Information message

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 3,855 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • Nearby Thorpe Park, Legoland and Chessington

  • Situated by the River Thames with scenic terrace area

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Function room capable of holding up to 40 guests

  • Close to the town centre and train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • GolfPaying
  • Beach and water sportsPaying
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel

Thames Street
TW18 4SJ staines
united kingdom

Tel: +441784334800

Fax: (+44)1784/454858

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Staines :  STAINES

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY At 71.8km / 44.62 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 60.7km / 37.72 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 7.2km / 4.47 miles

  • By train

    STAINES At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :51.431839, -0.511763

Our accommodation(s)

The Mercure London Staines has 88 beautifully appointed bedrooms with many of our feature rooms overlooking the river Thames. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and contain a minibar, 32 inch flatscreen TV, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. All of our bedrooms are en-suite and contain a mini-bar, 32-inch flatscreen TV, telephone, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Classic Double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Double bedroom with River View

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: River side *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Twin bedroom with River ViewNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: River side *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: River side *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege Double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

RIVERSIDE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Riverside Restaurant invites you to sample the very best in food and beverage. Choose from a wide range of traditional and international dishes, prepared from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

RIVERSIDE BAR

Non contractual photo

The Riverside Bar is ideally located adjacent to the River Thames and serves a full range of hot & cold dishes and drinks. Why not enjoy a Latte on the Terrace when the sun is out?

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 30

  • Maximum capacity: 40 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 24 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

3,855 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

970 reviews

Very tired rooms

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Aly F. Solo - 09/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms very tired and disappointing. Back door security lock broken Peeling and bubbling wallpaper Bedside light not working properly Bathroom taps green sound the bottom Toilet not flushing properly Shower hose split Friendly and helpful reception staff at check-in and departure.

great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Philip W. Business - 30/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

unfortunately my van was broken into during stay the staff were really helpful with this saving camera images for the police

Dear Philip w., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Whilst we are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay here with us and the staff were helpful. we are sorry about the van incident and we hope the matter has been resolved. We hope this will not stop you from staying here with us in the near future as it has been a pleasure to have you stay here with us. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Medium

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Neil S. Solo - 28/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I thought my room was very dated, carpet stained, furniture ripped and a horrible smell in the room like someone had smoked in it. Didn’t have a good choice with TV channels when you are sat in your room. Food was good and friendly staff

Dear Neil S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We appreciate your feedback regarding the food and the staff and please rest assured we will share this with the team as I am sure it will serve as encouragement. We are sorry to read the room was not as expected and please rest assured we have noted your comments and we will be forwarding the feedback to the correct departments. Despite your concerns, we do hope you will give us the chance to better serve you in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Good everything

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Paula C. Solo - 27/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

lovely stay. Friendly efficient receptionist. Beautifully clean and spacious room. Lovely location..what more can one say?

Dear Paula c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in our hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Ideal location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ryan G. Business - 25/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff, always helpful and polite. Close to town centre and shops.

Dear Mr Ryan G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you are thoroughly enjoying your stays here with us and your kind comments regarding the team are greatly appreciated. We look forward to have you stay here with us again for another pleasant stay. Kind Regards, Laura Cocue Guest Relations

Lovely Riverside Location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Alex Business - 14/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located within walking distance of Staines town and railway station, plenty of parking on site. Lobby and bar area were well presented and I imagine it will be very nice once they are allowed to reopen the bar and terrace which overlooks the Thames. My room was well decorated and comfortable but unfortunately was on the ground floor right by the road with lots of traffic noise and people walking right past the window at all hours. Also had a problem with the shower- it was impossible to get a steady temperature, with the water constantly going hot then cold before the hot water seemed to run out entirely. So whilst the hotel itself was pleasant, it failed to deliver on the three most important aspects of a hotel stay- a good night's sleep, privacy and a decent shower which make me reluctant to stay again.

Dear Mr J.,, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Whilst I am delighted to read that the room you were in was large and comfortable and the location of the hotel has met your expectations, however I am sorry that you had difficulty with shower due to inconsistent temperature of the water. I have shared your comments with the Maintenance Manager to investigate this issue and take remedial action immediately. I sincerely hope that this issue will not deter you from staying with us in future and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mary L. Solo - 12/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was here for quarantine, location was ideal and the room had a lovely river view. The staff were outstanding and helpful.

Dear Ms L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Warm and welcoming hospitality

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ms R. Solo - 12/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were very helpful. The room was nice and bed was very comfortable and shower lovely and hot. TV, wi-fi and coffee making facilities good quality and easy to use, The food was delicious and good value for money. Hotel atmosphere warm and welcoming. Thank you.

Dear Ms R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John P. Business - 03/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A good clean and tidy hotel which maintains standards in all guest spaces. Being close to the water gives you that relaxed feel from the word go.

Dear John P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Laura C. Guest Relations

Staines upon Thames

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Dreamer39083422508 Business - 03/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

A great hotel on the river so fantastic sunsets when weather permits. The team present a clean and safe environment with minimal contact throughout. My stay was for permitted business along with all others staying at the time. I did not sample the breakfast, however, it smelt good when `I was leaving. WIll definitely use again in the future. :)

Dear Dreamer39083422508, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana (General Manager)

Lovely riverside location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

David Business - 21/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was working in the area and this was an ideal base for my needs. There were plenty of food options in the area in spite of the restrictions and the hotel was well equipped to facilitate this eg microwave in foyer for reheating food and large opening windows for ventilation.

Dear David A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to read you have found our facilities useful. In regards to the documentation required for the check-in, we are required to ensure all guests have essential worker evidence. We are sorry to see the cleanliness of the room was not as expected and please rest assured this has been noted and will be followed up with our Housekeeping department to ensure this will not re-occur as this is not the standard which we strive to achieve. We do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Nick C. Business - 18/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Car park right next to hotel (£5 overnight charge) which is well-located next to the river (nice evening walks on the doorstep). Friendly and efficient check-in, COVID rules well-observed. Evening meal and breakfast available to order; food and drink is collected from reception and taken back to your room to eat. No alcohol served at present. Decent sized room with big comfy bed, TV, desk, table, chairs, tea & coffee making facilities, en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Reasonably-priced overall and a pleasant stay :)

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Well located and provided what we needed

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Ann Couples - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay was for attending a funeral so sad occasion but gave us what we needed during these difficult times. Only problem was fact that room was far too hot and we could find no way of turning it down or opening window. Some confusion over bill with special offer for meal deal.

Dear Ms L., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We at the Mercure Thames Lodge Hotel at Staines very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Dirty hotel

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Mike Business - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Worst mercure in the country

Dear Michael P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured we have noted your feedback regarding the cleanliness and we will be following this up with the Housekeeping department to prevent future occurrences. We did have a refurbishment scheme in place however, due to COVID-19 this has been further delayed. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind Regards, Laura C. Guest Relations

Good location and easy parking

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Zak Business - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Straight forward check in. Hotel is very tired. Needs redecoration and new carpets. Room was a good size and clean. Room French doors to a public access area did not close properly and with a broken latch so never actually closed let alone be locked. A strong wind would blow them open.

Dear Mr W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I also noted your comment about the French door not closing properly. I asked my Maintenance Manager to rectify this issue immediately Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Grubby and threadbare

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Drs215 Business - 12/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Awful. Ended up moving rooms 3 times on one night. 1st room: not hot water, literally threadbare upholstery, grubby. 2nd room: Stains on the walls & carpet, no bedside lights. 3rd room: Again - stains on the carpet again, the room was dusty & also had a previous occupant's hairs on the headboard. There was a general feeling of neglect.. Also, I had asked for a quiet room. This room had an adjoining door to the next room & I could hear everything that was going on in there.. Room Service Food: I've been gluten free for over 30 years. Nowadays most places have a range of GF options. All that was available were massively overpriced nachos & cheese. The cheese was cold and set like glue. Nothing on the menu indicated that it was a restricted choice due to covid, so I can only assume that it is usually this poor. I was due to stay for 3 nights but left after one. The manager has since written to me and apologised. He said that renovation work has been delayed due to covid. I do not feel this is a satisfactory reason for the very low standard of cleaning. Plus, if the hotel is not at full occupancy, surely only the less decrepid & dirty rooms should not be hired out? (I'd hate to think that the rooms I saw were among the better ones..). If they are prepared to hire out these rooms, then there should be at least a reasonable standard of cleanliness - especially during covid. In his email the manager offered me loyalty points as compensation. I do not plan to make use of them.

Dear Ms S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Staines upon Thames Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Good Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

adey906 25/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

My second stay in a month. As before the staff were excellent, the hotel is probably the best located in Staines and right next to the River. The only issue is that the hotel is in need of a refurbishment and looks very tired in places, particularly the main public areas. Otherwise thoroughly recommended.

Dear adey906, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you appreciated our location and found the team to be friendly and efficient. We had hoped to have had a refurbishment earlier in the year which would have addressed the tiredness of the hotel. Unfortunately, this was postponed to a later date, which has not yet been confirmed. Despite these concerns, I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon Kind regards, Vijay Pampana (General Manager)

Old and too hot

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

86natalies86 13/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

we stayed here for a wedding. The previous night we stayed in the Premier Inn for cheaper. That room was great clean and had air conditioning. In this hotel we were also told to wear face masks. However upon our arrival at the mecure this was not the case. We were greeted by a nice and helpful lady in reception. However, she was the best part of the hotel. Our room was on the bottom floor along a old and tired corridor where the carpet looked accident and very worn. We went into our room that was average size. We were hit by the heat. It had one portable fan that wasn't on. It had two tiny windows. The patio doors you could only have open if you didn't mind the constant stream of the general public watching you get changed. Therefore the room was a sweat box. It completely ruined my getting ready process for my best friends wedding. You could obviously not have them open on the night either. The bathroom had no fan so was hot and smelly. The rooms decor was old and tired and was moderately cleaned. The bed was ok however, we didn't sleep due to the heat. the TV only had 5 channels. Overall the stay was not pleasant and I wish we had continued our stay at the Premier Inn. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

Dear 86natalies86, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Whilst I am pleased to read that, the lady at reception was friendly and helpful. I am sorry that your overall experience was not a positive one, and wish to offer you my sincere apologies for this. I am sorry that the room your were in was hot and you had an uncomfortable night stay due to hot weather we had recently. Air-conditioning can only be guaranteed when staying in one of our upgraded privilege rooms and I apologise if you had booked one of these but did not receive it. We were due a refurbishment earlier in that would have addressed the issues you highlighted. Unfortunately, this had to be postponed due to current situation in hand (Covid 19) and left us short on time in making the improvements ourselves Our maintenance team, as part of their ongoing property improvement programme is focused on improving the fabric and décor throughout the hotel and I have asked them to attend to the room you were in and address the issues you highlighted immediately. Despite your disappointment, I do hope that you will return in the future, and allow us the opportunity to better serve you. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana

Nice hotel but needs a makeover

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MDebono Business - 09/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has a charm all of its own. Staff and Food quality excellent. It just needs upgrading. Did not appreciate the fact that there was no breakfast on Saturday morning . I needed to check out early and was told i would have to order breakfast. This is just not on .

New Years Eve

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Guide539412 Couples - 04/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Really enjoyed ourselves - reception was excellent on arrival. However, when we got up the next morning there was no milk to make a cup of tea and only one two bath towels which we had used on arrival, so no clean ones anywhere we could see. Normally hotels usually give you spare towels and not just two !! The amount of people on the night was much better than the previous year ( not lots of kids running around) we did notice that there were no canapes on arrival for the evening and no champagne/possecco at midnight which was disappointing. Overall we did enjoy ourselves and will definitely return for next New Years Eve.

Dear Guide539412, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay. I noted your comments about the extra towels and no prosecco/champagne was offered at midnight. For which i apologies I shared your comments with the relevant department heads to ensure such incidents do not recur in future. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Vijay Pampana General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in staines