Novotel Mainz

Information message

Novotel Mainz

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 783 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map


Hotel extras

  • ALL-SAFE certified hotel

  • Free WiFi, seminar and conference rooms with natural light

  • Event location in the historic city wall vault

  • Located on the Kästrich, where Roman legions once camped

  • Spa area with sauna and indoor pool (temporarily closed)

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Mainz

Augustusstrasse 6
55131 MAINZ


  • By plane

    FRANKFURT HAHN AIRPORT At 50km / 31.07 miles

  • By plane


  • By plane

    HHN At 50km / 31.07 miles

  • By train

    MAINZ At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS:49.996432, 8.261789

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Near the property
  • Car park

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Mainz

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  783 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  911 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointed with the Spa closure


Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I stay at the Novotel Mains prob at least 4x a month. It is a cute little hotel; I love the friendliness of the staff and the easy walkability into town. The restaurant is good, the food and breakfast good price and tastes nice, the rooms are clean with nice crisp bedding and I love to be able to open the big windows. But overall the hotel is outdated and tired looking. The carpets are old throughout the hotel, the elevators look worn, the bar area..where lots of people gather in the evening, is just out dated with 80's furniture and no style at all. The rooms are good size with nice beds, good towels, but again the furniture is just outdated. Also, there is no outside area to sit and enjoy food and drink, which would be really nice. I think it would take very little to spruce this hotel up. The basic good bones are there.

Well located, friendly and caring professionals

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Chadia G. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is 600 meter of the city center of Mainz. The employees are friendly and caring and took our comments seriously. Our minibar was free but 4 of the 6 drinks were not our taste. We explained at the end of the journey and they offered 2 drinks of our choices.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Bianca T. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff was very friendly and happy to help. Acted promptly on three requests (removing a child's bed that was added to the room but not required, allowing extra time for check-out, responding to issues with the key card after late check-out was arranged). Room was spacious and pleasant - a tad noisy. Breakfast was very good and pleasant atmosphere.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Wendy M. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very comfortable room and great service from staff. Menu choice for dinner for non-meat eater very limited

Quite expensive for the age of the interior

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms are quite expensive for the age of the interior. The Breakfast is great and staff is very polite and helpful.

We usually stay at this hotel because it has everything we need

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Service was excellent

nice quiet room friendly and helpful staff generally quiet ambience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

nice quiet room friendly and helpful staff generally quiet ambience

Great room and services.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jude E. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

The food was not that great. Especially the complimentary breakfast

Home away from home

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff is the amazing backbone of the Hotel....even during hard times, they have not lost their professionalism. Always helpful when you need anything.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The personnel are great. They respond to your needs quickly.

Great Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

It’s similiar to arriving home

professional staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

very "quiet "...

nice hotel, very friendly staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

nice hotel, very friendly staff and very good restaurant

Novotel Mainz

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

PeNor Business - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is situated within walking distance from the main station and was well prepared with respect to the present Corona restrictions. The staff were very friendly and professional and the room a standard Novotel quality. WiFi was more than adequate and easy to use.

Disapponting Staff Attitude

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Colin W Business - TripAdvisor review

Checking in, accomodatiion, meal, bar, all good. Probles started as I checked out. Brusque and unhelpful female on reception swore in German while trying to scan my car park ticket to validate it. She then gave up telling me to use Car Park pay machine. Went to machine to find it takes cash only. Return to reception to be told by a three staff members that the car park, signed up as Novotel Parking with 4 Floors dedicated to Novotel with branding all over the place, was "nothing to do with Novotel" and that I "parked there by my own choice". Car Park staff via intercom wouldn't answer calls. Hotel could not / would not take payment for car park. Manager eventually arrived and provbided a car park pass after 1/2 an hour of messing around and arguing with his rude, unhelpful staff, he repeated the "it's not our car park" story. My recvomendation, don't use this hotel's car park if you visit and be very careful if you do. The hotel will not help you or take responsibility for the facility it obviously leases from a car park company. This was not the first time I stayed at Novotel Mainz. It was the last.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologise for the inconvenience that you faced and I'm very sorry for the unprofessional behaviour of my staff. I have already taken steps to avoid the same mistakes from happening again. In regards to the car park, after this incident I had a meeting with the parking lot company to solve the issues you mentioned, such as: Staff manning the intercom, upgrading the payment machine, and our reception having tickets available for our guests to be able to exit the car park easily. Even though we do not own the car park, we believe that we still have a responsibility to you as a guest to help you as best as we can in these matters. I understand your disappointment and frustration, and I can only hope that if you give us a second chance in the future, that we will do better. Kind Regards, Ümit Alis General Manager

Excellent Service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Carmen O Business - TripAdvisor review

Excellent customer care, clean rooms, quiet and good location. Breakfast was available with a large menu, Personnel was very friendly and eager to assist. Beverages were available at all times with friendly personnel

Hotel on a hilltop

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Enjoy_Travel13 Business - TripAdvisor review

Nice hotel with swimming pool - great to unwind. Lovely warm rooms (in winter). Pleasant and courteous reception staff. Accor hotel guests treated with some difference. There are some eateries very close by and the centre of town is very easy to walk to so if you want to eat out of the hotel it is relatively easy to do so.

Stop over in Mainz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

TwanShanghai Families - TripAdvisor review

We used the hotel for a stop over during our holidays. The hotel is easy to reach with big parking garage next door. City centre is easily reachable by foor. We enjoyed the stay a lot, no negative points found.

I am not going to come back

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

fouadp2015 Couples - TripAdvisor review

Hotel administration did not take in consideration our booking request...Fees / confort / service ratio is absolutly not correct: too expensive für what you will receive.we are not going to come back.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in MAINZ