Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 4,657 reviews
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 20 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • 18th Century manor house with original features

  • Located 4 Miles From Shrewsbury Town Centre

  • 4-star rated wedding venue located on-site

  • Just 3km from Shrewsbury railway station

  • Leisure facilities, including swimming pool & Jacuzzi

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

Ellesmere Road
Albrighton
SY4 3AG
shrewsbury
united kingdom

Tel: +441939291000

Fax: (+44)1939/291123

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BIRMINGHAM At 93.5km / 58.1 miles

  • By plane

    COVENTRY At 110.7km / 68.79 miles

  • By plane

    LIVERPOOL At 115.7km / 71.9 miles

  • By train

    SHREWSBURY At 3.2km / 1.99 miles

GPS :52.75736, -2.746925

Our accommodations

87 bedrooms including superior twins, doubles and privilege rooms overlooking the ornamental lake and beautiful landscaped grounds. Bedrooms are divided into Main House 29, School Masters House 10, Stable Wing 16. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WiFi access, 24-hour room service, complimentary parking, hair dryers, ironing facilities, new flatscreen TVs with international channels, complimentary toiletries, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Superior Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Twin Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products(...)

Suite Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Nespresso machine
  • Direct dial telephone

Junior Suite - 1 kingsize bed and 1 sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 2

Our restaurants and bars

THE OAK ROOM

Type of cuisine: International

The Oak Room restaurant has original features, boasts a relaxed atmosphere and a feast of tantalising, seasonal dishes. Accompany your meal with a glass of wine from our Les Grand Vins which have been specially selected by our panel of experts.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1630 BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The 1630 Bar serves drinks and light meals throughout the day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 306

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

4,657 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,490 reviews

Well located, Decent stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Nick Business - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only issue was the fire alarm at 4:30 in the morning other than that an excellent stay.

Dear Nicholas M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Please accept our deepest apologises over the issue with the fire alarm - this was a false alarm. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Lovely staff, disappointing accommodation

Customer review rating 4.1/5

An Business - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was in the stables (room 91). The room was generally well appointed, although the bathromm is a little stark ... but despite the single radiator being on full heat, the room was freezing cold. And although the road next to the hotel is not super busy, there was a fair amount of road noise through the night. Finally, the fire alarm sounded three times between 0440 and 0500 ... so my night was not as restful as I hoped/ anticipated! The staff were attentive and very pleasant ... and the breakfast was good.

Dear Andrew N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our rooms are situated across four accommodation areas of which three are in outside blocks. The fire alarm did go off twice during the morning of your departure - these were both false alarms and we offer our deepest apologises over this happening. Thank you for your comments about our lovely staff & breakfast. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Lovely

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Lucy Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely room, very friendly, helpful staff. My only disappointment came with our evening meal on our second night. We were gifted with a 2 night stay with breakfast and dinner where we expect breakfast and dinner on both days. When we arrived for dinner on the second night I noticed the words 'to pay' next to our names so when sat I asked if this meal was included but was advised it wasn't. It was an awkward moment and we felt we couldn't just walk out. This was very disappointing and £76 we weren't expecting to spend! I really think that if people are booked on packages like this they should be advised/reminded when they check in. As I said, this was a gift and was probably in the small print that I never saw.

Dear Josh K., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry you were not aware of what your package included unfortunately we were unaware of this and would not have known it was a gift We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jrnnifer

Uncomfortable bed, cheap bedding

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Simon P. Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

If guests are to be expected to walk up steps to check in then back down them to reach rooms, the pavement should be smooth as it damages the suitcases. The bed was most uncomfortable and both my wife and I had painful backs upon leaving. The duvet was cheap and heavy. There was no conditioner left in the room either day. The towels although clean were cheap and hard. Food was sent back in the bar as the mushy peas could not be seen. The bar staff were very good. Unlike the staff in the restaurant for breakfast who told me I had booked breakfast for one, knowing I had booked for two and had eaten the previous day explained this but still he still insisted. The various breakfast choices should have been offered on every table and not just kept above hot food. I asked reception for a bottle opener and they were very unhelpful, sending me to the bar then the restaurant after telling me to bring the bottle to the bar where they would charge corkage! All hotels irrespective of rating loan bottle openers. I left with the impression your staff did not enjoy dealing with the general public.

Dear Simon P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As we advertise on our website, some of our rooms are outside in different accommodation blocks. We do offer bags to the room and we apologise on this occasion it was not asked. If we had of known about the issue with the bed in the room, we would have been more than happy to help you move rooms or provide an alternative mattress. Again I would like to express our deepest apologises over the experiences that you had within the hotel. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Anniversary Stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

D.. Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Initially very impressed. Reception staff exceptional. Room looked perfect. Then problems arose.

Dear Derek D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jennifer

Good stay, disappointing factors for price paid

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Jack Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

There was a few minor problems which put a downer on the trip, doors breaking, key cards being de activated, potential false advertising with the rooms

Dear J M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jennifer

Nice traditional hotel, good breakfast, some improvements needed

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Nathan Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is very nice, really traditional old building and the rooms are in keeping with that. The breakfast was very nice and staff very friendly. Improvements needed in some areas, our room got very hot, it had 2 radiators but we were unable to turn one of them off. Also i arranged for a chocolates and balloons to be in room when we arrive but it wasn't there, they got it sent up once i called reception but still wasn't the service id expected.

Dear Nathan T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Sarah Couples - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is lovely and grounds are very nice. The spa was great as well however it was not made clear that with a double room and two meals for dinner, and two people checking in, that we had been allocated only one breakfast. With this not being clear we did not have the chance of paying the lower pre booked rate and we were charged a extortionate amount for one breakfast on check out.

Dear Rebecca G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will address you comments with regards to your reservation with the reservations and reception team as to why this was not picked up before for you. Please accept our deepest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Fabulous 1 night stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Nicola Couples - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had 1 night stay via a wowcher deal. Food amazing, spa treatment excellent, lovely room overlooking lake.

Dear J C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about the hotel, food & staff. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Lovely location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Hilary Couples - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very enjoyable stay in our home county. Very welcoming. Nice areas to relax. Didn’t have time to use spa area. Clean white linen, bedroom and dining room. Dining room excellent for food and service.

Dear Hilary H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about the hotel, food & our staff. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Perfectly located in a quiet setting surrounded by the deafening silence which was perfect

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Colin D. (. T. D. T. A. ). Business - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here now a few times and all the staff are welcoming and friendly without that effort which we all have experienced and hate . Well done to all from check in to evening meal to fitness center to breakfast a big thank you to all . Although could offer poached eggs and some Black pudding on the breakfast menu , only because I like that .

Dear Colin D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

brilliant staff, great loaction and amenities

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Lbm Solo - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

great stay, rooms luxurious and very clean

Dear Louise B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our reservation and reception teams. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Has potential

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I made this booking in October so was very surprised to be located in the Stables which necessitated putting coats and outdoor shoes on every time we wished to avail of facilities in the hotel. Only having one key between two meant that we were not free to use leisure facilities whenever we wished. Our time had to be coordinated. The heating in our room no 86 could be improved.

Dear Joan O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Due to the nature of the Grade II listed building, we do advertise this on our website that rooms may be allocated in the outside blocks. Please accept our apologies that you were within this area. I will speak to the maintenance team to look into the heating issues you had. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Excellent spa break

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Jan D. Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly staff and we loved our Privilege room. The spa pool was smaller than we'd expected, but lovely and warm.

Dear Jan D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Nice location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Stephen A. Friends - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had an enjoyable short stay with friends and made good use of the spa facilities. The hotel public rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The lounges and dining rooms were particularly attractive. The spa was well run and staffed by welcoming and proficient people. We were less impressed with the dinner menu in its narrow menu choices and the overall quality of the food. Improving the restaurant food in terms of choice and quality of cuisine would make the experience better.

Dear Stephen A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I will pass on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager with regards to the menu availability for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Disappointed

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Brian F. Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Checking in time, was different to our confirmation details, confirmation stated 2pm, Receptionist insisted 3pm. We had to wait around for over 1 hour. Our Privilege Room number 50 was really nice, But to access the Restaurant and Bar we had to climb 12 Sets of Stairs each time we departed our room in the Lakeside Building , also the same to access the leisure suite. We were not informed off this difficulty when we booked our Privilege Room Upgrade, or at checking in at reception. We were woken up by an Alarm sounding at 4am on Thursday morning, we immediately went into the corridor expecting to see other guests out there, but none appeared, so I telephoned reception to find out what was going on, I was informed that it was the Fire Alarm, the problem was under control, but should the alarm go off again, Then we should evacuate our room. We were concerned that the Alarm might go off again so we stayed awake the rest of the night, as we felt uneasy about the situation. No member of the staff called to reassure us that everything was under control after the initial alarm going off and our departure.

Dear Brian F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. On arrival at the hotel, at 12.00 noon we were still checking people out of the rooms and rooms were not ready until 2/3pm. We have a room guarantee from 3pm but we hope the rooms are available from 2pm. If our rooms are available then we are more than happy to check you in but unfortunately on this occasion your room was ready at 2.15pm. Unfortunately the fire alarm did go off during the night of your stay, we are sorry that this has happened and you felt that their was lack of communication from our nights team. We endeavour to make sure people are as comfortable as possible however this was a false alarm and was rectified as soon as possible to ensure guests did not have to evacuate the building. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It would have been 10/10 but scored lower due to breakfast and the staff in the oak room.

Dear C. Carol, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

good refreshing stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Kevin Y. Business - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

good leisure facilities although one of the cross trainers arms needed looking at as loose, room excellent , spacious clean , good bed the card reader to the outside door into the block I was staying in kept faulting, reception staff very helpful in sorting out and then showing an alternative way inside back to the bar & reception

Dear Kevin Y., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for highlighting the issues during your stay and these have been passed to the relevant departments Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer
Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Families - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was disappointed with my room No wardrobe to hot unable to turn heat down and noisy ask reception if I was next to boiler room other than that it was ok. Enjoyed the wedding lovley attention to detail.

Dear Selina C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your comments regarding the room you stayed in. Your room was allocated near to the wedding you were attending - please accept our apologies if you wished to have moved but we were extremely busy within the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager

good stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Rich W. Couples - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely stay, only downside was the attitude of the head waiter in restaurant at breakfast. All other staff were very polite & friendly but he had a very poor attitude & was quite rude & looked grubby.

Dear Richard W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager regarding the head waiter and action accordingly. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Baugh Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in shrewsbury