Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 4,734 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See on a map
+ 20 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Emlyn's Restaurant features hearty local dishes - Currently CLOSED

  • Outdoor heated swimming pool available to guests - Currently CLOSED

  • Overlooking the tranquil River Mole and National Trust walks

  • Golf lessons available to guests at nearby golf course

  • Eight dedicated meeting rooms capable of hosting 30 people

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Golf
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

At the Foot of Box Hill
RH5 6BX
dorking
united kingdom

Tel: +4402076600684

Fax: (+44)01306880386

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 38.5km / 23.92 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 42.6km / 26.47 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON STANSTED At 123.8km / 76.93 miles

  • By train

    DORKING At 2.9km / 1.8 miles

GPS :51.254146, -0.321841

Our accommodation(s)

With their fresh new look, all of our 57 rooms are en-suite and offer modern convenience and comfort. You'll find air-conditioning, flat-screen TVs, free WIFI, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. or 24-hour room service for something more. You'll find air-conditioning and all the usual things; toiletries, direct dial telephone with a direct line in, hairdryer and iron and ironing board.

Classic Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Garden View, Pool side, Patio *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Classic Twin RoomNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Superior Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: Garden View, Pool side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron

Privilege Double RoomNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: Garden View, Pool side, Patio *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

EMLYN RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Regional

Emlyn Restaurant is open to residents and non-residents alike. Overlooking the gardens, you can experience fine British contemporary cuisine in an exquisite setting. Al fresco dining is available in our beautifully landscaped gardens.

Lunch

12:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

19:00 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BURFORD BAR & LOUNGE

Non contractual photo

From morning coffee to light lunches, homemade afternoon teas and evening meals, choose froma wide selection of dishes from our Burford Bar & Lounge Menu. The bar serves a wide range of drinks as well as a selection of cocktails. Open every day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 284

  • Maximum capacity: 70 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 30 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

4,734 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

819 reviews

Well run and helpful

Customer review rating 4.2/5

S A. Business - 19/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As a key worker I needed somewhere to stay after a busy few days. Staff were great, hotel was nice and really comfortable.

Dear Mr a., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Ideal location!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

David B. Families - 10/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good!

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Quick stay perfect on route to destination

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 06/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fine, considering the Covid changes. Felt safe.

Dear Mrs h., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Of course, we share, wholeheartedly, your sentiments about a vaccine!! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Good for dogs and walking

Customer review rating 4.2/5

'cecil B. '. Families - 02/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Under staffed but everyone trying there best.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We also thank you for your most constrictive and helpful comments in regard to a few aspects of your stay and we will certainly quickly address these points so that they do not get mentioned in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

good location, friendly staff, resonable price.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Keith Families - 30/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We pointed out to a member of staff that the bathroom waste bin had not been emptied from the previous guests!!! We received an apology. We also pointed out that there was no remote for the TV. Twelve hours later WE HAD TO ASK AGAIN !!! On check in we were told there was a nightly charge for parking. That did not appear when booking online so I refused to pay that fee.

Dear Mr N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We can only apologise for the oversight whereby the bathroom bin had not been emptied. This matter has been discussed with our new housekeeper so that he may take corrective training action with his staff. We are very sorry that you had to ask twice for a TV remote control and as stated previously this is well below our usual prompt standards of service .We are also sorry that you were not advised about the charge for the car park. We can only assume that because this is fairly new to us, it has not yet filtered onto the website and for this we do trust that you will accept our most sincere apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Nn Couples - 29/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at the hotel for our one year wedding anniversary. This stay was included in our wedding package after we got married at this hotel last year 2019. The room was really nice and clean and a good size. Although, we understand that restrictions are in place due to the current climate we were left very disappointed that the main restaurant was closed (we were not notified of this beforehand) and the evening meal that was offered was very limited and seemed like a small selection of microwave meals with no option of starters or desserts and also no fresh options to be eaten in the bar area! We were also disappointed with breakfast- a small list of breakfast items to choose from the evening before (although this was not made clear to us on arrival it was only that we happened to stumble on the breakfast options form in a drawer in our room) but not a wide selection at all and even though the hotel was offering what seemed like a full cooked breakfast not everything was included in this for example baked beans and hash browns. Also there was no fresh coffee/juices avaliable only sachets of freeze dried coffee, pods of long life milk and carton juice! We very recently stayed at another hotel and they had their restaurant up and running as normal still following all current covid guidelines of course with a variety of options for a 3 course evening meal and a variety of options for breakfast which you ordered in the morning when seated at your table, fresh coffee and juices etc. So i have to say we were really disappointed on the food front and considering this was included in our wedding package and was a first wedding anniversary celebration :-(

Room not clean and ready.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Del Families - 28/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

2 adults and 2 kids. 5 and 3 years old stayed for 1 night. Room had not toliet roll songs to call reception to bring up. Toilet bin was not changed and had someone contact lenses case and rubbish the bin. The fridge had someone's yogurt. There was no Tea bag or milk in the room as it was not topped up from previous guest. The bedside lamp sitting on a glass -glass was not clean. Reception offered complimentary drink for the cleanliness. Did not offer to move us not get a cleaner to clean the room. They just replaced the missing items. On check out I mentioned how disappointed I was and that at a time like this they need to be on top of hygiene. The lady on reception had a blank face and seemed not to take the matter seriously when I was talking to her. The hotel was nice but was always on edge with the children due to lack of trusting how clean the room was. Happy to take a call and answer any questions. 07….

Room needed maintenance and unexpected charges

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ray Couples - 18/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The initial experience was very poor. On arrival we were told that the breakfast we had paid £10 each for, was a continental breakfast which was available for £5.50 if we hadn’t prepaid. A proper breakfast was an extra £8.50. We were the. Told that parking was £10 - not disclosed on the website. The room was very tatty, water damage on one wall - which at bedtime we noticed had a smell. Also the bathroom door wouldn’t close and had lots of peeling paint and rotted wood and there was no hand soap. Breakfast was OK, but not brilliant. a couple of tea pots and a cup on the table with instant coffee, teabags and UHT milk is not what is expected in a premium hotel.

Dear Mr g., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Nice hotel in a lovely area

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Geoff L. Couples - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent stay in a hotel coping well with all the restrictions. Breakfast in the room was adequate, a shame for the hotel that the restaurant is currently closed. Service from the reception was very good, praise for Jonathan who really was very informative and helpful throughout our stay.

Dear Mr L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, especially with Jonathon. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Graham Couples - 10/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Short stay. Welcomed and looked after.

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box H. Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Good location for airport

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 30/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had to leave within 1 hour of arrival due to change to my plane flight. I have stayed with you before and will do so again. I expected better customer service under the circumstances ie voucher towards return stay seeing as I didn’t use the room and I would be returning.

Dear Mr R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please do contact me directly when you return so that we can discuss and 'correct' the fact that you did not use the room on this occasion. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Ghostly experience and disappointing breakfast - shame the pool was not available.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Paul Business - 30/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Polite staff Poor breakfast (no fresh coffee) No atmosphere (COVID related) Expensive parking

Dear Mr K., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. In terms of the pool, this has not, sadly, been open all season due to reasons outside of our control. We are currently working to ensure that it is all ship shape for 2021. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Not good

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Surveyor47 30/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

Rooms not as expected, no mention of paying for parking, supplement to eat breakfast in restaurant, not told about different menus on different days, coffee pods left in machine. Staff tried, room was OK, nice bed and TV, but overall experience fell far short of expectations

Dear Surveyor47, Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the hotel. We are pleased that you found the bed to be comfortable but we sorry that you felt that experience fell short of your expectations. Obviously, things are a little different at the moment due to the current pandemic but we do trust that when things return to normal, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel so that you may see it in all it's glory. Please, when you wish to return, please do contact us so that we may make the necessary arrangements in order to ensure that everything will be as we all would wish it to be. Yours sincerely,

LOOKED AFTER

Customer review rating 4.2/5

F. Couples - 27/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

NO LIFT, ASKED ON PHONE AND TOLD OTHERWISE. (HAVE NON VISIBILE DISIBILITY) BEGRUDGED £10 DAY PARKING FEE, & CAR PARK ON OTHER SIDE OF ROAD, NOT TOLD ABOUT ON THE PHONE. RUBBISH FOOD ON SUNDAY & MONDAY, GEORGEOUS FOOD REST OF WEEK. STAFF EXCEEDINGLY HELPFUL AND LOOKED AFTER US. CALLED A PHONE NUMBER ON WEBSITE WHICH PREPORTED TO BE HOTEL NUMBER 02… SPOKE NATALIJA AND APPEARED TO HAVE MADE BOOKING WITH ACCOR RESERVATION CENTER! VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH THAT WHEN I THOUGHT I WAS TALKING AND BOOKING WITH HOTEL DIRECT.

Dear Mr F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are sorry that it was not clear to you that there is no lift in the property and also that there appears to have been a bit of confusion as to where you were speaking. We are pleased that you liked the food for the latter half of the week. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Very relaxing in lovely surroundings

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Gill Friends - 26/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

During this Covid period, we found the hotel made great efforts to make us feel comfortable and safe. Everything had been well thought through.

Dear Ms W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, especially with Jonathon. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Would stay again / in normal times

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Stuart R. Business - 25/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms and hotel very clean and set in nice grounds, as I was visiting Dorking location could not be better. And a nice walk on Box Hill starts next to the hotel The hotel could of made more effort to serve food as this seemed an effort for them. So Poor. I have stopped at a few hotels recently who offer a full breakfast service and evening meals. Covid secure service.

Dear Mr R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please rest assured that we are now serving a cooked breakfast in our restaurant on a Tuesday to Saturday inclusive, although tables must be booked in in advance to ensure social distancing. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Not particularly good

Customer review rating 4.2/5

B. Couples - 23/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only one mug in our room 4 out of date milks Bar didn’t have a lot available

Dear Ms B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We have passed on your kind comments to Paul, which needles to say, he was very pleased to receive. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

well located for what we needed

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Pamela S. Couples - 23/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Food not to the usual Mercure standard. We requested breakfast at 8am when we arrived in the dining area our breakfast had been already cooked, the bacon was hard & the egg was firm, not runny.

Dear Mrs S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for your comments about breakfast and please rest assured that these have been addressed. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Great hotel, staff booked me wrong dates through phone and I had to pay one extra night..

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ștefan C. Couples - 21/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Experience was great overall, apart from the fact that I had to pay for one extra night because after being encouraged to make the booking over the phone, the lady making the reservation put the wrong dates in..

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Please rest assured that with a new housekeeping team we have now addressed the housekeeping issues. We are sorry that the wrong dates were accidentally put into the system and that you were charged an additional night. When you visit again, we can certainly look to correct that for you. We are not currently cleaning bedrooms every day due to the pandemic and this should have been explained to you via the welcome letter that you can access via the QR code at reception. Of course, there are also hard copies available. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Andrew J M Oxley General Manager

Very disappointed

Customer review rating 4.2/5

J O. Families - 17/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very unhelpful reception, attended my sons wedding reception, food absolutely dreadful, my son and his wife were embarrassed that it was so bad, gardens overgrown, bedside light not working, balcony dirty, very little natural light as trees and bushes had not been cut back, restaurant not open for breakfast so had to get this from take away over the road, wouldn't even supply tea or coffee

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in dorking