have any say over if the shuttle bus is running for not as this is not our company which runs the shuttle bus and they tell us when they run or don’t run. So I do apologize on their behalf that the shuttle was taken out of action very quickly with no time for us to let the guests know. With regards to the restaurant / food breakfast starts at 06:30am everyday so the information given out to you on check in was correct and this is the case all the time during lockdown. I have passed your comments to the chef as to why it was late this morning. The toilet in your room I have forward this picture and comments on to the housekeeping team along with your comments as the toilet dose look dirty so I do apologise about and please if you do come again and do have a problem with the room please do let us know while you are here so we can sort this out for you and move you to a better clean room so you don’t have to have a bad stay for the whole stay. As for the room, at the current time we are not allowed to send the housekeeping into the room during your stay, so any cleaning has to be requested specially at the reception. We hope we managed to clarify some of the points made and we apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Kind regards

Perfectly good in its own way, but...

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Hugh73Brussels 01/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

tl;dr: If you want somewhere to stay for one night on the way to or from the airport, this place will do the job. For longer stays (e.g. if you have business locally) check the facilities carefully before booking. I booked a six-night stay here to sit out my mandatory quarantine after arrival in the UK. The hotel offered the option of early check-in, which was very useful as I had come from Harwich off an overnight ferry and arrived at the hotel before 9am. After a brief search, the receptionist found a room that was ready for me. This was clean and comfortable as a bedroom, but did not have the ergonomic workstation I was explicitly promised in my confirmation email. Reception advised me that none of the rooms had proper desks – unusual for a Novotel. I asked if they had a spare meeting room I could use, but the space I was offered did not have proper desks and chairs either. The 24-hour room service promised by the website was not operating; guests had to collect their food from the restaurant or eat it there. This was not ideal when I was supposed to be self-isolating. I recognise that the pandemic has been a challenging time for the hospitality sector, but it was precisely because of the pandemic that I wanted certain facilities, which were not there. Subsequent to my stay here, I moved to a different hotel in the same category which *did* provide room service, so it can be done. The restaurant offered a limited menu for understandable reasons, but what food there was was tasty, nutritious and nicely presented. The only disappointment was that there were not hot desserts – ice cream is not necessarily what you want on a cold winter's evening. On the plus side, my room and the public areas were in good condition and everything (HVAC, plumbing, etc.) worked properly. Staff were friendly, helpful, professional and efficient throughout. They do charge £8 a night for parking – fine if you're only staying one night, but quickly mounts up if you are staying longer. As there is no safe pedestrian access to the hotel (as I discovered when I tried to go for a walk) this is rather reminiscent of a certain budget airline that operates out of Stansted. In summary, it's fine as far as it goes – there's nothing actually wrong with the place. It's just that I fail to see how much added value there is compared to nearby budget hotels that are around a third cheaper.

Dear Mr Hugh, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay upon arrival to London. We’re happy to hear we were able to provide a comfortable and pleasant stay, and our restaurant and kitchen team are happy to hear you were satisfied with their service. During these troubling times we aren’t providing the usual room service system as you have mentioned. However, if the reception is notified of your self-isolation we implore our guests to remain in the room and we provide full room service for all your food or beverage. When making a reservation at our hotel it is necessary to notify the staff that you need to isolate so we could Make all the necessary preparations and ensure the safety of all of our guests. This can also be done during the check-in In case you didn’t notify the hotel. Kind regards

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in stansted