Information message

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 2,814 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Certified Hotel.

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 220 guests

  • On-site swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym facilities

  • Situated eight miles from Manchester city centre

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Laundry Paying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Golf
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 2 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 12 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

Manchester Road
Castleton
OL11 2XZ rochdale
united kingdom

Tel: +4401706630788

Fax: (+44)01706516781

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • MANCHESTER PICADILLY :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • ROCHDALE :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • By plane

    LEEDS/BRADFORD At 47.8km / 29.7 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER INTL AIRP At 40.23km / 25 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER PICADILLY At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER VICTORIA At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    ROCHDALE At 5km / 3.11 miles

GPS :53.581386, -2.175206

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel has 81 contemporary rooms, all with wireless internet and satellite TV. Some executive rooms are available which are decorated and fitted to very high standards and include complimentary bathrobes, mineral water, designer toiletries and a four-piece bathroom suite.

Our restaurants and bars

GRANGE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

PICKWICK BISTRO

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

The Pickwick Bistro offers a more informal dining option to the Restaurant, serving a range of lighter meals and snacks.

PICKWICK BISTRO

The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 12

  • Maximum size: 170

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

2,814 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,776 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Its not a four star hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Families - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was on the side of a hugely busy road so even with the windows shut you could hear the traffic. The wedding facilities felt shabby and the food was really poor. The bar was out dated and felt like a Wetherspoons. The spa was nice though and the breakfast room was also nice. The bed was comfortable too. If it had been a three star perhaps this review would be different but you expect a level of luxury at a four star that wasn't there.

Dear Jennifer G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will certainly take your constructive feedback and work for improvement where we can. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Very good overnight stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Catherine Couples - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff very organised and attentive. Room very nice and clean and spacious.

Dear Catherine and Gerald I., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 11/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms priced well, spa is nice although busy. Stayed in room 110 shower temperature wasn’t warm enough and quite a bit of limes a left in shower cubicle but other than that was nice and clean. Thanks!!!

Dear Lucy B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jennifer K. Families - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked a stay for myself an my sister for her 40th birthday. Although I was informed 12 hours prior to our visit there would be two weddings being held there it did not detract from a lovely stay overall. The spa facilities and treatments we had were wonder an the staff were very attentive an completely added to the experience in a positive way. The only negative was the level of noise at night from the two functions that were being held but staff were understanding and apologetic when I raised this issue. We will definitely stay again !

Dear Jennifer k., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Wedding venue

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Sara G. Families - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ok overall but hotel is very tired, service was not great at times and certainly overpriced for the offer

Dear Sara G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Marie Couples - 06/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The bedroom carpet was very dusty and the room had a terrible smell. Really not up to standard. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly.

Dear Marlene C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Very clean, friendly and helpful staff and good facilities,

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Pam M. Solo - 05/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well situated and just what I needed.

Dear Pam M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Enjoyable stay, comfortable hotel and friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Debs S. Families - 04/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyable stay, comfortable hotel and friendly staff We stayed overnight in a family room for myself and 3 daughters. The room was clean and spacious. We used the spa facilities which we enjoyed and had treatments and the staff were very friendly. The meal in the a la carte restaurant was very good. The food was excellent. The only downside is that the decor is in need of attention especially in the restaurant.

Dear Deborah S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. In relation to restaurant, if all goes well our planned £4M refurbishment of Restaurant, bar & Lobby with start in coming Jan. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Just fabulous!!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Lisa Families - 03/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

As ever, the staff were amazing, beautiful clean spacious room with lots of facilities and my favourite Spa! Lovely hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone! Will definitely be back!

Dear Lisa B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

N.a. Couples - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

enjoyed the spa break

Dear Nayim a., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Clean, spacious rooms

Customer review rating 4.5/5

H M. Couples - 01/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Was pleasantly surprised. Room was bigger than expected, bathroom was clean and spacious. Check in was efficient. Seemed a little short staffed.

Dear Helen M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Relaxing stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

S. R. Couples - 01/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The spa facilities were really relaxing and so were the treatments we booked. The treatment rooms, changing rooms and other areas around the hotel were clean and tidy. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and every single member of staff we came across was helpful and kind . Thank you !

Dear r., S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Enjoyable stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

S M. Couples - 31/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really friendly staff, lovely breakfast, brilliant swimming facilities

Dear Sophie M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Spa night

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Pam Families - 31/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great time, everyone was pleasant and helpful

Dear Pamela D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Nice experience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Andrew B. Couples - 31/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcoming and helpful. Polite staff.

Dear Andrew B.,, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Hotel was nice

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jenny M. Families - 29/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms were absolutely fine, spa facilities were excellent. The only down side was the waiting time in the restaurant for our evening meal. Staff were very apologetic about the situation.

Dear Jennifer M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best Regards Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Strange times........

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

779craig 28/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Staff were lovely and room was comfortable..... spa was really nice but unfortunately the hotel was limited as to what they could do due to the cover 19...... overall very happy with hotel and especially the staff!!!!

Dear Craig Thank you for taking time to share your rating and feedback further to your recent visit to us. Totally agree with your comments being in strange times. Thank you for understanding the current limitations we placed in our club for the safety of our guests & staff. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future Best Regards Rama Arimilly

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

mrs58 26/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

We chose this hotel for the location and had also been recommended it by Rochdale FC. Football match was booked for my husbands birthday. We arrived way before our check in time but the receptionist allowed us to complete paperwork, gave us our key and left our suitcase in store room. A notice was displayed saying there would be a wedding that evening and might be noise. We asked where our room was and was shown it was on the top floor well away from the party room!! We had a coffee in the lounge and before we had finished drinking it the receptionist came and told us our room was ready!! Beautifully furnished Privilege room with "Happy Birthday" spelt out in rose petals on the bed along with towels made into elephants. Complimentary water and cola inroom as well as hand made chocs. Ordered sandwiches about 19.30 in bar which took quite a while to arrive, probably due to wedding and other guests staying there. Great breakfast full English and continental. Proper thick bread for toast and individual jars of jams etc. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Dear Guest, Wow what a fantastic detailed review!! Thank you for taking the time share your feedback in regards to your recent visit to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us, as it is only by receiving such information from guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. It is the goal of our team here at the Mercure Norton Grange that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, which give us the opportunity to establish a long-lasting relationship. Once again thank you for taking time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Best Regards, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

A chilly welcome!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

tonyJ3126PB 01/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

My enduring impression is of being cold. Watching the curtains moving in the draft along corridors; feeling the draft in the dining room; turning the heating up in the room to 30° for six hours to get it warm enough. It was January in North Manchester: surely the outside temperature hadn't taken the hotel by surprise! The room was clean, everything worked, the toiletries were fine, the bed comfortable: if the temperature had been right, this could have been somewhere to come back to. At dinner the ossobuco was off: in fact chef had decided a while ago to take it off the menu but the menu hadn't been changed yet. Food prepared from fresh - the steak, for example - was fine; the rest felt a bit reheated. Away from the reception desk, staff were great: chatty and friendly without being intrusive. But reception at check-in was a bit grudging, while at check-out we had to wait five minutes while the person on the desk dealt with an irate departed guest on the phone: no getting help from a colleague to check us out, no apology when the call was over. I wouldn't say I'd never stay there again, but next time I'm staying in the area I'll look to see what alternatives there are before booking this hotel. Checking out

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback further to your recent visit here with us at Mercure Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies in some areas. I will personally address the areas you mentioned in your feedback with all relevant departments. Hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Restaurant very poor food quality.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

ianwbryant Business - 31/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Infrastructure especially rooms nicely refurbished, comfortable and quiet. I have stayed many times at Norton Grange and generally eat out. However, on Monday 27th January we decided to give the restaurant a try. Menu looked appealing. However, food was terrible for 2 of our party of 4. The curry was rejected as it looked like boiled chicken chunks, no sauce. Represented with some curry sauce but frankly still a disgrace. The other bad meal was the Thai dish and presented dry, lacking in prawns and pretty tasteless - another disgrace. We will stay again for comfortable rooms and location convenience but definitely not have dinner. Hence low service rating and value for money.

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking time to share your constructive feedback further to your recent visit here with us at Mercure Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am glad to learn you enjoyed our fully refurbished bed rooms. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in relation to food; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will certainly address this our chef & work on improvement in this regard. Hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in rochdale