Information message

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 2,630 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 19 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Certified Hotel.

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 220 guests

  • On-site swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym facilities

  • Situated eight miles from Manchester city centre

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LaundryPaying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Golf
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 2 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 12 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

Manchester Road
Castleton
OL11 2XZ rochdale
united kingdom

Tel: +4401706630788

Fax: (+44)01706516781

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • MANCHESTER PICADILLY :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • ROCHDALE :  17 CHESHAM AVENUE

  • By plane

    LEEDS/BRADFORD At 47.8km / 29.7 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER INTL AIRP At 40.23km / 25 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER PICADILLY At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    MANCHESTER VICTORIA At 16.3km / 10.13 miles

  • By train

    ROCHDALE At 5km / 3.11 miles

GPS :53.581386, -2.175206

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel has 81 contemporary rooms, all with wireless internet and satellite TV. Some executive rooms are available which are decorated and fitted to very high standards and include complimentary bathrobes, mineral water, designer toiletries and a four-piece bathroom suite.

Classic double or twin room

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Courtyard View, Patio, Garden View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Superior Double or Twin Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Garden View, Courtyard View, Patio *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilège double or twin room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Patio, Courtyard View, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic Family room with a double and up to 2 pull out single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: Patio, Garden View, Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

PICKWICK BISTRO

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

The Pickwick Bistro offers a more informal dining option to the Restaurant, serving a range of lighter meals and snacks.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GRANGE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PICKWICK BISTRO

Non contractual photo

The Grange restaurant offers formal dining in style whilst Pickwick Bistro provides a more informal setting.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 12

  • Maximum size: 170

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

2,630 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,732 reviews

2020 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2020

Comfortable stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mrs P. Business - 05/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have to admit that I was somewhat anxious about staying away from home in the current climate, however I needn't of wasted my energy! From arrival to departure I felt happy with the measures in place to keep us all safe, combat the pandemic and attempt at getting some normal routines back onboard. My room was superly clean, anything I needed was there within record time and the staff were happy and welcoming. Thank you to you all for pleasant stay and your hard work in the background to provide this experience.

Dear Zoe-Joanne P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I was thrilled to see you on your arrival after long long time. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Excellent all round standards and customer service throughout the hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Janet J. Families - 01/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From the first phone call with the reservations manager Pauline , to check out, our 4 night stay at The Norton Grange couldn’t be faulted. All staff were so friendly and professional, whilst working within the COVID restrictions and social distancing procedures.

Dear Janet J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Pauline will be thrilled to learn your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Nice hotel and comfortable

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 30/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice comfortable hotel food lets it down though!

Dear Helen B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Reasonably satisfied, okay for one night

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Steve Business - 29/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff... Staff were welcoming and very pleasant, I had no doubts if I needed something they would assist without hassle. Room... The room I slept in was okay, I think somebody may have smoked a cigarette in there before me as there was a smell of cigarette smoke lingering: the staff had clearly tried to get rid as the windows were all open (a candle or deep clean of the fabric would sort it out I'm sure). Bed... Bed was comfortable enough, plenty of pillows available, and sheets looked to be fresh and clean. Food... Because of Covid, food was served in the room which was absolutely fine. My dinner was slightly disappointing however. I ordered a double piri chicken burger in brioche bun with chips, but received a single burger in what I assumed to be a basic bread roll (I paid £18 which doesn't feel like great value at all). Breakfast was good, although the bread roll for bacon and egg went a bit hard after a minute of arrival (perhaps form being warmed up...) Parking... Good parking, lots of space, fairly secure and out the way too.

Dear Steve B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I was overall delighted to read your feedback and have noted the areas that we possible could do better with! I noted your comments about room & food (dinner & breakfast), I will personally address with relevant teams. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Close to work

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul T. Business - 23/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well organised covid protocols in use so felt safe.

Dear Paul T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Odd Times

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Martin Business - 23/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Smooth booking in process. Comfortable room.

Dear j T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Poor service, even allowing for COVID guidelines

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Rob H. Business - 22/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in fine. Room and bathroom could have been cleaner, was surprised given current situation. Evening meal OK all things considered. Ordered large bottle of water with meal, didn't come so rung reception who said it would be right up, never received it. Breakfast dreadful, if you are going to the trouble of bacon bap and egg bap you need them to be edible. Bacon cold like leather and all fat. egg cold like rubber and yolk had a black ring round it. I don't see why you bother with trying cooked if it is going to be that bad.

Dear Robert H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I personally addressed your feedback with breakfast team, I will ensure an improvement in this area. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Stephen S. Couples - 20/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Super clean rooms, comfy beds, quiet hotel.

Dear stephen s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

It was OK, but there is a lot that can be improved

Customer review rating 3.0/5

André B. Business - 15/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was there for one night so I was really just in and out. However, the staff were friendly but clearly messages were not passed on; I was there for a business purpose but the receptionist was trying to get me to complete a form for a different type of customer. The room was clean but not well prepared - the bed sheet was not tucked in under the mattress at the top so came away from the bed as I slept on it. The breakfast included both a bacon and an egg sandwich, both of which were cold on arrival. I noticed on check-out that there was another breakfast waiting on the counter to go up and it sat there for some time.

Dear Andre B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. Its always nice to receive constructive feedback, as it is only by receiving such information from guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Karen T. Business - 01/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Business trip - staff couldn’t be more friendly/helpful, always acknowledge you , and by name . We weren’t keen on our first classic rooms , down to hotel snobbery mainly, but were moved to a privilege room without any fuss at all- the rooms are beautiful . Plenty of secure parking - will definitely use this hotel again as our first preference when up that way BIG shout out to Pauline - you’re amazing Nothing is ever too much trouble - went the extra mile even down to writing happy birthday on the bed in rose petals and putting out a happy birthday bowl of fruit- made working away on their birthday a much better day Thank you thank you thank you

Dear Karen T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Diane D. Business - 29/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff very friendly and helpful I enjoyed my stay

Dear Diane D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General manager

Awfully Uncomfortable Bed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Mark J. Business - 22/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

As per my last stay when I explained the bed situation then, over my two night stay I'd say I had a maximum of 8 hours sleep as the bed was so uncomfortable. I won't be staying again.

Dear Mark J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. we met in person at the time of check out. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

The staff have been so accommodating to our needs

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michael R. W. Business - 08/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a bit of confusion when our first lot of staff arrived and were not booked into your hotel however Miriam and Craig made a plan to accommodate us all without any fuss!! Great service and with a smile. Thank You!!

Dear Mike W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Pauline & Craig, are delighted to learn your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Nice hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Cd Business - 04/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Bed comfortable. 2 bedside lamps did not work. Ate fish and chips which was lovely, though mushy peas like soup. Not easy to eat from plastic tray with plastic cutlery. Got egg baps delivered with breakfast on both days which I didn't order, for some reason. Staff very polite and friendly. Hotel on nice grounds with large free car park.

Dear Charlotte D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I noted your comments about bed side lamp, I will ensure they are fixed before released to next guest use. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Good hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kevin D. Business - 03/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great

Dear Kevin D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Safe, clean and great food

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Richard D. -. R. 3. Business - 28/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was concerned as this was my first venture outside of my home environment for several months, but my fears were allayed straight away. Very clean, strict rules to follow for covid restrictions and yet we still able to move around quite freely. All food was either collect yourself or deliver to your door. The restricted menu covered for all tastes, personally I had a bit of everything including the vegetarian options, which were all very tasty.

Dear Richard D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Family of 5 for 1 night

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Phil M. Families - 02/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our heating packed up so we needed to be out of the house for 1 night, and the NG isn't far from where we live in Rochdale. I have to say that I was quite worried about being away as there is 3 of us 3 kids and mum and dad. I have to say they where very polite and organised and the rooms where clean and all none essential things like ornaments etc., that could carry the virus had been removed, even that beakers in the bathrooms where in sealed plastic bags. They did have food on but only a limited service, we just took a couple of pizza's and they were good enough to provide, albeit plastic, knifes and forks. I would reccomend the hotel if you need somewhere to stay in the North Manchester area.

Dear Phil M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rama Arimilly General Manager

Strange times........

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

779craig 28/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Staff were lovely and room was comfortable..... spa was really nice but unfortunately the hotel was limited as to what they could do due to the cover 19...... overall very happy with hotel and especially the staff!!!!

Dear Craig Thank you for taking time to share your rating and feedback further to your recent visit to us. Totally agree with your comments being in strange times. Thank you for understanding the current limitations we placed in our club for the safety of our guests & staff. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future Best Regards Rama Arimilly

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

mrs58 26/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

We chose this hotel for the location and had also been recommended it by Rochdale FC. Football match was booked for my husbands birthday. We arrived way before our check in time but the receptionist allowed us to complete paperwork, gave us our key and left our suitcase in store room. A notice was displayed saying there would be a wedding that evening and might be noise. We asked where our room was and was shown it was on the top floor well away from the party room!! We had a coffee in the lounge and before we had finished drinking it the receptionist came and told us our room was ready!! Beautifully furnished Privilege room with "Happy Birthday" spelt out in rose petals on the bed along with towels made into elephants. Complimentary water and cola inroom as well as hand made chocs. Ordered sandwiches about 19.30 in bar which took quite a while to arrive, probably due to wedding and other guests staying there. Great breakfast full English and continental. Proper thick bread for toast and individual jars of jams etc. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Dear Guest, Wow what a fantastic detailed review!! Thank you for taking the time share your feedback in regards to your recent visit to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us, as it is only by receiving such information from guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. It is the goal of our team here at the Mercure Norton Grange that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, which give us the opportunity to establish a long-lasting relationship. Once again thank you for taking time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Best Regards, Rama Arimilly. General Manager

A chilly welcome!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

tonyJ3126PB 01/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

My enduring impression is of being cold. Watching the curtains moving in the draft along corridors; feeling the draft in the dining room; turning the heating up in the room to 30° for six hours to get it warm enough. It was January in North Manchester: surely the outside temperature hadn't taken the hotel by surprise! The room was clean, everything worked, the toiletries were fine, the bed comfortable: if the temperature had been right, this could have been somewhere to come back to. At dinner the ossobuco was off: in fact chef had decided a while ago to take it off the menu but the menu hadn't been changed yet. Food prepared from fresh - the steak, for example - was fine; the rest felt a bit reheated. Away from the reception desk, staff were great: chatty and friendly without being intrusive. But reception at check-in was a bit grudging, while at check-out we had to wait five minutes while the person on the desk dealt with an irate departed guest on the phone: no getting help from a colleague to check us out, no apology when the call was over. I wouldn't say I'd never stay there again, but next time I'm staying in the area I'll look to see what alternatives there are before booking this hotel. Checking out

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback further to your recent visit here with us at Mercure Norton Grange Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies in some areas. I will personally address the areas you mentioned in your feedback with all relevant departments. Hope this one odd experience will not deter you returning back to us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards Rama Arimilly. General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in rochdale