Mercure St Helens

Information message

Mercure St Helens

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.0/5 431 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West, St Helens, Merseyside
WA101NG ST HELENS
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22km / 13 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46km / 28 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27km / 16 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3km / 2 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS:53.44994, -2.73679

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

92 RESTAURANT

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.0/5  431 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  89 reviews

Not great

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

No toilet paper in the room - had to ask at reception Towel was stained Staff were friendly & helpful

Great staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Allison Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Another great visit, staff are all lovely

Amazing stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Toni M. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We have 2 rooms for 2 nights the children loved it and we enjoyed our stay

Staff great.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Justin C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The women on reception was really lovely, I forget her name but she made a real impression on everyone we were with (15 of us).

Relaxing stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

E. H. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a very relaxing stay. Room and en-suite very comfortable. Everything great. Especially enjoyed the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room which I used every day for 3 days. Breakfast was excellent apart from the use of cheap nasty frozen sausages. That was really the only negative about my stay. Would happily stay here again.

Awful

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anthony D. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

I wasn't impressed at all with there system for cancellation and i will not look at staying in any of your hotels again

Dear ANTHONEY D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I'm really sorry as I can see you have made 2 bookings but you only cancelled one of them. Both bookings were made online. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Excellent Customer Service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Catherine Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

It is the first time we have stayed at the Mercure St Helens and we hope it won't be our last. The entire staff are so welcoming, professional, helpful and extremely happy in their work. We experienced some minor issues with our room but all were swiftly rectified and done so with good grace and a smile from everyone. We would definitely stay there again.

Great hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jackie Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

lovely clean hotel beds very comfy staff very helpful and breakfast was beautiful. had a great 2 day stay .

Well located , very comfortable room

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mandy Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Right near the town centre , staff was very friendly and helpful , room was comfortable, beer prices was very reasonable to .

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Michael R. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a brilliant stay for my partners 40th , food was outstanding drink was great . The room was excellent and probably the best night's sleep we have had in a long time . Will definitely be coming back .

Great Location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Andreat Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely helpful receptionists, who went out of their way to assist me, as I'm disabled. The key card didn't work, no matter how many times they set it, but it didn't matter because they kept letting me in. Not stayed at this one before, but can Highley recommend it. It has a very Mediterranean feel to it when your waiting for the lift. The room was huge and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Antoniette E. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Me and my daughter was pit in a room when we asked for a twin beds we had a double bed

Dear ANTOINETTE E., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

S H. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent stay for Saints game and meetings friends be back next week for 2 nights

Good experience

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Simon Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff - cosy room and very comfortable bed plus excellent breakfast

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good atmosphere, friendly staff

Watch Out For The Parking

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Emma M. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We attended a wedding at 2pm and we were unable to check into our 2 rooms until 3pm which was fine, however because of this when entering the hotel we went straight towards family in the bar and did not enter our vehicle registrations into a tablet by the reception. We were told you only get 20 minutes to do so , despite having paid for 2 rooms to stay over. We now await a fine !!!!!!!!!

Dear Emma M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I'm really sorry to hear about your parking ticket and sorry that you have missed the signage in the carpark in regards to the parking. however there is an appeal process which you could follow. please see the letter that you have received in regards to the appeal procedure. once again please accept our apologies and please let us know if you need any further assistance. Sincerely,

A clean hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Sarah S TripAdvisor review

We stayed for two separate nights. The hotel was clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast was a disappointment on both stays. On the first visit we were not handed a fact sheet but this was provided on our second visit.

Dear Sarah Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Good stay, clean and great service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

DonnaM565 TripAdvisor review

Thank you again for another fantastic stay, hotel always very clean, service super as normal - shame some of your guest this weekend didn't have more respect for your night staff - your guy deserves a medal the amount of nonsense he need to put up with from some guest. Special shout out to your cleaners and breakfast team - amazingly clean rooms and fantastic food and breakfast. Fab stay and see you again soon at Xmas.

Dear Donna We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Disappointing Stay

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andy L TripAdvisor review

Disappointed with the stay. Room that was painted like a patchwork quilt and shower screen that leaked. They describe flat screen TV, which is correct, but a 25" screen isn't good enough for a 4 star hotel. Food was terrible from 'curry' battered fish, sent back, to burnt gammon, overcooked egg and a salad served in a warm bowl. Breakfast followed the same route. Not all as described by the waiter, undercooked sausage and inedible mushrooms and bacon, don't know what they were cooked in. Staff were apologetic but doesn't account for terrible food. Food not upto the standard of budget hotels

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Again I have to apologies, however each TV in our hotel is 32'' or above. I have just been to both rooms you and your family were using and we have 2 LG32 so not sure why you would think it was a 25''. As per the conversation on the night and the morning of check out, we can't apologies enough for the issues you have experienced and we offered a full refund for the food bill. I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I will personally follow up on your comments with our team. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me direct should you wish to discus this matter further.

Clean and convenient

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Julmartrich TripAdvisor review

Hotel in the town centre and is a couple of minutes walk into the town on a busy main road, there used to be a gate to cut through but this has been closed due to COVID . Room was very clean, with a fridge kettle and safe. Comfortable beds, good shower and clean towels. Cannot fault for the price, I didn’t bother with the breakfast bag as it’s not really worth the £10.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that the team here will appreciate your comments. I will ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team here to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in ST HELENS