Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 2,611 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 21 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Certified Hotel.

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 220 guests

  • On-site swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym facilities

  • Situated eight miles from Manchester city centre

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LaundryPaying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Golf
  • Beach and water sports
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 12 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

Manchester Road
Castleton
OL11 2XZ rochdale
united kingdom

Tel: +4401706630788

Fax: (+44)01706516781

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • MANCHESTER PICADILLY :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • ROCHDALE :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • By plane

    LEEDS/BRADFORD At 47.8km / 29.7 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER INTL AIRP At 40.23km / 25 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER PICADILLY At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER VICTORIA At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    ROCHDALE At 5km / 3.11 miles

GPS :53.581386, -2.175206

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel has 81 contemporary rooms, all with wireless internet and satellite TV. Some executive rooms are available which are decorated and fitted to very high standards and include complimentary bathrobes, mineral water, designer toiletries and a four-piece bathroom suite.

Classic double or twin room

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Courtyard View, Patio, Garden View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Superior Double or Twin Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Garden View, Courtyard View, Patio *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilège double or twin room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Patio, Courtyard View, City View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic Family room with a double and up to 2 pull out single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: Patio, Garden View, Courtyard View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

GRANGE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PICKWICK BISTRO

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

The Pickwick Bistro offers a more informal dining option to the Restaurant, serving a range of lighter meals and snacks.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PICKWICK BISTRO

Non contractual photo

The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 12

  • Maximum size: 170

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

2,611 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,726 reviews

2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2020

Family of 5 for 1 night

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Phil M. Families - 02/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our heating packed up so we needed to be out of the house for 1 night, and the NG isn't far from where we live in Rochdale. I have to say that I was quite worried about being away as there is 3 of us 3 kids and mum and dad. I have to say they where very polite and organised and the rooms where clean and all none essential things like ornaments etc., that could carry the virus had been removed, even that beakers in the bathrooms where in sealed plastic bags. They did have food on but only a limited service, we just took a couple of pizza's and they were good enough to provide, albeit plastic, knifes and forks. I would reccomend the hotel if you need somewhere to stay in the North Manchester area.

Dear Phil M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mike C. Business - 21/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was very impressed with the Covid-19 secure measures in place. The room was comfortable, clean and well presented. The menu was limited due to Covid-19 but the foot was very nice. All of the staff I dealt with were very pleasant.

Dear Mike C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Met covid standards

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Rory L. Business - 11/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was well chilly upon arrival. All else was satisfactory (under winter/covid conditions)

Dear Gregor L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Well located for Rochdale

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jn Business - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Met with all my needs. Lovely staff very attentive. Unfortunately stay was marred by children running up the corridors late at night when I was trying to sleep but that’s not a fault of the hotel

Dear Jennifer N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I noted your comments about the children, they are still in the hotel, I will personally speak to them. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Average Stay

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mark J. Business - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location, friendly staff and good amenities in the room. Thought the room service was expensive for the portion size and the bed so hard and uncomfortable that it has given me chronic back issues now.

Dear Mark J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in relation to the bed; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. all our bed are between 14 to 18 month old. we brought brand new beds, bed bases in all our rooms during 2019. I will personally inspect 321 & see if there is anything we can do. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Nice Staff - shame about the hotel and food

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Business - 23/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A week long stay in COVID controlled conditions. The hotel is a bit tired now and needs updating in certain areas especially the bathrooms. The breakfast offering during these times was very disappointing with the hot food served cold on a stale roll for the full 4 days, the lack of choice of items for breakfast was confusing as if you cook bacon then surely other breakfast items would be achievable, fruit was ok. Staff were very attentive and approachable, a plus for the hotel.

Dear Steve B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In normal circumstances, we would operate as normal with full breakfast offer. Given pandemic, I think we did our best. I personally served your conference all 5 days. when you mentioned about the shower, I tried to fix it. as it was not done, we offered a room move. on the first day when you mentioned about noodle lunch was not hot, I spoke to Frank and ensure the lunch break was close to 12.30 & from that day I started serving lunches with you. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager.

good and staff were very helpful

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 23/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

very good was feeling safe

Dear Andy B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Friendly staff, well located, always feel welcome.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

William B. Business - 14/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only thing stopping full marks was a problem with the internet, which to be honest has never happened before in my many stays at this hotel.

Dear Bill B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I remember you addressing this with me up on check out. I logged a call with our IT team and strait after 9am, it was rectified. Apologies for the inconvenience this may caused. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Lovely hotel, facilities and excellent staff!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Samantha Couples - 10/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Customer service was spot on. All facilities safe and amazing food to top it off! Will definitely be returning

Dear Samantha T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

S S. Couples - 09/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic spa facilities with a great range of options in the thermal suite, & very well maintained. The staff were very friendly, engaging & their customer service skills were excellent. The room was spacious with good amenities, as a well as a very comfortable bed. The food at the hotel was superb, with plenty of choice.The menu provided a range of options for those with differing dietary requirements/needs. Looking forward to returning at a later date.

Dear Sarah S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Amazing staff who went the extra mile

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Glenn D. Couples - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had our wedding reception with just 2 days notice and all the staff were absolutely incredible. They all went above and beyond to make sure we had the best time possible.

Dear Catherine/Glenn D./Burgess, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Enjoyable, relaxing stay.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gill A. Couples - 04/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

After not having a break since first lockdown in March, myself and my husband decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay. I requested a very quiet room and was thrilled to be offered a privilege room. The room was great and extremely quiet. The only disappointment was the spa area. A few of the rooms, sauna, bio sauna etc wasn't hot. When I mentioned this to a member of staff I was tod he didn't know. The ice room was also not up to its usual standard as we have visited many times before. So lovely quiet relaxing time just slightly let down by some spa facilities. Thsnks.

Dear Gill a., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I Noted your comments about spa facilities. I will certainly work on them during this lockdown period. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Another fantastic visit

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Amanda H. Families - 03/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were looked after amazing during our overnight visit we were treated like royalty by all staff right from check in to check out. The whole team worked tirelessly in such difficult times, so thank you to everyone

Dear Amanda h., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Brilliant staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jas Couples - 03/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was spacious ,staff brilliant, very clean . The food left a little to be desired (a little too processy )Spa fantastic and massage was best I've had. Overall quitegood

Dear Jasbir S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I noted your comments about food. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Room size was not adequate what advertised showed. Bed was not king size. Cleanliness was average. Toiletries provided were not sufficient for two people.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Masior S. Couples - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very very average. Can't give more point than a normal B &B. Definitely not value for the money.

Dear Masior/Najmun S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Very Good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel had put a lot in place,clean and following all the guidelines . The breakfast was good evening meal was good,food hot . Spa facilities very clean and staff helpful.

Dear Jane B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager
Customer review rating 3.5/5

Paul H. Couples - 01/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really enjoyed my stay staff were excellent, the facilities were fine the only complaint would be the food wasn’t the best, barbecue wings had no barbecue sauce gammon and chips was ok but only 8 chips, wouldn’t normally count my chips but it was too obvious, wouldn’t stop me going again

Dear Paul H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I noted your comments about food, I will certainly address with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Very disappointing

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 31/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We tried calling the number provided at reception in regards to questions to ask about the spa and we had no answer after 10 minutes. Nobody in the Spa were following Covid Rules of 10 minutes. The room was opposite a main road and the noise woke my husband up in the early hours and kept him awake all night. The staff in the restaurant didn’t have a clue what was going on. We ordered a desert with one waiter and then 25mins later the same waiter came and asked again if we wanted to order. It’s not like the restaurant was even busy. There were 5 tables occupied by people. Ryan however was a delight and delivered great customer service in regards to serving drinks at the table.

Dear Emily R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I noted your comments about Ryan, I will certainly share your feedback. sure he will be delighted to know. Rest of the areas of improvement I will certainly address with individual department heads. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Strange times........

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

779craig 28/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Staff were lovely and room was comfortable..... spa was really nice but unfortunately the hotel was limited as to what they could do due to the cover 19...... overall very happy with hotel and especially the staff!!!!

Dear Craig Thank you for taking time to share your rating and feedback further to your recent visit to us. Totally agree with your comments being in strange times. Thank you for understanding the current limitations we placed in our club for the safety of our guests & staff. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future Best Regards Rama Arimilly

Good loaction and freshly decorated

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Janet Business - 27/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel friendly but food menu a little limited, restaurant service was slow

Dear Janet H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I noted your comments about food & service in our restaurant. we will certainly work on your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in rochdale