ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 1,869 reviews

See on a map

Hotel extras

  • ALLSAFE Bureau Veritas certified hotel

  • In central Edinburgh with easy access to Edinburgh Castle

  • Facilities for disabled and public outdoor parking

  • Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

  • Hotel Bar & Restaurant with international cuisine

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Hotel location

ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

77 South Bridge
United Kingdom

GPS:55.948617, -3.186982

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
Near the property
  • Car park


Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

Our accommodation(s)

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  1,869 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  3,481 reviews

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Adventure802594 Couples - TripAdvisor review

Stayed at the Ibis 30th September to 2nd October 2022. Authorised check in online was fast and efficient. Room basic and very clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. Shower room small but clean and adequate soap and shampoo provided. Hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities provided along with tv. Bed comfortable and extra pillows provided. Breakfast is self service and very nice… full cooked breakfast as well as continental choices etc. Tea, coffee, chocolate and juices available. The staff are lovely and very helpful. They take an interest in your stay and what your up to. Staff can order you a taxi which arrives with in minutes. Taxis very efficient and reasonable price. Would recommend

Excellent location, not so great stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Sanjay B. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Our room air conditioner was making noise , we informed the front desk and it wasn’t resolved and we had to change to another room at 11 in the night . The breakfast spread had very few options for vegetarians and the items were not named so it became difficult to choose the food . Staff was satisfactory but can improve

Dear SANJAY b., I am very sorry to hear about your negative experience at our hotel. Unfortunately, our maintenance team is not 24 hours so we were not able to fix your air conditioning at that time. We are currently aiming to update our breakfast to have labels and more vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free options so thank you for your feedback and we will soon have that in place. Sincerely, Andrea

Restricted Access For Pets

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Claire Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Marketed as Pets Allowed, but upon arrival in the lounge / bar area I was informed that my very small, well behaved dog was Not welcome in the lounge, bar or restaurant area of this hotel, I was put in a corridor of the hotel with my small dog to eat my meal and drink my alcoholic beverage. I had booked this hotel because it was " Pet Friendly " and I was a solo female traveller and would have enjoyed speaking to fellow guests. I would NOT have booked this hotel if I had known that my dog would have to spend most of her stay shut in my bedroom. In my opinion this hotel should Remove " Pets Allowed " from its facilities provided if Dogs are NOT welcome in certain communal areas like the bar or lounge. Other than that the hotel was quite basic, the evening food offerings were bog standard Burgers, Pizza and other various what could only be described as takeaway offerings. Breakfast was a Self Service / Buffet Style offering, the Streaky Bacon was Very Overcooked on ALL 3 mornings I was there. It was a very chaotic system at breakfast with people aimlessly wandering around with plates of stuff and having to queue for the Coffee machine. The condiments were in those fiddly little plastic pouches which are a pain to open without scissors. The toasters were very slow in browning the bread. I didn't like all of the staff hovering waiting for you to put down any empty plates, bowls Etc. so they could whisk them away whilst I was still eating the rest of my meal, I felt rushed. It was not a relaxing experience. Personally for the price I paid I would have expected a table service type of breakfast, which would cut down on food waste. I would NOT recommend this hotel if you are thinking of bringing your DOG with you or if like me you were a SOLO Traveller.

Dear Claire U.,, I am very sorry to hear about your negative experience at our hotel. As you have an assistance dog, they are allowed with you everywhere around our hotel as you need them. I will make sure the bar staff know that what they did was wrong and provide them with the proper training. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast service as most people enjoy it hence why it is in place. Sincerely, Andrea

Great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were extremely helpful with our complicated travel plans. The room was bigger than we had expected and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Good stay and well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Reidar Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good service and nice staff

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 2,585 reviews 9.6/10 Location
  • 2,879 reviews 6.3/10 Room
  • 2,310 reviews 8.5/10 Service
  • 82 reviews 6.5/10 WiFi
  • 1,496 reviews 4.8/10 Comfort
  • 1,435 reviews 6.7/10 Cleanliness
  • 1,239 reviews 8.6/10 Breakfast
  • 606 reviews 6.9/10 Value

Powered by Trustyou

All our hotels in EDINBURGH