Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.9/5 5,436 reviews
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel
See on a map
+ 14 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Grade II listed building with original features

  • Two dedicated meeting rooms accommodating 120 guests

  • Stunning architectural features throughout

  • Central location, ten minutes from shops & cruise terminals

  • Nearby to Southampton train station

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

34 - 35 High Street
Southampton
SO14 2HN
southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442380386460

Fax: (+44)2380/386470

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • CITY LINK BUS :   FREE BUS SOUTHAMPTON STA

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION :  

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON AIRPORT At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By boat

    FERRY TERMINAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

  • By train

    SOUTHAMPTON CENTRAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS :50.900261, -1.403921

Our accommodations

The hotel's 99 recently refurbished bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including suites, family rooms and enhanced accessibility. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have complimentary WiFi access, flatscreen TV with satellite channels, hair dryer, iron and board, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone.

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with Two Single Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with 1 double bed and sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron(...)

Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine(...)
Accessible room

Accessible Standard Twin Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2

Our restaurants and bars

SIGNATURE

Type of cuisine: International

Signature has a contemporary design and feel. The menu will offer a range of dishes to cater for all, using fresh locally sourced ingredients. Breakfast served 6.30 - 9.30 Monday - Friday and 7.30 - 10.30 Saturday, Sundays and Bank Holidays

Lunch

11:00 - 18:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

OAK BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Modern design serving a wide range of drinks the perfect place to relax and unwind. Lounge menu available every day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 120

  • Maximum capacity: 120 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 100 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.9/5

5,436 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

2,106 reviews

good location

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

ambience of hotel is good, bed comfortable food was enjoyable. Shower was poor.

Good stay and well kicatwd

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Eddie Solo - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It’s a pleasure to find at the reception a very welcoming person. I have stayed at the hotel a few times now, I was surprised when the receptionist greeted me by name.. remembering someone by their name, that’s what I call care for your customer.., it does make a difference as guest to be welcomed in that way Rome

Dear Eddie Mwansa N., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments about your arrival/check in with reception. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Great location , lovely hotel.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Mark R. B. Couples - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had used Tesco Clubcard vouchers to pay for part of our stay. We had stayed at the Dolphin before, when we had been upgraded to the more modern rooms to the back of the hotel and had also been given breakfast - neither of which were offered to us this time which was a bit of a disappointment. The room was a good size, clean and tidy but as we had a storm on the Saturday night - the room was very noisy because the sash windows rattled a lot in the winds and kept us awake.

Dear Mark B., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, I am sorry the storm kept you awake. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Dolphin Hotel Southampton

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Gerald153 12/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

For a Privilege room we though that the Adonia was very small. Having said that it was fairly quiet. Location close to the city centre was good and close to a wide range of facilities and shops. Overall okay but disappointed in the size of the room.

Well located

Customer review rating 3.9/5

R L. Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A windy night due to the heavy storm and this caused the windows to rattle.

Dear Roger L., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, I am sorry the storm disturbed your evening. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Not great

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Amanda W. Business - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Wasn’t too impressed: • room was cold and it was dark when I arrived so wasn’t aware a window had been left open • no socket by bed to charge phone • concerned that kettle was directly under curtains - hazardous • bed was too hard

Dear Amanda w., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry you left disappointed. Due to our historic nature we do not have plug sockets next to our beds I am afraid. I apologise the room was cold on arrival, I will certainly look into this as this is not our usual standard. We do hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Apart from a few niggling things stay was fine

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception good, breakfast good, parking facilities and location were excellent- room...adequate. Plumbing issues need addressing asap. Radiator in bathroom didn't work, tap dripped incessantly, sash window rattled (yes, I know it's an old building). However, due to weather we had to cut short our stay to get home, reception were brilliantly understanding about this, and I would commend them to the management.

Dear Frances S., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry you encountered plumbig issues, our maintenance team will be investigating. It is a shame the weather cut short your trip but I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us and thank you for the mention of Timi and Lucinda, they are an important part of our reception team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Superb stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Jb Couples - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff welcoming, room was to a great standard. Overall very impressed.

Dear Jeff B., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Nice room

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Jim Solo - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was very pleased with the room upgrade on arrival. I noticed I did not get a free drinks voucher despite being Accor Platinum member... has this benefit been withdrawn? At checkout there were drinks on my room but they weren't mine. These were removed no problem but I suspect this could be caused by rooms with similar sounding names than numbers.

Dear Jim B., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. The drinks voucher is still a benefit, I am sorry you did not receive one during this stay, we will offer an extra drinks voucher during your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Lovely old building but looking in need of some refurbishment

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

blueminimum 10/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

The staff and food were great. Room was clean, but dark and very bare. The bedside lights were wonky and the carpets need renewing and a brighter decor would do wonders. There were some hideous modern chairs in reception that looked very out of place, and there were two breakfast trays with leftover food on the plates on the floor outside a room when we arrived at 12-ish and they were still there when we went out a couple of hours later. Very helpful staff and good easy parking

well located/feel like a king

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Constantinos Friends - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

well behaved staff big and clean rooms

Dear Constantinos S., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our reception team, I will make sure this gets passed on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Well located but looking a bit tired

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Blueminimum Couples - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were all very helpful. Food good and not overpriced. Room very bland but bed comfy. A lovely old building but in need of smartening up a bit. The modern chairs between reception and the corridor to the ground floor bedrooms were just awful. Overall we would stay here again.

Dear Kathryn T., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishing a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms so I do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Another great stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Nick Business - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Dolphin is in a great location for food and drink especially when you’ve been at work late and the staff are always helpful.

Dear Nick T., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am really pleased that you have enjoyed another stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Basic

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Iain C. Business - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pretty basic Mercure, not of the standard I’d expect

Dear Iain C., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry you left disappointed, I will most certainly take your points on board. We do hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Central location. Room needs updating

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Business - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very convenient, centrally located hotel. Whilst the public areas look very nice, the room itself need redecorating. The bathroom especially needs maintenance and renewal

Dear Tung H., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishing a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms so I do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Good Value, clean and modern

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Scott P. Business - 07/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a nice clean roomy room, but my colleague felt his wasn't as good

Dear Scott P., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry your colleague was disappointed with his room, we will be sure to allocate a different room if he makes us aware on his next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Terrible. Bumps banging dragging chairs and tables above our heads.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Meala P. Friends - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

3 night stay in a room with function room above. Shame on hotel for putting people in a room knowing they would be dragging objects around every night ie early hours .then a church service above to top it off.

Dear Jemeala p., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry you left disappointed. I completely understand your comments made in your review and will bring this to the attention of the team as this is certainly not our usual standard. Please contact me directly when you are looking to stay in Southampton again and I will make sure you are well looked after here at the Dolphin Hotel. Kind regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Good location and a hotel with character

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Steve Couples - 04/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A city centre location close to bars and restaurants. Good car park at the rear. The room and bathroom were both very clean, although our room was starting to show signs of age. The staff were all very friendly.

Dear Steve W., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay, although I am disappointed to read the below comments, it is one of our standards to have toiletries in each room, I can only apologise this was not the case for your room and is definitely something I will speak to the team about. We are in the process of refurbishing a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms so I do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Well located for port

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Mrs E. S. Couples - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We booked a package of 1 night bed and breakfast and car parking for 2 weeks whilst on a cruise plus taxi to and from the port. The hotel delivered well and was good value. Our room was quite small but adequate for 1 night. It was comfortable with a well appointed bathroom. The hotel is centrally situated on the high street near the shopping centre and lots of restaurants. We would definitely use the hotel again.

Dear Alan S., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our cruise package to work well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager

Dated

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Laura Couples - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location is good but my room and bathroom was very dated, the carpet had some stains...

Dear Laura P., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences, I am sorry the bedroom left you feeling disappointed. We are in the process of refurbishing a number of our bedrooms and bathrooms so I do hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Lauren Sutton, Hotel Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in southampton