Information message

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 5,047 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa
See on a map
+ 20 Services

Hotel extras

  • 18th Century manor house with original features

  • Located 4 Miles From Shrewsbury Town Centre

  • 4-star rated wedding venue located on-site

  • Just 3.5miles from Shrewsbury railway station

  • Leisure facilities, including swimming pool

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

Ellesmere Road
Albrighton
SY4 3AG shrewsbury
united kingdom

Tel: +441939291000

Fax: (+44)1939/291123

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BIRMINGHAM At 93.5km / 58.1 miles

  • By plane

    COVENTRY At 110.7km / 68.79 miles

  • By plane

    LIVERPOOL At 115.7km / 71.9 miles

  • By train

    SHREWSBURY At 3.2km / 1.99 miles

GPS :52.75736, -2.746925

Our accommodation(s)

87 bedrooms including superior twins, doubles and privilege rooms overlooking the ornamental lake and beautiful landscaped grounds. Bedrooms are divided into Main House 29, School Masters House 10, Stable Wing 16. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WiFi access, 24-hour room service, complimentary parking, hair dryers, ironing facilities, new flatscreen TVs with international channels, complimentary toiletries, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Superior Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Twin Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Lake View, Garden View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

THE OAK ROOM

Type of cuisine: International

The Oak Room restaurant has original features, boasts a relaxed atmosphere and a feast of tantalising, seasonal dishes. Accompany your meal with a glass of wine from our Les Grand Vins which have been specially selected by our panel of experts.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1630 BAR

Non contractual photo

The 1630 Bar serves drinks and light meals throughout the day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 306

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

5,047 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,615 reviews

Fawlty Towers eat your heart out!!!!!

Customer review rating 0.5/5

David B. Couples - 27/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We visited Shrewsbury to attend the funeral of a dear school friend, and since I came from Shropshire, thought we would have a look around and made the appalling error of booking 5 nights. No doubt the pandemic will be seen as the culprit for was almost no attendance or service. Even at reception at 9:00pm of the Friday there was NO ONE at reception to answer of phone call from the room (47) The breakast at £10 each was meager in the extreme. All in all an expensive stay and not to be repeated.

Dear David B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.. Under current government legislation all hotels are required to follow strict guidelines and protocols.in order to comple with regulations and help stop the spread of covid Therefore when asked to deviate from this legislation we, as an organisation are unable to do so. I am sorry your call was not answered on Friday however I can confirm there were two members of staff on duty at reception who I can only presume were either checking guests out or answering other calls Once again I am sorry that by following current legislation we were unable to agree to some of your requests during your recent stay...
Customer review rating 1.5/5

Colin D. (. T. D. T. A. ). Business - 26/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have a few issues firstly upon arrival my room number appeared to change when I advised that I did not require any breakfast as to £10 for what was offered I found a disgrace. On my confirmation booking it stated a " Plated English Breakfast " this was not what I was offered, an option of hot drinks , apple juice , Porridge pot ( which I purchased from Tesco @ 99p , potted yoghurt , a pastry and apple or an orange. I have asked numerous people what their suggestion's of a " plated English breakfast " and I had the same response ( Google it ! ) My room was number 11 which was at the back of the hotel with no view because the windows had a frosted film over the to obscure the view of the bins . The bathroom door has a series of screw holes in where a hanker was supposed to be , the shower was missing a cap over part of it I had to wedge the front of the table up with cardboard to stop the draws opening either when I sat by it or walked past it , cracked plaster by the side of the bed . I also order for the first nights stay a chicken Caesar salad with chips which I have had on previous stays and extremely enjoyed it so therefore I was looking forward to it after a long day , the chicken was DRY and of no taste at all , the salad arrived a polystyrene tray which I get but the amount was pitiful if was not for the chips I would have still been hungry . I did not complain at the time upon walking into the room as I am aware that they would have to clean the room again so therefore I did not . I am totally aware of the circumstance's we are in at the moment and appreciate that some compromise's have to be made but what I experienced was a disgrace as the hotel was not full by any standards so to place some one in ROOM 11 is not acceptable . Take heed to any one reading this ENSURE YOU DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 11 .

Dear Colin D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We do advertise via our own website that during the Lockdown, it is a restricted menu for breakfast and we are unable to provide a cooked plated breakfast due to the current restrictions. We are sorry to hear that you had experienced some issues with your room, I will pass on your comments to the Maintenance team to have a look at & resolve them. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

really good

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Scott Business - 24/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Jennifer and Sarah were excellant, from check in to check out, couldnt of been more helpfull, thankyou.

Dear Lucy L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty, Front Office Manager

Very poor

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Howard E. Business - 22/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Receptionist was not very nice The room had damp marks on the walls, bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible

Dear Howard e., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are sorry to hear that you did not like our mattress or pillows - we usually get compliments on these areas.. I am also sorry to hear that you did not find our receptionist friendly - I will personally speak to the member of staff. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

fbellavia Business - 15/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Helpful staff, great building lovely grounds. Had sales meeting which took place in the state room off reception area. Team provided excellent service throughout the day. Due to covid lunch was delivered to the meeting room sandwiches only.

Dear fbellavia, Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at the Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the customer service you have received, along with our location & meeting rooms. We are pleased we were able to organise your lunch during your meeting of a packed lunch e.g. sandwiches, crisps, juice, fruit etc. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Stay Safe, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Ideal location for work

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 12/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable room, appreciated having one with dedicated desk and proper coffee machine, made all the difference since I was there for work!

Dear Lucy G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Work

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Jason H. Business - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel food is very poor. Not much selection if your staying more than 1 night. Unfortunately I stayed there 6 nights. Food was always late and looks like it was all just thrown together. Womg be staying again if I can help it.

Dear Jason H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the variety of meals provided on our menu - I have passed on your details to the Head Chef & Operations Team to see if we are able to change the menu/variety during this time. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Fabulous

Customer review rating 5.0/5

James Couples - 08/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely room very clean staff very welcoming

Dear James H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Neil Solo - 05/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff looked after me so well during my stay.

Dear Neil L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Lovely spot and very comfortable

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Keith M. Business - 28/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Considering the conditions, in house room service food was very good. Lovely grounds for a little wander. Room very comfortable, would have preferred real coffee facility rather than the ubiquitous instant sachets.

Dear Keith M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We provide tea & coffee making facilities within each room - if you required any additional coffee or tea, then please ensure you ask reception and they will be happy to pass these to you. If you would like a room with a coffee machine & coffee pods, please ensure you book a Privilege Room or above. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Comfortable room

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - 13/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice stay let down by the food

Dear Sion G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. With you being a Night Worker, we adapted our schedule where possible and offered Breakfast to you upon arriving back at the hotel etc. During this difficult time, we are making sure that we are able to adapt where possible. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

very pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 10/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

peaceful an relaxing.

Dear Paul r., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you for your review & we hope to see you again in the near future! Stay Safe, Kirsty, Front Office Manager

Safe & Comfortable Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Paul A. Business - 01/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A two night stay on business, this is a difficult time but the hotel is well prepared for coping with all the COVID restrictions.

Dear Paul Thomas Mr A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Stay Safe, Kirsty Front Office Manager

A good (albeit short!) stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Linda Families - 07/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We arrived just at the time of additional restrictions being put in place. Staff were helpful in a challenging time. We had a short stay but a very welcoming one. Any issues were sorted very quickly and in a friendly manner. This is despite the stress staff must have been under. It’s a shame we did not get to stay any longer but I hope that we will be back soon.

Dear Linda E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Stay safe, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Another great visit

Customer review rating 4.5/5

David M. Couples - 05/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed our visits. The hotel has an excellent dining room with daily changes to the menus, and a great bar area. With Covid, some things were a little different, but at all times the staff were helpful, cheerful and courteous. My wife and I recommend this hotel to you.

Dear David M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your kind words about your stays with us and inparticular this recent stay. We are pleased that you are return to us and we hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

relaxing stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Steve Couples - 05/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel facilities were good including the gym and pool being open. the gym had a good level of equipment for a hotel. The breakfast and evening dinner were very nice as was the food in the bar. The only disappointment which we mentioned to the duty manager Karen on departure was the drink limit in the bar. We understood we must order a meal with drinks no problem. However, this was restricted to two drinks after eating. As hotel residents we felt this was unnecessary as it is not a Govt requirement and having ordered a fair amount of food and whilst watching a film on the tv the refusal for a further drink kind of spoilt the evening somewhat. We were subsequently told that a way round it would have been to take a drink the our room then come back to the bar which seemed a bit daft and rather than 'finding a way around' a pedantic restriction a bit of common sense would have been better.

Dear steve W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your hotel stay, use of leisure facilities & your evening + breakfast in our Oak Room Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the ruling regarding alcoholic drinks in the bar. Unfortunately this has been set by the Government and not ourselves. You are, as you rightly said, able to do takeaway option so you are able to order at the bar and take back to the room. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Shelley B. Families - 04/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We enjoyed our stay, staff are amazing and room was fantastic and our treatments were amazing if I had to say anything negative would be that we weren’t told that no facilities were open ie steam room etc but we understood why also it was my daughters birthday and when booked you said you provide balloons at the table but nothing was there other then that it was great to relax

Dear Shelley B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I have noted the issue regarding the balloons and I am sorry these were not provided Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jennifer Sibbald-Wall

Lovely surroundings

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jerry Couples - 01/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyable couple of days, good food and facilities and friendly staff

Dear Jeremy H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lynn H. Families - 31/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Came for a small wedding staff were fabulous lovely place to stay

Dear Lynn H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kirsty Front Office Manager

Buitifull hotel shame about the service

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

michaelchattington 06/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

We stayed for 3 days booked a double bed which turned out to be twin beds zipped together so the bedside tables were about 2ft away from the sides of the bed nearly fell out when you leant over to turn the lights off no room cleaning during stay so no 4 star service due to cv but no reduction in price. Full English breakfast not very full informed they don’t do poached eggs only fried or scrambled a full portion of scrambled egg would fit on a teaspoon1 small sausage one bacon 1 hash brown & a tomato & baked beans 1 slice of toast asked for more toast but only got 1 pre packed butter between 2 of us no consistency in service you just waited for the waiter serving what ever you wanted mentioned it at the end of stay Told I should have complained at the time I said they were basic things that shouldn’t require complaint in a 4 star hotel. Was going to use this hotel as a base for future 2-3 Visits annualY to family but decided not Good value for money.

Dear mihcaelchattington, Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at the Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa. We are sorry that you felt that you did not receive our 4* service whilst during your stay here. Unfortunately, our standards regarding our cleaning procedures with the Coronovirus. As we explained to you on checkout, we would have been able to advise or change areas for you at the time but unable to amend anything on checkout. Kirsty Front Office Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in shrewsbury