Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park

Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 1,037 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. Private harbourside beach.

  • Daily history and ghost tours. Visitor Centre Café and museum.

  • Stylish heritage accommodation rooms. Family cottages.

  • Unique conference and event facilities, including weddings. Giant games hire.

  • 30 hectares to explore set within beautiful National Park. Bike hire. Kayak and SUP hire.

Hotel location

Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park

1 North Head Scenic Drive, NA, NA
2095 MANLY
Australia

  • STA BUSES:  #135 Q STATION

  • By plane

    SYDNEY AIRPORT At 28.4km / 17.65 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By boat

    MANLY WHARF At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By train

    NORTH SYDNEY At 13.7km / 8.51 miles

GPS:-33.814659, 151.289399

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

Our accommodation(s)

Experience the magic of Sydney Harbour from the privacy of your own room with Q Station's accommodation Manly Sydney. Wake up to the tranquil, stunning beauty of the Sydney Harbour National Park through your verandah. Spacious deluxe accommodation rooms with high ceilings and ornate windows, look out on your veranda to view either the Australian native bushland or magnificient Sydney Harbour.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  1,037 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  1,451 reviews

Fantastic location, history and views.

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Global364717 TripAdvisor review

The opportunity to stay in a location that has the history, magnificent view and the opportunity to dine in a restaurant where the food was first class was an experience not to forget. Being also close to Manly and the atmosphere of the beach and dining precinct was a bonus. The walk around North heads is a must do. If you ever thought about staying at the location put it on your bucket list but keep your mind open to the adventure it is different from the norm.

Check Before You Book

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

stephenj218 TripAdvisor review

This is an awesome property but it’s complex. It’s spread out over kilometres of pristine heritage listed parkland. You will need to park your car, catch a bus to your accommodation and cope with whatever is thrown at you on the day. When we arrived on Friday evening, they were in chaos. It was raining, mud everywhere, everyone seemed to arrive at the same time, they had a wedding on and clearly the staff were out of their depth and couldn’t cope. We were advised multiple times that the wedding would cause disruption all night, they suggested we move rooms, we did but then the room we received was smaller than we paid for, the bed was queen not king and it was a different layout. Next to our room was the guest lounge, that the wedding guests retreated to at close to midnight and partied all night. This was repeated on Saturday when they had another wedding. One of the staff told us on the quiet that “this happens every time they had a wedding, it all just can’t cope”. The staff were nice but poorly trained and so far out of their ability zone you had to feel for them. We had a ball with our friends, the property is unique and I would recommend it. But I would suggest that you talk to the staff well before you book, find out if there is an event or wedding. Ask what accommodation is best for you and your crew and gain as much information as possible before you book.

Dear Stephen, Thank you for staying at Q Station and for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you call us "an awesome property" and "unique", which we surely are being located within Sydney Harbour National Park, at the edge of Sydney Harbour. Being located within a National Park is a wonderful feature of our property but surely the recent rains did make a stay a bit "muddier" during that time - We are sorry for that. It's true that we have a lot of new staff that are currently going through training - the hospitality staff shortage has sadly also impacted Q Station as a business. We are, however, confident that we will be up to speed very soon. We would like to apologise for the unpleasant experiences you have had and are glad to hear that overall you had a great stay. Your valuable feedback has already been shared with all head of departments to be used for improvement. Thanks again and best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

A Manly gem on North Head

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

David H TripAdvisor review

What a great place for a hotel and what space free from traffic, noise and people. We enjoyed three nights at the Q hotel, Manly North Head and will be back. It won't suit everyone, but for those who like history, space, walking, tranquility and rusticity, it's perfect.

Dear David, Thank you very much for staying at Q Station and for reviewing your stay here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and took advantage of our location within Sydney Harbour National Park. Because of this location, we can only allow limited traffic on site which for some is inconvenient - as you say, but for most it's a welcome change to our rushed modern life. We look forward to welcoming you back here at North Head Manly. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Did not meet my expectations as it was highly reccommended

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Christine L TripAdvisor review

Housekeeping was poor. Bin not emptied, coffee and sugar not replace, face washer and bathmat not replaced with clean ones. Soiled sheet that was attenede to and an apolgy with a complimentary wine and 2 tickets for historical tour. Boierhouse Restaurant was not ope and we received an email the day before. No other restaurant on the premises, we ordered delivery. On the last nights stay a conference group had booked rooms either side of us. The conversations early in the morning disturbed our sleep.

Dear Christine, Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Housekeeping team, this has been shared with the Housekeeping Manager to be used for improvement and training purposes. In regards to the opening hours of Boilerhouse Restaurant, we are indeed forced to limit opening hours of our restaurant because of the still ongoing hospitality staffing shortage in Australia. We are in the process of recruiting and training new staff and are confident that we can open up again 7 days a week very soon. Apologies again for the inconveniences. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Family Getaway

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

mc872022 TripAdvisor review

We love Q Station because of the natural beauty of the location and the wildlife although the accommodation itself and the facilities need some work. In room entertainment is very out of date and TV just don't work properly. Dining options onsite are pretty much non existent at the moment except on weekends. Staffing levels seem to have dropped off from previous visits and transport and all staff required activities are very slow.

Dear mc872022, Thank you for visiting Q Station and for commenting on the natural beauty of the grounds and the wildlife. You are right, we had to take the difficult decision to close G&Tea House temporarily and limit the opening hours of Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar for the time being because, like almost all hospitality businesses, it is incredibly difficult to find staff at the moment. Our Wharf Cafe & Bar is open 7 days a week and we are also serving picnic hampers for lunch and dinner. We are currently actively recruiting and hope we will be able to run at full capacity again in the near future. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to serve you again here at Q Station. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Sydney's hidden gem

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

rowenamccabe TripAdvisor review

Absolutely adored our stay at Q Station for a special birthday - we had a gorgeous cottage with expansive harbour views and an enclosed verandah, large bedrooms and 24/7 access to the mini-bus to drop you down to the beach and cafe. The Boilerhouse dinner was another highlight as was the ghost tour. The hidden gem was Quarantine Beach itself- what a spectacular spot! We were able to use our paddleboard to visit nearby beaches and enjoyed long, lazy days swimming and exploring at Quarantine - the water is divine.

Dear Rowena, Thank you so much for celebrating your special occasion at Q Station, we are thrilled to hear that you chose to stay at Q Station. We are even more thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed both your dinner and the ghost tour. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to our Tours and F&B departments. Quarantine Beach surely is underrated and might be Sydney's best kept secret. Did you know that there are even penguins nesting at North Head? Thanks again for your visit and also for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Hidden gem in Sydney

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Karin C TripAdvisor review

Qstation Manly is perfect for a Sydney staycation or visit. Splendid views and grounds as part of a heritage listed site nestled in a National Park. Despite the operating difficulties that COVID-19 imposes on the staff, they all were helpful, cheerful and friendly. Dining options are limted at the moment, but Qstation is a short car drive or Uber from Manly which has plenty to offer. The shuttle bus onsite is very helpful.

Dear Karin, Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. We love to hear that you a great stay. It's true, the hospitality staff shortage in Australia makes it very difficult for us to fully operate and to offer the service we strive to offer, so we are even more thrilled to hear that you had such a great staycation. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back here at North Head Manly. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Stay at a Historical Site with amazing views.

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

W2592CUjohnn TripAdvisor review

Booked into a Isolation Suite from Christmas Eve for 3 nights. Check in process easy and quick, was shuttled to our suite, the driver have us a brief history tour on way. Our rooms were well appointed and presented, big fans in both sleeping and living areas no aircon, but we managed ok. Had a seafood and sparkling wine hamper delivered for dinner which we ate in our balcony area. Went on a ghost tour, well worth the spooky factor if a believer. Daily breakfast served at the View Restaurant, friendly service food was OK. Shuttle service available if you didn't want to walk around. The main Restaurant was closed on the nights we would have liked to eat in, so we ordered in takeout, reception ensured it was delivered to our room. Got late checkout, so enjoyed a long bath on our last day. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Dear John, Thank you very much for spending your Christmas holidays with us and for taking the time to review your stay as well. Unfortunately, the current staff shortage in Australia make it difficult for us to fully operate our restaurant outlets, thank you for your understanding! We are confident that we will be able to operate as per our standards again very soon. Thanks again and see you next time at Q Station, Sydney Harbour National Park, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Great Stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Meander41195178214 TripAdvisor review

Great views and fabulous staff. Boiler room food really good - great steaks and fish as well as scallops.The surrounds really beautiful.Transport staff great and on time.Would tell all my friends how good it is.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Q Station, Sydney Harbour National Park. We are so happy to hear that you loved the food at Boilerhouse Kitchen & Bar and that the team was able to fulfill all your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you and your friends back here at North Head. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Great place to blow the cobwebs out!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Vicki K TripAdvisor review

We have not long returned home from a very relaxing and enjoyable break in the aptly named Isolation room area of the hotel. The nearby guest lounge and verandah had stunning views and was the perfect place to zone out after the recent lockdown. All the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much for any of them.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Q Station, Sydney Harbour National Park. We are so happy to hear that you loved our historic accommodation and enjoyed the magnificent harbour views. We hope to be able to welcome you back here at North Head. Best wishes, Eva Bruce - Marketing Coordinator

Not happy with the service.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

J C. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had booked accommodation for a group event but due to the restrictions the event was not able to go ahead and Q station was notified a month or more before the scheduled event. I was notified of the cancellation and that a full refund would be processed within 2 weeks, that was 6 weeks ago and I am still waiting for the refund. Every email I now send is not replied to nor is their an automatic reply.

Worth Staying - not too exy and more time & freedom to explore

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Rh Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed twice and both times been drawn in by the history and beautiful setting. As well as enjoying ping pong by the fire and good food.

Dear Ruth, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Assistant Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Relaxing and peaceful stay

Dear Matthew, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Assistant Manager

Great venue, service lacking

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Shannon Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

We recently used Q Station for a national conference. The conference room was great and accommodation was clean and cosy, however our experience was let down by the lacklustre, often grumpy and sometimes downright rude staff. While some staff were helpful, we encountered quite a few communication breakdowns and felt a general air of unhappiness amongst the staff which soured our experience. While I understand that the ever-changing Covid 19 restrictions can make for a stressful work environment, I don't think that stress should be projected onto customers. The service we encountered will definitely be a deciding factor in whether we return for our conference again next year.

Dear Shannon, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nicola Front Office Team Leader

Love it!!!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Xr Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff, place, and food...I must say we have enjoyed our 3 day stay! we love it and hope to be back again.

Dear Xeniel, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nicola Front Office Team Leader

Comfortable and relaxed evening

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The mini bus was great to get around, since it was raining when we needed to go to dinner. Plus with helping bringing our luggage from and to our car. The history of the Q Station was interesting. The heritage old style was charming. I was pleasantly surprised to find a bath in our bathroom.

Dear Annette, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nicola Front Office Team Leader

Okay stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Tbd Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed as part of a conference. The conference facilities were quite undercooked and disorganised. This mainly appeared to be a lack of briefing from your conference organiser to the staff and not enough staff on the days. The hotel room was nice but no memorable - luckily the view was. The absolute highlight of the trip was the Boiler Room. The most amazing food and staff. However, the mould in womens bathrooms made it almost impossible to breathe in.

Dear Lillian, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Accor, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Craig Assistant Manager

Not impressed with mouldy accomodation and very musty which led to an asthma attac

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The food was much better than before. I would give the food a 10/10. However, the mould on railings and very musty accommodation in the standalone cottage was not great as this led to me having severe asthma issues and then having time off work.

Great location poor service

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Adam Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We had to wait for everything, from checking in to getting a lift to our room, even though staff were around and had to be directly asked.

Dear Adam, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nicola Front Office Team Leader

Below average

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Catherine F. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I've sent a detailed email to Simon and Chloe from Q Station - please refer to that for feedback.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in MANLY