Information message

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.0/5 5,480 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 14 Services

Hotel extras

  • 18th Century manor house with original features

  • Located 4 Miles From Shrewsbury Town Centre

  • 4-star rated wedding venue located on-site

  • Just 3.5miles from Shrewsbury railway station

  • Leisure facilities, including swimming pool

Hotel location

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

Ellesmere Road
Albrighton
SY4 3AG shrewsbury
united kingdom

Tel: +441939291000

Fax: (+44)1939/291123

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BIRMINGHAM At 93.5km / 58.1 miles

  • By plane

    COVENTRY At 110.7km / 68.79 miles

  • By plane

    LIVERPOOL At 115.7km / 71.9 miles

  • By train

    SHREWSBURY At 3.2km / 1.99 miles

GPS :52.75736, -2.746925

Hotel services

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Breakfast à la carte Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 9 Meeting rooms
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 87 rooms
    • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 7 family rooms
    • 3 connecting rooms
    • 87 non-smoking rooms
    • 3 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
  • Porter
    • Porter
Access to property
  • Complimentary Hotel Parking
    • On site
    • 200 parking spaces
    • Public
Well-being
  • The Orchid Rooms Spa and Pool
    • Covered
    • On site
  • Fitness Centre
    • On site

Our accommodation(s)

87 bedrooms including superior twins, doubles and privilege rooms overlooking the ornamental lake and beautiful landscaped grounds. Bedrooms are divided into Main House 29, School Masters House 10, Stable Wing 16. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WiFi access, 24-hour room service, complimentary parking, hair dryers, ironing facilities, new flatscreen TVs with international channels, complimentary toiletries, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 306

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.0/5

5,480 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,708 reviews

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Brendancottrell Friends - 15/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Previous customer. Generally satisfied with my stay again.

Dear Brendan C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 14/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room outdated wasn’t like pictures smelled had to open window reception don’t answer when I wanted a question spa unorganised messed up our appointment then rushed only up the meal was good and service

Dear G M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

P B. Friends - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Been coming for 7 years now and have always had a good experience unfortunately this time we were in the main house which I asked for but we were put on the 3rd floor with no lift as it was only 1 night thought it would be ok unfortunately the 61 steps caused me some difficulties. Food and staff are excellent, only other gripe was the jacuzzi not working as a non swimmer I love the jacuzzi also only 2 out of 5 steam and sauna rooms were working. Massage was brilliant.

Dear Patricia B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Please accept my apologies regarding the issues in the leisure club with equipment. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Fantastic Hotel and Staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Emma G. Couples - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic all round. Hotel,room,staff, Spa considering how stretched the staff were due to Covid they made our stay perfect. We were celebrating our engagement and it was made really special.

Dear Emma G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

All good

Dear John K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Been better before COVID

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Pete H. Friends - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for a reunion of ex RAF Colleagues we have been there for the past 3 years, the rooms have few plug connections. Top rooms in annex can get too hot, they knew both we were there and wedding yet one or two bar staff only at times. We are booked in again next year let’s hope it gets better.

Lovely setting and food - shame about the Spa

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Rebecca U. Couples - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We went on a Wowcher deal, Bed, breakfast, dinner, spa treatment each and use of spa facilities. Staff in the oak dining room couldn’t do enough to help. The Spa facilities were either not working or FILTHY. The hot tub water was a milky colour, the hot/cold thermal shower smelt like urinals, the bio sauna wasn’t in use. The treatments weren’t great products, rooms, and no explanation of what was about to happen was quite disconcerting. Spa Staff discussions other “difficult” customers made us both self conscious of saying anything. When I checked out the receptionist didn’t ask if we had enjoyed out stay just to pay the tab and bye before then moved onto the next customer in line. There was a wedding on and we were directed to walk through the bar area to the spa when an alternative route was available….. sure the wedding party felt as awkward as we did….. the bedroom was a good size but the wardrobe was off the runner (my husband replaced it on the runner) I booked this in March for May, unfortunately Covid meant the booking was moved to October, I was given contradictory information about booking the spa and if I hadn’t have called number our times we wouldn’t have been able to have the treatments as they were nearly fully booked. The telephone system was working and to talk to someone was impossible, emails went unanswered and I resorted to the contact form online in the end - reply was via email no call….

Dear Rebecca U., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Madhu

Pleasant area

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Karen H. Couples - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was well located and I particularly enjoyed using the pool. Several times I had to search for someone to “man” the bar and the dining room staff were not used efficiently eg waitresses served one or two dishes but failed to clear tables en route to the kitchen. Pleasant room with spacious, comfortable bed.

Dear Richard H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I have shared your comments with the food and beverage team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Awful Room

Customer review rating 0.5/5

R D. Couples - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Details outlined in my complaint, which 1 week later has been ignored. In summary, dated room, broken wardrobe, allergies due to pets, and damp. Poor hot water circulation which poses a potential Legionella risk.

Dear Richard D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Madhu

Poor

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Christopher G. Business - 08/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I received no confirmation email of my reservations - I called the hotel twice regarding this - still no confirmation email. Check in was poor. The room was satisfactory, it was very clean. I couldn’t order a Cesar salad as there was no salad apparently. I had a burger which was dreadful, absolutely soaked in fat, I struggled to eat even half of it. Breakfast is a disaster. Ghastly. No croissants, or pain au chocolat. There was no marmalade - I don’t eat cooked breakfast, so can’t comment on that.

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Richard Couples - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice room, considerate staff and good food, but poor spa availability.

Dear Richard K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Madhu

Disappointment was eventually turned around

Customer review rating 3.5/5

K A. M. G. Couples - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arrival we were allocated room 80, Oh Dear... the bathroom looked like a public toilet and there was black mold on the shower door seal and tiles! When we requested to change rooms the receptionist said there was nothing she could do as they were full, and their computer system was down which obviously did not help, I did question her again about the fact she said they were full to capacity, she said they were full but the maintenance man could come and clean the shower. It is not possible to clean away, as the entire shower door needs replacing. As it was a romantic night away my husband and I looked for other hotels as we were not prepared to stay in room 80. Eventually when I asked to speak to management, we waited again and a lady spoke to us and agreed to inspect the room with us, she agreed it was not up to standard and commented how you wouldn't want to touch the shower! After a while of waiting she came back to us with another room, it turned out to be an upgrade and was so much better. The lady that arranged it was Natalie the wedding planner, so thank you for your help, without which you would have had a serious complaint. It is not ideal to place a young couple in a disabled access room with a disgraceful bathroom, ( room 80 in the stable block ) Please refurbish the bathroom for future guests sake. Well done to Natalie for sorting things out, the rest of our stay was enjoyable, but the whole experience before hand was completely unsatisfactory!

Dear Matt G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to hear the issues raised in your review and these have all been shared with the relevant heads of department in order for them to be fully reviewed Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We enjoyed our 2 night stay after a false start. The room allocated was tiny and up several stairs - having said when booking that my husband had difficulty walking. Eventually allocated a far better room which was comfortable. Service in the restaurant was ver good.

Dear Marian T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to read you were allocated the wrong room however glad to hear the matter was rectified. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Mixed experience

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Lynda W. Couples - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room 3 was very small. Wardrobe was very poor quality design and the doors kept coming off. No crisps or nuts behind the Bar and no pastries for breakfast. Had to ask specially for mushrooms.

A bit out the way

Customer review rating 1.0/5

S. Friends - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception yet again to long to book in over 20 mins windows dirty everywhere bar and room radiarorsin room not working no hot water sink plug broken and needs a good clean.

DISAPPOINTMENT

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

LoveTravel596220 28/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

From check-in to departure one disappointment after another. On arrival check in staff were overwhelmed with arriving guests and irate customers. Not enough staff to cope with. The cleanliness of the room especially the wash room was questionable. We boiled the kettle numerous times to disinfect the wash room surfaces. The breakfast choices were inadequate and poorly presented. All in all an experience not to be repeated. BTW if the management wishes to see how a proper hotel with facilities are run, then all you have to do is to check out Hawkstone Hall & Gardens, Shrewsbury.

Dear LoveTravel596220, Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us at Albrighton Hall and Spa I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience with us, please be assured I have passed these comments onto the relevant departments to investigate and pre-empt any issues like this going forward. It is fair to say the pandemic has had a huge effect on our recruitment and training process, but I can assure you we are working hard to improve all these standards and provide guests with a great service. Once again, thank you for your feedback

Not a 4 star experience.

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Joel S 25/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Such a disappointment. Arrived after 2pm key pickup time as arranged (arrived 2.40pm) and had to wait nearly 2 hours for our room; no apology...always told it will just be 15-20 minutes each time we enquired, no offer of complementary drink.. Hotel room shabby, with dirty carpet that was lifting in areas and sheet on bed that was a foot too short, couldn't walk around bedroom without getting black soles of our feet. Despite being well after lifting of lockdown there was no routine room cleaning during a stay, only on request; even when requested, not all usual refresh was done. Asked for maid service and asked that short bedsheet be changed rather than just bed being made....but change of sheet was all that was done.... no cleaning, no replenishment of tea, coffee, toiletries etc. Big play made of Privelege rooms having Nespresso coffee makers, which it did... but only 4 pods to last 2 people 4 days: not replenished when requested. One Reception staff member underwhelming and seemed disinterested. Low sloping ceiling corner down one side of bed with ceiling height at 5 foot directly at side of bed. Bar staff great and attentive, despite them being under-resourced.

Dear Joel S, Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us at Albrighton Hall and Spa I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience with us, please be assured I have passed these comments onto the relevant departments to investigate and pre-empt any issues like this going forward. It is fair to say the pandemic has had a huge effect on our recruitment and training process, but I can assure you we are working hard to improve all these standards and provide guests with a great service. Once again, thank you for your feedback

Mother and Daughter birthday spa break

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Adventure29231947776 20/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

I was disappointed that I had booked a junior suite and the welcome package was not in the room upon arrival. The fact that I had booked in advance and they did not contact me to say they had supply issues was very disappointing. When I went to reception they did offer a substitute but I did feel that if I had not questioned this it would not have been addressed. It also meant that by this point the birthday surprise for my daughter had passed. I also feel that what they are advertising on the website for a junior suite is not being delivered.

Dear Adventure29231947776 Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us at Albrighton Hall and Spa I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience with us, please be assured I have passed these comments onto the relevant departments to investigate and pre-empt any issues like this going forward. Once again, thank you for your feedback

Lovely spot.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

jenian90 18/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Lovely hotel and room, our room was a long way from the car park and reception. Because of the distance, I would have expected some help with our luggage. The grounds were delightful but the paving was loose and dangerous in parts, lots of wobbly flag stones and unevenness, trip hazards.i suggest some money is spent on externals.we had dinner at the hotel which was excellent, breakfast was a little disappointing especially if you only wanted a continental style breakfast. Toast was ether brown or white, no croissants or pastries.

Dear Jenian90, Thank you for your amazing feedback, we are over the moon you had such a lovely experience with us, and do hope you return again very soon I have passed your comments onto our Maintenance manger to look at the issues you have addressed as an urgent matter, We look forward to welcoming you back :-)

Wedding Anniversary

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

firstfornature 30/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

We booked the hotel as it was our 40th wedding anniversary, and selected a quiet place out of the town centre. Unfortunately on the Saturday night there was a party going on in the functions room, which was one room and a corridor away from us. The music was very loud and there was a lot of door banging, children screaming and running down the corridor. I reported this to reception and the duty manager although he apologised he did not seem sympathetic. I did ask why the party people could not have been put in the rooms next to the function room, but did not get a proper response. He said the music had been turned down and would be finished in 10 minutes ie 11.45pm whereas it was midnight before it stopped. As I left reception the duty manager said " have a good evening " - it was a bit late for that. At the breakfast next morning there were numerous comments made by other guests about the music and screaming children. Generally we were disappointed with the hotel, from mould on the bathroom ceiling, stained sheets, stewed cups of tea at breakfast, even the paving slabs outside were loose and dangerous with one waitress tripping and spilling her tray of drinks and food. What should have been a lovely weekend away became a very disappointing hotel stay

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in shrewsbury