Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.6/5 674 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL BRISTOL
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS:51.455372, -2.593519

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Our accommodation(s)

With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.6/5  674 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  1,230 reviews

Badly managed, under-staffed, poor quality rooms

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Paul G. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor. The room (4th floor) was cheap and shoddy. No wardrobe, just open piping. No fridge. Window frames had cracked and peeling paint. There wasn't even a proper bedside table with drawers. The double bed was shoved in the corner, against the wall so if there were 2 guests, one would have to physically climb over the other. This would not be acceptable in the cheapest halls of residence. The place was very poorly managed. Too few staff. Despite it only being the first night of a 4 day convention, with only a fraction of the delegates present, the bar ran out of several drinks on the Thursday night. This happened repeatedly over the next few days. This is even more unforgivable, given that the same thing happened the last time we came in 2019. Those staff that were present were untrained (that was their repeated excuse as queues built up). On the Saturday night, the Keepers bar was closed all night due to the lack of staff, since they had to prioritise the gala dinner (doubtless there will be many complaints about this shambles also). This meant that delegates, WHO COME TO THIS FESTIVAL TO MINGLE AND MEET FRIENDS were dispersed across the city, which ruined the whole point of the weekend for many. I sincerely hope that next year's festival is better organised, or even better, we find another venue, as you aren't up to the job.

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so sorry that your stay with us did not match your expectations and we sincerely regret any inconvenience. We work very hard to provide our guests with the best experience possible and unfortunately, it seems that we fell short in this instance. Nevertheless, it is feedback such as yours that allows us to improve our services and facilities and rest assured that we have noted all your comments for our consideration. We hope we can welcome you back in the future for an improved stay. Kind regards, Michael, General Manager

Poor service

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Happy T. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The positives are that the hotel is well located and the room was nice and clean. However overall the levels of service were appalling. Bar and restaurant chaotic, breakfast service a joke. I appreciate the pressures on the hospitality industry, but having stayed in different hotels recently I would say this was well below par sadly, especially given the prices charged. Much better hotels available nearby.

Dear Janette, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you found our location great for getting around Bristol, and our rooms got the thumbs up. We always try hard to make sure all our guests have a good experience and we're sorry to hear things weren't exactly what you were hoping for. We'd like to assure you that we have taken note of your comments, and your feedback will help us get it right in the future. We hope to see you again for a better stay. Cheers, Michael, General Manager

Overwhelmed and understaffed

Customer review rating 1.0/5

David P. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I have never stayed in a hotel which exhibited so much chaos and confusion. It felt as if the entire operation, from management down to temporary staff, had no idea what they were doing, and constantly firefighting. The refurbishment of the rooms in "industrial chic" has resulted in nowhere to hang clothes without distrubing the tea-making facilities, and a secret weapon of a shelf beneath the narrow desk which has sharp metal edges which results in a deep cut to my finger.

Hi there David, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We always try hard to make sure all our guests have a good experience and it is disappointing to hear things weren't what you were hoping for. We're sorry that our usual top-notch standards weren't obvious on this occasion and we'll be discussing your comments with team to make sure we get back to the high level our guests are used to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident you mentioned. Thanks for telling us your thoughts, we always take your comments seriously and we'll be making sure we use your feedback to get things right for your next visit. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Best for Crimefest

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Hilary R. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice room with no view (132) but lots of hot water although limited clothes space - we lived out of our suitcases. Not one drawer! Good breakfast but the plates needed to be hot! Carbonara in Keepers better than in the posh Italian restaurant.

Hi Hilary, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we will be sure to let our team members know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We do have rooms of different sizes, next time you're visiting let us know and we'll find you a room that gets your thumbs up. Sorry about any inconvenience with the Wi-Fi, always be sure to let us know about issues while staying, we've got a team ready to help and want your stay to be as perfect as possible. Please know that we've taken good note of your comments on breakfast for us to consider for the future. The whole team hopes that we may see you again soon. Cheers, Michael, General Manager

Extraordinary service at a difficult time

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Matt C. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Whilst staying at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, I attended CrimeFest - the crime writing festival taking place at the hotel - and can say that when under pressure, the hotel team thrived and provided an extraordinary service. I was impressed by how kind, friendly, and attentive every member of the team was, and I was even more delighted by the quality of the room and hotel facilities. I will gladly stay at the hotel again.

Dear Matthew, We really appreciate this positive review about your stay. Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible, so it is rewarding to know that everything met your expectations. Your feedback inspires us to continue upholding our high standards of service! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

It was well located, and I enjoyed my conference, but not the hotel.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Sue C. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

On three separate occasions you tried to over charge me. The restaurant had run out of food, or couldn’t cook it. When I asked for my bill in the restaurant they tried three times before they brought me the right one. At our Gala dinner, they told us they had run out of drink and were having to go to Tesco to get more, at least they had the initiative to do that, and then forgot they were supposed to be serving tea and coffee at the end, so didn’t even when they realised. We did not get any type of refund. Having said all that, the staff were friendly if confused and the place was clean.

Hi Susan, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we appreciate your thumbs up for our location, we regret that not everything was as you expected. Regrettably, we can't change your experience but we'll be learning from any mistakes and will make sure we raise our game to its usual level in the future. Please accept our apologies. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very badly managed hotel

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion of your recent stay with us. It seems we didn't quite hit the mark, we would love to hear what we could have done to improve your experience and always welcome our guests' feedback and suggestions for improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located but there were several small issues that added up to not great

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hello, There were issues with the drains in my bathroom. Also breakfast was disappointing. Not very fresh, not very appetizing and the croissants were inedible.

Dear Judith, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're pleased that our location was just what you were looking for. However, please let our team know if something isn't right during your stay so that we can have it fixed or move you to another room. Thanks for giving us such useful feedback and letting us know what we might need to work on. We are sorry that your breakfast didn't quite hit the mark and have noted your remarks which will help us improve our service. We would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay in the future. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Overworked, (probably underpaid) unsmiling staff and in need of a good clean!

Customer review rating 1.5/5

T A. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I came for a conference but I wouldn't stay here again. My room was never properly serviced, the bins were never emptied, the corridors had trays of old meals outside doors that guests had tired of looking at. The breakfast was very slow and at times you couldn't get a table at all. The staff were rude at times, especially the posh English girl on reception and very few ever smiled which I can only see as the result of being over worked. The conference rooms had no climate controls so you were either boiling hot or freezing cold. The Gala Dinner food was terrible and a total rip off. The hotel is very overpriced for dated and inferior standard of accommodation. - as I say, I wont be staying here again!

Hi Cara, Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion of your recent stay with us. We're so sorry to hear that your stay wasn't quite as good as we would have liked and we're sorry to know that you found our team's interaction not that expected; rest assured that we will be looking into this. We're sorry for any inconvenience during breakfast, the wait times can sometimes be longer during busy periods. All information and feedback are very important to us, if you find something that is not up to our usual standards, please let us know so that we might remedy this during your stay. We have, nevertheless, addressed these issues with our housekeeping team. Sorry about any inconvenience with the conference room air con, always be sure to let us know about issues while staying, we've got a team ready to help. We hope to welcome you back in the future for an improved stay. Best wishes. Michael, General Manager

Superb staff, dealing with difficult circumstances

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sarah Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall the stay was excellent, with staff working their socks off to keep on top of a tricky situation. Cleanliness and courtesy second to none - the bar meals and restaurant food were limited and disappointing, and running out of alcohol was (temporarily) concerning, until the manager valiantly made good the shortfall.

Hi there Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're glad that our team looked after you well and thanks for mentioning our high standards. We regret that the menu was a little restricted on this occasion, we'll be on to the chef. We'll be looking into all the issues you mention to find out what happened and make sure we get back on track. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Great hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Really enjoyed our stay. Superb staff

Hi Brian, Thanks for such a positive review of your stay with us. What more can we say. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and a real reward to know we delivered on your expectations, the team will be over the moon with your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Room poor and follow up experience non existent

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

StevenLee1981 Business - TripAdvisor review

Room was awful. Should not have been sold. Was promised by the supervisor on checking out that the the room rate would be refunded however it was not. On following this up people are in-responsive even the General Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're sorry to hear not everything got full marks and your room was not as you'd expected. We have many categories of rooms and perhaps we can help you find one that's better suited to your taste and budget for your next visit? Please know your feedback is always helpful to us in reviewing and improving our services. Please contact us on either of the below methods regarding the refund issue you mention so that we can look into this. Email: ha0i2-gm@accor.com We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Underwhelming.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Louis Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location but a disappointing stay. Room was dated and aging. In addition to that there was no hot water in our room, we informed the front of house staff to which they replied they’d inform maintenance and offered no apology. We paid a premium to stay on this hotel when a premier inn would’ve £50 less and probably better quality. Honestly, just really disappointing!

Hi Louis, Thanks for sharing your review. While we are happy to hear that you liked our location, we are sorry that we didn't hit the mark for you and regret any inconvenience. We carry out maintenance whenever necessary to keep our rooms up to date, however, we have noted your feedback and will use it as we plan future refurbishments. We are sorry for the issue you mention and apologise for any inconvenience. Be sure that we will be addressing your feedback with our team members to ensure that your concerns are quickly dealt with. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located, great and helpful staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

It was pleasant and smooth

Dear Jana, Thank you for such a positive review. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay as this is always our main aim. We will be sure to let the team know the impact they had on your experience. We can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Fred Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfy, satisfying stay

Hi Jonothan, Thank you for such a positive review. We are thrilled that your stay with us merited a big thumbs up, it shows us we are on the right track. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Great location, shame about our room

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Jeffrey W. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here many times and I must say I may not stay again, standards have been dropping on each occasion, finally topped off with my last stay, very poor room, noisy.

Hi Jeffrey, Thank you for leaving us this review of your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay wasn't to your satisfaction and wish we had known at the time, our team is always on hand to find you a comfortable solution We have noted your comments and truly appreciate all feedback that helps us raise our game. We hope we can welcome you back for an improved experience. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Fab location, great staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

An Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

A one night stay to revisit the city for my friends birthday. Really central to old town,, breakfast is great.

Hi Denise, Thank you for this feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. It's a real boost to our team to know that you had a great experience during your stay. We are pleased that we could provide you with just what you were looking for with our handy location. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located, sound standard.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Teresa C. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The standard of room was fine. This was a simple stay for a weekend break. Although small, it was perfect for the purpose. The room was clean and the facilities good (a small shelf next to the bathroom sink would be brilliant). However, the trip was spoiled - accepting there were signs about the function happening in the Saturday night, it was the behaviour of guests until 0500 in the morning, the lack of staff doing anything about it and the lack of interest when discussing the matter with reception the following morning that stood out. Staff apathy though appeared to be a theme. Throughout whether it was the staff in reception we spoke to or those at the bar, everyone seemed miserable, uninterested and just slow. It took 5 mins in the bar to try and locate a teaspoon for a coffee - that only ended when I gave up and used whatever I could find. Tables in the bar sat cluttered in pots and unattended leaving the bar looking a mess). No one smiled or seemed friendly giving the impression that staff were just not bothered. I am not going as far as to say that it ruined the trip or anything, but it did stick out in what would otherwise have been a nice stay. But please do consider putting the little shelf in the bathroom :)

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you liked our hotel and our location was great for you. We are very concerned to learn of the issues you raised, our team is known for being friendly and responsive and we're so sorry this was not what you felt. We'll be talking with the team to make sure it doesn't happen again, be assured. We look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Shabby and overpriced!

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jessatkins0n TripAdvisor review

Although staff were great and extremely friendly, the hotel itself was shabby and needed renovating. Our room had condensation stains all over the walls, marks, cracked paint and stank of wee! On the surface decor was nice but I'd rather a clean room than nice lights. We also woke up to a big pile of cheesy chips on the carpet outside the lifts, it was 10am so I thought the cleaners would have started by this time but apparently not! Will not be booking again, I've stayed in better hotels charging £50 a night.

Hi Jess, Thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion. While we're glad that our great team took good care of you we're so sorry to know that your recent stay at our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We regret you didn't make us aware of any issues at the time so that we could have taken action but please know we will be assessing the situation. We're sorry that our usual top-notch standards weren't obvious on this occasion and we'll be discussing your comments with housekeeping to make sure we get back to the high level our guests are used to. Thanks for telling us your thoughts, we do try to remain competitive in our pricing but this may vary due to demand and time of the year and your feedback helps us know where to improve our services. We hope you'll be back for a better stay in the future. Take care, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Worst night in hotel

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

RACEHLB TripAdvisor review

While I understand it was not the fault of the hotel, I can honestly say I spent the worst night I have had in 30 years of staying in hotels in this place. We stayed for a long weekend over Easter and on Friday night, we were woken up at around 1pm by a group of men in the room next doors to ours. They shouted, played music and banged around the room until 6pm. We had NO sleep. If I had been a lone in the room, I would have felt very scared and vulnerable they were shouting unpleasant comments about women. I had to call reception twice to ask them to tell the men to stop it but it made no difference. Staff were all very helpful and polite, but this was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. A good location though and nicely decorated. But I wold not stay there again.

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled by your kind comments about our team, it's always a great boost for them to hear that they've made a difference. We do, however, regret to read that you were disturbed. As soon as you made us aware of your concern, we tried to talk to the guests, but they did not stop and we apologise for any inconvenience. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Cheers. Mahesh Jay General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in BRISTOL