Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.9/5 598 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG st helens
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS:53.44994, -2.73679

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

92 RESTAURANT

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

598 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

77 reviews

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Vs Families - 14/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Water was not hot in the bathroom sink Had to call the person, no phone in the room Went to reception, the person came - apparently had to turn shower on as well in order to get hot water in the sink. Had to do this every time - bit annoying, but so much wastage of water

Another great experience.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bm Families - 13/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had our usual pleasant experience at the hotel. Friendly staff and a convenient location.

Noise from fan on roof

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Joanne Couples - 12/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location. Nice hotel and staff. We were on the 3rd floor with a fan that couldn’t be turned off on the roof. The noise was awful and disturbed us all night. Emailed the hotel with no reply

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Alex Couples - 10/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

The rooms were comfortable, well designed and beautiful. Bed was made perfectly no mess anywhere from previous clients, really enjoyed the tea coffee and biscuits left out and the appliances such as the hairdryer tv kettle and iron where all of good quality

Good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Angel S. Couples - 09/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice

Damp room with bad odour

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Stuart H. Families - 07/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We staed in the club room and on walking in the roomthere was a musty/old smell in the air. The room looked clean however and tidy. Later in the evening when we were bare footed we noticed the floor had a cold damp feeling to and this was extended to the bedding as well. Overall neither of us slept that well as a result. We did mention it to reception upon checking out and the lady at the front desk was apologetic and said she would mention it but nothing else was said.

very good - professional, friendly, comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Peter H. Friends - 07/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed overnight and me friends. Had drinks and meal in the hotel- every member of staff was friendly, polite and helpful (without being over gushy or patronising) - excellent. The only thing of slight concern was that we had a room with an interconnecting door to the next room - and it wasn't locked! I just pushed some furniture against it - otherwise I would have given a '10' score.

Waiting for refund

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Thomas D. Couples - 05/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Awaiting refund on my complaint. Only stayed 1 night left due to room bedding ect not being sorted

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 04/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfy decent clean room easy check in and out process

Well located for my trip

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Dr Families - 04/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

No problems at all

Another good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ian M. Business - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay as always .

Nice staff very unclean rooms

Customer review rating 1.5/5

David B. Couples - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

After our visit this weekend we were moved rooms but the rooms just are not clean. The bathrooms need a thorough deep clean as mould around the shower screens, under the toilet pans are very dirty and in the sink plughole are scum snd dirt. When you opened the curtains it looked like blood was splattered on inside at the top. My partner is a cleaner but we have never stayed in a hotel room like this the cleaners especially with Covid around should be far more thorough not just make the beds and hoover. More time and attention should be allocated to each clean once a room is vacated.

Dear DAVID B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Great Hotel At A Great Price

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Stephen H. Couples - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here overnight in able to attend a Family party. Friendly, helpful Staff. Excellent room with extremely comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again!

Good courteous staff, very clean, value for money, well located for my occasion.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Caroline G. Families - 02/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

My experience was a very good one, I had a few queries while I stayed with you and they were dealt with very quickly and professionally. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent, the food provided in my stay with you was to a very high standard, the room was very clean, well stocked with refreshments and extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend the hotel.

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Eugene L. Friends - 02/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Brilliant stay, excellent staff sorting a last minute room upgrade especially for a wedding party/new year's eve.

Wedding stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Julie Couples - 02/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed as guests at a wedding. The staff welcoming and friendly rooms where clean. Beds not very comfortable sadly too hard. Breakfast was first class.

Good stay, clean and great service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

DonnaM565 13/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Thank you again for another fantastic stay, hotel always very clean, service super as normal - shame some of your guest this weekend didn't have more respect for your night staff - your guy deserves a medal the amount of nonsense he need to put up with from some guest. Special shout out to your cleaners and breakfast team - amazingly clean rooms and fantastic food and breakfast. Fab stay and see you again soon at Xmas.

Dear Donna We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Disappointing Stay

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andy L 29/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Disappointed with the stay. Room that was painted like a patchwork quilt and shower screen that leaked. They describe flat screen TV, which is correct, but a 25" screen isn't good enough for a 4 star hotel. Food was terrible from 'curry' battered fish, sent back, to burnt gammon, overcooked egg and a salad served in a warm bowl. Breakfast followed the same route. Not all as described by the waiter, undercooked sausage and inedible mushrooms and bacon, don't know what they were cooked in. Staff were apologetic but doesn't account for terrible food. Food not upto the standard of budget hotels

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Again I have to apologies, however each TV in our hotel is 32'' or above. I have just been to both rooms you and your family were using and we have 2 LG32 so not sure why you would think it was a 25''. As per the conversation on the night and the morning of check out, we can't apologies enough for the issues you have experienced and we offered a full refund for the food bill. I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I will personally follow up on your comments with our team. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me direct should you wish to discus this matter further.

Clean and convenient

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Julmartrich 11/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hotel in the town centre and is a couple of minutes walk into the town on a busy main road, there used to be a gate to cut through but this has been closed due to COVID . Room was very clean, with a fridge kettle and safe. Comfortable beds, good shower and clean towels. Cannot fault for the price, I didn’t bother with the breakfast bag as it’s not really worth the £10.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that the team here will appreciate your comments. I will ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team here to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Worst visit yet.

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

kevinallan 01/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

I've stayed at this hotel several times now and it seems to be getting progressively worse. I encountered several things which couldn't have been better. When I first entered the room there was a damp smell which lingered throughout my stay. I put this down to the lack of air conditioning in my room due to COVID. However my room window wouldn't be opened and I was left with the smell throughout my 3 night stay. The beds we two single beds joined together, one being a slightly higher then the other, this mean I slept on a single bed most of the time. When I booked my visit online I selected and pre-paid for my breakfast, 10 pounds, the usual amount you'd expect to pay. However when I went for breakfast I was given a paper back, containing the worst sandwiches, a piece of fruit, muffin, cereal bar along with brown sauce and tomato ketchp (no idea why). This was not a worth the money. The excuse given for no hot food, was it was down to COVID. As I'm classed as an essential worker, I've travelled all over the UK during COVID. This is the only hotel that's not provided hot meals for breakfast. .

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I treat all feedback with the upmost seriousness and please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfall you have experinced. I do wish that you had let us know while you still with us and we could have looked into the issues with the room for you at the time or we could have moved you to a more suitable one. On check out I do believe you were asked if everything was ok with your stay and nothing was mentioned. Should you wish to discuss your comments further please email me on hb4z1-gm@accor.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon Kind regards

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens