Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 325 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 19 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • GolfPaying
  • TennisPaying
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG
st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Classic Room with one King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic Room with two Single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Privilege Room with one King Size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

92 RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1552 SPORTS BAR

Non contractual photo

Our Sports Bar boasts a great location to sit back and relax with a drink in hand. With Sky Sports and BT Sports on the big screen, you are sure not to miss any big sporting event.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

325 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

42 reviews

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Clare Couples - 23/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Met by a very pleasant lady on reception covid secure very bright clean reception area. Went into my room bits of whatever it was underneath the desk and the carpets could of done with a major carpet clean could see the stains on it. Towels could of been bigger and an extra set of shower products as the one set isn’t enough for one never mind two ! Overall it was a real nice experience for a night away from my home area

having used this hotel previously I had no hesitation in using the hotel again.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Mr R. N. Business - 08/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

under difficult circumstances the hotel staff as always most attentive and knowledgeable about the current situation and been able to converse quite comfortably and with genuine aplomb

Dear RAYMOND n., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Its a comfortable and quiet hotel

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Laurence Business - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed 2 nights. Because of COVID I kept to my room during the stay, room service meals. Everything was good for me

Dear LAURENCE F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Pleasant Stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Caroline Couples - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great welcome by reception. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable room. Highly recommended

Dear Ms B., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that all the team here will appreciate your fantastic feedback! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Worst visit yet.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

kevinallan 01/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

I've stayed at this hotel several times now and it seems to be getting progressively worse. I encountered several things which couldn't have been better. When I first entered the room there was a damp smell which lingered throughout my stay. I put this down to the lack of air conditioning in my room due to COVID. However my room window wouldn't be opened and I was left with the smell throughout my 3 night stay. The beds we two single beds joined together, one being a slightly higher then the other, this mean I slept on a single bed most of the time. When I booked my visit online I selected and pre-paid for my breakfast, 10 pounds, the usual amount you'd expect to pay. However when I went for breakfast I was given a paper back, containing the worst sandwiches, a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar along with brown sauce and tomato ketchp (no idea why). This was not a worth the money. The excuse given for no hot food, was it was down to COVID. As I'm classed as an essential worker, I've travelled all over the UK during COVID. This is the only hotel that's not provided hot meals for breakfast. .

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I treat all feedback with the upmost seriousness and please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfall you have experinced. I do wish that you had let us know while you still with us and we could have looked into the issues with the room for you at the time or we could have moved you to a more suitable one. On check out I do believe you were asked if everything was ok with your stay and nothing was mentioned. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please email me on hb4z1-gm@accor.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon Kind regards

Okay stay.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Q.a. Business - 22/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall stay was okay. Selected hotel due to fitness facilities. These closed at short notice with a letter on the door. Breakfast was okay. 1st day there was no vegetarian option just a meat sandwich. Which was disappointing. Was rectified for the other four days. Room was quite tired - broken tiles in bathroom, broken bath. If its was a work trip dn a personal trip I would have requested a room change.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't 100% and I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,
Customer review rating 3.8/5

Sam M. Business - 18/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed for one night and can honestly say that I cannot fault the service and professionalism of the staff. The hotel is beautifully maintained and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a good night’s sleep. Due to the current covid situation you are able to text staff 24 hours with any queries and their response is swift. We texted for help with the heating in the room and someone was there within a couple of minutes. Unfortunately due to Covid, breakfast is a continental take away arrangement. The selection and quality of the prepackaged food is awful and not worth the extra £10 per person. I think that upon booking the breakfast arrangements should be made clear so that you can make an informed decision about adding breakfast to your booking. I was given a ham brioche sub and texted to say that I do not eat pork products. The manager responded immediately and said there was a vegetarian option and was at the room within a minute. Despite his efforts it was just a cheese sandwich in white bread which did not look appetising and I did not eat it. You’re actually better off taking the short walk to the local McDonalds for breakfast if you don’t have Uber eats. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

Dear SAMANTHA M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services including the breakfast which under review to try and find a better way to deliver a high quality within a covid safe. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Enjoyable, but could be better.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Mr A. G. H. Solo - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hi guys, It was a good stay overall. The room amd staff was great. The spa area, its staff and the gym were also great. Below ill leave some feedback on what can make the stay better for next time. 1. Always do a quick check of rooms before you give the guest a keycard so you can make sure things such as the fridge is plugged in so it doesnt take a long time for drinks/snacks to get cold. 2. ICE! ICE! ICE! Get an ice machine for each floor! I cannot stress this enough. Clear out a closet and put your storage on the ground floor or basement. Even if you order cheap ones from china through ali baba... sort it out. No one wants to walk to the front desk to ask the receptionist for a tiny bucket of ice. They likely wont wash their hands. Theres no sureity the buckets are clean. Wheres the ice scooped from? Even if the answers are goid answers, no guest want to have to ask in the first place. Make it happen guys. 3. Get some music for your lobby and restaurant. Its eerily quiet. And whats up with the books in the dining area? Gives me library vibes lol no one wants to eat in a library. 4. Wash cloths for the bathrooms would be nice. You dont want to have to scrub yourself with a bar of soap. 5. A designated area for smokers with shelter is very important! No one should have to go outdoors for a cigarette in the rain. This is an easy way to ensure people do not smoke in the rooms. This is England and it rains every other day. 6. Get some small packets of bubbles for the bathtub in the suite. It would encourage use. Who doesnt love a bubblebath. Thanks for the hospitality, i hope you find this helpful. All the best. Cheers.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will also ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team to review. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Would highly recommend

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Karen Couples - 04/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

All staff were very professional but also very friendly helpful and approachable. They adhered stringently to all Covid safety guidelines. The rooms were spotlessly clean as was all areas of the hotel. Being in a town centre the hotel is close to all amenities and although near a very busy road no traffic noise could be heard from within the hotel. I would highly recommend staying at the Mercure St Helens.

Dear KAREN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

T M. Families - 28/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Towels were a bit old and could have done with more towels and pillows but overall a nice hotel

Dear Ms m. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will also ensure that your feedback regarding the towels and pillows are given to the senior management team to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

Saints

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anymons Families - 22/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My pet hate to see rinsed out cups in the room instead of fresh ones with coffee stained spoons and flimsy towels.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Naomi Reception Manager

cheap pillows gave me sore neck

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Hotel B. Families - 19/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel setting is beautiful in a great location we opted out of breakfast as it would come in a bag for £10 each. It is such a disappointment that you would use cheap flat £2 ikea pillows that offer zero support for your guests when sleeping the shower was very difficult to control at first only ice cold water coming out spent 15 minutes before warm water came on then it was either streaming scorching hot water one second and ice cold water the next the taps in the basin splashed water everywhere bathroom and room felt dated compared to what you see when you walk through the doors at reception

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. All of the pillows which we use are hotel standard which we haven't had issues with before however I will discuss your feedback with the senior management team. I will ask our maintenance team to investigate the issues that you had experienced o ensure that this is resolved. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Wel located

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Michael B. Couples - 14/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

St Helens is my home town always lovely to go back and visit family and friends stayed in this hotel 3/4 times now, but its looking rather dated now, we expected to of had the queen's size bed but instead we were left with 2 pushed together bit uncomfortable knowing theirs a crease come join down the centre of your bed. The staff I found to be courteous and helpful. The skirting round the bath could do with changing as it's cracked and paint flaking, the shower door requires a new seal as the one was torn, chips in the desk fitting, the fridge needs to be defrosted and maybe the rooms carpets could do with a deep clean, very little natural light coming into the room due to the frosted appearance of the glass and the what I presume to be signage obscuring the light also.

Dear MICHAEL B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

A good stay and everything went according to plan.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

A J. C. Couples - 14/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were good and the room clean and tidy. I had to request that the handwash basin outflow bee unblocked and this was done immediately.

Dear ANTHONY C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Everything Perfect apart from the Bed....

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Paul Business - 12/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Amazing staff on front desk, bar staff were great.... But the bed was on a slope.... It was so annoying...

Dear PAUL D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback gets passed to our maintenance to make sure he follow up on your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

I had a great stay and the location was great

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anthony E. Solo - 05/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

they was very helpful

Dear ANTHONY E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 3.8/5

Keith S. Business - 05/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Over priced take away breakfast.

Dear KEITH S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are working on a way to improve our breakfast service within the government guidelines restrictions. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Mediocre hotel, priced too high

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Dissatisffied Business - 05/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor food, bought a breakfast which was in a bag included in room rate, would not have done if I’d known prior to booking, room keys playing up, pillows disgusting rubber. Would not stay again

Dear MELVYN D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Sami Couples - 04/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a really nice stay at this modern looking hotel. Located on a busy road, it is very close to many amenities and retail parks. Reception staff were good. The room was clean, but the bathroom looked dated, and the basin wasn't good at maintaining water as it splashed out causing a mess. The bed was comfortable and had a quiet night sleep.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Good shower

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Rbrboltz Families - 29/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice rooms reasonably priced with excellent shower

Dear Rbrboltz, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens