ALLSAFE approved hotel
An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel
On-site swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa and gym facilities
Bolton town centre is located just 5 miles away
Located within 1.5 miles of the University of Bolton Stadium and Horwich Parkway station.
Nine function rooms for up to 300 guests
Page out of
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Manchester Road, Blackrod
BL6 5RU BOLTON
Access and transport
Page out of
Access: 2.74 km / 1.7 mi 25 min walk / 4 min drive
HORWICH PARKWAY STN
Access: 2.74 km / 1.7 mi 4 min drive
Check-in from - Check out up to
- Swimming pool
- Car park
- Wheelchair accessible
- Fitness center
- Meeting rooms
- 100% Non Smoking Property
- Room service
The Brasserie Restaurant offers traditional and internationally inspired cuisine, delicious desserts and a selection of fine wines to complement your meal in a relaxed atmosphere for an enjoyable dining experience.
Our guest reviews
Our guest reviews
100% genuine reviews from our guestsFind out more
Dated building, forget the pool, but staff are the best!
TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5
CADLondon Business - TripAdvisor review
I’ve reluctantly rated this average because of the building. It’s a large hotel desperately in need of refurbishing. Old worn carpets and scuffed walls and doors everywhere. A rather stark bar area - no comfortable sofas other than in a narrow corridor facing the lavatories. Pool not suitable for hotel residents - classes for children always taking place and are very noisy. Had to duck floats and various other swimming toys when trying to have relaxing swim. It’s a community pool and shouldn’t be advertised for residents. Pool itself is a good size. Changing rooms are dire. Now on the plus side; the suites are okay - small but adequate sitting area and nice shower room. Breakfast room is fine. Bedrooms vary - but need an upgrade. The great thing that makes me want to return are the excellent staff. Jimmy sorted out a problem with my room printout and efficiently and compensated me with a glass of wine while I was waiting. Reception staff were very good - Claire in particular - and sorted out a complicated booking. Lydia at breakfast was so helpful and friendly, Irene who works in the bar during the day is the loveliest lady who will do whatever she can to help. And I can’t forget ‘Bovril’ who seems to be everywhere. Message to the owners - you have a great staff team, the best, spend some money and give them an hotel to be proud to work in. Message to fellow travellers and Accor members - come here - it’s decent value - and the staff are great,
Not a bad hotel but not great either
Customer review rating 3.0/5
Steven J. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL
We had a 3rd floor room (884) which was quite dated, small and although was a non smoking room had a slight smell which indicated it wasn't always a non smoking room. The radiator made a load of noise, because it was full of air (so we turned it off) and the shower valve was very stiff so the shower was a bit lack lustre with the amount of water it dispensed. On the plus side was it was clean, had a reasonable amount of storage and the bed very comfortable. We know from our friends that some of the rooms were better appointed, likely recently refurbished and were more spacious. The big plus for this hotel were the staff. They were all very helpful, very polite and considerate. The breakfast and dinner menus were great and the quality good too. Didn't use the leisure / spa facilities. Has loads of car parking. Good location for getting around to Bolton/Wigan area by car.
Dear Steven J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 2.0/5
Brendon S. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL
stayed in room 667 - no sign on the door and door didnt close easily. Despite pictures on the website, the hotel (room & gym) look old, tired. Areas of lifts, gym had holes in walls. Room for breakfast was extremely hot during my stay 21/11. Not sure if this was normal or not given a choice, i wouldnt rush back and certainly wouldn't recommend in its current state
Dear Brendon s., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5
Garfield123456 Business - TripAdvisor review
Friendly staff. Decent sized car park. Comfortable bed. Large room but so dated. Vintage bathroom, misfitting carpet, tatty decor, old wooden wardrobes and cupboards, no power sockets near the bed for phones etc. Please see the attached photos.
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you felt the room you stayed in was dated. Lovely however to see that your room was a good size, the car park was a good size and the staff were nice and friendly.
TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5
Amanda B TripAdvisor review
We travelled here as a group and have to say we received amazing service from check-in to check out. The hotel rooms are dated but clean and welcoming, sheet and pillow clean and changed daily, the breakfast was good and nice selection, staff were all very accommodating and friendly. The bar area is comfortable and good food served ,, the bar staff we friendly and helpful for our group booking arriving at different time. Would recommend staying here.
Great to see your recent review thank you for taking the time to provide this here on trip advisor. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of you returning sometime again in the not so distant future.
In partnership with TripAdvisor
Our other establishments nearby
Page out of
Novotel Manchester West 3 stars
Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 (1188 reviews)
At 14.306 km
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays 2 stars
Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.9/5 (2089 reviews)
At 21.868 km
Novotel Manchester Centre 4 stars
Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 (1655 reviews)
At 23.818 km
ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street 3 stars
TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 (2190 reviews)
At 23.833 km
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4 stars
Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.5/5 (1297 reviews)
At 23.898 km