Information message

Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 512 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site restaurant & bar with BT Sports

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Hotel services

92 RESTAURANT

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • No Restaurant
  • No Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
Meetings/Events
  • No Meeting room
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 84 rooms
    • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 3 family rooms
    • 2 connecting rooms
    • 84 non-smoking rooms
    • 3 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-in
    • Express check-out
Access to property
  • Car Park
    • On site
Well-being
  • Pyramid Leisure
    • Covered
    • On site
Family
  • Services for children
    • Childrens TV Channels

Our accommodation(s)

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

512 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

69 reviews

Well located

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Andrew B. Friends - 24/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room not hovered room cold not what we expected as we booked a upgraded room didn’t feel personalised

Great staff

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Lucy Couples - 24/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff very welcoming and helpful, especially on reception. Stayed one night for a family party. Had a meal in the restaurant before going out. Great service, meal was piping hot and there was plenty of it. Room was clean and tidy but we found the mattress too soft. I am disabled so had phoned to book an accessible room only to be told that the hotel does not have any fully accessible rooms! The bath is low for easier access and they provide a step/stool to use. I cannot believe that a hotel chain of this magnitude cannot offer fully accessible rooms with a walk in shower. It wasn't too much of a problem as we were only staying one night. If we were staying 2 or more we would not stay here again. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. If you want vegetarian options such as sausages you have to order them but there is nothing to tell you that you need to. Also, people, after using the swimming pool walk across the foyer dripping water all over the floor making a slip hazard. I did report it and it was dealt with quickly. Overall a good stay but this is due to the great staff. As a disabled person I feel the hotel needs to address the accessible room problem.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ian H. Business - 20/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very pleasent staff well looked after comfortable rooms

Great value

Customer review rating 5.0/5

L. T. Solo - 20/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed one night. The suite was spacious, clean and extremely good value. Easy parking and central location. I was at an event so didn't have the opportunity to try the restaurant and other facilities, however I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying St Helen's

nice hotel but bedroom far too dark inadaquate lighting

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Mrs P. Couples - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

i was not happy as when we arrived we were asked to pay £50.00 was told it was a security payment but would be reimbursed back onto my card in a few days this payment was not mentioned at the time of booking. not happy at all

Lovely stay. Fabulous staff.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tina Couples - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here for a wedding at the weekend. The staff really make this place. Professional, attentive, polite and helpful. Really nice breakfast. Bar service was quick. A big shout out to Kristina who was cheerful and just great. The only disappointment for us was the pool. Not enough room to swim without bumping into people. Especially when children are having swimming lessons.

Comfortable room

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Tiago L. Couples - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay, the room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast is extremely poor in my opinion.

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ab Friends - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was a stay as a guest to a wedding. As a wedding the way the hotel handled the event was exceptional. In general ALL of the staff were very good , very polite and helpful. The bar menu is average and pricey as are the drinks, but no more than most hols. Room and bed good, clean .

Good location with a good sized room.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Stephen Families - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in, breakfast and cleaning teams were very professional, helpful and friendly. Room was a very good size with a large and comfortable bed.

Very friendly

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Joanne Families - 17/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly helpful staff, comfortable room very enjoyable breakfast

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Friends - 17/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean rooms, staff polite.

Location was very good

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anup V. Friends - 14/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pre-booking for 20 rooms accommodation for 5 nights stay was handled well.

Dear Anup V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

staff very pleasant, courteous & professional, The room was clean tidy & comfortable

Comfortable room, very quiet

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Margaret Couples - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff, comfortable beds, and very quiet at night. Restaurant served our starters and main course together. This seemed to be because a big group was coming in and the chef wanted us done with.

Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,

Good stay, clean and great service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

DonnaM565 13/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Thank you again for another fantastic stay, hotel always very clean, service super as normal - shame some of your guest this weekend didn't have more respect for your night staff - your guy deserves a medal the amount of nonsense he need to put up with from some guest. Special shout out to your cleaners and breakfast team - amazingly clean rooms and fantastic food and breakfast. Fab stay and see you again soon at Xmas.

Good Location, Sensible Price, Functional Corporate Hotel

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Louise S. Couples - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We experienced an ok stay - all in all very average. First allocated room had been smoked in so had to ask for an alternative room, which was issued but key wouldn't work so needed to return to reception for another key to be programmed. Then had to get key reprogrammed a second time the next day as it wasn't working again - very frustrating to be backwards and forwards to reception! Room was averagely 'corporate' nothing to comment on really other than temperature - air conditioning didn't work, couldn't get temp any lower than 26c for our entire stay which made it incredibly uncomfortable at night considering the windows do not open. Rereported this to reception - who did nothing for the duration of our stay. On checking out, it appears this was also a problem for many other rooms. Bed was comfortable though. A very functional hotel - definitely more business than leisure, would not choose to stay here for leisure - it's a bed for the night and nothing more. Convenient location and more sensibly priced than Liverpool hotels. Breakfast overpriced at £10pp for continental so we went to the nearby McDonalds/Wetherspoons instead!!

Dear LOUISE S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Good hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Nhm Solo - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had an average stay at this hotel. The room was slightly dusty and only two pillows were provided.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a good stay no member welcome or drink vouchers but no accommodation issues.

Disappointing Stay

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andy L 29/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Disappointed with the stay. Room that was painted like a patchwork quilt and shower screen that leaked. They describe flat screen TV, which is correct, but a 25" screen isn't good enough for a 4 star hotel. Food was terrible from 'curry' battered fish, sent back, to burnt gammon, overcooked egg and a salad served in a warm bowl. Breakfast followed the same route. Not all as described by the waiter, undercooked sausage and inedible mushrooms and bacon, don't know what they were cooked in. Staff were apologetic but doesn't account for terrible food. Food not upto the standard of budget hotels

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Again I have to apologies, however each TV in our hotel is 32'' or above. I have just been to both rooms you and your family were using and we have 2 LG32 so not sure why you would think it was a 25''. As per the conversation on the night and the morning of check out, we can't apologies enough for the issues you have experienced and we offered a full refund for the food bill. I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I will personally follow up on your comments with our team. Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me direct should you wish to discus this matter further.

Clean and convenient

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Julmartrich 11/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hotel in the town centre and is a couple of minutes walk into the town on a busy main road, there used to be a gate to cut through but this has been closed due to COVID . Room was very clean, with a fridge kettle and safe. Comfortable beds, good shower and clean towels. Cannot fault for the price, I didn’t bother with the breakfast bag as it’s not really worth the £10.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! I'm sure that the team here will appreciate your comments. I will ensure that the feedback that you have provided is given to the senior management team here to review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens