Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 3,842 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • Nearby Thorpe Park, Legoland and Chessington

  • Situated by the River Thames with scenic terrace area

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Function room capable of holding up to 40 guests

  • Close to the town centre and train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • GolfPaying
  • Beach and water sportsPaying
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel

Thames Street
TW18 4SJ staines
united kingdom

Tel: +441784334800

Fax: (+44)1784/454858

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Staines :  STAINES

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY At 71.8km / 44.62 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 60.7km / 37.72 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 7.2km / 4.47 miles

  • By train

    STAINES At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :51.431839, -0.511763

Our accommodation(s)

The Mercure London Staines has 88 beautifully appointed bedrooms with many of our feature rooms overlooking the river Thames. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and contain a minibar, 32 inch flatscreen TV, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and contain a mini-bar, 32-inch flatscreen TV, telephone, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Classic Double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Double bedroom with River View

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Twin bedroom with River ViewNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege Double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

RIVERSIDE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Riverside Restaurant invites you to sample the very best in food and beverage. Choose from a wide range of traditional and international dishes, prepared from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

RIVERSIDE BAR

Non contractual photo

The Riverside Bar is ideally located adjacent to the River Thames and serves a full range of hot & cold dishes and drinks. Why not enjoy a Latte on the Terrace when the sun is out?

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 30

  • Maximum capacity: 40 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 24 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

3,842 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

965 reviews

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John P. Business - 03/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A good clean and tidy hotel which maintains standards in all guest spaces. Being close to the water gives you that relaxed feel from the word go.

Dear John P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Laura C. Guest Relations

Staines upon Thames

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Dreamer39083422508 Business - 03/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

A great hotel on the river so fantastic sunsets when weather permits. The team present a clean and safe environment with minimal contact throughout. My stay was for permitted business along with all others staying at the time. I did not sample the breakfast, however, it smelt good when `I was leaving. WIll definitely use again in the future. :)

Lovely riverside location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

David Business - 21/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was working in the area and this was an ideal base for my needs. There were plenty of food options in the area in spite of the restrictions and the hotel was well equipped to facilitate this eg microwave in foyer for reheating food and large opening windows for ventilation.

Dear David A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have found our facilities useful. In regards to the documentation required for the check-in, we are required to ensure all guests have essential worker evidence. We are sorry to see the cleanliness of the room was not as expected and please rest assured this has been noted and will be followed up with our Housekeeping department to ensure this will not re-occur as this is not the standard which we strive to achieve. We do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Nick C. Business - 18/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Car park right next to hotel (£5 overnight charge) which is well-located next to the river (nice evening walks on the doorstep). Friendly and efficient check-in, COVID rules well-observed. Evening meal and breakfast available to order; food and drink is collected from reception and taken back to your room to eat. No alcohol served at present. Decent sized room with big comfy bed, TV, desk, table, chairs, tea & coffee making facilities, en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Reasonably-priced overall and a pleasant stay :)

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Well located and provided what we needed

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Ann Couples - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay was for attending a funeral so sad occasion but gave us what we needed during these difficult times. Only problem was fact that room was far too hot and we could find no way of turning it down or opening window. Some confusion over bill with special offer for meal deal.

Dear Ms L., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel at Staines very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Dirty hotel

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Mike Business - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Worst mercure in the country

Dear Michael P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured we have noted your feedback regarding the cleanliness and we will be following this up with the Housekeeping department to prevent future occurrences. We did have a refurbishment scheme in place however, due to COVID-19 this has been further delayed. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Good location and easy parking

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Zak Business - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Straight forward check in. Hotel is very tired. Needs redecoration and new carpets. Room was a good size and clean. Room French doors to a public access area did not close properly and with a broken latch so never actually closed let alone be locked. A strong wind would blow them open.

Dear Mr W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I also noted your comment about the French door not closing properly. I asked my Maintenance Manager to rectify this issue immediately Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Grubby and threadbare

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Drs215 Business - 12/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Awful. Ended up moving rooms 3 times on one night. 1st room: not hot water, literally threadbare upholstery, grubby. 2nd room: Stains on the walls & carpet, no bedside lights. 3rd room: Again - stains on the carpet again, the room was dusty & also had a previous occupant's hairs on the headboard. There was a general feeling of neglect.. Also, I had asked for a quiet room. This room had an adjoining door to the next room & I could hear everything that was going on in there.. Room Service Food: I've been gluten free for over 30 years. Nowadays most places have a range of GF options. All that was available were massively overpriced nachos & cheese. The cheese was cold and set like glue. Nothing on the menu indicated that it was a restricted choice due to covid, so I can only assume that it is usually this poor. I was due to stay for 3 nights but left after one. The manager has since written to me and apologised. He said that renovation work has been delayed due to covid. I do not feel this is a satisfactory reason for the very low standard of cleaning. Plus, if the hotel is not at full occupancy, surely only the less decrepid & dirty rooms should not be hired out? (I'd hate to think that the rooms I saw were among the better ones..). If they are prepared to hire out these rooms, then there should be at least a reasonable standard of cleanliness - especially during covid. In his email the manager offered me loyalty points as compensation. I do not plan to make use of them.

Dear Ms S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Phil Business - 12/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

we really enjoyed our stay despite lockdown restrictions and will definitely book again

Dear Mr W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Get what you pay for

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Business - 11/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

First room that I had been allocated was on the ground floor, front of the hotel next to a main road and main path, no real privacy from windows. Receptionist was ok and changed my room. This room was fine although clean looked grubby and was freezing. Again reception was helpful and gave me an additional oil radiator. Location wise, really nice, close to river, town etc. Staff were pleasant and this made up the fact the rooms not being great.

Dear Ms R., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel at Staines very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mick Business - 05/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed 1 night, had no issue. Staff were friendly and room was good. Excellent shower

Dear Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager
Customer review rating 3.5/5

David J. Business - 19/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was clean and comfortable but I stayed on two of the coldest nights of the year to find the heating wasn't working and only a small electric heater to heat a fairly large room.

Disappointed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Andy Business - 10/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed in room 68! This room has a constant pump/motor noise that comes on for around 10 seconds every 5 minutes! I’m sure I’m not the only guest to mention it so why put new arrivals in a room that has this issue? Room itself is dated with peeling wallpaper etc. Have to stay in hotels all the time with work. Have driven past this hotel many times but this was the first time staying.... I won’t return

Dear Andy G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are sorry to read you were unable to rest due to the constant pump noise and please rest assured we will be following this up with our Maintenance Manager to investigate. We do hope you will give us the chance to better serve in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations
Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephen H. Business - 06/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hello Firstly I just wanted to say the the member of staff on duty was extremely pleasant and very helpful. He was a tall blond haired guy. Sadly however, I did not have a great experience at the hotel. I arrived about 21.45. I was initially allocated room 40 (or 41?). The first thing I noticed was the fact that the room was cold. I turned the radiator on full but after twenty minutes the radiator remained cold and was not working. There were several stains all over the carpets and I also found a small piece of ? croissant on the floor beside the bed. Then I found two long brown hairs in the bed between the duvet and the sheet - I have very short hair so not mine. I spoke to the guy on reception and he was very apologetic and kindly gave me another room and also upgraded me to room 4. Although very grateful for the upgraded room, I have to be honest for the purpose of the review. I discovered other issues with room 4 that I will go into. But as I did not want to complain again and it was getting late (I had to wake up at 6am for work) I did not report them. Firstly, again, there were even more stains on the carpet of room 4 then the previous room the carpet was very dirty looking.. I also found part of an apple core on the floor beside the coffee table / by the window. In addition, I found a single pubic hair in the bath. As I am a nurse (and was staying at the hotel because I was working the weekend at nearby Ashford Hospital), I find this obvious lack of attention to detail when it comes to cleaning quite concerning, particularly during a pandemic. Room 4 was also a bit cold. I know it's winter and I'm Scottish so I'm used to cold weather :) But even though the radiator was working and I turned it up to maximum, 30oC, the room never properly warmed up all evening. It's worth mentioning that I have been staying at The Stanwell Hotel during the pandemic at an NHS discounted rate of £30 per night. However, as they closed I was unable to stay there. Thats's why I booked the Mercure, Staines. Mostly to do with it being close to the hospital and also the cost. With all that said, I want to finish by saying that the bed was very, very comfortable and I had a great sleep. I feel bad that I have had to leave such negative review. After looking on the website I really was hoping to enjoy my stay at your hotel but sadly it didn't work out on this occasion. But once again, very nice staff on duty. Regards, Stephen

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Firstly, please accept my apologies for the disappointing experience you had due to the condition of the carpet and insufficient heating in your bedroom. Unfortunately, our refurbishment planned for last year that would have addressed the stained carpets and heating had to be postponed. We are hoping that it will not be too long before it takes place. This does not preclude from the fact that the room and bathroom had not been cleaned to the acceptable standards. In offering my apologies please, rest assured that I have expressed my concern and disappointment with the Housekeeper. I also shared your comments with the Maintenance Manager to investigate the heating system in that room and ensure its working at full capacity and the room reaches to the desired temperature. I am however delighted that the bed was comfortable and you had a good night sleep and staff helpful. I hope the issues you raised will not deter you from staying with us and you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Caring professionals during Covid Tier 4 chaos!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Bill Business - 30/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall, I was looked after and cared for as if by a kind family. I arrived to visit my sons for the holidays but due to the Covid restrictions it was difficult and worrying. However, the staff were very accommodating and went above and beyond to help me stay safely and in some sort of normality. Cleaning of my room was limited due to staffing, but new towels and tea bags, toiletries, rubbish bags, and new cutlery and cups were given daily. Food services, bar, and restaurant access inside hotel was shut due to govt. and yet takeaway breakfast was still provided! It was like staying with a family in a B&B, the hotel staff went above and beyond to overcome these imposed last minute health requirements for Covid. I was worried I would be asked to leave but luckily could remain for the 14 days! It was the best it could have been and am so glad I went for Christmas and chose this location and these staff were working! Happy New Year 2021!

Dear Mr William R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are extremely pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. We very much appreciated your kind comments regarding the front office team and please rest assured we will be sharing these with the team as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year from all of us here at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mike Business - 25/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The whole experience was great from booking it on line to checking in , the stat itself and check out. It was easy to find and I was made to feel welcome ! Thank you

Dear Mike W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Laura C. Guest Relations

Friendly helpful staff, but poor management.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Steve Business - 24/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was forced to check out late afternoon, a few hours after arrival, due to the imposition of severe new Covid restrictions. I was assured that I would receive a refund for the breakfast that I would not have. Later this refund was refused and I was also refused a refund for the overnight parking that I did not use. This is particularly disappointing as I provided proof that I had stayed that night in another Accor hotel outside the affected covid area. The inflexibility of management is a shame as I have stayed at this hotel before and the front line staff are always charming and helpful.

Dear Mr T., Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Whilst I am pleased to read that, you found staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you had to check out early due to government-imposed travel restrictions recently. The room you were in had been used, and we came to know about your early departure only on Monday. Unfortunately, we had to charge you for the cost of your accommodation to offset the cleaning cost. I am sorry that you were charged for the parking and it is clear that you did not stay overnight, I am happy to refund the cost of parking and furthermore, as a goodwill gesture; I have refunded the cost of breakfast making a total of £10 altogether including parking to your card ending 0038. This should appear in your account soon. I hope we have come half way in restoring your faith in Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you soon Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Close to shops and transport links

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bernie B. Solo - 18/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very spacious room very helpful staff

Dear Bernie B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay here with us at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay here with us and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Please rest assured we will be sharing your feedback with the teams as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future for another pleasant stay here with us. We would also like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from all of us here at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel. Kind Regards, Laura Cocue Guest Relations
Customer review rating 1.0/5

Roy Business - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room dirty and so was bathroom The amount I paid I expected better, would of been better off going to premier inn

Dear Mr Roy M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. We are sorry to read we have failed to meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We have noted all of your comments and please rest assured we will be following the cleanliness issue with our Housekeeping Manager as this is not the standard which we strive to achieve especially during those difficult times to ensure this will not re-occur in the future. We hope you will give us the chance to better serve you in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

All around great experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Carl D. Business - 12/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful

Dear Carl D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and your rating is highly appreciated. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future for another pleasant stay here with us. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in staines