Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 294 reviews

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 19 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Located in the heart of St Helens with easy access to Liverpool and Manchester.

  • Wedding facilities capable of accomodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

  • On-site 92 restaurant & 1552 sports bar with Sky & BT Sports.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG
st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Our accommodations

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Classic Room with one King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft

Classic Room with two Single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft

Privilege Room with one King Size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

92 RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1552 SPORTS BAR

Non contractual photo

Our Sports Bar boasts a great location to sit back and relax with a drink in hand. With Sky Sports and BT Sports on the big screen, you are sure not to miss any big sporting event.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

294 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

36 reviews

good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Daniel T. Business - 24/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

good and helpful

Dear Daniel, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

relaxed comfortable stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Alan Couples - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

very good, will use again

Dear ALAN S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Mark Couples - 22/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel and staff where great

Dear MARK C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Warm reception, excellent room and good breakfast

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Bernieg Business - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall excellent. Receptionist was friendly and efficient. We had tea served during our informal meeting swiftly. All good.

Dear BERNIE G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Still not heard back from the Manager

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Freya Business - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was out into my first room and setteled down for the night, I got up and the shower was COLD! I had to then have a bath which isn't ideal, I advised reception of this and I was moved to another room then next day, I then got up to shower before work and AGAIN the shower was COLD! Neither days I could have breakfast due to the additional time to have a bath instead of a shower. I asked for a refund of the breakfast which I don't think is unreasonable as both days I wasn't able to have it due to poor facilities. I was told the manager will contact me but still hasn't a week later. Not ideal, I have stayed in this hotel many times as I have an office in St. Helens but will think twice after this experience. The assistant manager was very helpful but not able to process and refunds and the receptionist also was pleasant and advised the manager would contact me the same day but unfortunately this wasn't the case.

Dear FREYA C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. As you are aware, we had an issue with our boilers while you were staying with us. I will be glad to report that everything is back to normal. Furthermore, I would like to apologise for any misunderstanding. I personally spoke to you before you left the hotel and I authorised your refund that day hence the resaon I didn't get in touch. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Khem Djedidi General Manager

Good town centre hotel

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Julie Couples - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very clean twin room. Comfortable beds with nice quality linen and towels . My only negative comment of the room was the lighting. There was no lighting over any of the mirrors apart from bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities, only 2 tea bags , we could of used more. Lovely tasty breakfast cooked to order. Free car parking .

Dear JULIE H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement and will help us to improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

No hot water on the morning time, Breakfast was late ate the girl only walked in at 2 mins to 7am.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Barry A. Business - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have been asking for weeks for someone to look at why my points never grown much since the takeover, Khem and others have said it would be sorted ???? Regards

Dear BARRY A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As the hotel general manager, I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your last stay. As per our many conversation you know that I am always available should you wish to speak to me direct. I have checked in regards to your points total and I have been informed that they are correct. However, I will be glad to report that you are only five stays away from achieving your gold membership. I look forward to welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact me direct should you need any further assistance. Sincerely, Khem Djedidi General Manager

Lovely hotel, good location

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Ls Families - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here as planned to go to Knowsley Safari Park the next day. Close to many choices of places to eat and Knowlsley just 15min away. Leisure facilities at the hotel were a draw and made use of whilst there. Staff friendly and helpful. Room size good.

Dear DENNIS S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Disappointing ,

Customer review rating 3.8/5

James M. Business - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Having stayed at other Mercure hotels and I have to say that I and my colleagues were very disappointed with the Mercure St Helens, seemed to be understaffed, after confusion of what was the special in the restaurant, due to it being advertised incorrectly, it took to long for it to be served at the table, the following morning I had to have a cold shower, contacted reception and was informed they had a problem with a pump, was not offered a different room to have a hot shower, as other rooms were ok, the breakfast was ok, but again not as good as other Mercure hotels I stay at ( as I am a L,Accor member ) I will say that the supervisor in the restaurant area was as helpful as he could be,

Dear JAMES M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good stay, nice facilities

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Rebecca Couples - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid for the two night stay for a weekend away with my partner, reason for location was to get into Liverpool - a short 20 minute train journey. Definitely better value than paying liverpool city centre prices!!

Dear REBECCA P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Julie Couples - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

One night stay to attend a music concert. Hotel is in a convenient location. Staff are an asset to the hotel, particularly those serving breakfast and serving the bar. Hotel is bright and clean. Twin room is clean and functional. Third floor very quiet. Food menu for an evening meal is limited and pretty basic, would not choose to eat at hotel again but would stay if in the area.

Dear JULIE D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will help our staff to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

overly fragrant facilities

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Business - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel provides decent level of facilities. the food in the restarant was of a good standard. My biggest problems with this stay were the levels of added fragrance in use both in common areas and within the room. it appears the bed sheets were highly fragranced, thus causing significant respiratory problems and making it very difficult to sleep. There was also a continuos noise in the room , which was difficult to define. Sounded like a boiler or some type of ventilation. I would not choose to stay here again.

Dear SADE O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we will taking the appropriate measures to try and address the issue highlighted. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Well Located, good price

Customer review rating 3.8/5

David Couples - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fire alarm went off approximately 7am, this happened on our previous visit in January. No explanation was given or an apology. We have used this hotel 50+ times over the last few years, so expected better service than this.

Dear DAVID C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Decent facilities not enough staff

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Tom U. Families - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On check in I was asked for extra money for a z bed despite explaining I had tried to book online to include a child it wouldn’t work then rang the hotel and was advised just to book fir a couple and advise reception on check in Waited endlessly at the bar and to order food which took an age The manager Aaron seemed to do everything check in food orders serving laying clearing tables and without him it would have been a disaster My food was fine Wifes order was wrong Childs pizza inedible Didn’t bother with breakfast as a result

Dear TOM U., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to help us monitor and improve our services. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Mark Business - 08/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly , helpful staff

Dear MARK C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your kind comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Well located for the Rugby

Customer review rating 3.8/5

H. Couples - 02/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent stay, lovely friendly staff and great breakfast. Thank you for an enjoyable weekend, and as the Sydney Roosters also won it was even better.

Dear SUSAN H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I can't say that I'm glad you have won the game, however well done and hope to see you soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 3.8/5

Nicky M. Families - 27/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was great - only feedback - my brother room - 101 - smelt of cigarettes - think it might have come through the air vent from outside?

Dear NICKY M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I'll be sure to ask our maintenance manager to carry out a full investigation into the cigarette smell in the bathroom. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Easy stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Winston Business - 27/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good size rooms. Great staff. Good breakfast, although there was no buffet a few times which slowed down my breakfast turnover so I had to make do without a cooked breakfast before having to dash. Also was told no room service on a wedding day, which was disappointing. Pool closes quite early. 9pm does not allow much time to get down there if you are having an evening meal. Rooms were slightly dark at night. The cool white LED’s were a little clinical and very underpowered. I needed to work at the desk and there was just not enough light in the room. Parking was superb and never an issue. Input my car reg at the desk on checkin. Checkout was super smooth too.

Dear WINSTON N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good location for Rugby League experience at St Helens RLFC

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Cumbrian T. Friends - 25/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

No complaints. Reception and checking in excellent. Room very clean (as to be expected). Quiet and good nights sleep. Excellent breakfast and very polite and helpful staff on duty. Thank you.

Dear HENRY B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great staff

Customer review rating 3.8/5

John W. Business - 25/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed overnight during the week and arrived late to check in (8.15pm). I was still able to get food and the staff were all great and provided fantastic service.

Dear JOHN W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your kind comments about our staff with the rest of team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens