Information message

Novotel Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 23,646 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Novotel Sunshine Coast Resort
See on a map
+ 24 Services

Hotel extras

  • Onsite Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

  • Private saltwater lagoon

  • Walking distance to the patrolled surf beach and 18 hole golf course

  • Sunshine Coast Convention Centre

  • Exclusive Overwater Bungalows

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 10h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access Paying
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Golf Paying
  • Beach and water sports
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 2 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Snack & beverage machine Paying
Business services
  • 14 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Sunshine Coast Resort

270 Ocean Drive
Sunshine Coast
4564 twin waters
australia

Tel: +61754488000

Fax: (+61)7/54488001

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 10h00

  • MAROOCHYDORE :  BUS TERMINAL DOMESTIC AIRPORT

  • By plane

    MAROOCHYDORE At 9.7km / 6.03 miles

  • By plane

    SUNSHINE COAST AIRPORT At 9.7km / 6.03 miles

  • By train

    NAMBOUR At 20km / 12.43 miles

GPS :-26.631233, 153.097443

Our accommodation(s)

Visitors looking for hotels in the Sunshine Coast can choose from an extensive selection of accommodation options at Novotel Sunshine Coast Resort. This impressive Sunshine Coast hotel features 361 guest rooms & suites, each offering everything needed for a relaxing stay. Spacious and tastefully appointed, each room provides a peaceful retreat, featuring comfortable bedding, air-conditioning, a TV with pay-per-view channels and room service ordering, tea and coffee facilities and an ensuite.

Our restaurants and bars

THE DELI CAFE

Type of cuisine: Cafe

The Deli Cafe is centrally located in the main foyer. The Deli offers a large range of grocery products, a bottle shop selection and a range of fine coffees and teas. The flair of our pastry chef is reflected in the delicious savories and pastries.

NOUVEAU RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Nouveau Restaurant is a cosmopolitan style restaurant offering indoor and outdoor al fresco dining with lagoon and garden views. Open 7 days for breakfast & selected evenings for Dinner. Bookings essential

SOLA

Where sunshine meets Sicily,Sola has been inspired by the regions history and aims to deliver fresh locally supplied and produced cuisine highlighting the Sunshine Coast region and supporting our local economy.

SOLA

Available for private functions

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 14

  • Maximum size: 1,125

  • Maximum capacity: 1400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 800 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Sunshine Coast Resort

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

23,646 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

189 reviews

Average stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Tanya Couples - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I still can't rate this place as a great place to stay sadly, as much as I want to. We only stayed here as had friends staying here and wanted to catch up with them and it was our anniverary. The carpet in our room was dirty and we were woken up in the morning by a loud mower right outside our window. For breakfast we were made to return to our room to collect our masks or go to reception to buy one just to walk from the front door to the table. I understand the mask requirement, however you could either provide masks on entry or have a sign in the rooms to remind guests to carry them with them if attending the restuarant. The breakfast certainly was not worth the extra money, we were under the impression it was going to be a buffet so we wasted our money. And the very first impression when checking in was we had to use the handset (not sure if sanitised) to call someone and the lady had obviously just extinguished a cigarette and smelt of smoke, it was disgusting. I wanted to mention to her it was also our first anniversary but I just couldn't wait to get away from the smoke smell. Also the staff weren't overly friendly. This resort could be so much better.

Dear Wayne, Thank you for sharing your experience with me, I am glad to read that while you enjoyed most of your stay, there were some issues that impacted on your experience, please accept my sincere apologies for this. I note and appreciate your comments in regards the areas that we failed to meet your expectations , please be assured that your comments will be reviewed and actioned where required, again my apologies for not meeting your expectations on this stay. I am pleased to note that the resort is 50% though a full rooms refurbishment in 2021 / 2022 as well as the public areas. Thank you again for sharing your experience with me and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime soon. Kind regards Warwick Kahl General Manager

Good location and relaxation

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Junko Families - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I loved Novotel sunshine coast as close to Noosa and other beaches. Also they had a great foods at restaurant.

Dear JUNKO, We are so grateful for your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Twin Waters Resort Sunshine Coast. It is always very much appreciated to receive not only positive, but constructive feedback as well. I will share your comments with our team and am sure that this feedback will be informative for all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasing than the previous one. Yours sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Great Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 18/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent food, clean and tidy facilities, friendly and willing staff

Dear Phil, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Rooms have been renovated compared to what they were

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Clayton S. 0. Couples - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was good once we seen the room Wasn’t going to stay due to the NRL teams on site I don’t believe this was a smart move by Twin Waters hosting these teams. I do believe you will be getting a lot of back kick back from this especially when you have cancelled peoples booking to accomodate the NRL Where will the NRL be once they have left , not tourists spending money at your resort

Dear Clayton, We are so grateful for your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Twin Waters Resort Sunshine Coast. It is always very much appreciated to receive not only positive, but constructive feedback as well. I will share your comments with our team and am sure that this feedback will be informative for all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasing than the previous one. Yours sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John R. Friends - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant experience

Dear John, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Excellent all round

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Helen N. Friends - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception staff member was great very welcoming and friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast was so good even the magpie was enjoying it

Dear HELEN, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Great resort

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Carolina Families - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a good experience overall. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Our room I feel like is due for a makeover. The carpet felt old and there was a slight smell in the room from it I think. Either than that we were happy with the food and the resort in general.

Dear Mayra, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Relaxing

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lynne Friends - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely place to stay and the staff were fantastic - friendly and helpful.

Dear Lynne, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Underwhelming

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Cassandra S. Families - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

When we arrived, the key machine was not working. So every time we left the room we had to go to reception to have someone let us back in. Received free drink vouchers unfortunately I do not drink beer or wine so was of very little use. When the key was ready, we were contacted to go to reception to pick it up instead of it being delivered to our room. The bathroom had disgusting (I have photos). When we returned to the room after dinner the tv didn’t work. When maintenance turned up we were asked what we had plugged in to trip the power. We had not plugged in anything but even if we had that should stop the tv working. As we had our daughter with us who had a very early morning we didn’t had to stay but the solution was to run an extension cord which was too short and hung across the hallway out of the room. Definitely a tripping hazard. ( I have photos of this as well. When we were having dinner in the dining area there were also kids riding scooter through there. We definitely will not be coming back and would not recommend the “resort” to anyone.

Good - Not worth the money

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Mel Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed in an over the water bungalow, as guests of a wedding. When confirming the booking I did request to get a top floor room, but they all appeared to be taken. The first thing I noted was that all the bungalows that guests of the wedding were staying in were occupied by families on the top floor. I'm not an avid footy fan but my husband was under the impression that they were families of the footballers staying there. Can neither confirm nor deny however I thought those rooms were for couples not families? as they appear to be only 1 bedroom when booking. In the interest of being honest and giving constructive feedback. Our room was recently renovated and we were one of the first people to stay in it. The room was beautiful and well fit out but not the luxe I was expecting for over $500 a night. Until we used the shower, we were pretty happy. The hot water in the room took about 2 minutes to run in order to actually get warm- hot. Normally that wouldn't be an issue for me, we stayed in an over the water bungalow so hot water understandably would be individual to the unit. However due to poor drainage in the shower if you let the water run for longer than 2 minutes the shower basin would fill and overflow into the bathroom flooding the bathroom. So a normal 10 minute holiday shower resulted in a lot of clean up. Also the air-conditioning in the room didn't get cold unless it was on the lowest setting. however it did work so I guess I cant really complain there. Rooms weren't cleaned daily, again not an issue for a short stay however would have been nice to get more towels since I needed to use so many to mop up the water on the floor. The overall service of the resort was great and if it weren't for the knowing look from the staff when we raised the issue of drainage I would have said excellent. Food - very average, I would have expected better at the breakfast buffet and the dinner at the deck was sub par. Which when I asked around the table with other guests 2 out of 10 were happy with their food and felt it was good value. The $42 steak was great, however. Would I stay there again? being I stayed in the most expensive room in the resort and still felt like the footballers wives had a better experience - no.

Relaxing atmosphere

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Julie Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Wedding guest Great room Breakfast disappointed luckily prepaid so only $20 instead of $35 Beef burger worst thing ever I’m being picky overall I loved my stsy

Dear Julie, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

B Families - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was good overall, water view was not as expected. came as a surprise, was expecting more.

Dear Badri, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Lisa Families - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Absolutely fabulous staff.. Accommodation was clean and neat.. Garden view was lovely lush and well kept.. Highly recommend for all ages, pool, restaurants, water activities for all ages… loved it!

Dear lisa, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

The computers were down, no room keys, my room had half its electrical down, TV didn't work, Shower pressure non-existant

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Chris Families - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The remodelled rooms are nice. Had a lovely time kayaking with my daughter and swimming. But no key-cards until that evening (had to prop my door open for the day), Half the electrical in my room didn't work so the TV didn't work, There was no pressure in the shower. The manager was going to get back to me and never called me back.

good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kelly R. Families - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a lovely stay. Would like more options for breakfast maybe have a cafe option open as well as buffet.

Dear Kelly, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Great stay!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Helen D. Families - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite recent negative publicity regarding the Novotel Sunshine Coast and the NRL bubble, we all had a great time and enjoyed the surroundings, the good food and above all, the resort staff who made us feel extremely welcome as guests separate from the NRL teams.

Dear Helen, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

NRL

Customer review rating 4.5/5

John B. Business - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It has been outstanding here from our arrival. Arrived in quarantine and the experience since then has only improved. Staff very friendly and capable. Nothing too much trouble.

Dear John, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We endeavour to provide all guests with a positive experience, on this occasion, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. As always, we wish you the best and join us again for a well deserved break, Sincerely, Avito Nakalevu Assistant Manager

Good

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed in a newly renovated overwater bungalow but were confused that there was no kitchen sink. It was quite grose having to leave dirty dishes sitting out on the bench until the next day.

Good place to stay on Sunshine

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

DimaM20212026 Business - 11/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

It is nice and comfortable, not the utmost luxury, but very very comfortable. It is not 5 star luxury we get in Bali or Thailand, but good place to relax,i terract wth some native animals and do business in the area.

Nice Break

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

rhyscdavies 01/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Lovely location with delightful walks, beach, pool, all very relaxed. Central amenities are nice. Stayed in one of the un-renovated units - will be upgrading to a renovated unit next time! Staff very friendly.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in twin waters