Information message

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.0/5 7,204 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • 700 year-old country manor retaining its original features

  • 14 meeting rooms holding up to 400 guests

  • Indoor heated pool and gym facilities

  • Popular wedding reception destination for up to 250 guests

  • Spa facilities offering a range of treatments

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00


Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Beauty salon Paying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Thalassotherapy centre (nearby) Paying
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 15 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Blackburn Road
Clayton Le Moors Lancashire
BB5 5JP blackburn
united kingdom

Tel: +441254303400

Fax: (+44)1254/872230

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    BLACKPOOL At 57.6km / 35.79 miles

  • By plane

    LEEDS At 93.7km / 58.23 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER At 43.8km / 27.22 miles

  • By train

    ACCRINGTON At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

GPS :53.768386, -2.39473

Our accommodation(s)

175 bedrooms blend age-old comfort with modern design and include one suite, three special feature rooms and enhanced accessibility rooms - as well as the brand new Executive Wing with walk-in showers and luxury welcome pack. All bedrooms are non-smoking and provide 24-hour room service, complimentary car parking, hair dryer, ironing facilities, flatscreen TV, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Our restaurants and bars


Type of cuisine: International

The well-renowned restaurant of the Mercure Dunkenhalgh also has a fresh flavour thanks to the refurbishment project. The Cameo Restaurant has been elegantly redecorated to enhance its charm and offer an even more inviting environment.


The Cameo Bar serves light snacks in an informal setting. An excellent selection of wine and beer is available both by the glass and by bottle.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday


The leisure club offers a relaxing atmosphere and serves light snacks.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 15

  • Maximum size: 370

  • Maximum capacity: 400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.0/5

7,204 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

86 reviews

What a surprise 💪🏼

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

FleaDubai 24/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

A Charming character filled residence!! We certainly felt privileged in a privilege room, and experience customer service but I’m afraid to say it’s quite rare these days in the United Kingdom, but it felt quite normal in this hotel.

Dear FleaDubai, Thank you for your lovely feedback, so pleased you had a nice stay with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. Kind Regards, Sally Blakey, Deputy General Manager

very poor

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Business - 23/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

spa closed, swimming pool closed, breakfast missing most food items, no compensation

Beautiful building and location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Tracy Friends - 22/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Most of the spa facilities were broken and the pool was cold. some staff were not friendly, waiting at bar and reception without an acknowledgement we were there, the staff were busy but they did not even acknowledge our presence on numerous occasions

Best Time

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

ziketal 22/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The hotel was really nice. Hotel staff were splendid and professional. The downside though I wasn't told to register my car so expecting a parking fine anytime soon. Though I was assured it would be cancelled

Dear Ziketal, Thank you for your great feedback! Please contact us at the hotel if that does happen and we can assist you with the fine. Kind Regards, Sally Blakey, Deputy General Manger


Customer review rating 1.0/5

Lauren Friends - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointing stay from start to finish. A 1/2 an hour queue to check in, rooms not ready until 2 hours after check-in. Pool boiler broken so pool was unbearably cold and half of the spa attractions were out of order. Member of reception staff was extremely rude and dead flies everywhere in corridor carpets. I could go on - totally wouldn’t recommend. The only good thing was the food and restaurant staff, the place had the potential to be amazing, but it put a real dampener on our hen weekend.

Overall good but evening meal awful

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Kate U. Families - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room lovely and very clean. Breakfast fair however staff excellent pleasant and very nice

Very welcoming

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mrs V. G. Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room 716. Was a little bit too far for us. My fault , because my husband had a full knee replacement 4 months ago, I requested a walk-in shower, hence the wet room 716. It was ok . But , didn’t have anywhere to put your toiletries. Breakfast was disappointing, the many times we’ve stayed before, there’s always been a big bowl of fresh fruit salad. . No tomatoes, couldn’t believe it . The restaurant manager, he’s amazing, so helpful and friendly. Nothing too much trouble for him. Look forward to seeing him again in December.

Poor customer service

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Katie K. Friends - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Me and my friend came on a spa break weekend and were dissatisfied with level of communication and service

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gina Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff, gorgeous food. We had a superior room. Very big, fresh, clean.

Family stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Guy Families - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel, staff great, family room was spot on. The restaurant & bar were decorated really nice. My only disappointment was the evening menu in the restaurant was far too basic. I would of expected better.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Patricia B. Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very friendly on arrival told us everything we needed to know all staff very courteous

Value for money

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bill B. Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great overnight stay, executive room was great, spacious and clean. Food was good with a good selection. Breakfast was OK , fried eggs though had been left under heat lamps too long and looked liked joke plastic ones. There seemed to be a lot of new staff and some where a little nervous looking but overall they did a great job On the down side when we where there there was a constant Police presence in the car park and this was a little concerning.

Good Spa Time Together Package

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Miss D. Friends - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a good stay. The room was a little disappointing (Part of the wall had not been wallpapered and left bare) and several of the spa facilities were not in working order but the massage treatment, dinner, breakfast and staff were all very lovely.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Angela Friends - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent facilities and customer service

Very disorganised and slow service

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Gareth H. Couples - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was almost 2 hours late. The room did not have a mini bar or gowns. Although the staff brought gowns and a few drinks later when told of the room downgrade. Have stayed in many Mercure in the past and are normally very good. This hotel experience has put us off what is normally a great brand.

Overall I enjoyed my stay.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

caferacerkev 20/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. It wasn't perfect but any problems were quickly sorted. All the people working at the hotel were nice and very helpful. We had two evening meal in the hotel restaurant. The first night was very busy but service was good. The steaks we ordered were undercooked. My wife sent hers back and it was still undercooked! The price of our meal was reduced to compensate us and we were happy with this. Breakfast was very nicely cooked using good quality ingredients. The room had recently been refurbished and had some issues. Cupboard doors were badly fitted and fridge had been put in a cupboard, so did not work. I took the fridge out of the cupboard and it worked great. Very quiet and cool. We used the swimming pool twice and had a good experience. Some work was being carried out and because of this, there was some issues with dust.

Dear caferacerkev, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am pleased you had a nice stay overall. My apologises for any issues you did face and glad we resolved them quickly and to your satisfaction. I will pass on those positive comments about the staff. Kind Regards, Sally Blakey, Deputy General Manager

Excellent as always

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sarah Families - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We've stayed here several times on a spa wellness break and it's always been wonderful. The staff are brilliant, very friendly and helpful making sure we enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean leading to us feeling relaxed from the moment we checked in. The value of a spe wellness break is amazing, the treatments were fantastic, the food lovely and the whole stay was hassle free - exactly what we wanted it to be.

Good stay but lacking as always on attention to detail

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Stef Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Could be such a brilliant hotel but falls down on the detail. Staff great . Covid awareness pretty variable. Little mask wearing in restaurant and bar and breakfast first night and morning but greatly improved day 2. Not happy with guests coughing and not social distancing or mask wearing in food areas particularly in self service breakfast area or at restaurant entrance. Our room was fine and bed very comfortable . Amused to find no water provided as we had not booked “Executive “ - and tap water might have been fine but was always warm not cold so no thanks ! Such an important thing and cheap to provide so found it aggravating to drive to supermarket for water ( wasn’t paying £3.90 approx as quoted in bar to buy a bottle of water ) Breakfast - ok choice but food left far far too long under the heat lamps. Made the fried eggs disgusting. Would have loved option of fried tomatoes. Juice tasted cheap . Tea good but really - expresso at extra charge Typical male designed bathroom with insufficient towels if washed hair. No where to hang clothes in bathroom really etc. Not enough loo rolls or soap for a 3 night stay Horrid little cheap wardrobe at odds with quality of bed This hotel could be fabulous if it paid attention to the detail instead of trying to make economies by scrapping on the detail which is what actually enhances a stay and makes you want to return This is the only viable option if staying to visit relatives in Accrington. Or working nearby. And I think if there were more competition locally the hotel would up its game rather than resting on its laurels. We do actually like the hotel but mediocre could be brilliant with such easy small inexpensive improvements. to the details May I suggest owners watch a few episodes of The Hotel Inspector - especially the 4star B and B ones. To learn a few inexpensive tricks that so enhance the guest experience

Beautiful Hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Joanne M. T. Friends - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A very grand hotel in a lovely setting. Spa facilities were great. Our room was very spacious and smartly decorated. All our food and drink were of a good quality. The customer service offered by your staff was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend your company.

Welcoming staff and comfortable accomodation.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Joanne Friends - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very enjoyable stay. My only complaints were regarding the leisure suite facilities. The pool was cold, I believe the boiler is due to be repaired or replaced. Some of the showers and one of the treatment rooms were out of action and there were no robes and slippers available for hire.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in blackburn