Information message

Mercure Bradford Bankfield Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 2,905 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Bradford Bankfield Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Within walking distance of the tranquil River Aire

  • 19th century gothic mansion with original features

  • Regularly holds Asian weddings for up to 300 guests

  • Five miles from the famous Haworth & Bronte Parsonage Museum

Hotel location

Mercure Bradford Bankfield Hotel

Bradford Road
West Yorkshire
BD16 1TU bingley
united kingdom

Tel: +4401274211012

Fax: (+44)01612342819

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LEEDS BRADFORD At 15.29km / 9.5 miles

  • By train

    BINGLEY At 2.57km / 1.6 miles

GPS :53.834417, -1.815748

Hotel services

THE BRASSERIE

You can really unwind in The Brasserie. Whether you are meeting for a chat over coffee or looking for an informal bite to eat, this individually styled restaurant offers a wide selection of internationally inspired dishes.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 9 Meeting rooms
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 103 rooms
    • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • No family room
    • No connecting room
    • 103 non-smoking rooms
    • 3 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Lounge
    • Waiting area or lounge
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Umbrellas
    • Plugs and converters available on desks
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
Access to property
  • Hotel Parking for up to 300 cars
    • On site

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Rooms at the front of the hotel have garden views and there are interconnecting rooms for families.In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newsp aper, robe and slippers.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 233

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bradford Bankfield Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

2,905 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,045 reviews

Fab breakfast.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

John L. Friends - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyable stay, knowledgeable staff and clean rooms. Excellent breakfast.

Below Average

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Mark R. Couples - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had booked my room through booking.com. The automated resposnse requested that I contact the hotel to book a meal in the brasserie if I wanted and I should book for breakfast. I had called the hotel at least 20 times and not once was my phonecall answered. I was directed to info@ email and sent three emails (all which received an acknowldegment) requesting my booking and a confirmation in means of a reply. I sent two other messages on the booking.com website. I did not receive a single response. There's no single excuse for not taking five seconds to write a three word email and click a button. This caused unnecessary anxiety before what should be a stress free hotel break. The girl behind the bar would disappear for periods at a time leaving customers questioning her absence. We ate, whilst our food came out in good time, and was nice (it wasn't my first choice though), one customer complained about her food and got a full replacement - nearly an hour later, and another customer cancelled his order after waiting too long. You are definitley understaffed but insist on charging full price for reduced service. Apparently the hotel night porter was checking the amount of wine I had purchased and had refused my partner a bottle of wine to take to her room, as we were not drunk nor acting in any antisocial manner, I find it hard to think why he thought it was any of his business. And £10 for a glass of wine is the most i've paid outside of London. Overall disappointing. But the rooms were clean, the breakfast was one of the best I'd eaten, and the morning staff lovely, but unfortunately by then my mind was already made up. We won't be back.

Needs investment

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Jp Couples - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The entrance was the best part. Impressive oak staircase. The Room stank of stale smoke, the bathrooms are tired and falling apart with bodge it and leg it adjustments, windows that might as well not open, paper thin walls. Nothing was open until after 6pm, staff were rude on check in, they made breakfast choices difficult so lost business as it was easier to say no.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Kathy S. Couples - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great value, big room, comfy bed, lovely breakfast, NO HOT WATER in the morning hence the 6, would have been a 10 otherwise. Did complain and reception told us they too thought it unacceptable but offered no compensation.

Virtually no staff. Hotel should be closed until staffed prooerly

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Damien F. Couples - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Long waits for everything. Room service and bar service took for ever. Miserable atmosphere and staff struggling to cope

Friendly, helpful staff added a positive element to what would have been a negative experience.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Patricia Friends - 19/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This hotel is well past its best. It’s shabby and in need of a complete makeover

No immediate response from Mr Edwards asinsufficent room to quote full email in box below.

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Linda H. Families - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

For the personal attention of Mr Blair Edwards We are very careful in our choice of hotels relying very much on their website info. On this occasion we had to balance both location andfacilities. Your hotel seemed the best fit. Unfortunately, things did not turn out as expected and our disappointment was such that we decided to leave the day before our leaving date booked. This decision was not made lightly. we felt another day would cause more distress. We did discuss staff members, initially with a gentleman whom I gathered was the Operations manager and more comprehensively with a lady who was O.I.C. at the time we left. The person we believed to be the operations manager with whom we initially discussed the situation and sought a cancellation for the third night seemed to think Covid was a let out for any deficiencies but did say he understood the situation but was unable to authorise a cancellation but went on to indicate that he believed you would sort things out for us. The lady named Wendy turned out to be a staff member who would be sorely missed if she left the company. Clearly, she had responsibilities in a number of areas, was clearly overworked but was coping magnificently. She understood our situation and was so sorry she could do nothing more. She too gave us your email address.

Shower cold, had to wait over an hour to check in

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Andy Business - 18/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Shower was cold. Freezing cold, maintenance fobbed me off. Waited an hour for early checkin and paid £20 extra. Not really great, but given the price of the room, shouldn’t be surprised

Customer review rating 3.0/5

B W. Couples - 16/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception ok room ok bar over priced breakfast was nice evening meal was rubbish and over priced several items in our meal was missing chef should have known what was on the menus and not left parts of the meal out if stay again will eat somewhere else

Return after lockdowns

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bry H. Families - 14/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our regular overnight stay when looking after grandchildren nearby

THANKS FOR ANOTHER GREAT STAY!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Christine Couples - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stay quite regularly at Bankfield. Your staff are always pleasant and helpful and we are particularly appreciative of the free drink vouchers you provide for us as gift for us choosing to stay with you.

Well located, bathroom not clean

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mark E. Business - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall I was very pleased with my stay, everything as expected apart from following. Bathroom not cleaned, greated by Poo in the toilet. The check in process is quite lengthy compared to other hotels.

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sean Solo - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only stayed one night, the room was clean and tidy and the hotel was in a nice location.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Friends - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay for a friends wedding at a different location. Hotel needs modernising but overall was a pleasant stay.

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mrs. S. F. Families - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were there for my brother's 70th birthday at the Rugby club so the location was excellent. We were given a second room after the first one was very small. The staff were really helpful and pleasant.

Poor sleep & terrible booking experience

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Matthew W. Friends - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We blocked booked circa 20 rooms for a wedding (the wedding was held offsite). The booking experience was appalling - the rooms weren’t booked despite me having confirmation they were, the signed contract was lost twice at Mecures end - both when I posted and emailed in. The so called operation manager never called back to confirm details after promising he would - not just one occasion, but several, meaning countless calls from me to chase up. Staff had no idea what was going when I called to make queries re our booking. As the hotel was the only one in the area to accommodate our party size - if there was an alternative I would never stay with the Mecure (Bankfield Bingley). Then to top it off, the room wasn’t clean when we stayed

Good for the cost

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Andrew Business - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff friendly and helpful.

NOT RECOMMENDED!!

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Andrew F 20/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Have stayed here before and aware its TA reviews are poor, I have always found the rooms clean and comfy for the price, even if the rest of the hotel was a little shabby.. After my last visit I will not be coming back.. After collecting keys etc, went to the room to find the toilet was broken. It would not flush and the pump ran continuedly, the radiator was on full and the thermostat control had been removed, so no way to regulate the heat! I returned to reception to ask for a change of room, to be told the hotel was full, they had no more rooms available and the issues in the room were very minor!! The receptionist had no answers to resolve the situation and appeared to be uninterested in anything apart from getting agitated by the que building behind me in the reception area. I asked to speak to senior management and was given the stock answer "Sorry no one is available" When I realised he was both uninterested and oblivious to my request for a room change. I asked for a refund to my card, which I was assured would be processed in 48 hours .5 days on, still NO refund. Thankfully after a I made a few calls the Ibis Shipley ( Same company as Mercure Bradford. Accor hotel group ) a few miles down the road were extremely welcoming and apologetic over the the way we were treated at their partner hotel and for a similar price has a wonderful evening in a much better equipped and more welcoming hotel.

Definitely improving

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

williambb54 Solo travel - 06/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, I know that some of the facilities are tired, the building is old. That said, on my last visit, I found a real warmth about the hotel which made me feel very welcome.

Thank you for your kind review from your stay with us. It is always nice to have a retuning guest see the hotel in the light we try to portray it, we hopefully make our guest feel warm when they enter into the hotel with our Yorkshire hospitality

Great upgrade

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

19Christine49 Couples - 31/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

We stay at the Bankfield fairly regularly when visiting family. We normally book a basic room (which is perfectly good for a short stay) and would just like to say 'thank you' to the staff for upgrading our room on the occasions when the hotel isn't too busy! Much appreciated!.

Thank you for your review from your stay. It was very pleasant to read your review, I am glad you took the upgrade which was offered to you, we do like to read such nice reviews. We hope to see you soon when you are next in the area for your family visit

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bingley