Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 6,118 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location, within walking-distance of main amenities

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL
bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +4401179291645

Fax: (+)01179227619

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS :51.455372, -2.593519

Our accommodations

With 182 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites, leisure and beauty facilities, and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Standard Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 0 / 0 sq ft
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Compact Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Twin Room

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Privilege Double

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Type of cuisine: International

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Lunch

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

KEEPERS

Non contractual photo

Chill-out and relax in Keepers bar, enjoy our comfortable seating and variety of working spaces. Our drinks menu features an extensive selection of wines, beers, cocktails, soft drinks, coffees and teas.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 632

  • Maximum capacity: 600 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 450 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,118 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,033 reviews

Lack of communication

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Alyson P 05/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

Whilst I totally understand the challenges in the current climate, I feel customers should have been made aware of of amendments to specific services prior to booking so they can make an informed decision as to whether to book. -The take away breakfast was not highlighted until check in and certainly not worth the money. I would have booked room only and made alternative arrangements -hiding the bar opening hours (5pm -9pm)in a QR code not available until you’re in your room wasn’t helpful. Even then, in amongst all the other information, I didn’t notice the closing time. It also didn’t state that there was a very reduced range of beverages. We had arranged to meet family at 8pm in the bar, this was the actual reason for our visit. Again we would have made alternative arrangements had we known. - bar staff not highlighting that the bar was closing at all. We went to order a round of drinks to be informed that the bar was closed. Not in the least customer friendly. In all we were made to feel like an inconvenience. This could have been avoided if the website had stated that there was no reception/lounge seating areas, takeaway pre packed breakfast only and very limited bar service. None of these are deal breakers but allow customers to plan their stay accordingly.

bristol grand hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

youngryan100 02/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

excellent location reasonably priced car park next to hotel run by hotel payable staff very friendly, professional and welcoming. rooms decore was good as expected. i will definetly consider this hotel again next time i stay in bristol. location is excellent for shopping, night life, access from public transport.

Excellent location, beautiful hotel, great bar area, lovely and quiet room.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Gill F. Couples - 26/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was my fiancé' s birthday and the room had been specially prepared with a balloon and cake. It was an amazing surprise! We've stayed here previously and have always enjoyed our stays. Many thanks

Dear Gill F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Families - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite the current situation in the country finds itself in the staff were helpful and applied rules for the circumstances.

Dear Darren W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Excellent

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Gregyew Business - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I’ve stayed a few times at the Grand Bristol and it gets better each time have stayed in all classifications of rooms my favourite being the standard double refurbished . Only one thing that really needs sorting the quality of the towels they are very thin and really serve no purpose ...I work in the hospitality and tourism sector and stay in a lot of hotels I find the Grand to be particularly a great property ..highly recommended

Dear Austin G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Great location.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Greg F. Friends - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room wasn't cleaned one day of our stay. Towels of cheap quality. Bar Restaurant was good. Car park very tight. Spa good but most lockers broken.

Dear Greg F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stanimir STOYKOV Front Office Manager

Great location but rooms needs upkeep

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Stacey N. Solo - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fabulous friendly and helpful staff. The guy with dark hair and blue eyes was so amazing to me, as was the curly haired girl with glasses. The room needs a bit of an up keep as there were chips in the wall by the door (room 366), and chips and stains in the bathtub. Also the glass on the bathtub had mould and dirt on the bottom. The mattress was a bit uncomfortable as I could feel the springs and it was a bit too bouncy. The water pressure when having a shower was disappointing, but this could just be because it’s an old big building. Other than that, I had a lovely stay.

Dear Stacey N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Perfect for what we needed

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Dan Friends - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy and convenient for a 1 night stay in the centre of Bristol. Breakfast was expensive and so was parking

Dear daniel E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stanimir STOYKOV Front Office Manager

Perfect location

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Alan J. Business - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Satisfied with overall stay staff excellent

Dear Alan J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Stanimir STOYKOV Front Office Manager

well located. Reasonable stay.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a reasonable stay with some good and some not so good. Rooms are good but need a little face lift. Reception most certainly does need some attention. Car parking facility is very good.

Dear Ashish D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stanimir STOYKOV Front Office Manager

Staff very good

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Families - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a fire alarm. There seemed to be only 2 staff on duty. One tried hard to tick off names on a register. No one senior turned up. A megaphone or similar would have been helpful in trying to communicate with the crowds on the pavement. It was very cold standing outside for an hour and a quarter while the fire brigade dealt with the situation, and no help for the very old or the very young. Some people were in dressing gowns.

Dear Sue N., On behalf of Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, please accept my apology. We strive to ensure our guest experience is the best possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Lacking in some areas

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Chris S. Families - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lacking on the mini bar service front this was not filled twice in my 3 night stay on both occasions after phoning reception twice I had to physically go down to reception, I stayed in a suite which was disappointing, the duvet cover did not fit the quilt and the quilt was much larger than the cover,, now what you would expect, car park is fine if you drive a micro car anything else and it’s a tight obstacle Saturday a wedding was held in the hotel and the walls in the 3rd floor were vibrating due to the noise levels. This would not be somewhere I would stay again next time I’m in Bristol

Dear Chris S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Small room

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Robert C. Families - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Tiny room for me and my daughter. Paid extra because it had a swimming pool. But it wasn't even in the same building. Any hotel can claim to have a swimming pool by this standard. Mediocre at best.

Dear Robert C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Pretty grim

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anon Business - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was cold , sparsely decorated and noisy.

Dear Sarah V., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Stanimir Stoykov Front Office Manager

Excellent location

Customer review rating 3.7/5

T.g. Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great breakfast buffet and the location and look and feel of the hotel is excellent, however a few items added to an overall less than excellent stay: 1) Our family room was very spacious but always at about 18 degrees Celsius due to the tall ceilings and the inability of the air conditioning unit to ever properly heat the room. We all wore socks to bed and never really used the room when not under the covers or fully dressed in jumpers. 2) The room service never cleaned the room after our first night despite us hanging out a sign to do so and asking the front desk at 4pm if they were still going to clean (we were told cleaning goes on until 5 and not to worry). 3) A sign on the fridge indicated free soft drinks, but the fridge was empty for all the 4 days of our stay. 4) On the first night (a Saturday) our entire family was rocked out of beds at 10pm by a piercing fire alarm. While waiting in our pjs downstairs, nobody explained if this was a drill or not and if it was over. When we asked, the front desk attendand said the alarm can go off when someone takes a very hot shower. That explanation made half our family anxious while showering and one member refused to shower for the entire stay.

Dear Thorsten G., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and inform us of your experiences. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and our great location. I am sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay which were disappointing and I will of course be looking into the cause of them and how we can prevent these from happening in the future. We endeavour to do our very best to ensure that our guests have a relaxing stay where possible. We will certainly look at the air conditioning unit of the room to ensure it is fixed. I thank you for highlighting all parts of your experience to allow us to continue to grow in the service we offer. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Giuliana

Well located

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Wendy N. Couples - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We used this hotel on a recent trip to Bristol to attend a ballet at the Hippodrome. The location for us was perfect, the theatre being only a short stroll away. Pre theatre dinner was very well cooked although menu was rather dull. Excellent breakfast 10/10 for this. Comfortable bed, nice room, good bathroom. Only niggle was that we should have had two bathrobes and slippers, there were no slippers and only one robe, we tried every number to ask for more but no replies and gave up. Normally this would not have affected our visit at all but unfortunately the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and we had to vacate our room. This was not the staff’s fault (and we were given free parking the next day as compensation) but our bathrobe suddenly went from being a luxury to a necessity! Overall a very nice hotel which we will use again.

Dear Wendy N., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent experience. I am so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your experience with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have two pair of bathrobes and sleepers in the room and that you had trouble trying to reach the front desk. At Mercure we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Giuliana

Great Stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Topher Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed because I/we live 80 miles away from the Bristol Royal Infirmary and I was scheduled for major heart surgery. Unfortunately, on the morning concerned there was a catastrophic equipment failure which meant my operation couldn't go ahead. We went back to the hotel and all our unused time was refunded without question. That is what you call service I have been rescheduled for another attempt at the surgery and you can be sure I will be staying at the Mercure Grand Hotel

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent experience. I am so pleased we have been able to help you. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Giuliana

Well located well run

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Chris Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant overnight stay despite the evacuation @5am . Much better safe than sorry. Good food and very comfy beds.

Dear Mr s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Giuliana

ideally situated in centre of town

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Daryl Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

There was unfortunately a fire alarm in the middle of the night during our stay where there was a genuine fire in the SPA, however this did not affect the overall quality of the stay. We were unaware of the cost for the car park and also think there should be a warning about the car park size as anyone with a large vehicle will simply not fit. The overall stay was nice, the staff were friendly and the bar/restaurant was good. the room although has been recently refurbished was the poor element to our stay. It was dusty and the room is clearly never cleaned properly. The bathroom was ok although the shower was cramped and nowhere near powerful enough. The air conditioning was non functional and because the old sash windows did not shut properly the room was freezing. At over £100 per night we had expected a little more. There was confusion on arrival over the booking as when booking we added the breakfast package but was told on arrival we had not paid enough. To the credit of the hotel reception staff they amended the booking so we did not need to pay extra

Dear Daryl c., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have passed your feedback to the housekeeping department and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Giuliana

Ideal spot in city, central to most things

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Tisms Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On our arrival we were disappointed with the car park which is dark, shabby, small spaces and a few cars obviously dumped in some places, covered in dirt. Memories of staying at the Grand were of a classy, luxurious hotel set in a beautiful Victorian building. The decor is now very modern, a bit strange with oddly patterned stools and cow hide fur on some chairs and stools. Our room, which was renovated, was very dark olive green everywhere including curtains and was more in an Ikea style. Although clean and fresh, the bedside cabinets were ultra modern, one a bright blue small round table, the other, a fold up wooden table with coloured legs. The doors of the wardrobe were metal crate like and industrial lights. I suppose it suits some people and didn’t really bother us but we preferred the previous style which enhance the high Victorian ceilings and the character of the building. The room was cold and it took a while for the air conditioning to work. It was very noisy and old. The room was at the front of the hotel and was very noisy with traffic and people shouting into the early hours. The corridors were also noisy with guests returning late at night. The towels were thin and grubby so after one use we put them for washing and the next day were better. Staff were all friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel. Overall, as we were out most of the time, it did not spoil our stay but we felt that Mercure would be better renovating the windows, towels and air conditioning rather than modernise the building with Ikea like accessories. We probably would not stay there again.

Dear Stephen S., Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I appreciate you sharing your comment on our refurbished style. Both before and during our refurbishment we worked closely with Upfest Festival artists and have tried to combine inspiration from the city’s independent art scene and the building’s rich historic past to create a classic yet contemporary finish. Furthermore we have asked our maintenance team to have a look at the room in which you stayed. I thank you for highlighting all parts of your experience to allow us to continue to grow in the service we offer. Sincerely, Giuliana
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bristol