Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa

Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 1,364 reviews

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • The most luxurious hotel in Montevideo

  • The most exclusive part of the city

  • Relaxation and well-being

  • Exclusive restaurant

  • Spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pool

Hotel location

Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa

Rbla Republica de Mexico 6451
11500 MONTEVIDEO
Uruguay

  • By plane

    CARRASCO At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    GRAL. CESAREO L.B At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By boat

    MONTEVIDEO PORT At 19.5km / 12.12 miles

GPS:-34.890555, -56.055278

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms

RESTAURANT 1921

With stunning views of the beach and the Carrasco district, 1921 Restaurant offers a creative approach to cuisine that combines classic French dishes with a local twist.

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel offers 93 rooms and 23 suites, with six different room categories and room sizes that range from 377 sq. ft (35 m2) to 1722 sq. ft (160 m2). Stunning views overlook the Río de la Plata or the lush green surroundings of the district of Carrasco.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

TripAdvisor Rating  4.5/5  1,364 reviews

The place to be

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Jean M Business - TripAdvisor review

Excellent location in Carrasco, minutes away from the airport, with the unlimited Rambla and the beach right across the street! Ideal for early morning runners. And at decent distance from the different business centers.

Bonjour Mr. Jean M, thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are glad you have enjoyed our excellent location in Carrasco and the unforgettable "rambla". We hope you have enjoyed a "magnifique" Christmas and wish you a Happy new year!! See you in 2020! Best regards, Maria José Rivero Assistant General Manager, Guest Experience & Training Coordinator

Awesome Hotel in Montevideo

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

fabioa411 Couples - TripAdvisor review

really nice staff, from the desk/concierge till restaurant.... all staff members are fantastic... quality of the food and drinks are outstanding... nice Hotel area! needs improvement on cleaning services...

Bonjour Mr. Fabio A, First of all, we would like to apologize for the delay in the response, which was due to a problem in our system. We would have liked to have been able to send our feedback before, but it was not possible We really appreciate your great review about Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa. We will share your comments with all our staff. We are glad you also enjoyed the hotel area. Theri is no doubt that "Carrasco" neiborhood is one of the most beautiful areas in Montevideo. All the Sofitel ambassadors will be very happy to welcome you again! Best regards, Maria José Rivero Assistant General Manager, Guest Experience & Training Coordinator

Excellent accommodations, very reasonable rates!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Henry W Couples - TripAdvisor review

We enjoyed breakfast dining and use of extensive pool, exercise and spa facilities at the hotel. We were also happy with easy access to excellent restaurants nearby, and used taxis to tour the old city, parks, museums and the waterfront market.

Dear Henry W Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor readers. The beauty of our hotel is due to the architecture of the ancient hotel built in 1921. We strive to maintain the french style but also incorporating some contemporary decorations in order to give our building a sophisticated atmosphere. All our staff will be pleased to know that your stay with us was memorable and we will be delighted if you decide to come back to Montevideo. Sincerely, Rodrigo Tanco Lobby Experience Manager

The Front Reception Staff Earn this Rating.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Jevanx Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

The Front of House Staff were exceptional on an international standard. Each one I dealt with.I was particularly impressed with the local greeting from my home country on arrival by the young man, and his colleague the female with brown hair,They were a welcome pleasure after travelling.They really did make the stay worth it, unfortunately other than them, there were a few areas that did not live up to that same service.SO SPA:Advertise deep tissue massage however had no staff well we were there could do a deep tissue massage, instead of advising us they proceeded to give us relaxation massages. I gave the benefit of the doubt until my friend came out complaining the same.The temperature of the Wet Room Sauna is far cooler than it should be.The temperature of the pool inside the hotel is only slightly to cool.The outdoor furniture fittings through out the hotel need maintenance, every single outdoor chair or lounger I used was broken in some way over the whole stay.The room service food was far from desirable, after ordering once we decided not to do room service again.The restaurant 1921 we only dined in for breakfast. There is nothing wrong with it. But probably for the cost in USD it lacks what many 3-4 stars have for a lower price, of having a chef make omelettes and eggs any style etc.We did not try 1921 for dinner. After our room service experience and “decent” breakfast experience, we decided the prices were unlikely to be worth the value of the food. In saying this we simply don’t know as did not dine.Instead we went to a restaurant 2 min walk down the road called “Garcia” and enjoyed the Baby Garcia Steak three nights in a row. Phenomenal! The atmosphere and meals definitely worth walking down the road for.The city is a good 20 mins away and we realised after the second day that where we should have been was Punta del Este, in saying that we were seeking sun and beach, as ppposed to historic and heritage.The Sofitel building itself is absolutely beautiful, and almost looks like the back drop of a movie set. The hotel upgraded me to suite 408, as part of having a high tier membership with Accor. The view in this suite was stunning of both the sunset and ocean/beach.The casino provided great entertainment as was open until 6am which meant with jet lag we had something to do!We found it tastier eating downstairs in the casino than the hotel itself.The reception staff avoided me being upset about anything serious.

Bonjour Mr. Jevanx, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco And Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrences. We will also appreciate your comment regarding the Front Desk staff. I am sure they will be very happy and proud for making you feel welcome. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please, don´t hesitate in contacting me in your next visit to Uruguay. Best regards, Maria José Rivero Assistant General Manager, Guest Experience & Training Coordinator

Dream stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Whitecardiol Families - TripAdvisor review

A dream hotel with amazing architecture and atmosphere. Restored accurately. Very kind service. Restaurant with great sensations. Privileged location a a noble neighborhood, facing the sea.Highly recommendable.

Bonjour Mr. Wilmar, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor readers. The beauty of our hotel is due to the architecture of the ancient hotel built in 1921. We strive to maintain the french style but also incorporating some contemporary decorations in order to give our building a sophisticated atmosphere. We will share your comment with all our team, especially with the Restaurant staff. All our staff will be pleased to know that your stay with us was memorable and we will be delighted if you decide to come back to Montevideo. Best regards, Maria José Rivero Assistant General Manager, Guest Experience & Training Coordinator

Not as good as it was

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Excursion45192813230 Couples - TripAdvisor review

My first stay i this property was really amazing. This time we noticed an important delay in attending simple requests, the replacement of towells and bath robes was incomplete, and finally, and worst of all, the the sun deck furniture was in deplorable state, almost useless.What really got me mad was the fact that I made reservations through the site as well as the check in on line. Both times received and returning e-mail saying nothing to pay at the property. I heared the same when I got to the hotel, but at the check out I received an invoice to pay, and the attendant was almost rude when I asked more information.

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco And Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. This is not the kind of service we want to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards, Maria José Rivero Assistant General Manager, Guest Experience & Training Coordinator

Amazing historic building

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

enriquec505 Couples - TripAdvisor review

Amazing property in a renovated old icon in front of the beach. Spacious and carefully decorated rooms. The service is great, what you would expect from a luxury hotel. Just some minor comments are that in the spa, the water temperature of the indoor pool was cooler than expected (which was not so comfortable), and some of the walls in the spa had maintenance issues (ie cracking paint and termination problems, which you would not expect from a 5 star location). The rest was great, the breakfast amazing, and the details from the service very appreciated.

Bonjour Mr.Enrique C, Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us. It is an absolute pleasure to receive feedback like yours as we constantly strive to create unforgettable experiences for our guests and we are delighted to hear you had a memorable one, and were able to enjoy all the facilities our hotel has to offer. We will check with Spa & Maintenance Managers all the points you appointed. Once again thank for your review about your experience in our property and we all hope look forward welcome you once again soon in your next visit to Montevideo. Sincerely, Valentina Fígoli Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator

Old World Charm with exceptional Service

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

ElectraJoe Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

I enjoyed a Deluxe room with water views along the Ramblas. The room was comfortable and the staff consistently went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memmoriable. We were there over July 4th and received a thoughtful note commemorating the event, friendship between Uruguay and the US along with delicious cookies decorated with the US and Uruguay flags. Lovely thought and gesture. Spa was beautiful with a nice array of services. 1921 Restaurant was phenomenal. Highly recommend the Capelletti with herbed goat cheese and a garlic emullision . The casino supports gambling in USD and UYU and we won!! My only complaint was that water temperature in the shower went from steaming hot to cold and back all the time which was annoying. My preference would be to have the toilette room next to the bathroom sink instead of down the hall near the entrance to the hotel room but that may just be my US sensibilities talking. Highly recommend this hotel it is beautiful.

Bonjour Mrs.Electra Joe, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the gesture!. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. I will check the inconvenience with the shower. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another Magnifique journey with us. Kind regards, Valentina Fígoli Melgar, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator

Wonderful hotel and great staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Tom L Business - TripAdvisor review

I stay at this hotel everytime business takes me to Montevideo. There are certainly other choices but the hotel, staff, food, services, and simply a beautiful place, can't beat this hotel. I recommend it without any reservations.

Bonjour "Tom L", Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your experience at Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & SPA. It is an absolute pleasure to receive feedback like yours! l will definitely share your comments with our team, as I’m sure it will serve as an encouragement to all our staff who strives to create Magnifique moments to all of our guests. Kind regards, Valentina Fígoli Melgar Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator

Simply the BEST!!!!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

luckyrioInNV Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is beautiful in a great location. Excellent restaurants within walking distance. If you do not have to stay downtown, this is the location and hotel to stay. All the staff were great, but a special thank you to Romina at checkin and checkout (I felt like she was a family member always making sure everything was ok). The Mgr. Juan Martin Pena, excellent!!!!! He made great recommendations for restaurants and he and Romina personally made sure we were properly taken care of. I have stayed at Four Seasons, St. Regis’ and Ritz Carltons — the Service at the Sofitel was superior to all of them.

Bonjour 'luckyriolnNV', In name of all staff from Sofitel Montevideo we would like to thank you for sharing such great words regarding your stay with us! It is a great honor to know our team delivered a great service and that you felt you were taken care of. I will share your kind words with our whole team, as this is a great encouragement for our staff, who daily strives to create Magnifique moments! Once again thank for the great review and we all hope to soon welcome you for your next visit to Montevideo. Yours sincerely, Katerina Nemseff Villagran, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator

Great Hotel !!!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

luizmailbr Couples - TripAdvisor review

The Montevideo Casino Carrasco is a great hotel. The breakfast is very good. The suite in front of the sea has a magnificent view. The staff are amazing. Cost benefit is very good for Sofitel. I recommend and I will try to back soon. But if want to go to downtown and malls, you need a take a taxi. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but executive lunch on business days is cheaper with a nice food.

Bonjour! Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the view to the river and hope to see you again very soon. Yours sincerely, María Agustina Rodriguez Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Coordinator.

If you have doubts, do not have it, it is simply excellent.

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

MarconeSouza Couples - TripAdvisor review

Excellent, there is nothing to say if not good things. The only problem is that they do not accept Diners and the sound of the room does not have the adapter for Iphone 7. But they are just details, all the rest, service, restaurant, reception architecture and location are amazing.

Bonjour "MarconeSouza" Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Rodrigo Tanco Lobby Experience Manager Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa.

Good service at landmark building

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

JuanseBuenosAires Families - TripAdvisor review

Spent a nice weekend with my family; hotel staff attention was great as expected (room rate was probably highest in the city) and building is incredible, though rooms could be further equipped (TVs, coffee machine).

Bonjour "JuanseBuenosAires", Thank you for your message and your recommendations and comments about Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa. Be assured that we will take all your comments into account, focusing on improving our product and service on a daily basis. Sincerely, María Eugenia Carnabuci, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Manager.

Pleasure

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

andrew777barb Couples - TripAdvisor review

I would recommend to stay in this hotel in Montevideo: very good location, excellent service, friendly and cooperative staff. We, me and my wife liked very much our stay in Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco and Spa

Bonjour "andrew777barb" We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, María Eugenia Carnabuci, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Manager.

The service was terrible

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

elisasV1146YV Friends getaway - TripAdvisor review

We percived a very cool interection with staff. Absolutly no situation to demonstrate employee's kindness. The above questions are totally not aligned to Sofitel's guest expectations. The only thing that remains Sofitel's standard is the infrastructure.

Bonjour "elisasV1146YV" Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression on your stay at the hotel. We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. We would also like to know more about your stay at the hotel, such as your room number and stay date so we can take the appropriate measures to address the matter and prevent any future inconveniences. Thank you once again for your comments, and we hope you contact us soon at h7969-am@sofitel.com Sincerely, María Eugenia Carnabuci, Assistant General Manager & Customer Experience Manager.

Montevideo's Best Value Luxury Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Gottschmitt Families - TripAdvisor review

This was our 2nd stay in this splendidly restored hotel from the early 19th century. We had a standard room on the 3rd level with beach view. Very nice and comfortable. The interiors well appointed,nothing missing. Arriving at the hotel by car is very easy .You can self park in the underground garage or give your keys to the valet boy.There is no formal charge for this,a tip will do. The restaurant has a well thought out menu with local and international cuisine and first class service. if you don't want to spend the night at the hotel,its still worth while just to visit the impressive Art Deco lobby and have a drink at the bar. Overall a very pleasant stay !

Bonjour "Gottschmitt", We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Montevideo Casino Carrasco & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, María Eugenia C., Customer Experience Manager & Assistant General Manager.

Outstanding as usual

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

FRMART_1969 Business - TripAdvisor review

You can´t go wrong when you choose this hotel for stays, the quality of the service, the outstanding of attention of the Hotel is just unbelievable, world class best Hotel for far and very far at Montevideo !!!

Staying in a good hotel is part of the success of a vacation trip

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

FernandaCVG Families - TripAdvisor review

This is a very, very nice hotel. The architecture of the hotel is part of the charm of this trip. The roons are very confortable and the services were very good . The hotel team is very polite and attentive. The hotel is located in a very nice neighborhood for walking. There are great restaurants on the street just behind the hotel. Although a bit far from tourist attractions (20 min) transport by taxi is very cheap and the hotel has an excellent transport service with the car and driver.

Poor service at Sofitel Montevideo

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Lemantraveller Families - TripAdvisor review

Poor service at this hotel. Staff at check out was indifferent at best if not a bit aggressive. Restaurant was closed for the duration of the stay and management did not bother to let us know. Rooms are ok but totally overpriced. The hotel is far from the city. Service is poor. Will not return and do not recommend it to others. Sofitel did not manage to keep up the standards at this historic property. It is a pity really.

Bonjour "Lemantraveller", Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Montevideo Carrasco. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Camilla T.

New, impeccable, misplaced

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

ilprocrastinatore Couples - TripAdvisor review

This is en excellent mixture of new and old when the latter was meticulously restored and improved up to modern standards, high ones too, in this particular case. The property, however, deserves a better destiny and more customers to enjoy it. location is probably it's only downturn: Uruguay itself has very little (gently put) to offer to an international tourist; Montevideo is nice in it's better parts but totally lacks character and sights; the suburb where the hotel is located is probably one of the best in the city but that's where it ends; the beach looks nice but mind that it is not the ocean but Rio de La Plata with its brown waters - going into that kind of water is out of the question. The staff do their best to compensate for that: with a great deal of self-respect but kind, attentive, lots of humor and professionalism, integrity and honesty - the latter goes for all the locals we met, such a welcomed change after Argentina! All in all - the best hotel if you have to stay in/close to Montevideo.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in MONTEVIDEO