Novotel London Blackfriars Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 3,179 reviews
Novotel London Blackfriars
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Southbank location, perfect for culture and dining venues

  • 15-minute walk to St. Paul's, Tate Modern and the London Eye

  • 182 modern guest rooms and 10 disabled accessible rooms

  • Fully equipped meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi

  • Indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and fitness centre

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PMPaying
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel London Blackfriars

46 Blackfriars Road
SE1 8NZ
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442076600834

Fax: (+44)2076332650

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • LONDON BLACKFRIARS :   CIRCLE& DISTRICT BLACKFRIARS

  • SOUTHWARK STATION :   JUBILEE SOUTHWARK

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 30.1km / 18.7 miles

  • By train

    LONDON BLACKFRIARS At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

  • By train

    LONDON WATERLOO At 0km / 0 miles

GPS :51.505157, -0.104709

Our accommodations

The hotel is fully equipped with new-generation Novotel rooms. 100% innovation: a glass screen, which becomes transparent or opaque at the touch of a button, separates the room from the bathroom. Novotel offers you eco-friendly welcome products.

Superior Premium Room with Queen bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior Premium Room with Queen bed and single convertible sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 24
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior Premium Room with 1 Queen-size bed and 2 single sofa beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 24
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Executive Premium Room with Queen size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 24
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive Premium Room with Queen size bed andprivate balcony

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 26
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive suite with King size bed and 2 single sofa beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 35
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Our restaurants and bars

JAMBOREE FOODFEST & BAR

Type of cuisine: International

Take your taste buds on a flavour journey with the Jamboree Foodfest menu. Take on the Raging Bull, dance with The Jerk or have a fling with the Morris Major. Enjoy a laid-back vibe

Lunch

12:00 - 16:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

16:00 - 22:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Jamboree Foodfest & Bar

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Make the Jamboree Foodfest & Bar your new hangout and add a little 'jambo' and dash of 'ree' to your day, with the great selection of craft beers, classic cocktails and a delicious food menu available.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 84

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 50 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel London Blackfriars

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

12,992 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

3,179 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Jenni amos

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

jsamos59 Family - 15/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Great hotel and location would highly recommended ,room had great views of the shard easy walking distance to burrow market Covent Garden London eye Imperial war museum also nice and easy for Blackfriars train station

A short buisness trip

Customer review rating 4.5/5

D L. Business - 14/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay was fine, great check in and check out, room clean and tidy. Gym very small and too busy which was disappointing.

Dear David L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I apologise for the inconveniences of the Fitness area, I shall be sure to pass on your comments to the team to strive for further improvement. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager

Convenient location, nice hotel room, good breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Karen Families - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed in London for a party, this hotel was convenient, close to the tube and the river. Our bedroom was very nice, good decor in both the bedroom and the bathroom. We seemed to have a room fitted for special needs as everything was wheelchair friendly - the only problem was the shower didn't work, only the handset (why?) We had a good breakfast, all staff were friendly.

Dear David G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I apologise for the issues you encountered with the shower, i shall be sure to pass on the comments to ensure that this is prevented in the near future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager

Relaxing and fun

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Conor Families - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was as advertised, welcoming and relaxing. The children loved the pool and breakfast!

Dear Mr. M., Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at Novotel London Blackfriars. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our amenities here at the hotel. I will be sure to pass on the positive comments to the team, We look forward to welcoming you again shortly (: Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kk Solo - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were friendly when checking in and explained the hotel facilities, gym, restaurant etc. Food at the restaurant was of good quality and plenty to choose from. Hotel room was very clean, and the hotel was quiet during the night time.

Dear Ms. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will be sure to share your positive comments with our team. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager

Nice hotel, good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Si Couples - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very well located, really good spa and very good check in. Only let down was the lack of room service availability (at midnight, which was a very simple request)

Dear Simon G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am delighted to share your comments with the team and I will ensure that i pass on the comments regarding lack of room service in order to strive for further improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Babaye Traore- Guest Services Manager

Great value, great service, great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sumi H. Families - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

From the moment we checked in, the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had two complimentary drink vouchers and the bartender was amazing. Right next to a subway station which made our visit smooth and hassle free.

Dear Abdelsalam H., Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Please feel free to post your comments on : tripadvisor.com/35… To tell others about your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Would come again.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nikky Couples - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. I loved that it was close to the underground. We’d definitely consider booking again on our next trip.

Dear Andy H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Very good attentive staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Karen Couples - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good attentive staff. Very welcoming. Lovely room, but let down by cheap awful pillows which meant we did not have a very good night’s sleep.

Dear Karen C., Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I was delighted to read that you had a good stay with us, and you found our staff to be attentive and welcoming. I will make sure to share your feedback with our entire team. I do apologies if you have found your pillows uncomfortable, we also provide different type of pillows, upon request following your preferences. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We hope to have the chance of welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Perfect City Break

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jon Families - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed a couple of nights great hotel great location and great staff

Dear Jillian D., Thank you very much for your TOP reviews following your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Your recognition is the best reward for our hotel and we are most grateful for your recommendation. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Comfortable but understaffed

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jenna M. Couples - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I feel the area needing improvement is the staffing. From the moment we arrived (11:30) there was only 1 person on reception for 10 minutes with a line of at least 4. This seemed strange to me considering this would be one of the busiest times due to check out and then early arrivers like myself. I jut wanted to drop my luggage which was no hassle but again this took at least 20 minutes due to the lack of reception staff available. Once we have our luggage we went to the bar to have a drink and it was covered in leftover breakfast goers. There was not 1 table nor bar stool available because clearly breakfast had gotten away from the staff. I then got quite surprised when I saw about 4 staff members in the restaurant which the Buffet breakfast was actually held cleaning up all those tables (of a closed restaurant) yet not 1 person (even no bartender) was cleaning the bar. This being the main area of the hotel that would be used at all times throughout the day I would think this area would be a priority in comparison to a restaurant that won’t be used again until maybe lunch or even dinner. We sat at the bar for 20 minutes, a worker walked into the bar area didn’t even make eye contact and walked straight back out after they got what they needed. Again not great, as she was clearly in a hurry to clean the empty restaurant. When we came back to actually check in the gentleman that served us upgraded us to a balcony which was a lovely gesture, the room was spacious and comfortable with all the modern facilities expected of the hotels statue. The staff that brought the room service and dry cleaning were lovely and professional and came promptly. Over all the stay was good but the lack of enough staff at such a busy time of year does concern me if I thought about staying again

Dear Jenna M., Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I was delighted to read that you had a comfortable visit. I am sorry to hear that you left the hotel with the feeling that we were understaffed, Please accept our apologies for the delay at your arrival. I appreciate your sharing and I have already reviewed each point you mentioned with the departments concerned. If we will need more staff, rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I have also share your review with our Food and Beverage Manager, for the experience that you had in our Restaurant, to look into it for an internal follow up. Rest assured that this is not indicative of our usual standards and accept my apologies for the inconvenience. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Novotel London Blackfriars to restore your faith in the service we provide. Do not hesitate to send me a direct email, if you are planning to visit our city, I will personally look after your reservation. Kind regards, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

frustrating

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bob Business - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

check in was painfully slow. there was a queue checking in before me, but no-one was manning the priority check-in. i had to wait for a large party to check in individually rather than being able to use a priority check-in lane, and as a gold member this wasn't a great experience. once i checked in, i had to ask for my drink voucher and while this is usually prepared in advance was nowhere to be seen in the box of vouchers so i had to wait again for this to be sorted. i was however upgraded into a better room as per my status so this was appreciated. however in the room there was no welcome gift which i usually receive from this hotel (2 nice chocolates) which would have been nice. also the coffee machine had 3 decaf capsules and only 1 normal coffee capsule which was less than idea for someone who appreciates the nespresso machines. finally when arriving back to the hotel to claim my drink the member of staff at the bar didn't know what to do with my drink voucher and was trying to tell me he couldn't accept it as he didn't know what it was. luckily another member of the bar staff just leaving her shift was able to assist - but again delays and frustrations. and then my personal pet peeve with this hotel - the iron being tethered to the board with the coil. no-one in an executive room or suite is going to steal an iron. these tethers make the iron so hard to use. i am going to start cutting these tethers off soon. the novotel a 2 min walk away at london bridge doesn't deem it necessary - nor does the mecure (another accor hotel) - please remove them! so overall - room great - services a shambles.

Dear Timothy P., Further to your recent stay at the Novotel Blackfriars, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I do apologies if you have left our hotel with a frustrating feeling. I have been extremely sensible to the various inconsistencies you encountered during your visit this week. Please rest assured that I have already reviewed each point that you mentioned with the different departments. Regarding the welcome drink and the missing chocolate I do apologies as well, I will internally follow up with the team. For the special amenities in the room, we are trying to change the sweets for our member every week, chocolate, or jelly beans or mint. For the iron attach to the board, this is a standard of our hotel, and unfortunately this is a process that we are not planning to remove. Otherwise, I can offer you another solution, for your future visit, it’s to request a separate iron at the desk, we will be more than happy to provide you one. I value greatly your feedback as it is the only way we can truly improve our Services. Do not hesitate to send me a direct email before your future visit at h7…, I will personally look after you and your stay with us from the check in until the departure. I do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to restore your faith in the service we provide. Kind regards, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Good position and nice restaurant staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

tommyli2019 Family - 09/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is located very near the subway station and has a nice swimmingpool. I got a room upgrade to higher floor and the room has very good view to the city. The staff in the breakfast restaurant is very friendly especially the Alina, who is very kind to every kid in the restaurant. She is not local britisch people, but she offers the best service to the guests. The reason why I gave one point less is, the washroom is quite clean and nice, however it is easy to get smelly after shower and using of the washbasin. But I have to be honest, it is not fault of the hotel, the people have tried their best to keep it so good as possible. Maybe it is better to upgrade it in the future.

fast Check in and Check out

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

ijoyhatta Business - 09/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

All was perfect!!. Location was near the station. Unfortunately you have to upgrade the housekeeping skill.. they make up my room, but leave the bathrobe not tidy and unfolded on the bed..why? The Restaurant was excellent! the staff was so welcoming. The facility was good! theres a amazing sauna and pool!!Love it!!

Dear ijoyhatta, Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. We are truly flattered and grateful for your glowing praise following your very recent stay with us. I will make sure to share your feedback with our entire team! Regarding the bathrobe not tidy and unfolded, I do apologies for the inconvenience. Rest assured that I have already reviewed the point with the department concerned. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the very near future. Sincerely, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

back to our first love

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Eric Couples - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

more than pleasant

Dear Eric M., Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. We are truly flattered and grateful for your glowing praise following your very recent stay with us. I will make sure to share your feedback with our entire team! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the very near future. Sincerely, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Good access and location

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

jason123452015 Family - 08/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Really good hotel and room in terms of location, ease to get there by train and value. Pre arrival I was bombarded by emails asking for any requests and to check in online. Complete waste of time as asked for slightly earlier check in (1:30pm as opposed to 2pm). Arrive at 1:40 but room not available (not a problem as we were early), waited until 2pm (Check in time) but still not ready. Received a text at 2:15pm whilst chasing reception, to say my room and key was ready to collect at 2pm but still not available. Had to wait until 2:30pm to finally access the room Did surprise us with birthday card and treats In the room whilst out for the day which was over and above - thanks Would use again but don’t bother checking in online

Dear jason123452015, Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I was delighted to read that you had a good stay with us. We do apologies for the inconvenience that you had with the online check in. We will look into it for a better improvement. We value greatly your feedback as it is the only way we can truly improve our offering. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Novotel London Blackfriars to restore your faith in the Service we provide. Kind regards, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Ok

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Karen Families - 07/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was quite good. Bed comfy although sofa beds less so. Pillows very soft. Bathroom light illuminated entire room which wasn’t ideal when travelling with children. Reception service good. Breakfast nice but service atrocious.

Dear Karen C., Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I was delighted to read that you found our room quite good and our bed to be comfy. Regarding the pillow, the bathroom lighting and the breakfast service, we will look into all the points mentioned for a better improvement. I will make sure to share your feedback with the reception team. Thanks for sharing your feedback, i hope we will have another chance to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Y. C. Families - 07/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location, clean and friendly staffs.

Dear Yuen Chong L., Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Please feel free to post your comments on : tripadvisor.com/35… To tell others about your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Babaye Traore - Guest Services Manager.

Disappointing stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Allyson P. Families - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately from the time we walked i until the time we left, we were disappointed. Upon arrival, the front lobby was so packed, you could barely get in the door. There were only two people working to check people in. It was total chaos. When we finally got to the front to check in, we were actually upgraded which we thought was fantastic. Unbeknownst To us, this hotel allows pets on the executive floor. We had a yapping dog next door to us all night. Typically in America the pet friendly hotels only allow pets on the first floor only. So that was disappointing. The shower water would only get to lukewarm at best. And to top it off, we decided to eat at the restaurant downstairs since we were all very hungry. We literally had to order our pizza 4 times. FOUR TIMES before we actually got it. Fortunately we were only there one night. For a 4 1/2 star hotel, it was quite disappointing. Would I stay her again if I’m ever back in town? The answer is absolutely not.

Dear Allyson P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Vanessa Torres Front Office Manager

?

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall the hotel was delightful but our group's rooms were supposed to be twins and we were all put in doubles. Whether the fault lay with our staff making the booking or the hotel is unclear but it was incredibly difficult to try and resolve the situation resulting in a great deal of unnecessary frustration

Dear Mrs Ridley and Mrs Firth, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Vanessa Torres Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london