Mercure Sheffield Kenwood Hall & Spa 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 1,851 reviews
Mercure Sheffield Kenwood Hall & Spa
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Pet-friendly accommodation and facilities throughout

  • Wedding reception and function rooms for up to 200 people

  • Gym, pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi

  • Spa treatments

  • Set in 12 acres of landscaped grounds

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 9 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Sheffield Kenwood Hall & Spa

Kenwood Road
S7 1NQ
sheffield
united kingdom

Tel: +441142583811

Fax: (+44)114/2554744

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    DONCASTER At 41.84km / 26 miles

  • By plane

    EAST MIDLANDS At 74.03km / 46 miles

  • By boat

    HULL At 107.83km / 67 miles

  • By car

    J33 At 12.87km / 8 miles

  • By train

    SHEFFIELD At 2.9km / 1.8 miles

  • By train

    SHEFFIELD At 2.9km / 1.8 miles

GPS :53.364547, -1.49091

Our accommodations

Classic room - 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Classic room - 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Classic room - 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Superior room, ideal for family - 2 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 31
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Privilege room - 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 35
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Junior suite, private patio or balcony - 1 king bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 31
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Superior King suite, private seating area overlooking the grounds - 1 king bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 55
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV

Our restaurants and bars

LAKEVIEW

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

Enjoy great British favourites as well as a selection of modern cuisine whilst overlooking our grounds. Our menu's are designed by our experienced Chef's who carefully source the best fresh and local produce.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LOUNGE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Relax in our Lounge Bar which offers a range of wines, beers, spirits, and soft drinks. Serving Afternoon Tea as well as a selection of bar snacks and light bites daily.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 95

  • Maximum capacity: 80 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 70 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Sheffield Kenwood Hall & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

529 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,851 reviews

Nice hotel in quiet location, good for access to the Peak District.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Couples - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for two nights, visiting friends and family. We make this trip several times each year and this has been our hotel of choice for several years. We had an issue with housekeeping, but this was soon resolved by helpful and friendly staff.

A nice break for my daughter and I

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Gail H. Families - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very enjoyable although the hen party going off in the next room was loud and annoying after complaining to reception it died down and we had a lovely nights sleep

Very disappointing, not a four star experience

Customer review rating 3.8/5

W. Couples - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

First room had a bathroom in poor repair and the toilet didn’t flush. Second room was very poorly heated, no heating in the bathroom at all and temperatures outside were below freezing. Bathroom was mouldy, dirty and in a very poor condition. Shower had been replaced but new tiles only around the shower fitting. Unable to view TV from bed. Housekeeping made the bed and changed towels but didn’t remove dirty coffee cups. Food was good. Having viewed the website and experienced other Mercure hotels, I booked a 4* hotel but this is absolutely not what we found. The website ought to state that only a few rooms are of 4* standard, the rest fall way below.

Nice hotel but room was not great

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Business - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice location and good breakfast with pleasant staff . However room was not the standard I expected. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling ,the shower height could not be adjusted , room decor was rather tired and shabby in places , bed not particularly comfortable and I was cold at night but there were no blankets in the room

COUPLE TIME

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Zara Couples - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Myself and partner stayed here last Saturday night and had a lovely time! We were allocated a double privilege room which was huge and had everything you needed. Super comfy beds aswell :) We used the leisure facilities and also dined at the hotel (we were set up a table in the lounge bar area as the restaurant was being used exclusively for a Christmas party) and the food was delicious. Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and was yummy with lots of choice (I do prefer my bacon a little crispier though). Good location only around 10 mins by car into the city centre which is great if you want to visit the two universities or do some shopping etc. Friendly staff and the hotel is also dog friendly which is nice to see. I have no complaints just some constructive feedback really: Hotel overall is clean and nicely kept but it is dated, a bit mismatched and the rooms are tired, it could do with a full refurbishment and could look so good and more like a Mercure standard. The pool area also needs updating.

Very comfortable

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Claire E. Families - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely large room with good facilities. Excellent swimming pool etc with friendly staff. Beautiful view of the grounds during breakfast. Breakfast was good value. Attractive foyer. Attractive main building.

Mr. Dudley T.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Dudley T. Couples - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very enjoyable stay and close enough to Bramall Lane to be able to walk to a match.

Good experience

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Linda D. Couples - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in very efficient, staff very welcoming, room clean and bright, food presentation and taste good, My overall opinion of my experience is. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel. If I'm in the area again I will definitely stay here.

Two night stay

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Les W. Business - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Terrible. You were half way through decorating the room. The bathroom woodwork was only undercoated the whole room stank of paint. There was paint on the floor, there was mastic all over the sink. You must have the worst decorators in the UK. One receptionist Maria? Was marvellous tracked my loyalty card so I got my points. The other two were next to useless. One said it was not possible to add loyalty points after the booking was made the other one could not understand what I was telling them about not wanting any further painting done while I was staying in the room. I have some pictures of the room which you might want to see.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Colin N. Business - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good, bedroom was a little dark.

Mrs Linda T.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Linda T. Couples - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I am a Gold Card Accor member so I was given upgrade which was nice. However, I have stayed at the hotel a great deal in the past, prior to it becoming an Accorr and I have to say I enjoyed those visits more. The room that we were upgraded to was a suite but it looked over the car park - we have always been given rooms in the past that look over the beautiful gardens. I am sure if I had said I was unhappy with the room I would have been moved but as it was evening it did not matter much. The room had a broken curtain, light bulb out in the bedside lamp and I do think it needs a bit more warmth added to the walls by way of pictures, particularly in the lounge area. Also, we were given vouchers for drinks but a Gin and Tonic was not allowed, which is a shame as it is in other Accor hotels.

Good stay overall, although room for improvements

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Business - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room and bed were good. Some slow service when checking in or waiting to be seated at breakfast. Music at breakfast could be heard in my room at 7am which prevented me from getting an extra 30 mins in bed.

The hotel met our needs

Customer review rating 3.8/5

A. H. Families - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was nicely presented and the staff very professional.

Excellent upgrade experience

Customer review rating 3.8/5

My P. C. L. Business - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Firstly I received a very warm welcome to the hotel and then was informed to my surprise that we were being upgraded to the to what was described as the bridal suite and the best room in the hotel. The room was excellent and very large with separate areas for the lounge and bedroom. Restaurant, bar and breakfast services were also very good and my wife enjoyed spending some time in the spa. I can thorough recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Dear Alan H., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am really pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Dan Wilson General Manager

Never again would be a zero if possible

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Simon N. Couples - 30/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed sat 23rd as part of our wedding package booked by whirlowbrook hall. Tried midday Fri to add an extra night. Guy on phone couldn't understand me, couldn't find my booking, kept trying to add sat night to my Fri night stay. Despite repeatedly spelling my name, and repeatedly telling him I wasn't staying Fri and didn't need sat adding as I was already staying sat and needed sun adding. Eventually told that all junior suites were fully booked Sunday so all he could do was offer me a double room - I gave up at this point. Asked my father to check the situation when he arrived at the hotel - he was told the same as I had been. Went online to see if an upgrade to a king suite was available - junior suite available online. Asked my father to speak to reception again, lady (chloe I think?) explained her colleague was new and didn't understand the system and she would sort it. Passed to the reception where I was quoted a more expensive rate than the acorn Hotel website as I could become a member online. Was told that this offer was only available on-line and that I would have to book it and then ring back to make sure we could stay in the same room. Really? This was 5pm, 5 hours I had been attempting to amend a booking for the night of my wedding but nothing could be done over the phone to price match your own website after the farce so far? Went online - website repeatedly crashed couldn't book only become a member. Typed out a complaint on the website - crashed again, losing the complaint. Finally downloaded the acorn hotel app and booked it. Arrived at hotel after midnight, sat in the bar with other guests from the wedding. 2am double checked that the two bookings had been merged - they had not! 2am Sunday morning and you still hadn't managed to add an extra night in the same room for a bride and groom who had been trying to to this since midday Fri. Guy sorted it out for me. 9.30am Sunday hammering on the room door 137, answered it assuming family saying goodbye. Blonde lady from housekeeping barked YOU ARE LEAVING AT 12? YES? It's 9.30 I replied, yes but you are leaving at 12? I'm leaving at 12 Monday I said - she then looked at her paperwork huffed and flounce off without another word to me. Is it normal for housekeeping to be hammering on a wedding bookings room 2.5hrs before check out even if they thought we were leaving that day? Went out with relatives for the day Sunday, came back to a very cold room where only the bed had been made and nothing else cleaned or tidied. Turned thermostat up to full while we went to the spa. Ate a meal at the hotel and returned to the room about 8. Room still cold, rang reception, were asked if it had been working the night before or if we had turned the tiny wall heater to max. We weren't sure as we had gone to bed at 4am the night before and were out all day. Told to try turning the heater up and if it was still cold in 2 hours they would bring a heater up. We fell asleep, I woke cold at midnight but did not want to disturb my wife so slept in my robe rather than ring reception again - I was extremely annoyed at this point so probably would have been less than understanding. I filled out a complaint Sunday morning on the acorn Hotel app, I had to use a second online form to complete the complaint, as I had filled the first. When we left and settled the bill we were not even asked how our stay had been, more fantastic customer service. We have been backwards and forwards from the doctors all week as Monday my wife came out with a horrible rash over the area covered by her swimming costume in the spa, this has become infected and has required antibiotics and steroids to begin to reduce the inflammation caused by this allergic reaction. I filled out another online complaint on the acorn app today, still no response. I will wait until Monday before going on trip advisor etc with my complaints.

Dear Simon N., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am incredibly sorry to hear of all the issues that you had experienced whilst staying with us. I am absolutely horrified that you had to go through all that. If you could allow me sometime to investigate your comments and I will be back in touch. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Great service for training

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Adrian J. Business - 30/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The training rooms I used were set up as I requested and all worked very well

Dear Adrian J., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

More than Happy from arrival to leaving

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Robbie W. Families - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We arrived to the warmest of greetings from reception, almost like we were family they were waiting for, and greeting on arrival. The receptionist Karola was cheerful, smiley, helpful, informative, knowledgable and just exuded a friendly warmth. Our room was great, large enough for the three of us (and more if needed) plus quiet as requested. The hotel Leisure/sauna staff were also cheerful and warm, greeting us with the happiest of smiles every time we passed, or if we needed there help/advice. Romy in our particular made us feel most welcome and always greeted us with the biggest of smiles. Our stay was great, the room as wanted, and the staff - well perfectly springs to mind, especially Karola & Romy who where truly The Best (A BIG Thank You to both of them, and our thanks to all the hotel staff)

Dear Robert W., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have also passed on your very kind comments to Romy and Karola who are equally as pleased! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

moved several times to different rooms. Not up to usual Mercure standard

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Anonymous Couples - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor experience. Heating did not work, lights did not work, bathroom fan did not work, telephone to receiption did not work.. Reception tried to assist each time we went down to complain, they moved us into different rooms - non of which were better. (4 rooms offered in total in 2 nights stay). Indeed one large room we were offered to move to smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke and we could not stay in it. I would have thought that housekeeping would notice that rooms are used by smokers and an effort made to get rid of the smell. Maintenance were called to the rooms we stayed in with various issues but they never arrived apart from a knock on the door late a night leaving an oil filled radiator outside the room after requesting attention (again) to the heating on arrival! Will not stay in this hotel again. Reception gave us a discount, but only after negotiation! Really poor customer service and a generally unpleasant 2 nights. We wish we had booked the Mercure in town.

Dear Sandra D., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am incredibly sorry to hear of all the issues that you had experienced. I have followed these up with the relevant departments to ensure all issues listed have been resolved. I do really hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the near future and would encourage you to contact me directly so that I can ensure you're allocated one of our suites on arrival. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

A business trip with a difference.

Customer review rating 3.8/5

Malcolm O. Business - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were staying only one night to attend some legal training the next day. Although we arrived late, there were no problems with check in. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The hot water though was only tepid. A good breakfast the next morning with extremely attentive staff.

Dear Malcolm o., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have discussed your feedback with the reception team and luggage assistance should have been offered - I am sorry on this occasion that this was not and I have addressed this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Comfortable

Customer review rating 3.8/5

W L. Friends - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had 2 main problems in our twin room. First it was apparent that one of the beds had not been changed as the sheet had blood stains on it. The following morning operating the kettle blew the electricity supply. Both issues were promptly addressed by the duty managers. The shower temperature was difficult to control as the cold water adjuster was broken. We missed the utility of bottled water and little notepad/pen, neither of which were in the room.

Dear Wendy L., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences that you had experienced during your stay. I have followed these up with the maintenance team to ensure that these issues are resolved. I really do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back and look forward to doing so. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in sheffield