Information message

Novotel Mainz Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 904 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Novotel Mainz
See on a map
+ 26 Services

Hotel extras

  • ALL-SAFE certified hotel

  • Free WiFi, seminar and conference rooms with natural light

  • Event location in the historic city wall vault

  • Located on the Kästrich, where Roman legions once camped

  • Spa area with sauna and indoor pool (temporarily closed)

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Mainz

Augustusstrasse 6
55131 mainz
germany

Tel: +4961319540

Fax: (+49)6131954100

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • S8 :  S8 HAUPTBAHNHOF

  • By plane

    FRANKFURT HAHN AIRPORT At 50km / 31.07 miles

  • By plane

    FRANKFURT INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT At 30km / 18.64 miles

  • By plane

    HHN At 50km / 31.07 miles

  • By train

    MAINZ At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :49.996432, 8.261789

Hotel services

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 12 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Self service business center
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 217 rooms
    • One room for people with reduced mobility
    • 32 family rooms
    • 15 connecting rooms
    • 217 non-smoking rooms
    • 4 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
    • French
  • Lounge
    • Waiting area or lounge
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • High speed transmission line Additional charge
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet Additional charge
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Elevator to all floor
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
  • Safe deposit box at reception
    • Safe deposit box at reception
  • Currency exchange
    • Currency exchange
Access to property
  • Car park Trajanstrasse Additional charge
    • On site
    • 250 parking spaces
    • Public
    • Parking opened 24/7
  • Kupferbergterrasse Additional charge
    • On site
    • 500 parking spaces
    • Public
    • Parking opened 24/7
Well-being
  • Gym-room for single use!! Currently unavailable
    • On site
    • Massage
    • Sauna room
Family
  • Services for children
    • Childrens TV Channels

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 15

  • Maximum size: 189

  • Maximum capacity: 60 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 50 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Mainz

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

904 reviews

Novotel Mainz

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

PeNor Business - 07/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is situated within walking distance from the main station and was well prepared with respect to the present Corona restrictions. The staff were very friendly and professional and the room a standard Novotel quality. WiFi was more than adequate and easy to use.

Disapponting Staff Attitude

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Spoonwother Business - 25/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Checking in, accomodatiion, meal, bar, all good. Probles started as I checked out. Brusque and unhelpful female on reception swore in German while trying to scan my car park ticket to validate it. She then gave up telling me to use Car Park pay machine. Went to machine to find it takes cash only. Return to reception to be told by a three staff members that the car park, signed up as Novotel Parking with 4 Floors dedicated to Novotel with branding all over the place, was "nothing to do with Novotel" and that I "parked there by my own choice". Car Park staff via intercom wouldn't answer calls. Hotel could not / would not take payment for car park. Manager eventually arrived and provbided a car park pass after 1/2 an hour of messing around and arguing with his rude, unhelpful staff, he repeated the "it's not our car park" story. My recvomendation, don't use this hotel's car park if you visit and be very careful if you do. The hotel will not help you or take responsibility for the facility it obviously leases from a car park company. This was not the first time I stayed at Novotel Mainz. It was the last.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologise for the inconvenience that you faced and I'm very sorry for the unprofessional behaviour of my staff. I have already taken steps to avoid the same mistakes from happening again. In regards to the car park, after this incident I had a meeting with the parking lot company to solve the issues you mentioned, such as: Staff manning the intercom, upgrading the payment machine, and our reception having tickets available for our guests to be able to exit the car park easily. Even though we do not own the car park, we believe that we still have a responsibility to you as a guest to help you as best as we can in these matters. I understand your disappointment and frustration, and I can only hope that if you give us a second chance in the future, that we will do better. Kind Regards, Ümit Alis General Manager

Excellent Service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Carmen O Business - 17/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Excellent customer care, clean rooms, quiet and good location. Breakfast was available with a large menu, Personnel was very friendly and eager to assist. Beverages were available at all times with friendly personnel

Hotel on a hilltop

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Enjoy_Travel13 Business - 16/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Nice hotel with swimming pool - great to unwind. Lovely warm rooms (in winter). Pleasant and courteous reception staff. Accor hotel guests treated with some difference. There are some eateries very close by and the centre of town is very easy to walk to so if you want to eat out of the hotel it is relatively easy to do so.

Stop over in Mainz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Anthonie K Family - 09/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

We used the hotel for a stop over during our holidays. The hotel is easy to reach with big parking garage next door. City centre is easily reachable by foor. We enjoyed the stay a lot, no negative points found.

I am not going to come back

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

fouadp2015 Couples - 08/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

Hotel administration did not take in consideration our booking request...Fees / confort / service ratio is absolutly not correct: too expensive für what you will receive.we are not going to come back.

Good location

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Doug B Family - 08/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

Great location. Walk from train and walk to Christmas Markt. Staff was friendly. As we were packing to leave, a bug was crawling into my make up bag. We looked around and didn’t see any other bugs. The front desk said they would adviseHousekeeping.

A wonderful and convenient hotel for the English speaking tourist

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

302stephenf Family - 08/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

Had a great 4 nights here. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The breakfast is generous with something for everyone. The facility is clean with multiple amenities. Although I did not use the pool or sauna or gym, family members did and enjoyed it. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the old town and the Rhine River. There are fun restaurants in the area. I would return. The only two less than glowing comments are that 1. I would have preferred a queen sized bed instead of the standard double for the two of us; and 2. the hallway carpeting is stained and in need of replacement soon. However, everything was very clean.

Great location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Bernie1976 Family - 01/09/2018 TripAdvisor review

Hotel was conveniently located for mainz centre and parks. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and overall we have no complaints - more than we expected for the price, we will definetly be back.

Poor shower water, dirty room

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

xz888 Business - 31/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

The big trouble: the water came very small , sometimes it was very hot shortly and than very cool during the shower. The room is a little dirty. It is not suggested by me to stay this hotel again. It should be better for a 4 Star hotel....

Loved it! We’ll stay here every time!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

klough7 Couples - 28/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

We lucked out when we found this hotel 5 years ago. I never knew hotels could have such a wonderful spa, included in the price! If you’re not from Europe, and have never really experienced nude spas, this would be the perfect place to try it. Private and never busy! You’ll love the sauna, steam room, cold tank, quiet room, and fresh air room! We only wish there were more vegan options.

Good stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MagdyE135 Business - 08/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

Except the poor & unprofessional attitude during check in it was a good and comfort stay. During my stay for three nights house keeping provided a very quick and perfect service. Parking fees was very costly.

Urgent need of renovation

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

RolandZug Business - 24/02/2018 TripAdvisor review

Staff at Check in is very friendly and efficient. As a Gold Member i got an upgrade without the need to ask for it. The Breakfast lady behaves more like a bouncer. The bed/pillow were probably quite new and comfortable. However everything else shows lots of wear and tear, bathtub etc. has broken off pieces, table was cracked, carpets full of stains, especially in the corridor. Probably clean but it just doesnt look and feels clean. All in all, the place needs to update fast. I wont be back till they renovate the location.

Clean but expensive for what it is

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

thomasfV5609UU Business - 28/10/2017 TripAdvisor review

Clean room and bedset. Phonical isolation between neighbour rooms is bad. Water temperature in shower is not controllable well. Water pression in the shower is probably the worst part... take double time for a normal shower!

Noisy and poor service

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

biggies Business - 14/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

The heating was on and the pipes made a lot of noise all night. The elevator is too slow and you spend a lot of time waiting for it. My key card stopped working and I had to get all the way down again to get a new one while the car was waiting for me outside. The restaurant served tenderloin but it was not tender at all. It was quite tough.

Convenient and comfortable

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

965jacqueline Couples - 18/07/2017 TripAdvisor review

Comfortable beds, good bathroom, large room, well located. Everything very clean. Close to the train station and the main sights of the old town, although it is a climb up a hill and lots of steps to reach the hotel.

Fine, basic hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Erika M Family - 14/06/2017 TripAdvisor review

We needed a hotel near my family in Mainz and this was near them, which is why we stayed here. Very basic rooms. Towels are hard like sandpaper, bathrooms way too basic, but overall "ok". Nothing exciting or nice. Wouldn't stay again.

Novotel Maintz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

nicoladwhitehead Friends getaway - 14/10/2016 TripAdvisor review

I had a lovely stay for 3 nights--meeting up with friends. My room was clean and nice and warm. The hotel is in a great position for walking into the city centre. I thought the staff were helpful and friendly. I especially loved the breakfasts and swimming pool facilities-----there was nothing I wanted that the hotel did not provide---so thank you for a great stay. Oh yes and I just remembered to say the bed was really comfortable and I had a fantastic sleep.

Not so good...

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Ulf S Business - 02/08/2016 TripAdvisor review

Sensitively. The neighbor TV heard throughout the night. Noisy air conditioner. Simple and boring breakfast. Don't think I will stay there again. And as usual at Novotel - badly, difficult and slow WiFi.

excellent location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

VSLAR Family - 21/07/2016 TripAdvisor review

short 8-10 min slightly uphill walk from Hbf, 10-15 min walk to main tourist sights, 5 min walk from grocery store on Drussusstr, short walk from restaurants in nearby Gautor area. Clean well stocked rooms. Nice pool. Connecting rooms for family upon request. Some rooms have awesome view of Alexander Tor and Kupferberg Winery.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in mainz