Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 1,702 reviews
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Five fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 100 guests

  • Enjoy traditional British cuisine at the Gallery restaurant

  • Nearby Woburn Safari Park and Whipsnade Zoo

  • Located nearby the M25 and A1

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre (Nearby)
Business services
  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Roehyde Way
Hertfordshire
AL10 9AF
hatfield
united kingdom

Tel: +441707275701

Fax: (+44)1707/266033

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LUTON At 30km / 18 miles

  • By train

    HATFIELD At 4.83km / 3 miles

GPS :51.745675, -0.241452

Our accommodations

All rooms have Flatscreen TV with Freeview Channels - FREE WiFi - Hairdryer - Direct Dial Telephone - Complimentary Tea & Coffee making facilities Why not upgrade to a Junior Suite? You can enjoy all the same facilities as a standard room, plus larger work desk with modem business phone, relaxing lounge area with bed settee and large screen TV

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilege Room with 1 kingsize bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Junior Suite king size bed with sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Our restaurants and bars

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

HOTEL BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 5

  • Maximum size: 135

  • Maximum capacity: 120 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 100 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

1,702 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

832 reviews

A quiet evening

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 20/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Checked in and went straight to bed

Unlikely to Stay Again!

Customer review rating 3.9/5

James L. Business - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

One night stay away for work. Checked into room 113 to find that one of the windows would not close properly - storm Ciara outside so winds very strong/cold and the A1 close by so road noise also very loud. Returned to reception - advised there were no other rooms available and the window could be closed as there was a “knack to it”. I was told someone would call and have a look shortly, I then headed out to meet colleagues for dinner. Returning to my room roughly 90 minutes later I found that the window was still in exactly the same state, I.e. would not and could not be closed properly. I also noted that the bathroom had been used as the auto light and fan were running and an unpleasant smell was present in the room!! With no other choice I spent a cold night in the room gathering a sum total of 2-3 hours sleep. Breakfast the next morning was adequate at best, staff seemed particularly uninterested in clearing used tables so arriving guests could sit down. When I checked out I made reception staff aware again of the issue with the window in Room 113 and told them they needed to get it fixed that day - hopefully they did for the sake of the next guest... As you can imagine, I have no intention of rushing back to stay again.

Great stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Sheila Couples - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a very good stay at this hotel recently. Chef was very helpful regarding mu dietary needs, and all service was very good. Will definitely be back

Good location for work trip

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Sharon Business - 15/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

All was fine except that room wasn't cleaned after first night

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Katherine
Customer review rating 3.9/5

P O. Business - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ordered dinner about 9.00pm, starter came then had to wait until 10.10pm for main course. Very few people in the bar or restaurant, then when it arrived it was not very warm.

Great Stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent customer services by the receptionist on duty who was very patient with us and went above and beyond to make our stay special bearing in mind it was for a birthday. The suite was really nice as was the food.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Katherine

Nice hotel poor plumbing

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Stuart Couples - 04/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the room was nice. However the hot tap for the bathroom basin was scolding hot, whilst the shower had no hot water. This resulted in a mid winter cold shower. Manager came to fix it, went off to reset the boiler and was never seen again. Receptionist apologised, said that she could not refund anything for the lack of hot water but did promise someone would phone me. No phone call was received.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am so sorry that you had a problem with the water in your room and that no one made contact with you after receiving your complaint, I do believe that you have had a call from hotel, however please once again accept our sincerest apologies for delay in that. I would like to assure you that the issue has now been rectified.

Easy location to find

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 01/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice staff, easy parking and nice hot showers

Dear GARRY W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Food and Beverage Operations Manager

A peaceful nights sleep

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 31/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Happy and friendly staff. Their efforts let down slightly by the tired looking nature of the hotel. It is in need of a general decoration and tidy up.

Dear JONATHAN W., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Terrible nights sleep

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Karen B. Business - 30/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed in room 126 which backs onto the car park. The road noise kept me awake pretty much most of the night even wearing headphones. Please invest in double glazing or warn guests.

Comfortable and convenient for University

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Ana Business - 27/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The rooms were large and comfortable, the staff was friendly and breakfast was quite good. Location is very convenient if visiting the University, and the available bar/restaurant was much appreciated. Only three minor critics: the automatic lighting in the bathroom was rather erratic - sometimes the light would switch on without any movement (e.g. in the middle of the night), and other times it would switch off whilst I was in the bathroom (especially when having a shower, and was impossible to get it back on unless coming out of the shower, and so I ended up showering with the door to the room opened, so that I could have some light, which isn't ideal). I also found that even thought the food selection for breakfast was good, the organisation was sometimes lacking (understaffed for receiving the guests upon arrival, and sometimes forgetting the requests for coffee/toasts). Finally, even though the hotel asks you to be ecological and says it won't change the towels unless they are on the sink/floor, my towels were systematically changed every day, despite me leaving them neatly drying in the provided racks. The complimentary toiletries that I had opened were also replaced half way through my 3-night stay, without them being empty, which I thought was just unnecessary waste.

Dear ANA D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Hasan Solo - 26/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay

Dear MD M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Craig Fitzpatrick Food and Beverage Operations Manager

Very Enjoyable Stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Brian Business - 25/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room great. Bar Great. Vegetarian food selection could be a bit broader.

Dear Brian Thank your for your great feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We will let our chef know your comments regarding our vegetarian options. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Agg

Good but not great

Customer review rating 3.9/5

A P. Business - 16/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Can of drink purchased at the bar was dirty around the top. Was not recognised for my Accors Loyalty account, had to remind the reception staff (drink voucher). Bar menu quite limited to high carb meals only. Food order was incorrect (ordered salad but burger in a bun arrived). Alcohol free Budwieser 330ml can £3.50! Seems very expensive for an alcohol free canned drink. Room was ok but TV was very small and old compared to most hotels I stay at in the area. Bathroom could do with updating including the shower, towels provided very small compared to most other hotels. Food was average quality but very generous quantity (chicken salad).

Dear Mr P. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is important to us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the relevant teams to help improve our service to you. We look forward to seeing you later today. Sincerely,

Easy

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Erica Business - 15/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My stay was very nice. The staff are always pleasant and the hotel appears to be well managed. The room was very clean and comfortable and I enjoyed my stay.

Hello Erica, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our frequent stayers. We look forward to seeing you again with us soon. Sincerely, Marie Reception manager
Customer review rating 3.9/5

Rosemary Families - 14/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall we found the hotel a good venue for our family gathering, child friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and public areas.

Dear Rosemary, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Agg Reception Manager

Disappointed with stay.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Fiona S. Friends - 07/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately the room had a strange smell in it. It was an accessible room. I think it was a damp smell. Breakfast- the service was poor- lack of tea and had to wait ages for it to arrive and I’m still waiting for the toast we ordered.

Dear Mrs S. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that you have mentioned that you experienced during your stay. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. Sincerely, Marie Agg Reception Manager

Poor check in experience

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Heather Friends - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We booked for a wedding and were told we could do an early check in at 12:00. We arrived at 12:30, with the wedding starting at 13:30. The room was not available and we were informed that they didn’t know when it would be ready. We were offered the disabled toilets to get changed in as the only solution. Unfortunately the toilet was not clean and the floor was wet. This lead to a very unpleasant experience. Definitely not the service we had planned for!

Dear Heather , Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We apologise that your room was not ready before the standard check in time of 2pm. Our housekeeping team were working as quickly as they could, however due to the high volume of guests attending the wedding, we were not able to check you into a clean room. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Marie Agg Reception Manager

Lost bags

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Martin J. Couples - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel was adequate, but the stay was spoiled because we booked our bags in early and they were placed in the wrong room. They were only found the next morning. Staff were very apologetic and helpful and they did refund the nights stay.

Dear Mr J., Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry that your stay was spoilt. Our team will under go further training to ensure that, this does not happen to our future guest. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Marie Agg Reception Manager.

Nice room, big bed, very comfortable, nice hotel.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Michele V. Couples - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room great, bed v big, nice hotel, good breakfast and recommend hotel.

Dear Ms V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Katherine
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in hatfield