Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 5,357 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
See on a map
+ 8 Services

Hotel extras

  • Home to the stylish restaurant and bar, Buttermilk & Maple

  • Situated next to the historic harbour, with river view rooms available

  • Meetings and private event space for up to 70

  • 5 minute walk from Temple Meads train station, 20 minute drive from Bristol Airport

  • Within walking distance of central Bristol and all the vibrant city has to offer

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Public indoor parking (nearby) Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Welsh Back 5-7
BS1 4SP bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +441179291030

Fax: (+44)117/9292030

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BRISTOL BUS :  BRISTOL

  • By plane

    BRISTOL At 12.87km / 8 miles

  • By plane

    CARDIFF At 80.46km / 50 miles

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 149.33km / 92.8 miles

  • By boat

    BRISTOL FERRIES At 0.01km / 0.01 miles

  • By train

    Bristol Temple Meads At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :51.453117, -2.592749

Our accommodation(s)

All spacious rooms have a large bathroom with shower & a bath incl a TV & heated mirrors! FREE WIFI, mini fridge, TV entertainment system, air comforting, queen size bed, tea/coffee and many rooms have a view of the tree lined boulevard & river.

Our restaurants and bars

BUTTERMILK AND MAPLE

Type of cuisine: International

Buttermilk and Maple restaurant offers a warm and relax atmosphere for a casual but tasty dining experience . Our dishes have a Australian and New York twist and made with product sourced locally .

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

BUTTERMILK AND MAPLE BAR

Buttermilk and Maple Bar is a great place to meet colleagues , friends and family. Featuring a warm atmosphere combined with a fashionable location along the beautiful riverside , it offers a wide range of craft beers and a great selection of cocktails.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 70

  • Maximum capacity: 70 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 70 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

5,357 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,110 reviews

Misleading listing, good front desk staff

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Traveler Families - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had booked this hotel based on google map listing that showed Air Conditioning, confirmed by Accor site that listed "manual temperature control" and a snowflake symbol. Arrived in 32C weather and checked in only to discover that there was no air conditioning, and the room was extremely hot. We were told we may be able to get a fan, but there was no guarantee as there is a limited number of them. Luckily Chris at the front desk was understanding and refunded our booking.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Richard S. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

room was ok but the bed in room 405 was very well used with a very saggy mattress which led to a bad nights sleep

Great service

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Imran Friends - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a 2 night stay - fantastic staff, and a really well located hotel. Only disappointment was the air conditioning wasn’t strong enough to properly cool the room, and it was very hot when we stayed. Would definitely stay again though

One word will do.......terrible

Customer review rating 0.5/5

W.a. Couples - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I thought that the privilege room as described would overlook the river, however on arrival I was told that not all of this type of room does have a view. Next I discovered that you have no air conditioning, which in the current climate is not acceptable So within ten minutes of my arrival we checked out with a refund

Well located

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Mrs C. B. Friends - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed at this hotel for years but the last 2 times I’ve been very disappointing. Our prestige room was disgusting. No dressing gowns, no slippers, no paper. Broken lamp. Broken lamp shade. Sick in the lamp, food on the floor. Run the tap and water came up through the bath, cigarette ends all over the balcony. Never restocked the free mini bar. We stayed for 2 nights complained about the shattered lamp on the Friday come Sunday when we checked out still broken. Same with the bath could not use it. Excuse was COVID from Mandy on reception who said she was ending our conversation as she had only just started work and that I was pointing at. Very poor and run down hotel. Spent all the money on a bar that was always closed. Needs to have a massive overhaul of the rooms.

Dear Claire Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We value your feedback and I will certainly be addressing all of the points you have raised. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future and should you plan to return, may I ask you contact me direct, as I would wish to oversee the arrangements. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Mercury Brigstow

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Jill W 19/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Hotel looked after us very well during car park crisis. Some minor details could be improved in Room. No waste bin in bathroom. No tissues or bottled water provided( these were provided in Mercure Holland House)

Terrible Beds

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Tony Families - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have stayed in Mercures before but this one is not good. One lift was not working which with the Covid restrictions on the number of people allowed in each lift made the waiting time unacceptable. The room was not particularly clean. The worst aspect however was the bed. You could feel the springs poking through the mattress and made for a very uncomfortable night and sleep impossible. One other thing that the Hotel is not responsible for BUT should point out is that as a visiting motorist it is almost impossible to find a route to the Hotel without going through a Bus Gate. If you do it will cost you £60 as I have now discovered. I feel that the Hotel should point out pretty much the only route is vie Redciffe and Welsh Back.

Dear Anthony Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The lift which is out of order is currently in the process of being replaced and this can take up to four months, I am sorry that during your stay you only experienced one lift working. I have also addressed my concerns to the Bristol Council regarding the changing of the road network and the poor accessibility to our hotel. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

K W. Families - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booking experience a disaster - but hotel staff in particular Josh, sorted it all out - overall hotel experience ok

Dear Karen We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I have noted your feedback and will look into all of the points you have raised. I will also pass on your kind comments to Josh Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope you will consider returning to the hotel again in the future Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Really enjoyable stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

S&pc Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a lovely couple of days staying here. The hotel is well situated within walking distance of the city centre. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast which was included. The staff were very good.

Dear P C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Great location and stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ruth Business - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic location in a gorgeous part of the city, we did initially go to the wrong one who helpfully directed us to the one we needed. Only one of the rooms ready on arrival (which was pre 2pm so that was fine) but we then went to work meetings, followed by our meal out so was late on our return. 2 of the 3 rooms were as requested the third was a twin room, no cups for hot drinks, no cups for water so unable to have a drink in the room, curtain rail was coming off. This was reported in the morning but the person sais "ok will look into it", that was all. Food excellent at breakfast - sorry for setting the fire alarm off, though it was someone elses toast stuck in the toaster! Dealt with promptly and would have never have known. Felt COVID safe throughout the stay, very clean and welcoming staff.

Dear Ruth We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will certainly look into the comments regarding the presentation and missing items in one of the rooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Perfect location for a visit to Bristol

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Judith S. Families - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were meeting up with family and were very impressed with the hotel. We were warmly greeted by Chris on Reception. The hotel seems to be very well run and the management team are visable during the day. The staff are all very helpful and freindly. The breakfast was excellent. Some noise late at night, but this is to be expected from a City Centre hotel and the fact that it was Euro 2020 weekend probably didn't help.

Dear Judith We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Well located but poorly managed

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Carl Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid for a Privilege room, everything that comes with this was not in the room on arrival. Coffee machine, dressing gowns and slippers, stocked mini fridge, newspaper. All may sound trivial but when you pay over £200 for your stay and it’s your first holiday away from home in almost 2 years, you would expect everything to be there. The room was half cleaned, basically only where you could see, the wardrobe had a layer of dust on the shelves, the remote for the small TV in the bathroom was covered in dirty and very sticky. Was nice to have a balcony to chill on but this wasn’t very clean, with fag ends and dirt marks. I made the staff aware of these issues on arrival, which they did sort some what, it took time for them to be resolved. I understand Covid is still with us but can’t helped but feel I had done half the job of what the housekeepers/ hospitality/ hotel manager should have done before we even arrived. Unfortunately the stay ended sooner than expected due to the above issues, spoiling what should have been a romantic get away for my partners birthday. Having said the above I would like to thank Mandy who was on reception during our stay on the Thursday night. She was utmost the professional and kept calm when my partner became extremely annoyed and distressed by the situation and also comforting myself while I was trying to manage and calm the situation.

Dear Carl Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; the standards you experienced fell well below our usual high standards. I am very keen to restore your faith in our hotel and would like to extend an offer for you to return for an overnight stay to include breakfast in one of our Privilege Rooms. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I do hope you will consider my offer to return to the hotel. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Poor

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Flo Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was fine and staff polite and friendly, hotel itself is really dirty and not up to standard expected at all

Dear Flo Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have noted your comment regarding the room being tired, we have recently started a refurbishment of all of our bedrooms and public areas, which should be completed in September. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Not the best Mercure we've stayed in

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Guy S. Couples - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed in the Mercure Holland House last year and this felt dated, smaller and less well appointed than that. Slightly disappointed, but the location - central to town is a positive.

Dear Guy Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are currently in the middle of redecorating our bedrooms and public areas, this programme should be completed in September. We do hope when you plan to revisit Bristol in the future, you will consider returning to our hotel, may I ask if you are planning to come back to Bristol, you contact me direct, so I may oversee the arrangements.. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Excellent Staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff on Reception and Housekeeping were really helpful and well informed, I must admit I didn't notice any real difference between a Premier room and the double rooms we have had in the past. Nice comfortable rooms, well located hotel. Convenient parking.

Dear Susan We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Staff went above and beyond

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Laura N. Friends - 11/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Aside from a lovely room, great location and good breakfast, the staff, particular Chris on front desk were really lovely. I was staying for a wedding, arriving before midday (and therefore too early for check in) so was planning to meet friends who stayed the night before. Unfortunately they had a car crash and didn't arrive until 40 mins before the wedding. The hotel arranged a new room for them for when they arrived, so that we could change, and Chris was really friendly throughout, keeping us updated, despite being really busy all morning. I also seemed to get an upgrade to my room, which was a great bonus. Would absolutely stay again! Thank you!

Dear Laura We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Great location. Welcoming staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kate S. Business - 09/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel. Great location and atmosphere. Welcoming and helpful staff ensuring I had everything I needed to make my stay comfortable.

Dear Kate We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Les Couples - 06/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

First city break since covid. Hotel did everything possible to keep us safe . Staff were helpful and accommodating . Only problem was getting to the hotel as Bristol has changed road access and very difficult to get to the hotel now due to clean air policy keeping traffic out of the city centre and sat navs will be out of date giving false information and possible fines.

Dear I H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I was sorry to hear the challenges you faced navigating the changes in the road network, I share your concerns. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mary Couples - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a lovely room and the reception staff were brilliant. We, for some reason, were unable to book a double room just a twin room online, when we arrived we were asked if we actually would prefer a double so that's what we got.

Dear Mary We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I am pleased we were able to offer you, your requested choice of accommodation. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Yours sincerely, Michael Wood General Manager

Lifts broken for months

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

960kevins Business - 09/03/2020 TripAdvisor review

For a major Bristol hotel to have no functioning lifts/elevators for months on end is unforgivable. Having avoided this hotel for the last two months due an issue a colleague had I returned to find the lifts were still completely out of action. This has been going on since October 2019 and it is now March 2020. The franchise owners of this property clearly have no interest in maintaining it or its regular customers. I have been using this hotel regularly for six years and have never had such a poor run of visits. The staff are wonderful but they are fighting with a property that the franchise owners do not care about.

Thank you for taking the time to comment following your most recent stay with us. I am sorry it has taken so long to restore the lift, I can confirm the lift is now operational at the hotel. We do hope you will continue to visit he hotel in the future. Kind regards Michael Wood General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bristol