Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.8/5 1,356 reviews

Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa - Image 1
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa - Image 2
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa - Image 3
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa - Image 4

Description

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Hotel extras

  • The Yard restaurant serves international cuisine

  • A fitness centre, including a spa, sauna and steam room

  • Indoor-heated swimming pool for all guests

  • Seven meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 600 guests

  • Central location, with excellent travel links

Our accommodation(s)

Hotel location

Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel & Spa

119 Norfolk street
S1 2JE SHEFFIELD
United Kingdom

GPS:53.380455, -1.468413

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Air conditioning
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Room service
Near the property
  • Car park

THE YARD

The Yard at St. Pauls adds more variety to your meal, offering contemporary British cuisine including quality steaks as well as the freshest and most beautifully prepared fish and seafood delicacies.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.8/5  1,356 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  3,685 reviews

Poor service; overcharging; no response from the hotel

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Bartolus TripAdvisor review

Checked out of hotel; they failed to provide an invoice and, on checking my bank account, had overcharged me by more than £200. Eventually, someone answered the phone who promised a response after 2.30pm which never came. Sent two emails to the manager which were not answered. Would not use Mercure again.

Hit and miss….could be great

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

TomsTravels22 Families - TripAdvisor review

Starting with the positives. Robin on reception for checkout was fantastic and Linda the host at breakfast was really warm and friendly. Breakfast was really good with a great variety. The hotel is in a great location in the center of Sheffield and it was perfect for exploring the Christmas market. Unfortunately everything else let this hotel down. Check in was poor, the receptionist was not welcoming and didn’t explain the hotel or the facilities. They didn’t recognize me as being a loyalty member and didn’t offer a welcome drink. We’d booked a privilege room and on arriving at the room there were empty bottles of water and an empty bottle of wine outside the room. The room was basic and was unclean. There wasn’t a mattress protector on the mattress or the pillows. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. We had booked half board as part of the package and the evening meal was a poor experience. The service was painfully slow, the restaurant was cold with no music or atmosphere. The menu was a scrappy piece of paper. 3 people were on service and were not attentive and stood talking for a good chunk of the evening. The main course was clearly microwaved and was lukewarm and the dessert had been pre made up on a plate and stored in the fridge. Unfortunately this could be a great hotel but no don’t else delivered the same standard of service we had from Robin and Linda. The bar man said the staff were overstretched and there was absence, from what we saw they weren’t overstretched or working hard to ensure guests had a great experience. Sadly wouldn’t stay again and it would put me off Mercure in the future.

Not up to usual standard

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Ww use St Paul's regularly and this visit was poor. Poor reception staff. In the past we've had a discount ticket given to us for parking in Q Park but apparently you now have to prebook to get discount. This needs to be clearer on booking that this has changed as by the time you get to reception you're already parked. What's the point of having QR code to QPark on reception - too late by then. We had all this explained to us by a very condescending gentleman on reception (not one who booked us in). Good job we knew our way around as nothing explained or even room number given. Room is looking tired and nothing in rooms about times for breakfast or anything else in terms of info. Breakfast was adequate at best. Lots of things off and staff not interested. And finally £17 for two double baileys at bar. We recognise hotels put a mark up but you can get a whole bottle for £13 from the sainsbury's next door. Very disappointing trip.

Great location. Amazing staff.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kirsty W. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Made my birthday very special. Staff were brilliant, great rooms. Great location

Most unprofessional

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Elizabeth M. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

An email has already been sent describing all the ghastly experiences we had in your hotel

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 1,026 reviews 9.1/10 Location
  • 1,944 reviews 5.4/10 Room
  • 1,571 reviews 7/10 Service
  • 24 reviews 8/10 WiFi
  • 904 reviews 5.7/10 Comfort
  • 670 reviews 4.6/10 Cleanliness
  • 548 reviews 7.8/10 Breakfast
  • 509 reviews 5.8/10 Amenities

Powered by Trustyou

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in Sheffield