Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide

Information message

Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.0/5 2,556 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

Welcome to Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. In the heart of Adelaide's CBD, conveniently located on the cultural boulevard of North Terrace, opposite the Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and a short 8-minute walk for the Adelaide Oval.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Our accommodation(s)

The 181 guest rooms at Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide are fresh, contemporary and inviting. Guests searching for hotels in Adelaide can choose from a range of accommodation styles including Standard, Superior, Executive and Suites.

Hotel location

Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide

125 North Terrace, Adelaide, SA 5000, PO Box 8095, Station Arcade
5000 ADELAIDE
Australia

Fax: +61 8 8407 8866

  • Adelaide Airport Suttle: 

  • By plane

    ADELAIDE INT. At 7km / 4 miles

GPS:-34.922246, 138.596574

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
Near the property
  • Car park

Breakfast Non contractual photo

Start the day with a delicious breakfast served daily on the Ground Floor Level. Enjoy danishes, cereal, fruit, juice, tea and coffee.

Our guest reviews for
Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.0/5  2,556 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.0/5  3,013 reviews

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

A Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Check-in was great very friendly and courteous. Accommodation was appalling I was put in a room in the 2nd floor which was not the problem, but feeling like I was in a dungeon with the noise of the staff lifts was unacceptable. I spoke to the staff in reception and was told that the lift only goes through the day but at 9pm the lifts were still going. I again spoke to reception and they said they would move me to another room which they did for my last 2 days of my stay. Although the room was at least not like the previous room it was still a sub standard room with a window that looked into a car park. I will be hesitant to stay again.

Dear Anna, I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I was saddened to read that your room was not up to expectations as while we are unable to deny the general condition of the room and hotel given its age, the hotel conducted a de-branding exercise last year by removing the Mercure brand and returning the hotel to its original name the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide to enable us to reposition it as an economy hotel in the twilight of its existence as the intention is to completely redevelop the property in the not-too-distant future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location, clean but tired, shower no good, we were on fifth floor and water did not warm up.

Dear Elda, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer when travelling to South Australia. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused by the shower water not being hot enough during your stay, I will share your review with our Maintenance team to rectified this issue. Overall, we sincerely hope your stay was comfortable and we do appreciate you sharing your concerns and honest feedback with us. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again, and giving us the opportunity to better serve you. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mathur Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Central location and access to many of the places of interest in and around Adelaide.

Dear Mathur, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Poor level of hygiene

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Rs Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

There was no control in the room for heating (or it wasn't explained). No extra blankets for the cold night. No place to plug in a USB for charging. There was no way to view or pay for movies on the TV. All of this can be explained away as being a cheap hotel and you get what you pay for. What can't be excused is the blood smear on the tiles in the bath area. It wasn't little. I still feel sick after seeing while I was in the shower.

Dear Robin, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your overall experience at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the room being too cold. Unfortunately, we have a centralised air-conditioning system at the hotel, due to which we do not have individual temperature controls in the room. We apologies for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. Your remarks about blood smeared in the room have been referred to our Housekeeping department for review and appropriate follow-up with the staff member who cleaned the room. Thank you for raising this concern with us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Great location, room very clean.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Carolyn N. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Happy with stay

Dear Carolyn, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel, especially the service provided by our teams here. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Well located and excellent customer service

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Sandra S. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

the customer service and rooms were great, however the $15 breakfast in a brown bag did not even rate. the coffee was only luke warm, the food offered was not nice. Whilst I understand that Covid has had an impact on food service I think that this could have been done better. As there was a person present I am sure that toast could have been offered and a cooked breakfast in some form could be offered. otherwise the stay was great, please find a different solution to the breakfast that was offered. Sandra

Dear Sandra, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel, especially the service provided by our teams here. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer. The hotel underwent a name change and re-branding into an economy hotel as of the 10th February 2021. We have permanently closed our restaurant down indefinitely; this was not a decision made lightly. We are now only offering a grab & go style continental breakfast served in biodegradable crockery and cutlery every morning that continues to serve pastries, cereal, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. I am very sorry this isn't the breakfast you were hoping for, I will share your feedback with our management team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Great staff, rooms need repair and deep clean

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were friendly, and helpful. Other than the staff this hotel did not impress me. The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. The carpet was extensively stained and very dirty. The dust build up around the walls and behind the door tells me this room had not been vacuumed or wiped over in a very long time. The bed sheets were clean the the furniture surfaces. The corridors were lifeless and had an unpleasant smell. The hotel was convenient to the where I needed to go but I will not return to this hotel.

Dear Nicola, We very much appreciate your comments and honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Every guest feedback is taken seriously, and your comments will help us identify the areas needed for immediate improvement. Thank for your beautiful review on our staff here at the hotel. I was saddened to read that your room was not up to expectations as while we are unable to deny the general condition of the room and hotel given its age, the hotel conducted a de-branding exercise last year by removing the Mercure brand and returning the hotel to its original name the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide to enable us to reposition it as an economy hotel in the twilight of its existence as the intention is to completely redevelop the property in the not-too-distant future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Noisey , dirty , No cooked breakfast

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience and discomfort you experienced during your stay, but we would like to thank you for identifying an under-performance in our cleaning standards. We are currently working closely with the housekeeping management & team to improve the standards throughout the hotel. The hotel underwent a name change and re-branding into an economy hotel as of the 10th February 2021. We have permanently closed our restaurant down indefinitely; this was not a decision made lightly. We are now only offering a grab & go style continental breakfast served in biodegradable crockery and cutlery every morning that continues to serve pastries, cereal, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. I am very sorry this isn't the breakfast you were hoping for, I will share your feedback with our management team. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Cosy

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gazza W. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Just fine

Dear Gary, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. I will share your comments with all staff and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Really good

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Martin V. K. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

When we arrived we were treated with courtesy and respect and we were offered a late check-out at no extra charge, which suited our plans for the next morning. The room was much larger than we expected and it was quiet considering that we were on North Terrace.

Dear Martin, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel, especially the service provided by our teams here. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good room size ,clean ,suitable for requirements

Dear Bev, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Walk in checked out straight way.

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Dave Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was yuk. Floor dirty full of stains. no heating.... my other half was freezing. Decided no to stay. While checking out the manager changed us to other room but bit better. But no heating freezing .brought up a small little heater. After dinner with friends we decided to check out. ..

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your overall experience at our hotel. I was saddened to read that your room was not up to expectations as while we are unable to deny the general condition of the room and hotel given its age, the hotel conducted a de-branding exercise last year by removing the Mercure brand and returning the hotel to its original name the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide to enable us to reposition it as an economy hotel in the twilight of its existence as the intention is to completely redevelop the property in the not-too-distant future. Unfortunately, being an older hotel, the building itself has a centralised air-conditioning system, due to which we do not have individual temperature controls in the room. We apologies for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

well located

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Dennis B. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hi it was only 1 night BUT BED VERY UNCOMFORTABLE PILLOWS WERE LIKE PUTTING YOUR HEAD ON THE MATTRESS NO GUTS IN PIIIOW SHOWER HEAD TO LOW HAD TO BEND DOWN TO WASH MY HAIR CARPET HAD A BAD SMELL TO IT WHEN I BOOKED BOOKED IN STAFF WERE VERY GOOD ITS JUST THE STATE OF HOTEL NEEDS A GOOG OVERHALL

Dear Dennis, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your overall experience at our hotel. I was saddened to read that your room was not up to expectations as while we are unable to deny the general condition of the room and hotel given its age, the hotel conducted a de-branding exercise last year by removing the Mercure brand and returning the hotel to its original name the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide to enable us to reposition it as an economy hotel in the twilight of its existence as the intention is to completely redevelop the property in the not-too-distant future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

THE WATER IN THE SHOWER WAS COLD THE CARPET DIRTY I WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Marie W. C. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THAT THE GIRLS ON THE DECK WERE THE BEST THEY SHOULD BE PAID FOR THE WAY THEY TRY TO HELP THE FIRST ROOM I HAD WAS JUST TOO HOT BUT NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT THAT BUT OFFERED TO CHANGE ROOMS FOR ME BUT THE NEXT WAS THE SAME. WE WERE PRE BOOKED AGAIN THIS TIME I HAD A WINDOW THAT OPENED SO I WAS OK I AM SORRY BUT NOT TO BE ABLE TO HAVE A GOOD SHOWER WAS NOT THE BEST WAY TO START THE DAY. I WOULD AGAIN LIKE TO SAY THAT THE FRONT DECK STAFF ARE SO GOOD. I COULD NOT RECOMMEND AND ONE TO STAY AT THIS TIME.

Dear Marie Warby, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your overall experience at our hotel. Thank for your beautiful review on our staff here at the hotel. I look forward to sharing it with them. I was saddened to read that your room was not up to expectations as while we are unable to deny the general condition of the room and hotel given its age, the hotel conducted a de-branding exercise last year by removing the Mercure brand and returning the hotel to its original name the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide to enable us to reposition it as an economy hotel in the twilight of its existence as the intention is to completely redevelop the property in the not-too-distant future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

The Hotel was in a perfect location for the venue we were attending at the Convention Centre.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jude Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Polite and friendly staff who were most obliging, including allowing us to leave our luggage while we went out to breakfast after checking out. Room was chilly, but staff staff supplied a fan heater immediately when we asked for one. The shower partition was broken which we thought could be a safety issue had we had children with us.

Dear Judith, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Your comments and feedback are extremely important to us and we thank you for sharing them with us. I am happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the service provided by our teams here. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer. I will also share your review with our Maintenance team to rectified the issues you had with the room. I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the areas of concerns; appropriate measures will be taken. I sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jeffrey B. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Our second stay this year. Very satisfied with the room and the staff.

Dear Jeffrey, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel, especially the service provided by our teams here. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location shame the restaurant is not open. Bathroom a bit dated needs a refresh

Dear Elaine, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Would not recommend

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

bjdsas1 TripAdvisor review

Excellent location and great service. Cheap price. Renovation required before we will stay at this Hotel again. Lack of hot water, poor room layout, pillows uncomfortable, no window in our room and poor lighting.

Dear bjdsas1, Thank you for telling us about your guest experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments. I'm pleased to read you found our location excellent and service by our team great, it however saddened me to read that was all you liked about your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused by the shower water not being hot enough during your stay, I will share your review with our Maintenance team to rectified this issue. Unfortunately, our building being 102 years old has a different layout compared to modern day hotels. Our standard rooms are internal rooms that unfortunately do look out onto a brick wall/light-well and depending on the time of day don't get as much natural light. I am sorry the room did not meet expectations; however, I can assure you the other room categories are different and not all the same. I am truly sorry if your stay did not meet full expectations, however it is our hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Courtney, Assistant Front Office Manager

Excellent Value Midrange Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

thomasdF2675JR TripAdvisor review

This hotel represents excellent value. Best location possible in Adelaide, nice modern rooms, clean, good air flow, friendly staff, good room service. It's basic and mid range, but you won't find better value for money in Adelaide.

Dear thomasdF2645JR, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel, especially the service provided by our teams here. I 100% agree with you on our location being excellent, very close to everything the Adelaide CBD has to offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Courtney, Assistant Front Office Manager

Good value

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Suzanna99 TripAdvisor review

Each floor is very large with many very long corridors in this grand old building. I had a very nice room, the only issue here is the noisy barely functioning a/c. Ok to stay here in the cooler months. Breakfast is so so.

Dear Suzanna99, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. Your comments and feedback are extremely important to us and we thank you for sharing them with us. I will share you review with our Maintenance team to rectified the issues you had with the room. I do apologies for any inconveniences with caused during your stay. Overall, we sincerely hope your stay was comfortable and we do appreciate you sharing your concerns and honest feedback with us. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again, and giving us the opportunity to better serve you. Sincerely, Courtney Assistant Front Office Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in ADELAIDE