Information message

The Savoy 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.7/5 7,990 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
The Savoy
See on a map
+ 17 Services

Hotel extras

  • Labelled ALLSAFE

  • A landmark hotel in London's city center, on t he banks of the River Thames

  • Iconic culinary experiences, including High Tea and meals in historic venues

  • Beauty & Fitness, a haven with a spa, indoor pool and two gym areas

  • Savoy butlers for guests, including pets, staying in the suites

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on request
  • Boat excursions Paying
  • Bicycles rental (nearby) Paying
Catering
  • 3 Restaurant(s)
  • 3 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 11 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available Paying

Hotel location

The Savoy

Strand
WC2R 0EZ london
united kingdom

Tel: +4402078364343

Fax: (+44)02072406040

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY AIRPORT At 14.48km / 9 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK AIRPORT  At 48.28km / 30 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW AIRPORT At 40.23km / 25 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON LUTON AIRPORT At 80.47km / 50 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON STANSTED AIRPORT  At 88.51km / 55 miles

GPS :51.510401, -0.120182

Our accommodation(s)

The Savoy offers 267 beautifully restored guest rooms in either Edwardian or Art Deco style. Many accommodations feature views of the River Thames and other iconic London landmarks. For dedicated butler service, choose one of the 67 lavish suites.

Our restaurants and bars

Savoy Grill

Type of cuisine: Regional

Savoy Grill by Gordon Ramsay is without doubt one of London's most legendary restaurants with a plethora of menus to choose from, reviving recipes from the original Chef's days in the kitchen back in 1889.

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday Closed

Thames Foyer

Type of cuisine: Cafe

Famous around the world for its Afternoon Tea, the Thames Foyer at The Savoy also plays host to a delectable breakfast.

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Simpson's in the Strand

Type of cuisine: Regional

Having undergone restoration in 2017 to bring this Grade II listed building back to its former glory, Simpson's in the Strand now features a reimagined Bill of Fare that brings the classic British cuisine, for which it has become so well-loved.

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

The bar at Simpson's

The bar at Simpson's in the Strand, located on the first floor of Simpson's in the Strand, is an elegant and chic spot where to sink a cocktail and enjoy an exciting gin menu that celebrates the quirks and characteristics of the best of British culture.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

Beaufort Bar

The Beaufort Bar provides a theatrical, art deco setting in which to enjoy cocktails that push the boundaries. The award-winning team has created a menu designed to intrigue and excite guests with each drink listed entirely unique to Beaufort Bar.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

American Bar

The American Bar is the longest surviving cocktail bar in London and one of the most renowned in the world; serving classics with a twist, new and vintage creations and legendary bartender's signature drinks.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 11

  • Maximum size: 476

  • Maximum capacity: 800 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 380 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
The Savoy

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.7/5

7,990 reviews

Outstanding service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Stephen Couples - 29/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a wonderful time - great room, birthday treats, breakfast in the room and afternoon tea. The service was incredible at all points.

Dear Stephen, Thank you for choosing The Savoy for the birthday celebrations and for taking the time to complete a guest satisfaction survey, following your stay. It was our pleasure to help you mark the special occasion and we are happy to hear how much you enjoyed all the services. Your experiences will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. We hope you will both have another opportunity in the near future to come back and see us again. Please let us know, in the meantime, if we can be of any assistance. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Celebrating hubby’s 50th birthday

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mr A. M. S. Couples - 28/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay in the savoy hotel side, hotel/room/staff lovely, booked savoy grill which the food was amazing unlike the service absolutely shocking. We felt very neglected especially as this was a special treat. Kept waiting for our table for half hr to then when we eventually were seated waited further 20 minutes to be asked if we wanted a drink. Ordered bottle of wine to end up pouring it ourselves. Mr Ramsay was filming upstairs and we felt his staff took there eye off the ball for us normal folk. Was nice to get a glimpse of the man himself the next day. We’ve put a complaint in to the restaurant and have still had no apologie. Shame because the hotel side where amazing.

Dear Nanette, Thank you for choosing The Savoy for your husband's very special birthday celebrations. We are truly delighted to hear how much you both enjoyed your room and greatly appreciate your kind comments about the high standards of cleanliness, which will be shared with the housekeeping team. We are very sorry, however, to hear about your Savoy Grill dining experience and that you are yet to hear from their management team. As this restaurant is not managed by the hotel, your feedback was passed on and a further reminder of your correspondence has been forwarded again today. I feel sure they will be in contact with you very soon, as they will wish to try to make amends. Thank you for your patience in the meantime. We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your husband to The Savoy again in the future. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Excellent experience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Linda W. Families - 28/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I haven't stayed at The Savoy before and we really enjoyed our stay. The highlight was Michael the doorman who was fantastic and so helpful and friendly for the whole visit. He really made the experience special including arranging for us to use the Rolls Royce to travel to the evenings venue.

Dear Linda W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at The Savoy. It was our great pleasure to have you back with us again. Indeed, it is wonderful to be open again after all these months. Please be assured your amazing compliments of Michael will be shared with him and his manager; we are very proud to have Michael on the team and he will be thrilled to have been mentioned in this way for his kind assistance. We have also noted your feedback about the sauce on the poached egg. We will have our executive chef quality taste this dish. We are sorry it was not to your liking. Thank you for sharing your experience in this positive way and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for your next visit. Please feel free to let us know, at any time, if we can be of any assistance. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Service a bit disappointing for a grand hotel

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Dean Couples - 28/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I would like to preface this by saying I understand how hard re-opening is with Covid still lingering, but with the American Bar closed & the River Terrace full of afternoon tea goers, there wasn’t much space for residents . There did not seem enough staff in the Reading Room or for room service. We pointed out a couple of faults in the room (holes in curtain & damaged chandelier) and had a complimentary pot of tea, but the faults were not rectified. Breakfast Service in the Grill was extremely slow and fruit salad which took 45 minutes to arrive was supposed to be taken off the bill, but wasn’t

Dear Dean K., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your stay at The Savoy. Your detailed feedback and additional thoughts are greatly appreciated and have been shared with the management team. We are so very sorry you returned home feeling less than satisfied with your Savoy experience and we agree that you didn’t see us at our best. It is the case that the American Bar is currently closed, but we hope to reopen this venue very soon. The Thames Foyer is always very busy with afternoon tea service after midday and we understand at certain times of the day, prior to the opening of Solas and our Beaufort Bar that aside from in-room dining is it a little hard to find somewhere to relax and enjoy some refreshments in the hotel. You will be pleased to know, as a result of your comments we have upgraded the service in the resident’s only lounge. We are embarrassed to learn your room was allocated to you with damaged curtains and missing crystals on the chandelier. The housekeeping team had hoped to replace these items without inconveniencing you, but this unfortunately wasn’t possible in the end for the work that needed to be done. It is important that our guest rooms are in perfect condition prior to a guest’s arrival and we are very sorry this standard was not met on this occasion. We have been in touch with the Savoy Grill management team to make sure the fruit salad is refunded to your bill. We have been advised that this will be done either today or tomorrow. They asked that we pass on their sincere apologies for the slow service and oversight on the bill. Thank you again for sharing your experience in this way and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you both again to The Savoy, in the near future, when we feel sure you will find our services and attention to the details of the room much improved. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Not impressed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Dawn B. Couples - 28/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were not happy with our stay , not happy with the afternoon tea, got the order wrong for the tea 3 times , my breakfast was cold and was not eaten , has put me off staying again

Dear Dawn B., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Savoy. We are so very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. There is no wonder you were not impressed with your stay when your order was incorrect so many times and your breakfast was inedible. There were serious lapses in our standards, which unacceptable and we offer our sincere apologies. When you stay at the Savoy you expect the highest levels of an attentive and personalised service, which is seamless, consistent and professional. We take all guest feedback seriously and your comments have been passed to the Thames Foyer Manager and kitchen team for urgent follow up. There is clearly a need for focus around accuracy and training for the colleagues which will be our continued aim in these areas. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, when we feel sure you will find our services much improved. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to The Savoy, in the near future. If we can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please let us know. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Andrew Couples - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very easy great service

Dear Andrew, How kind of you to take the time to respond to a survey request, following your recent stay at The Savoy. Your wonderful compliments of the service will be shared with the team to enjoy, thank you. We hope you will both have another opportunity to come back and see us all again soon and please let us know, in the meantime, if we can be of any assistance. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Fabulous Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Corin B. Friends - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My brother held his wedding at the hotel. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the customer care was second to none. The room was lovely, the food amazing and the staff went above and beyond to keep the entire wedding part happy. Thank you all for making my brother’s wedding such a special day

Dear Corin B, Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback on one of our guest satisfaction surveys, following your recent stay at The Savoy, for your brother's wedding. It was our great pleasure to welcome you, your family and friends for this very special occasion and is it wonderful to hear that all went smoothly. Your kind appreciation of the services you received will be shared all the colleagues involved in helping to create so many happy memories. Thank you for sharing your experiences in this amazing way and we hope there will be another opportunity, in the future, to welcome you all again. In the meantime, we send the happy couple every good wish for their future together. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Timothy A. Couples - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a great experience. Excellent service.

Dear Timothy A., How kind of you to take the time to leave your positive feedback on one of our guest satisfaction surveys, following your recent stay at The Savoy. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to warmly welcome you both again in the near future. If we can be of any assistance with future reservations or other bookings, please feel free to let us know at any time. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Birthday Celebration

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sarita R. Families - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was our second stay within 2 months. Excellent location, Very friendly staff. Our room were upgraded to junior suite and our booking were handled in a very professional manner. Fabulous breakfast, staff will go out of their way to make sure that guests are happy and comfortable. I was very happy that I chose savoy hotel for my birthday celebration.

Dear Sarita, I was so very happy to read your survey response and wish to thank you for your wonderful comments. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family back to The Savoy and I'm delighted you returned home with some great memories of your birthday celebrations with us. Your compliments of the service you received are greatly valued and appreciated and will the shared with all those colleagues who looked after you so well. Thank you once again for taking the time to complete the survey and for sharing your experiences in this way. I hope you and your family will have another opportunity in the future to return to The Savoy. If I can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please let me know. With warmest regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Extremely poor

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Mr I. Couples - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a bad experience 10 years ago at the Savoy and since then have stayed when in London at The Ritz.But i said to my wife we should try The Savoy again.So we did.It was not a good expeience.The service was poor the food at the outside resturant was extremely poor and the breakfast service and actual breakfast was very poor.Not the sort of experience you should expect when staying at such a hotel.

Dear Mr I., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Savoy. We are so very sorry to hear that you booked another stay, despite your previous experience, and we regrettably failed to meet your expectations for a second time. It is no wonder that you would give us a low score. The strength of feeling about your dining experiences is clear. We do, however, wish to thank you for the good scores against your check in and accommodation experiences. Your feedback about the food and service was immediately passed to our Director of Food & Beverage and our Executive Chef for urgent review, particularly of the Chicken Caesar Salad. It is very important that we take all guest comments seriously, as it is the only way we can continue to monitor and so improve the services we provide. So thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Mr I., we would certainly understand if you decided to return to The Ritz in the future, but we do hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we can do so very much better. Our kitchen team and servers would like another opportunity to be of service. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hearing from you in the future and to welcoming you both again to The Savoy. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

friendly, helpful staff, excellent location, amazing weekend

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Tania H. Families - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had an amazing weekend break at the Savoy. The staff were extremely friendly, kind and helpful. Hotel was spotless and afternoon tea at the Savoy was also lovely. Thank you.

Dear Tania H., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Savoy. We greatly value your wonderful comments about the friendly service, the cleanliness and your afternoon tea. We also wish to thank you for your kind compliments of the reception team and Richard, your butler, who helped to make your stay even more special and memorable. Your feedback will be shared with all our colleagues. We very much look forward to warmly welcoming you and your family again to The Savoy and please let us know, in the meantime, if we can be of any assistance. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Disappointed

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Marc A. Couples - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We decided to stay for my birthday. It was a hot evening and the air conditioning in the room didn’t work! Called for an engineer but it never got fixed and had to make do with a fan. The following morning I had a headache and asked consierge for some pain killers. The response was we haven’t got any! Not what I expect from the savoy!! First time I have stayed here and probably my last as could have had this experience for a quarter of the price!!

Dear Marc A., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a guest satisfaction survey, following your recent stay at The Savoy. You chose our hotel for the birthday celebrations, with confidence that you would experience the highest levels of service and we sadly let you down and we are very sorry for the disappointment caused, especially during breakfast service. Please accept our apologies for the uncomfortable temperature of your room. Having followed up on the request for the air-conditioning unit to be looked at, an engineer was sent up to the room around 9pm and reset the system and replaced the filter. The engineer is required to leave a calling card and number to reach if problems persist and we are very sorry this was not done. It does sound, however, that the problem wasn’t fixed, in which case your comments have been passed to the Director of Engineering to follow up directly. Your request for painkillers was regrettably met with a rather blunt response which isn’t acceptable. Although we are not able to dispense painkillers directly, the concierge can certainly offer to purchase them on your behalf or guide you to the nearest pharmacy. This is our usual standard and we are very sorry this was not followed and you were left with a headache; this was a simple request that should have been handled in an empathetic and timely manner. Mr A., we understand your sentiments. This was your first stay and a celebration. We hope that you feel we have taken your concerns seriously and will do all we can to ensure your future return visits, which we hope will be many, exceed your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experiences and we look forward to warmly welcoming you both again to The Savoy in the near future. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

A Memorable First Stay.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jason A. A. Couples - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We choose The Savoy in celebration of our 25th Wedding anniversary as we had tickets for Pretty Woman at the Savoy Theatre. Our visit was very memorable! The feel of the hotel is so much more than it's luxurious surroundings. The Staff really do make you feel welcome, relaxed and extremely comfortable. We spent a whole day within the hotel enjoying afternoon tea, the spa, the bars and of course our beautiful room with views over the river. A very enjoyable experience with excellent staff at the heart of it. Many Thanks

Dear Jason and A., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Savoy. Isn't it great to be able to visit the theatre after all this time and to have the hotel open to welcome back our guests through the doors. We are so happy you chose The Savoy for your stay and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the surroundings, the view from your room and especially the friendly staff who helped to make your time with us so memorable. Sean and Belinda will be thrilled to read your review; we are proud to have them both on the team. Thank you for sharing your experience and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you both again to The Savoy. Please let us know, in the meantime, if we can be of any assistance. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Beautiful hotel

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Paul M. Couples - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great hotel but access to bars and restaurants for guests was hopeless. Only I booked a table in the Beaufort Bar at time of booking we would not have had any access to the hotels bars and restaurants. Really poor service on that front. We also had no turn down service in the evening although some rooms did, we saw the staff. Staff very helpful and professional , as good as any top hotel in the world.

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete one of our guest surveys, following your recent stay at The Savoy. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however, we are very sorry for the disappointment of not being able to enjoy the bar or Solas during your visit. Not all the hotel facilities are quite fully open as yet however we hope to be in a position to reopen the American Bar over the coming weeks which will provide our guests with more availability. Demand has been high for the hotel venues and for all guests that we are able to reach prior to arrival we strongly recommend booking in advance. The bar and restaurant managers hold tables back for residents only, but these are on a first come first serve basis. We are relieved that you were able to book the Beaufort Bar and hope you enjoyed the experience. Alternatively, we do have a resident’s only lounge situated just off from the hotel’s main hall. The housekeeping team were able to reintroduce the important turndown service for all rooms just last week. Not being able to offer this service has been a disappointment for the team as well, as we are anxious to ensure the highest levels of service are provided for our guests. You may have seen turndown taking place, but this would have been only by request and approval, according to the safety protocols in place up until last week. We are delighted to note that Gerard was chosen as a colleague who made a great impression and it will be a pleasure to pass on your kind compliments. If I may add, details about membership to Accor’s Live Limitless lifestyle loyalty programme can be found online or if you would like to call the hotel directly, the team can provide further information and sign you up if you wish to proceed and begin to collect points. Thank you for all your thoughts and we hope you will have another opportunity to come back to The Savoy again in the near future. If we can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please let us know. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Beautiful hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dawn G. Couples - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for a friends 50th in a 2xdouble room for 4 people. Everything was spotless clean, the staff were absolutely brilliant, the small attention to details didn’t go unnoticed. Only downside was we stayed on the hottest day of the year and the aircon was not very good, I expect on a ‘normal’ hot night it would be fine but this was extraordinary weather

Dear Dawn G., Thank you for choosing The Savoy for the special birthday celebrations and for completing one of our surveys. We wish to thank you for your kind compliments of the cleanliness standards and about how the personal attention from the staff helped to create a truly memorable occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the uncomfortable room temperature during the recent hot days. The weather at the moment is incredibly unpredictable isn't it; now we have heavy downpours. Do feel free to contact the duty manager to see if anything can be done on another similar occasion - perhaps a room move or additional fans; we want to make sure you are comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your experiences in this way and we hope to warmly welcome you back to The Savoy again in the near future. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Good Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Elizabeth Couples - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

one of the best we have stayed in

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for choosing The Savoy and for taking the time to complete a guest satisfaction survey, following your recent stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and wish to thank you for your kind words about the standard of cleanliness and of your room attendant, Elizabeth. It will be a pleasure to pass on your kind words to the housekeeping team. Thank you for all your positive feedback and we look forward to warmly welcoming you both again to The Savoy, in the future. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jim W. Couples - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay was perfect from the moment we were greeted at the entrance to the time we left. Amazed Tony ( I hope I've remembered his name correctly) knew our names before we even introduced ourselves, reception was also friendly and very efficient. Sean waskind enough to share a couple of photos. Our suite was all we could hope for and more, Michael our butler made us feel we had known him forever and the service was brilliant. The housemaid, like all the staff we encountered had a smile and a cheerful greeting each time we saw them and of course the suite was excellent. THE SAVOY EXCELLENCE PERSONIFIED.

Dear Jim W., How very kind of you to take the time and trouble to complete a survey, following your recent stay at The Savoy. Your wonderful compliments are praise indeed! We cannot thank you enough for sharing your Savoy experience in such an incredible way. It will be a huge pleasure to pass on your kind words with all the team who helped to make you feel so welcomed and comfortable, especially Tony, Sean and Michael who will be thrilled to have been individually mentioned in this way; we are very proud to have them on the team as such great ambassadors. We will also be sure to find out the name of the room attendant so they can also enjoy your feedback. We are delighted a little Savoy magic and some photographs will help to keep the treasured memories alive for years to come. Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we very much hope you will have another opportunity to return to The Savoy in the future. If we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please let us know. With best regards, Debra Patterson, Quality Executive

Our most recent 20 reviews

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london