Novotel Mainz Hotel

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 3,945 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Novotel Mainz
See on a map
+ 26 Services

Hotel extras

  • ALL-SAFE certified hotel

  • Free WiFi, seminar and conference rooms with natural light

  • Event location in the historic city wall vault

  • Located on the Kästrich, where Roman legions once camped

  • Spa area with sauna and indoor pool (temporarily closed)

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Mainz

Augustusstrasse 6
55131 mainz
germany

Fax: (+49)6131954100

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • S8:  S8 HAUPTBAHNHOF

  • By plane

    FRANKFURT HAHN AIRPORT At 50km / 31.07 miles

  • By plane

    FRANKFURT INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT At 30km / 18.64 miles

  • By plane

    HHN At 50km / 31.07 miles

  • By train

    MAINZ At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS:49.996432, 8.261789

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 15

  • Maximum size: 189

  • Maximum capacity: 60 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 50 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Mainz

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

3,945 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

905 reviews

-

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Rob Business - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The elevators in the Novotel Mainz do not give a good impression to the guests. Many push buttons and indication-lights are broken or are fixed with tape. This is already the case for several months and really looks bad.

Overnight stay in Mainz

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anthony Solo - 14/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overnight stay at Novotel in Mainz was fine. The room was very clean and had everything I required. Was pleased to have tea/coffee in the room. The bathroom was clean and shower fine. Would stay again.

Comfortable stay with excellent service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 08/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located hotel with friendly staff and excellent service!

Got charged twice for the room

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Aymeric L. C. Business - 29/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked a room over a week before the stay, then proceeded to cancel it right away (before booking my actual stay). This first trip is still not reimbursed the hotel, although I sent 5 emails and called twice. I highly recommend you avoid this hotel, otherwise you give yourself a chance to get ripped off.

Excellent staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Patti Business - 27/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The accommodating staff is what makes this place. The location is also ideal. The carpet does certainly need replaced throughout the hotel I noticed, but the beds, pillows and bedding are quite nice. I like that I can count on this location being very clean.

Great Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Bill L. Solo - 28/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Giulia always makes me feel like home.. have not been here for almost 2 years with Covids and I felt like I was just here last week. Staff is super friendly and being at Novotel feels like HOME. Giulia is as good as it gets!!

Wonderful staff!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Audrey H. Solo - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Spent a night in Mainz before my flight back home to the States. Front desk, bar and breakfast staff were superb! Housekeeping set me up with a fan and feather pillow, made my stay dreamy! Thank you for a great evening.

Well located, renovation necessary

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very polite, helpful and professional staff. But the interior, especially the bathrooms, need a renovation. Quite obvious that the hotel hasn’t been renovated since it was build. The lifts are also very slow and buttons are fixed with tape.

Dear Mr. L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Mainz and highlighting the friendly service that you received from the team. We do agree that our rooms and furniture may seem very dated and this is something that we are currently working on it. Starting October we are planning to make a soft renovation (Lifts, Carpets, TVs, Bathrooms etc.). I hope you are able to visit us again and sample one of our newer rooms . Thank you once again for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand and hope to welcome you back to the Novotel Mainz. Sincerely, Ümit Alis General Manager

OK stay with a few issues.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Kjell B. Families - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Spacious room with all the facilities we needed. In general, the hotel - including our room - shows sign of age and wear. The lock on our room door failed the last night of our stay, so the receptionist had to unscrew the locking unit to get us in. This was inconvenient, and we got no compensation - not another room or discount. The breakfast was OK, but massively overpriced compared to what was offered. Very helpful and nice staff.

Friendly staff, but hotel needs an update

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 18/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Warm welcome, but the hotel feels old and really needs a remodeling! No iron in room available. Had to go to 2nd floor, on the complete other side of the hotel.

Everything as Expected

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Friends - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at Novotel for a wedding that was near by. The overall experience was as expected. A few things were missing such as a shoehorn or an iron.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kim Friends - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Smiling ang receiving personell, no fuss, good breakfast - hopefully next time there vil be the option of soy/oat/almond-milk as well, so that guests which do not drink cow-milk also can enjoy the vide variety of cereals provided. All in all a very pleasing stay which we can reccomend :) .

Novotel Mainz

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

PeNor Business - 07/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is situated within walking distance from the main station and was well prepared with respect to the present Corona restrictions. The staff were very friendly and professional and the room a standard Novotel quality. WiFi was more than adequate and easy to use.

Disapponting Staff Attitude

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Spoonwother Business - 25/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Checking in, accomodatiion, meal, bar, all good. Probles started as I checked out. Brusque and unhelpful female on reception swore in German while trying to scan my car park ticket to validate it. She then gave up telling me to use Car Park pay machine. Went to machine to find it takes cash only. Return to reception to be told by a three staff members that the car park, signed up as Novotel Parking with 4 Floors dedicated to Novotel with branding all over the place, was "nothing to do with Novotel" and that I "parked there by my own choice". Car Park staff via intercom wouldn't answer calls. Hotel could not / would not take payment for car park. Manager eventually arrived and provbided a car park pass after 1/2 an hour of messing around and arguing with his rude, unhelpful staff, he repeated the "it's not our car park" story. My recvomendation, don't use this hotel's car park if you visit and be very careful if you do. The hotel will not help you or take responsibility for the facility it obviously leases from a car park company. This was not the first time I stayed at Novotel Mainz. It was the last.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologise for the inconvenience that you faced and I'm very sorry for the unprofessional behaviour of my staff. I have already taken steps to avoid the same mistakes from happening again. In regards to the car park, after this incident I had a meeting with the parking lot company to solve the issues you mentioned, such as: Staff manning the intercom, upgrading the payment machine, and our reception having tickets available for our guests to be able to exit the car park easily. Even though we do not own the car park, we believe that we still have a responsibility to you as a guest to help you as best as we can in these matters. I understand your disappointment and frustration, and I can only hope that if you give us a second chance in the future, that we will do better. Kind Regards, Ümit Alis General Manager

Excellent Service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Carmen O Business - 17/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Excellent customer care, clean rooms, quiet and good location. Breakfast was available with a large menu, Personnel was very friendly and eager to assist. Beverages were available at all times with friendly personnel

Hotel on a hilltop

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Enjoy_Travel13 Business - 16/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Nice hotel with swimming pool - great to unwind. Lovely warm rooms (in winter). Pleasant and courteous reception staff. Accor hotel guests treated with some difference. There are some eateries very close by and the centre of town is very easy to walk to so if you want to eat out of the hotel it is relatively easy to do so.

Stop over in Mainz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Anthonie K Family - 09/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

We used the hotel for a stop over during our holidays. The hotel is easy to reach with big parking garage next door. City centre is easily reachable by foor. We enjoyed the stay a lot, no negative points found.

I am not going to come back

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

fouadp2015 Couples - 08/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

Hotel administration did not take in consideration our booking request...Fees / confort / service ratio is absolutly not correct: too expensive für what you will receive.we are not going to come back.

Good location

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Doug B Family - 08/12/2018 TripAdvisor review

Great location. Walk from train and walk to Christmas Markt. Staff was friendly. As we were packing to leave, a bug was crawling into my make up bag. We looked around and didn’t see any other bugs. The front desk said they would adviseHousekeeping.

A wonderful and convenient hotel for the English speaking tourist

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

302stephenf Family - 08/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

Had a great 4 nights here. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The breakfast is generous with something for everyone. The facility is clean with multiple amenities. Although I did not use the pool or sauna or gym, family members did and enjoyed it. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the old town and the Rhine River. There are fun restaurants in the area. I would return. The only two less than glowing comments are that 1. I would have preferred a queen sized bed instead of the standard double for the two of us; and 2. the hallway carpeting is stained and in need of replacement soon. However, everything was very clean.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in mainz