Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 4,752 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See on a map
+ 20 Services

Hotel extras

  • Emlyn's Restaurant features hearty local dishes - Currently CLOSED

  • Outdoor heated swimming pool available to guests - Currently CLOSED

  • Overlooking the tranquil River Mole and National Trust walks

  • Golf lessons available to guests at nearby golf course

  • Eight dedicated meeting rooms capable of hosting 30 people

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Golf
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

At the Foot of Box Hill
RH5 6BX dorking
united kingdom

Tel: +4402076600684

Fax: (+44)01306880386

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 38.5km / 23.92 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 42.6km / 26.47 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON STANSTED At 123.8km / 76.93 miles

  • By train

    DORKING At 2.9km / 1.8 miles

GPS :51.254146, -0.321841

Our accommodation(s)

With their fresh new look, all of our 57 rooms are en-suite and offer modern convenience and comfort. You'll find air-conditioning, flat-screen TVs, free WIFI, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. or 24-hour room service for something more. You'll find air-conditioning and all the usual things; toiletries, direct dial telephone with a direct line in, hairdryer and iron and ironing board.

Classic Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Garden View, Pool side, Patio *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Classic Twin RoomNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Superior Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: Garden View, Pool side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Privilege Double RoomNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Garden View, Pool side, Patio *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

EMLYN RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Regional

Emlyn Restaurant is open to residents and non-residents alike. Overlooking the gardens, you can experience fine British contemporary cuisine in an exquisite setting. Al fresco dining is available in our beautifully landscaped gardens.

Lunch

12:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

19:00 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BURFORD BAR & LOUNGE

Non contractual photo

From morning coffee to light lunches, homemade afternoon teas and evening meals, choose froma wide selection of dishes from our Burford Bar & Lounge Menu. The bar serves a wide range of drinks as well as a selection of cocktails. Open every day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 284

  • Maximum capacity: 70 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 30 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

4,752 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

825 reviews

A friendly welcoming hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Susan M. Business - 27/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have stayed on numerous occasions for work nearby, everyone is really friendly and remember me, so made me feel really welcome in these strange times.

Overpriced

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Graeme C. Business - 06/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel spoilt its self changing £10 for car parking for out of city area. No key cards for doors so inconvenienced everytime having to be escorted to the room.

Noisey

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Gavin F. Business - 20/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unpleasant

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Chris Business - 13/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

. Unneccessary parking fee of £10 charged . This hotel is very rural ! Car Park across the road and badly maintained Had to register the car using a silly machine. The receptionist would not write down the number. Could not pay by cash as " cannot give change " Asked for a statement/receipt. Told it would be e-mailed as "do not do paper". Still not arrived. An extra £40 charged to my Visa card. Eventually returned but why taken in the first place ? Minus 3 degrees and had to ask for the radiators to be turned on. Room door to garden broken and could not shut it securely so plenty of cold air ! Unsatisfactory experience from a Hotel that does little to enhance the Mercure brand

Satisfactory

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Mike Business - 12/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall the stay was ok, room was clean and tidy, reception staff were pleasant and attentive. Breakfast was poor

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Certainly, we look forward to breakfast returning to it's usual high standard when normality resumes. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Poor experience

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Steve Business - 09/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room smelt of cannabis, asked to move and was told all rooms booked. Asked to move for the 2nd night and told all rooms booked. I checked on Booking.com and it was showing superior rooms were available. The young boy on reception just seemed lost and the manager sitting at the big table in reception appeared to ignore the conversation and play with his phone. I have removed this hotel from my preferred list as I'd hate for one of my team to have the same experience.

Tired and shoddy rooms, poor service and bad food

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 02/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointing. Rooms are tired, service was poor and food bad.

Dear Mr W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future, when, hopefully some sort of normality may resume. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

5 miles from work

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tim O. Business - 28/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

personable staff; clean

Dear Mr O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Good value

Customer review rating 3.5/5

S Couples - 13/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our room was lovely, great value, very friendly staff and food was nice. The one thing we were unhappy about was that staff didn’t seem to be fully sticking to covid guidelines. Some were wearing masks with their nose hanging out. Also, when we ordered room service we would have expected them to leave on the tray on the floor, knock and step back, but the staff member entered our room ( with nose out of mask) to give it to us, which I wasn’t comfortable with. We will stay here again but hope staff will be more careful with sticking to covid guidelines.

Dear Ms L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We also thank you for your most constructive and helpful comments in regard to the masks and delivery of your room service. We are so very sorry that the rules that we have ben adhering to since lockdown 1.0 were seemingly not being fully adhered to. Please rest assured that the members of staff concerned will be spoken to and retrained in these matters as well as ensuring that they, once again, understand the complete importance of adhering to the guidelines. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Great hotel food was beautiful staff were fantastic

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Katharine B. Families - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

In the difficult times we find ourselves in at the moment my son was able to marry his bride after cancelling the original date to a 2nd lockdown. It was a beautiful emotional day but all the staff made it so special for them both. Everyone had a fantastic day and evening. Thank you to all the staff for compassion and helpfulness and for everything you did to make the day so special.

Dear Ms B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, especially as it was for such a special occasion. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

5 miles from work

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tim O. Business - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good reception; clean room; surprised i was refused a second glass of wine with my meal...

Dear Mr O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Lovely scenery, good walks and superior room gave a restful stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jane T. Solo - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very accommodating and friendly despite the difficult circumstances. It was the break I needed to recharge.

Dear Ms T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Lovely place to stay. Im a regular.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Keith C. Couples - 17/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great staff. Lesley on reception is first class. Incredibly efficient and friendly. A great ambassador for the hotel.

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, and , of course, with Lesley. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Safe stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Penny G. Couples - 16/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A one night stay, very clean, efficient service on arrival. Our room was very comfortable and spacious.

Dear Ms G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Excellent facilities, Superb Staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Martin B. Families - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Incredible. Given the year we've had (2020) our event - the wedding of my daughter - experienced several extreme challenges. The staff at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel were outstanding in their handling of and their service for, the whole event. I cannot speak highly enough of the effort they all collectively put in to help our day be special. I am not 100% sure on names but I believe the Duty Manager was Andrew, the event co-ordinator Steph and the Waiter/Barman John - these 3 in particular worked hard to ensure all went smoothly and we enjoyed our day - which we all did. There were many other colleagues whose names we did not catch - but they too added to our experiences over the weekend. The Chef and kitchen staff provided excellent food - and are to be highly commended. Furthermore, we had a guest in a wheelchair and the assistance given throughout the weekend by the staff to help as access stairs, ramps, seating etc was courteous and never a problem. Thank you All

Dear Martin, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Well run and helpful

Customer review rating 5.0/5

S A. Business - 19/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As a key worker I needed somewhere to stay after a busy few days. Staff were great, hotel was nice and really comfortable.

Dear Mr a., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Ideal location!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

David B. Families - 10/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good!

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Quick stay perfect on route to destination

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fine, considering the Covid changes. Felt safe.

Dear Mrs h., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Of course, we share, wholeheartedly, your sentiments about a vaccine!! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Good for dogs and walking

Customer review rating 3.5/5

'cecil B. '. Families - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Under staffed but everyone trying there best.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We also thank you for your most constrictive and helpful comments in regard to a few aspects of your stay and we will certainly quickly address these points so that they do not get mentioned in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

good location, friendly staff, resonable price.

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Keith Families - 30/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We pointed out to a member of staff that the bathroom waste bin had not been emptied from the previous guests!!! We received an apology. We also pointed out that there was no remote for the TV. Twelve hours later WE HAD TO ASK AGAIN !!! On check in we were told there was a nightly charge for parking. That did not appear when booking online so I refused to pay that fee.

Dear Mr N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We can only apologise for the oversight whereby the bathroom bin had not been emptied. This matter has been discussed with our new housekeeper so that he may take corrective training action with his staff. We are very sorry that you had to ask twice for a TV remote control and as stated previously this is well below our usual prompt standards of service .We are also sorry that you were not advised about the charge for the car park. We can only assume that because this is fairly new to us, it has not yet filtered onto the website and for this we do trust that you will accept our most sincere apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in dorking