Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.9/5 548 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG st helens
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS:53.44994, -2.73679

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

92 RESTAURANT

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

548 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

73 reviews

Nice staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Em Business - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was nice. The bar was a bit of a let down as the drinks weren't a great choice. Also, the £50 deposit that I don't know why it was taken and hasn't as the reception lady said, come back instantly to my account.

Awesome experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 24/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcoming hospitality and the staff really made the stay special. Food was lovely. Would absolutely stay again.

Staff brilliant

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Nige Couples - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Type of trip not covered i.e. Wedding function Booked an extra night to sightsee ate in restaurent and they were short on the food I wanted very poor for a large hotel Used the stairs noticed had not been hoovered since Saturday till Monday lunchtime when we left Asked for food bill on the Sunday paid by card but did not get actual bill to check it was correct !

Good Location well presented

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ian D. Families - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location with Parking for a visit to the Town

Dear IAN D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great wedding venue

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mr E. Couples - 22/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed attending a wedding at the hotel, swimming pool and spar included comfortable bed after a long evening partying.

Dear Charles E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Late, cold

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Mrs S. Couples - 21/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Delayed service at breakfast that Mede us late for our appointment. Received cold substandard food. On highlighting the issue had to relay disappointment to 3 separate members of staff only to be told to take it up with yourselves or pay for another breakfast at half price. Left feeling totallydisappointed and would not recommend or return.

Dear GILL S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I do believe after having the breakfast on the Sunday you made us aware on the Monday that you weren't happy with the food and we should give you the breakfast for free to make up for the issues which we didn't know about till the next day. Our duty manager has offered you a good will gesture for 50% off from the breakfast to which you have declined as you did believe it should be offered for free? We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Easy to get to and excellent parking

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Harry M. Couples - 20/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Extremely pleasant. Excellent reception staff, very friendly, informative and polite. Hotel absolutely spotlessly clean in all respect. Very nice, spacious and comfortable en suite bedrooms with good sound proofing No noise in our room despite overlooking the busy express way, Bat area very clean and comfortable with efficient pleasant staff. Dining room - we only had a snack evening meal but not withstanding being very busy our meals were supplied piping hot, tasty and in a very polite and pleasant manner. We will certainly stay again.

great location. enjoyed our stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

William C. Families - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

very enjoyable. Room was a bit basic but hey ho

It was a nice place

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Krupa Friends - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Checked in no issues. Don’t advise having the breakfast though as for £10 and a buffet style. We got a full English which had one bacon one sausage one egg one hash brown a bout 4 tiny mushrooms and a small pot of beans. The pool was ok. Boy working there had no idea when asking about lockers or checking in.

Dear KRUPA V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Excellent reception/bar/breakfast staff! Lovely clean hotel.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Tim G. Business - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

First time away on business for 20 months - Excellent reception/bar/breakfast staff! Lovely clean hotel.

Dear TIM G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Craig L. Business - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good service thank you

Dear CRAIG l., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Not as good as reviews

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Kelly Couples - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked a suite totally dissatisfied with the room and check in no where did it state on the booking confirmation we was to be charged a deposit good job we had the money or would of been embarrassing for some the room was totally not what a say was a suite pictures taken broken glass side board dirty work tops cigarette burn in bath and very dirty broken skirting board was very disappointed as this was a break for my partners bday the lobby was spotless putty about the room ?

Good to be back!

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John P. Couples - 13/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel very quiet and relaxing with spacious clean rooms

Dear JOHN P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good functional stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Andrew Families - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ideal one night stay for granddad and grandson, reasonably facilities in the hotel including the pool, easy access to roads and local restaurants, free parking is a good feature in a town.

Dear ANDREW K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

staff was amazing a lady on reception called sharon was great.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kerri W. Couples - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

we got lost and i was stressing out sharon sorted us out very quickly and very efficent x

Dear Kerri w., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with Sharon. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Dirty room, hot water issues

Customer review rating 0.5/5

James W. Couples - 06/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Horrendous, absolutely horrendous. Black mold on the bathroom ceiling, dirty linen, thick dust everywhere, long blond hair over carpet/floors and hairs on toilet, rusty and broken fittings. We couldn't shower as the water temperature wasn't stable, boiling hot to ice cold without touching the tap or warning. Reported issues multiple times for nothing to be done, asked to change room and it was refused. I would never stay in this hotel again, nor Mercure branded due to this experience. Left this hotel after a 2 night stay feeling dirty and frustrated, we boiled the kettle and had a flannel wash because even after running a bath, the water was barely luke warm. Totally unacceptable for a supposed 4* hotel. I was offered 20% off my next stay, again, totally unacceptable. After paying £168 for a room unfit for purpose, I have not words to explain the disappointment, frustration, and sheer lack incompetence from this hotel.

Dear JAMES W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please contact the hotel manager direct. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good stay, clean and great service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

DonnaM565 13/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Thank you again for another fantastic stay, hotel always very clean, service super as normal - shame some of your guest this weekend didn't have more respect for your night staff - your guy deserves a medal the amount of nonsense he need to put up with from some guest. Special shout out to your cleaners and breakfast team - amazingly clean rooms and fantastic food and breakfast. Fab stay and see you again soon at Xmas.

Dear Donna We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Disappointing Stay

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andy L 29/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Disappointed with the stay. Room that was painted like a patchwork quilt and shower screen that leaked. They describe flat screen TV, which is correct, but a 25" screen isn't good enough for a 4 star hotel. Food was terrible from 'curry' battered fish, sent back, to burnt gammon, overcooked egg and a salad served in a warm bowl. Breakfast followed the same route. Not all as described by the waiter, undercooked sausage and inedible mushrooms and bacon, don't know what they were cooked in. Staff were apologetic but doesn't account for terrible food. Food not upto the standard of budget hotels

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Again I have to apologies, however each TV in our hotel is 32'' or above. I have just been to both rooms you and your family were using and we have 2 LG32 so not sure why you would think it was a 25''. As per the conversation on the night and the morning of check out, we can't apologies enough for the issues you have experienced and we offered a full refund for the food bill. I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I will personally follow up on your comments with our team. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me direct should you wish to discus this matter further.

Clean and convenient

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Julmartrich 11/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hotel in the town centre and is a couple of minutes walk into the town on a busy main road, there used to be a gate to cut through but this has been closed due to COVID . Room was very clean, with a fridge kettle and safe. Comfortable beds, good shower and clean towels. Cannot fault for the price, I didn’t bother with the breakfast bag as it’s not really worth the £10.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that the team here will appreciate your comments. I will ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team here to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Worst visit yet.

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

kevinallan 01/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

I've stayed at this hotel several times now and it seems to be getting progressively worse. I encountered several things which couldn't have been better. When I first entered the room there was a damp smell which lingered throughout my stay. I put this down to the lack of air conditioning in my room due to COVID. However my room window wouldn't be opened and I was left with the smell throughout my 3 night stay. The beds we two single beds joined together, one being a slightly higher then the other, this mean I slept on a single bed most of the time. When I booked my visit online I selected and pre-paid for my breakfast, 10 pounds, the usual amount you'd expect to pay. However when I went for breakfast I was given a paper back, containing the worst sandwiches, a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar along with brown sauce and tomato ketchp (no idea why). This was not a worth the money. The excuse given for no hot food, was it was down to COVID. As I'm classed as an essential worker, I've travelled all over the UK during COVID. This is the only hotel that's not provided hot meals for breakfast. .

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I treat all feedback with the upmost seriousness and please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfall you have experinced. I do wish that you had let us know while you still with us and we could have looked into the issues with the room for you at the time or we could have moved you to a more suitable one. On check out I do believe you were asked if everything was ok with your stay and nothing was mentioned. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please email me on hb4z1-gm@accor.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon Kind regards

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens