ibis budget Canberra

ibis budget Canberra 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 366 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Your perfect low cost hotel choice when visiting Australia's capital city

  • Located off the Federal Highway, 7Km from Canberra city centre

  • A short drive to all major galleries, attractions, shopping & dining

  • Rooms designed for solo travelers, couple, families or groups

  • Fast & free Wi-fi throughout the hotel, free on site car parking

Hotel location

ibis budget Canberra

15 Tay Street, Antill Street
2602 WATSON
Australia

  • By plane

    CANBERRA At 10km / 6 miles

GPS:-35.225, 149.166583

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast

Breakfast

Our accommodation(s)

Functional in design with stylish, contemporary décor, guest rooms at ibis budget Canberra feature a wide variety of convenient facilities, helping guests to feel at home. Guests staying at this budget-conscious hotel can enjoy comfortable bedding and a r ange of bedding layout options, a modern, well-equipped ensuite, Wi-Fi access to keep in touch, a TV and an alarm clock, and air conditioning for comfort. Bedding layouts include a Queen bed, a Queen with overhead bunk, and two Singles with overhead bunk.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
ibis budget Canberra

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  366 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.0/5  512 reviews

Nice clean till someone brought fleas

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Geoffrey R. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great staff rooms are good for price, unfortunately I started to get harassed by what I presume are fleas on the 4th day.( Never had a dog so not 100% sure.) Problem was only downstairs issue was fixed when I moved upstairs. fighting the pricks in my car now daily vacuuming not having much effect.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Our room smelt of sewage, so the smell was unpleasant to sleep in

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Canberra. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We acknowledge that you had some problems with a sewerage smell in your room and are deeply sorry that this has occurred - we have contacted our plumber he has advised that this problem is now rectified, though I am sorry that this impacted your stay. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

Very pleasant

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michael C. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

The venue was chosen as accommodation for family and friends from Melbourne and Sydney during a brief stopover to visit the Ancient Greek Exhibition at the National Museum. We could not have been made more welcome by the entire staff. The rooms were clean and the breakfast more than adequate (including a good coffee).

Dear Michael, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will definitely be sharing your comments with our team. And I'm very happy that my neophyte coffee was up to scratch!! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Canberra! Kind regards, Matt Parkins General Manager

Good location for AWM - Very helpful and friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bruce Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location for AWM - Very helpful and friendly staff, eager to help with directions and advise on parking for AWM dawn service and restaurant locations like Dickson Chinatown.

Good morning Bruce, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback - we greatly appreciate it! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was able to look after you and provide some good advice on Dawn Service parking and nearby places to eat. I will definitely pass your feedback on to the team as it serves as great encouragement to keep providing the best service possible. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra. Kind Regards, Matt Parkins General Manager Ibis Budget Canberra

Friendly staff, extremely congested rooms

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Priyank Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms were extremely small, could not have been any smaller. Not that prices were low, never again at ibis.

Dear Priyank, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Canberra. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. On the positive side, I am delighted to hear that you had a good experience with our staff - we love this sort of feedback as it provides the encouragement to keep providing great customer service. We appreciate that the rooms themselves are on the small side, that decision had been made many years ago when the hotel was first built. We hope that one day refurbishments to the hotel will introduce a larger space. Thank you again for sharing your concerns, and it is our sincere hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Matt Parkins General Manager

Congested room

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Pardeep Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

I was staying in IBIS Canberra as a stopover from Sydney to Melbourne. I stayed for a couple of nights. The room was very congested, there was not a proper bathroom, looked like the bathroom was fitted in after the room was built. The washbasin was right next to the bed and power points for charging your devices were right next to the basin. It was not possible to recharge your devices without taking risk of water damaging them. I would not stay again in the IBIS budget as I am not sure if this is a norm across all IBIS budget property or if it was a one-off experience at IBIS budget Canberra.

Dear Pardeep, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience during your stay. We apologise that the power outlets and the bathroom space were not practical for you. These are both things we would love to be able to change and improve come future hotel refurbishments. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

Just like the old F1 motels

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Linda S. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

It was on the outskirts of Canberra which I didn't realise when I booked it as I'm not from that area. This was my fault as we were going the exact opposite direction the next day. These units are very claustrophobic, especially the shower cubicle. We had stayed in much nicer motels in Albury which were cheaper so I think these units are ok but should be way cheaper. They are just like backpackers accommodation.

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Canberra. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate that the size of the bathrooms are small, unfortunately this is something that we inherited from the times when the hotel was first built - it was indeed a Formula One motel prior to becoming an Ibis Budget Hotel. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

Exceptional service, clean and comfortable

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

This hotel is exactly what you would expect booking a budget hotel except the service is exceptional. Better service than experienced at other 5 star accor hotels. Rooms are clean and staff friendly and helpful. Perfect place to stop for a comfortable bed while on the road.

Good morning! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I am personally delighted to hear that your experience with our staff was so overwhelmingly positive - I feel very strongly that our staff are second to none on the service scale and am thrilled to hear that you agree! I am also very glad to hear that you had a comfortable night's sleep, we have some great mattresses in the hotel and are glad you appreciated them. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra. Kind Regards, Matt Parkins General Manager Ibis Budget Canberra

Good value and service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John R. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed 4 night at the Ibis Budget Canberra. The room was clean, the facilities were very handy, for a budget hotel I had everything I needed. Great Value too.

Good morning John, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel clean and good value for your dollars. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra! Kind Regards, Matt Parkins General Manager Ibis Budget Canberra

Good for brief days.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Madusha F. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room is large and beds were comfortable. Wash room is very tiny.

Good morning Madusho, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback! We are happy to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that the bathroom did not meet your expectations - the layout of the bathroom is quite unique and is definitely one aspect that we would love to change come future refurbishments. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra! Kind Regards, Matt Parkins General Manager Ibis Budget Canberra

Well located and suited to our budget

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jane C. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Peaceful location, in a room on the non-Northbourne Ave side, comfortable bed and very pleasant and helpful front desk staff. Room service/cleaning needs improvement, but do understand the Covid impacted staffing challenges.

Dear Jane, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Canberra. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our front desk staff, however I do sincerely apologize that you had issues with the housekeeping/general cleanliness during the course of your stay. Your feedback is highly constructive and I will discuss the matters raised with our housekeeping supervisor so that we can ensure that the rooms are cleaned appropriately and linen/coffee cups etc are replaced accordingly. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

nice location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Georgia D. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

staff were very nice and the rooms were perfect for our night in canberra.

Dear Georgia, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis budget Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will ensure that your comments are shared with the team - I am especially pleased to hear that you had great interactions with our staff and that your rooms were perfect! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

5 star service!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Flora Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

My partner and I stayed at the ibis budget Canberra for 4 nights. The rooms were clean and the staff offered superlative service. They were tireless, helpful and very friendly to us. Thank you Matt and Jeannie, you both made our visit to Ngunnawal Country and the National Folk Festival a delightful one!

Dear Flora and Aliya, It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - you are always welcome back!! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

J Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception where amazing, location was good, parking options good, room good however we found the top bunk bed mattress to be hard although the bottom was great. There needs to be like a half door into the shower so the water doesn’t go all over the toilet but it’s not the end of the world. Otherwise breakfast was okay, could definitely have a couple more options like pastries

Hi Julia Thank you for your honest review and we will definitely take note of your suggestions. Thanks for staying here at Ibis Budget Canberra and we look forward to see you again! Kind Regards, Jeanie Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Canberra

Cheap accommodation

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The price and location is good, but the room need 100% renovated.

Hi Leonard Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry to see that your overall experience with us did not meet your expectations. We definitely need an upgrade and we are excited to have this started hopefully within the next few years. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we still hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra. Kind Regards, Jeanie Assistant Manager Ibis Budget Canberra

A disappointment

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Adventurer767700 TripAdvisor review

Booked for 3 but only 2 beds made and sheets on 3rd bed for us to make up. Manager sorted out. No hand basin in toilet, have to walk into living area to wash hands. Budget means backpacker. when fire alarm sounded and announcement "Evacuate-Evacuate was heard in morning as someone burnt their toast it became apparent that the locked window was not available to escape. Escape was not necessary as false alarm.

Good morning Adventurer767700, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at Ibis Budget Canberra. We genuinely appreciate you sharing your concerns with the stay and please rest assured that we are doing everything we can to eliminate the problems you have encountered. I hope that we were able to make up for your disappointments during the course of your stay. I am also very sorry for the fire alarm - we try our best to educate our guests on the fire alarms and potential triggers. In this instance the toaster in the communal area had been left unattended, the toast burnt and the alarm triggered. We are very aware of the impact this may have on our guests and are truly sorry this has occurred. We thank you again for your feedback and hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Matt Parkins General Manager

Extremely poor experience

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Kyle M. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We were initially given the wrong room number and had to go back to reception and was told the room we went to was actually out of order. After laying down in bed we noticed a sewerage smell. Unfortunately, that smell was strong enough to keep us from getting a good sleep. I suspect this may have been the problem with the room next door that we initially went to. We were then woken up early in the morning by the evacuation alarm. Once we had made it down stairs we were told this was a false alarm set off by the toaster near reception. The smell and evacuation alarm are two things we would not expect from a large chain business. Really disappointed and would not visit this location again.

Dear Kyle, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the ibis budget Canberra. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are sorry for the impact of the room change and the issues with the sewerage smell. We have since contacted the plumber who has come and serviced the site, hopefully eliminating the source of this particular problem. With regards to the fire alarm, we do understand how much this can impact our guests and do everything we can to stop 'frivolous' fire alarms, in this particular case a guest left their toast unattended at the communal toaster. Once again, we are truly sorry that this has impacted your stay. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Matt Parkins General Manager

Tiny

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Havewemet TripAdvisor review

Easily the smallest room I have stayed in. Shower and toilet are both in the same small cubicle so everything gets wet. Bathroom was mouldy. Small TV and out of date air-conditioning. I would avoid this hotel.

Poor housekeeping

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

mikeY1606FR Families - TripAdvisor review

Returned from long day sightseeing and disappointed to find room had not been serviced at all. Then discovered that aircon had stopped working and room was sweltering in the >40C heat. Staff were unable to relocate us to different room as we were told that whilst there were other rooms available none of them had been cleaned since they had been vacated. Staff were very apologetic and provided a fan to help but clearly the cleaners had let them down. We stayed in a family room and the matress on the wall mounted bunk bed was extremely hard. Apart from these issues the room was very good value and suited our needs for a short stay.

Budget claims, and achieved

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Paul B Couples - TripAdvisor review

shower cubicle could have done with a bit of repair, but beds are comfy, TVworks, breakfast has gluten free options which is better than some places offer even though I only chose yoghurt with fruit and coffee

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in WATSON