Fairmont Mayakoba

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.5/5 2,069 reviews

Fairmont Mayakoba - Image 1
Fairmont Mayakoba - Image 2
Fairmont Mayakoba - Image 3
Fairmont Mayakoba - Image 4


Hotel extras

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

  • Luxurious suites, nestled in the middle of the Mayan jungle, mangroves and the Caribbean Sea.

  • Suites with private infinity pools overlooking the canal or in front of the beach.

  • Located a few miles away from the Xcaret park, the cenotes, beaches, Tulum and the Mayan ruins

  • A large choice of restaurants and bars to suit every appetite and craving

Our accommodation(s)

Hotel location

Fairmont Mayakoba

Carretera Federal Cancún, Playa del Carmen Km 298

GPS:20.687637, -87.027426

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Air conditioning
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Room service

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.5/5  2,069 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.5/5  7,825 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2023


TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

MelehaA Families - TripAdvisor review

We were quite dissatisfied for our stay for a few reasons: 1. Staff was nice enough but lacked attention to detail. Eg welcome drink given to 3 of 4 of us and told they would bring the last one for the 4th one but never did. Or, offered to take our bags to our friends room who had earlier check-in eventhough it was a long walk to transfer to our room (why would anyone want this?) 2. Check in process took an inordinate amount of time- On the order of 20 minutes. Thats 20 minutes of the clerk typing on a computer. Long bac-up so had to wait to start the check in process as well. Despite long check in we were not given any information about the resort, restaurants or how to get around. 3. Very poor service. Waited extremely long amounts of time for waiter to come to take our order nearly every location we went. Took me 30-40 minutes to get coffee each day. Not very apologetic even when we brought this to their attention. 4. Concierge not helpful- repetitively told us to email them to book a cab we needed in 1 hour. Got stuck in playa late at night with boot on our rental car, they couldnt care less about our safety or helping us. Told to just ‘hail a cab’ when we were in potential danger. 5. Room had outdoor shower which was cool but there was a ~2 inch gap in the shower door that allowed communication between indoor and outdoor area— saw a couple of bugs in our room likely for this reason 6. Had mexican food at la laguna which was really not good. Local street food in Playa much better.

One of best holidays I have ever had

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Thera M. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We had the most wonderful 3 nights at Fairmont Mayakoba. I can’t wait to go back.

Dear Thera M., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to Fairmont Mayakoba in the near future.

Could be better

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

adh-24364 TripAdvisor review

Either have an all inclusive resort or a regular one..not both..also the resort fee of usd 30 per person per night is a rip off..nothing short of a scam. Increase the room rates to include the "resort fees"..it's like an airline charging you to use the toilets

Dear adh-24364, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize if our pricing structure did not meet your expectations. We understand your concerns regarding the resort fee, and we will take your comments into consideration as we continually evaluate and improve our offerings. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to ensure that we provide the best experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an improved experience.

beautiful grounds but horrible food

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

My name is Patty H. and my family and I stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba from 3/23 to 3/29 and I wanted to write a review of my experience. The area was beautiful, we LOVED our suite (we are a family of 5 - 7 year old, 4 year old and 10 month old baby) but I have to let you know that we thought the food at the resort was AWFUL. i fed my 10 month old food on the first day we were there and for the next 7 days she had horrendous diarrhea and didnt' eat anything and got dehydrated. my 4 year old was so sick he was either on the toilet or in bed for a whole day - and we needed to put diapers on hiM!!! and then my husband has had diarrhea for 2 weeks and is going to go to the doctor tomorrow. . My 7 year old and i never got sick but the food was so not appetizing that I barely ate anything the whole week. I would not expect something like this to happen at such a high quality resort and when we had spent the kind of money we did. My husband and I went to the four seasons in punta mita in january and the one and only in cabo last year and we had absolutely NO problems with the food.

Dear Patrycja H., Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. We are glad to hear that you loved the beautiful grounds and your suite, but we are deeply sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the food. The health and safety of our guests are our top priorities, and we take all reports of food-related illnesses very seriously. We have shared your feedback with our culinary team and have initiated a thorough investigation to identify and address any potential issues. We understand your disappointment especially given the high quality of service and experience you expected and experienced at other resorts. Please know that your feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to improve our services and offerings. Our Executive Assistant Manager, Juan Carlos Ortiz, has reached out to you via email, and we are awaiting your instructions on when you would be available to receive a phone call to discuss your experience further. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the negative impact this has had on your stay.

Could have been a 10

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Valerie Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The resort, service, food, and overall experience and offerings were incredible. Our trip would have been a 10 but this resort is not set up for families of five. We were told at booking the rooms would not be connected but we could request side by side. When we arrived we were given a room in the 200’s and one in the 600’s. This was not close. Everyone we spoke to told us that’s the best they could do. We contacted our travel agent and she was able to get the 200’s room moved to the 600’s. Closer, but we have three young children so we only used the 2nd room to sleep because rooms that far away made us feel like we were on different vacations if we were to have unpacked in both. This felt like a total waste of money to have a second room that was only used for sleeping. If the resort could guarantee the same building we would be booking this resort again in the future.

Dear Valerie N., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you found the resort, service, food, and overall experience to be incredible. Your kind words are truly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the room arrangements. We understand the importance of having rooms close together, especially for families with young children, and we regret that we were unable to accommodate your request upon arrival. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we will review our procedures to ensure that similar situations are avoided in the future. We are pleased to hear that your travel agent was able to assist in moving one of the rooms closer, but we understand that this was not ideal for your family. We will take your comments into consideration as we continue to improve our services and offerings. We hope that despite this issue, you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more seamless and enjoyable experience.

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 400 reviews 7.8/10 Location
  • 631 reviews 7.2/10 Room
  • 1,193 reviews 8.1/10 Service
  • 5 reviews 1.7/10 WiFi
  • 731 reviews 7.1/10 Food
  • 540 reviews 8.1/10 Amenities
  • 257 reviews 8.2/10 Vibe
  • 244 reviews 4.4/10 Value

Powered by Trustyou

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in Riviera Maya