ibis Styles Invercargill Hotel 3.5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 375 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ibis Styles Invercargill
See on a map
+ 7 Services

Hotel extras

ibis Styles Invercargill offers business and leisure facilities including Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms, copy / print and fax facilities, direct dial telephone, work desk with chair, off-site gymnasium and in-house movie theatre

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre (nearby)
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Catering
  • Snack & beverage machine

Hotel location

ibis Styles Invercargill

15 Tay Street
Invercargill
9810 invercargill
new zealand

Tel: +6432113800

Fax: (+64)3/2113801

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    INVERCARGILL At 3km / 1 miles

  • By plane

    INVERCARGILL At 3km / 1 miles

  • By train

    INVERCARGILL At 0km / 0 miles

GPS :-46.413208, 168.348672

Our accommodation(s)

Warm, welcoming and modern, with a comfortable bed and a practical bathroom, our rooms offer everything you need for an enjoyable stay.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 64

  • Maximum capacity: 12 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
ibis Styles Invercargill

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

375 reviews

Clean, Tidy and Comfy

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Holz64 Business - 12/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has been converted from a student apartment type accommodation and is in an old building, however the rooms are modern clean and spacious. The beds are comfy and the bathroom had a good shower in it. The hotel does provide access to gym, but you need to ask reception. There is no restaurant however plenty of cafe's in the local area. I recommend Toasted, absolutely delicious! I had two seperate bookings and the hotel was kind enough to put me in the same room for both meaning i did not need to check out. Much appreciated

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your room. We are also glad that our staff were able to make it easier for you by allocating the same room for both nights, meaning you did not have to shuffle around and you could just enjoy your time.

A little different

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

John S 25/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

Not your typical Ibis. If you are use to the typical modern back to basis style of Ibis hotel this one is different. I appears to be in a converted older building. We had an apartment which consisted of a bedroom, bathroom, large sitting room and a well equipped kitchen. There is parking in the basement. It was clean and tidy and the staff friendly.

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our staff made your stay welcoming.

Comfortably average

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

johnandmaggie Business - 15/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

Have stayed at the Ibis in Invercargill previously and it is average accommodation. On arrival, I was pleasantly checked in (with no mention of loyalty status), but there was no ready record of my "breakfast included" booking. I was then informed that they stopped providing breakfast "ages ago", but it would be delivered to my room later. Which it was eventually when I rang up to check on it before I retired for the night! No free drinks vouchers, as no bar in the hotel. Bottle of water and biscuit as a loyalty gift (I think? There was no note.) in the room. Had to phone every night (4 nights) to ask for the breakfast to be delivered. Room comfortable and clean and accommodation as expected for an Ibis Styles. Noisy in hotel on the Saturday, but this settled by 11pm. Secure parking beneath hotel, which was much appreciated.

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you had such a disappointing stay with us regarding your Accor status and your breakfast. We are glad that your did enjoy your room and our on site parking. We will take on board your feedback regarding the Accor status on arrival and try make changes for future arrivals.

Our Southland Tour

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

bobS3669RD 14/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

I automatically book Accor if there is a hotel in the city or town we are staying in, i just assume an Accor branded venue will meet the usual high standards. High standards were not the case here! The original room we were given was very very small, had no air conditioning and was dirty. The room did have a stand up fan but being in the western side of the building the heat generated from hot afternoon sun was all but unbearable and the mould in the shower was disgusting! We spent one night in the room but decided to move to another hotel for the other two nights we had in Invercargill. On talking to reception we were shown a two bedroom apartment which was much better than the original room and decided to continue our stay with Accor. We were happy with the apartment and appreciate the receptionist making the change for us. That said this hotel does not come close to what I would expect from an Accor branded venue.

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us. We are glad that the receptionist on duty was able to make your stay a bit more comfortable by changing your rooms. We will talk to housekeeping regarding the cleanliness of the bathrooms.

Whirlwind Visit

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Chris B 08/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

Visiting Invercargill to see Richardsons Transport World, Motorcycle Mecca & the Hayes Burt Munro Collection. The Ibis central location was ideal. I had a comfortable & clean room. Portable air-con unit made my room very comfortable. I had reserved parking, grateful my car was in a secure location although the garage was a little tight. A continental breakfast is available on request for a modest $10. Great, as I wanted to make an early start the next morning. The hotel was quiet, no road noise. Staff were polite & cheerful. Excellent.

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad that you liked our central location, that your room was comfortable, and you enjoyed our breakfast packs we offer. We llok forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Great value in Invercargill

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

gilliannvine Business - 30/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

Centrally located with secure undercover parking, the Ibis Styles in Invercargill is excellent value. In keeping with Accor policy, everything was spotlessly clean and my fourth-floor room had a view over the Opuni Creek.

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you liked our central location and the secure parking we offer. We are also pleased you enjoyed your room with us, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Convenient position

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

LightPacker294021 25/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. A kitchenette in the room enabled us to have our own breakfast in the mornings. The positioning in the CBD was ideal along with good garaging for our vehicle. Unfortunately the old window in the room allowed both the wind and rain in.

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your room. We are also happy that you liked our central location and the garages for parking. We will pass on your feedback about the window in your room so we can get this checked.

Good location, Basic Facilities

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

WorldWideKiwi 24/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

This property could be described as Accor's answer to a Backpackers Hostel but a bit more private and expensive. [Cheap for a hotel though] It is a refurbished old building and our room was on the fourth floor. Compact is the word with a mini bathroom, only two small opening windows and no air-conditioning. The day we arrived the room was like a sauna. You have to have the windows open at night and street noise was very noticeable. We had booked breakfast but, upon enquiring, were told there was no longer any dining room, nor a bar. Our continental breakfast was delivered to our room on a tray the previous evening. There is free parking. We enjoyed a comfortable king-sized bed and all facilities in the bathroom worked well. I haven't commented on service because basically there was none and we only saw four staff over the three days.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We regret that we were unable to make your stay pleasant enough. However, we do hope you choose to stay again so we have a chance to serve you better.

Good hotel in a city centre

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SQFlyer72 Solo travel - 02/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Hotel is situated in the city centre with restaurants, cafes and supermarkets within walking distance. Close walk to the bus stop for intercity buses and tour buses. Hotel room is typical ibis style and is good for short stays. Unfortunately, the hotel does not serve breakfast but one can always check out the cafes in the surrounding area.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a fairly pleasant stay with us. Please choose to stay with us again.

Superb stay - exceeded expectations!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Anne W Friends getaway - 03/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is right in town, close to the transport museums and the pick up point for Stewart Island. Plus the wonderful gardens are a short drive.. Right from meeting the friendly helpful reception staff, to the decor, the comfortable bedroom with ensuite and breakfast delivery system, this hotel has everything right on the button!

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback and perfect rating. We're very happy we made your stay a memorable one and hopefully you'll come stay with us again. Thank you for all the lovely things you've said about us. We'd love to see you again.

Central Invercargill

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Eric G Couples - 02/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

It is probably one of the most central hotels, but it is a very spread out city with little sense of a town centre. However, close to some good restaurants, secure parking, easy to find, clean and friendly. Like some other Ibis Styles we've stayed in a bit quirky, but fine for a short two night stay.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We're glad that your overall stay was pleasant despite the minute inconveniences you faced. We hope we will be successful in satisfying you completely if you decide to stay with us again.

A short first visit to Invercargill

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

rowanb552 Couples - 04/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the IBIS Styles Invercargill. The hotel location is convenient and the hotel wasquiet as well as obviously popular. . The complimentary breakfast is a welcome point of difference for the self-reliant traveller.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and have many good things to say about us. We hope this leads to several more visits from your end. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Good value for groups of travellers

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MarmiteNZ Friends getaway - 01/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

Three bedroom flat option good for a few days with option to have more space by going to one of the two guest lounges. Convenient location at quiet end of town, close to airport, supermarkets and town centre. Average amenities and sometimes noisy neighbours balanced out by cleanliness and group pricing. Beds are comfortable.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We're glad that you were met with a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope this means that we will find you staying with us frequently. We look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

458john Business - 09/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

i did not mind the room itself as I was only staying for one night. It had all the basic essentials I needed for that short stay. Probably suitable for one or two individuals, and if you're only staying for a short time.

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Not the Ibis Styles I was expecting

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

MILJW002 Family - 25/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Generally we have had a great experience with the Accor hotels. Our first preference is the M Gallery chain, but when they’ve not been an option Ibis has still been good. Cheap and cheerful. I was a little disappointed when we arrived at the Ibis Styles Invercargill. After we checked in and made it to the room it had more of a converted backpackers feel than a hotel. Not the “cheerful” part if was hoping for. Invercargill was a halfway point between Dunedin and Queenstown, and our original plan was to stop here on the way. We decided to push on to Queenstown rather than stay here. The staff were friendly, but it had more of a backpackers feel, and wasn’t particularly relaxing.

Thank you for sharing your most constructive feedback regarding your recent visit . We are extremely concerned to read the areas of opportunity that your review has brought to our attention and sincerely apologize for your experience and not meeting your expectations. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance to us.Please allow me to assure you that I will investigate this occurrence and take up this feedback seriously with my entire team in regards to the lapse in service and the adequate training needs will be reiterated to the team. I am extremely disappointed at letting you and ourselves down. The standard of service experienced by you is definitely not the kind that we aspire to achieve.

Our Stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

24yogesht Couples - 12/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Unhappy with the parking charges. A customer staying in this hotel has to pay for parking, it is ridiculous. After parking in the basement you have to criss cross from a maize and scan key at multiple doors to reach your room. I met at least three other customers lost on the way. Elderly will have a nightmare.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. The concern which you raised have been noted and feedback will be shared with the management.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Expensive Backpackers

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jeffyoung2016 Couples - 31/01/2019 TripAdvisor review

Hotel needs to be upgraded. The weather was in the 30 degrees c. No AIR CONDITIONING. No bar or restaurant. Friendly staff. Expensive for what it is. Out of date decor. Cramped rooms. Mini bar offers little selection.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. The concern which you raised have been noted and feedback will be shared with the management.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Contented

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

173ruthw Couples - 24/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

Value for $ included breakfast for $1 dealContinental very adequate. Comfortable bed as per usual in Ibis hotelsRoom adequate for our need and cleanGaraging providedIn centre of townEast to come ang go once got the hang of the garaging

Dear Ruth W, Thank you for your feedback, I am please to see that you were happy with your stay with us.

More budget than apartment.....

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

rodgerthat73 Family - 15/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

First impressions were great central location.....room impression a bit dissappointed. Was marketed as a 2 bed apartment, but reality more hostel set up. It was clean and tidy and at $140 a night, the most competitive in Invercargill for our family of 4. Beds are built in to the wall, so you have to climb over the other person to get in and out, quite a tight space, but fine for a one night stay. Breakfast room opened 1 hour late (no explanation except, there hadbeen a problem? But breakfast was included in tariff and pretty standard for a continental breakfast. On colder days ring ahead and ask then to turn heating on, as room was very cold when we first arrived.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to see that you were happy with our central location, I do apologise regarding the breakfast room no being open on time, this was a staffing issue but has now been resolved.

Decent hotel with a few flaws.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

ChrisNZontheroad Couples - 08/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

Hotel was reasonably priced in a convenient location close to shops and cafes as well as main road. Staff were helpful and answered our questions. However both the noise and the room layout left a lot to be desired. Noise traveled throughout the floor whenever other guests entered the area so we were woken up multiple times throughout the night be others talking in the corridor and opening doors. The layout of the room was also a bit odd as they had jammed the bed up against a cupboard meaning one of us had a face in the cupboard all night with no bedside table easily accessible. There were multiple other places the cupboard could've gone so it seemed odd to put it right next to the bed. The overall room was clean, however the bathroom needed a bit of attention as the shower head looked old and dirty and the grouting was starting to look poor. Overall a decent place to stay.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our central location, Yes the layout of some of the rooms were not thought out well when this building was made into accommodation, we are however in the process of upgrading our property so moving the wardrobes is possibly something that we could look into.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor