Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 3,829 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • Nearby Thorpe Park, Legoland and Chessington

  • Situated by the River Thames with scenic terrace area

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Function room capable of holding up to 40 guests

  • Close to the town centre and train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • GolfPaying
  • Beach and water sportsPaying
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel

Thames Street
TW18 4SJ staines
united kingdom

Tel: +441784334800

Fax: (+44)1784/454858

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Staines :  STAINES

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY At 71.8km / 44.62 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 60.7km / 37.72 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 7.2km / 4.47 miles

  • By train

    STAINES At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :51.431839, -0.511763

Our accommodation(s)

The Mercure London Staines has 88 beautifully appointed bedrooms with many of our feature rooms overlooking the river Thames. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and contain a minibar, 32 inch flatscreen TV, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and contain a mini-bar, 32-inch flatscreen TV, telephone, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Classic Double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Double bedroom with River View

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Twin bedroom with River ViewNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege Double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

RIVERSIDE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Riverside Restaurant invites you to sample the very best in food and beverage. Choose from a wide range of traditional and international dishes, prepared from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

RIVERSIDE BAR

Non contractual photo

The Riverside Bar is ideally located adjacent to the River Thames and serves a full range of hot & cold dishes and drinks. Why not enjoy a Latte on the Terrace when the sun is out?

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 30

  • Maximum capacity: 40 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 24 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

3,829 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

964 reviews

Customer review rating 3.5/5

David J. Business - 19/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was clean and comfortable but I stayed on two of the coldest nights of the year to find the heating wasn't working and only a small electric heater to heat a fairly large room.

Disappointed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Andy Business - 10/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed in room 68! This room has a constant pump/motor noise that comes on for around 10 seconds every 5 minutes! I’m sure I’m not the only guest to mention it so why put new arrivals in a room that has this issue? Room itself is dated with peeling wallpaper etc. Have to stay in hotels all the time with work. Have driven past this hotel many times but this was the first time staying.... I won’t return

Dear Andy G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are sorry to read you were unable to rest due to the constant pump noise and please rest assured we will be following this up with our Maintenance Manager to investigate. We do hope you will give us the chance to better serve in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations
Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephen H. Business - 06/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hello Firstly I just wanted to say the the member of staff on duty was extremely pleasant and very helpful. He was a tall blond haired guy. Sadly however, I did not have a great experience at the hotel. I arrived about 21.45. I was initially allocated room 40 (or 41?). The first thing I noticed was the fact that the room was cold. I turned the radiator on full but after twenty minutes the radiator remained cold and was not working. There were several stains all over the carpets and I also found a small piece of ? croissant on the floor beside the bed. Then I found two long brown hairs in the bed between the duvet and the sheet - I have very short hair so not mine. I spoke to the guy on reception and he was very apologetic and kindly gave me another room and also upgraded me to room 4. Although very grateful for the upgraded room, I have to be honest for the purpose of the review. I discovered other issues with room 4 that I will go into. But as I did not want to complain again and it was getting late (I had to wake up at 6am for work) I did not report them. Firstly, again, there were even more stains on the carpet of room 4 then the previous room the carpet was very dirty looking.. I also found part of an apple core on the floor beside the coffee table / by the window. In addition, I found a single pubic hair in the bath. As I am a nurse (and was staying at the hotel because I was working the weekend at nearby Ashford Hospital), I find this obvious lack of attention to detail when it comes to cleaning quite concerning, particularly during a pandemic. Room 4 was also a bit cold. I know it's winter and I'm Scottish so I'm used to cold weather :) But even though the radiator was working and I turned it up to maximum, 30oC, the room never properly warmed up all evening. It's worth mentioning that I have been staying at The Stanwell Hotel during the pandemic at an NHS discounted rate of £30 per night. However, as they closed I was unable to stay there. Thats's why I booked the Mercure, Staines. Mostly to do with it being close to the hospital and also the cost. With all that said, I want to finish by saying that the bed was very, very comfortable and I had a great sleep. I feel bad that I have had to leave such negative review. After looking on the website I really was hoping to enjoy my stay at your hotel but sadly it didn't work out on this occasion. But once again, very nice staff on duty. Regards, Stephen

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Firstly, please accept my apologies for the disappointing experience you had due to the condition of the carpet and insufficient heating in your bedroom. Unfortunately, our refurbishment planned for last year that would have addressed the stained carpets and heating had to be postponed. We are hoping that it will not be too long before it takes place. This does not preclude from the fact that the room and bathroom had not been cleaned to the acceptable standards. In offering my apologies please, rest assured that I have expressed my concern and disappointment with the Housekeeper. I also shared your comments with the Maintenance Manager to investigate the heating system in that room and ensure its working at full capacity and the room reaches to the desired temperature. I am however delighted that the bed was comfortable and you had a good night sleep and staff helpful. I hope the issues you raised will not deter you from staying with us and you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Caring professionals during Covid Tier 4 chaos!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Bill Business - 30/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall, I was looked after and cared for as if by a kind family. I arrived to visit my sons for the holidays but due to the Covid restrictions it was difficult and worrying. However, the staff were very accommodating and went above and beyond to help me stay safely and in some sort of normality. Cleaning of my room was limited due to staffing, but new towels and tea bags, toiletries, rubbish bags, and new cutlery and cups were given daily. Food services, bar, and restaurant access inside hotel was shut due to govt. and yet takeaway breakfast was still provided! It was like staying with a family in a B&B, the hotel staff went above and beyond to overcome these imposed last minute health requirements for Covid. I was worried I would be asked to leave but luckily could remain for the 14 days! It was the best it could have been and am so glad I went for Christmas and chose this location and these staff were working! Happy New Year 2021!

Dear Mr William R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are extremely pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. We very much appreciated your kind comments regarding the front office team and please rest assured we will be sharing these with the team as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year from all of us here at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mike Business - 25/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The whole experience was great from booking it on line to checking in , the stat itself and check out. It was easy to find and I was made to feel welcome ! Thank you

Dear Mike W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Laura C. Guest Relations

Friendly helpful staff, but poor management.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Steve Business - 24/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was forced to check out late afternoon, a few hours after arrival, due to the imposition of severe new Covid restrictions. I was assured that I would receive a refund for the breakfast that I would not have. Later this refund was refused and I was also refused a refund for the overnight parking that I did not use. This is particularly disappointing as I provided proof that I had stayed that night in another Accor hotel outside the affected covid area. The inflexibility of management is a shame as I have stayed at this hotel before and the front line staff are always charming and helpful.

Dear Mr T., Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Whilst I am pleased to read that, you found staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you had to check out early due to government-imposed travel restrictions recently. The room you were in had been used, and we came to know about your early departure only on Monday. Unfortunately, we had to charge you for the cost of your accommodation to offset the cleaning cost. I am sorry that you were charged for the parking and it is clear that you did not stay overnight, I am happy to refund the cost of parking and furthermore, as a goodwill gesture; I have refunded the cost of breakfast making a total of £10 altogether including parking to your card ending 0038. This should appear in your account soon. I hope we have come half way in restoring your faith in Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you soon Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Close to shops and transport links

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bernie B. Solo - 18/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very spacious room very helpful staff

Dear Bernie B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay here with us at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay here with us and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Please rest assured we will be sharing your feedback with the teams as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future for another pleasant stay here with us. We would also like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from all of us here at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel. Kind Regards, Laura Cocue Guest Relations
Customer review rating 1.0/5

Roy Business - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room dirty and so was bathroom The amount I paid I expected better, would of been better off going to premier inn

Dear Mr Roy M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. We are sorry to read we have failed to meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We have noted all of your comments and please rest assured we will be following the cleanliness issue with our Housekeeping Manager as this is not the standard which we strive to achieve especially during those difficult times to ensure this will not re-occur in the future. We hope you will give us the chance to better serve you in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

All around great experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Carl D. Business - 12/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful

Dear Carl D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and your rating is highly appreciated. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future for another pleasant stay here with us. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

no problem

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 04/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

room upgrade, so cannot really comment on the type of room i should have had

Dear Paul B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed the complimentary upgrade provided and you have had an enjoyable stay here with us. We look forward to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Ideal location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Deb Couples - 02/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is our second stay here and we love it . The staff are very friendly. The areas are clean and sanitised . Our room was a little dated but still spotless . Looking forward to visiting again next year

Dear Godwin O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We appreciate your positive feedback. Please rest assured we will share your comments regarding the staff with the teams as I am sure this will serve as an encouragement. We are also pleased to read the cleanliness levels were as expected and please rest assured we will be sharing this with our Housekeeping Department. We look forward to have you stay here with us in the upcoming year. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 28/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

i could hear ever vehicle passing due to non double glazed windows which was a shame as it was on a busy main road with a railway at side. it is in a great location.

Disgusting

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Borja D. Business - 21/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Dirty staines everywhere, lack of cleaning. I am surprised that trading standards allow the hotel to stay open. I am happy to provide photos to you

Tired decor in need of a revamp

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephen Business - 14/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

First bit of advice, pay the extra for the river view, rooms to the front overlook a busy junction. This wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't for the badly sealed glazing letting every sound in. The whole hotels decor is looking tired, with frayed and dirty sofas and chairs in the room with the rest of the hotel not much better. I found a long hair on the wall tiles in the bathroom so this made me wander about the promise of covid safe clean rooms. Although not the best hotel the staff were helpful and friendly.

Not satisfied with my stay.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Unknown Solo - 08/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately not satisfied with my stay this time. Paid a high price but room was not value for money. Walls were dirty,room wasnt sound proof. I could hear all the noises from the street as my room was on ground floor road side. My Room looked very old, not well maintained. Heating wasnt enough. I stayed at Mercure previously and had a good experience previously but this time unfortunately i was disappointed. However, The staffs were very polite and nice. The hotel is very well located, close to bus station, train station,high street and river.

Dear Lukshana R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. We are sorry to read your stay here with us was not as expected; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We are sorry to read the room condition was not as expected and please rest assured we have noted your comments and will be following up on the matters with our Maintenance Department. We do have an ongoing maintenance scheme implemented which focuses on the re-painting of the bedrooms and bathrooms. We are pleased to read the staff were polite and you have enjoyed our location as indeed we are located within walking distance from the main centre and short distance from the main attractions. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Laura C. Guest Relations

Friendly and hardworking staff

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Stephen B. Families - 04/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite everything that is going on right now we was made to feel comfortable and looked after on a personal level, which for me and my family is very important.

Dear Stephen B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay here with us especially the bar experience and please rest assured this will be shared with the Food and Beverage team as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement. We are sorry to read you had to wait to to be assisted at the front desk and we will look into this matter as this is not the standard which we strive to achieve. We hope we will get the chance to welcome back in the not too distant for another pleasant stay here with us. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

central location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Alan B. Families - 29/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

No problems, except if I visit again will ask for a room away from the railway bridge!

Dear Mr Alan B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are extremely pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay here with us. Please rest assured we have noted your comments regarding the room and we will make a note for your future bookings. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jans Couples - 27/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A spur of the moment overnight stay. Restaurant unfortunately not open but limited bar menu available. The room was amazingly big for a standard double and the bed huge. Check in and check out were efficient and quick with limited contact. Social distancing was adhered to and the barman was charming and helpful

Well located, good service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Honour Couples - 24/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Right on the river makes this hotel lovely. Everyone is happy to help out however they can to make your stay better. The breakfast was a little disappointing as we asked for a full English breakfast and got an egg, one sausage, one small bit of bacon, a hash brown and some beans. Was expecting a little more. All surfaces were really clean however you can tell thats where they focus their cleaning at the moment as we found cobwebs on the ceiling. Room was lovely. Very comfortable bed and lovely shower room.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A well situated hotel on the Thames, good staff but past it’s best.

Dear Richard E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our location and your kind comments regarding the teams are greatly appreciated. Please rest assured this will be shared with the teams as I am sure it will serve as an encouragement. We are pleased to confirm that we do have a refurbishment due next year. In the meantime, our Maintenance Department have an ongoing scheme in place which focuses on improving the standard of the bedrooms and bathrooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and despite your concerns, we do hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back in our hotel. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in staines