Novotel Southampton Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,165 reviews
Novotel Southampton
See on a map
+ 22 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links, 1 km from Red Funnel Ferry Port

  • Leisure facilities, including gym, sauna and heated pool. Work area, Free Wifi, 32-inch TV

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 330 guests

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining, Lavish hot breakfast buffet with pancakes

  • 10 meeting and banquet rooms, capable of holding 500 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PMPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Southampton

1 West Quay Road
S015 1RA
southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442381072800

Fax: (+44)2380/222158

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION :  

  • By plane

    EASTLEIGH At 11.26km / 7 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 112.64km / 69.99 miles

  • By boat

    RED FUNNEL - TOWN QUAY At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    M 27 JUNCTION 3 At 4.83km / 3 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAL STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :50.904846, -1.414687

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Standard Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Superior Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 21
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Executive Room 1 Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Ady: Cruise and Heritage room.

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Georgiana: Vintage Floral room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Agnieszka: Forest room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Entertain your palate at Novotel. Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting. Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel.

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 504

  • Maximum capacity: 500 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 400 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Southampton

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

7,154 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,165 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Exemplary customer care when there was a problem, best accessible bathroom we have used in a hotel.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Mary Couples - 22/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My husband has Parkinson’s, the accessible bathroom was excellent (we have never had a shower chair in a hotel before). Next morning my husband did not feel well so we checked out before breakfast because he was anxious to get home. The lady receptionist (and I regret not noting her name) found us a wheelchair to enable my husband to get to the car and then suggested and arranged two packed breakfasts to take out. Her customer care was exemplary, she showed empathy without making a fuss and had a great deal of common sense and practical approach to our dilemma. She was on duty at Southampton Novotel on the morning of 19th January 2020, it would be lovely to pass on this review to her if possible.

Dear Mary, This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We are here to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Maria Pitekova Guest relations Novotel Southampton

Decent and convenient hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Simon Solo - 21/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good hotel to spend 2 nights at while attending a football match at St Mary’s. Only 7 minutes walk from the railway station so really good locations. Room (221) was clean and tidy although a slight musty smell but minimal. Room was large and comfy, great bed also. The shower/ washbasin and loo are in different rooms which was fine although the plug hole in the sink seemed slow to clear away. One thing also to note but I forgot to mention on reception is that if the shower room is shut there is no handle on the inside to get out again!

Dear Simon, Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. Your feedback is appreciated. I am pleased to read that you had positive interactions about our hotel.. I am very sorry to see you disappointed with some bits with your room Your constructive comments are important for us and will help us to improve and push for some refurbishment in the hotel. Keeping our room is a priority and we work on a daily basis to improve our quality. I do hope we can gain your trust back and we will see you once again in a near future. Kind regards Maria Pitekova Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Edenir Business - 17/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

very good, good service, good facilities, good value for money.

Dear Edenir N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Southampton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

Extremely enjoyable stay and satisfied with every aspect of the hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Carole M. Families - 16/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception staff on arrival were very friendly & polite. My granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed her goodie bag. Hotel location is excellent. Premises beautifully clean and our room was perfect. It was lovely to have use of the swimming pool & gym area. We enjoyed our swims but were slightly concerned at the ferocity of the pool filter system & worried about the possibility of my small granddaughter’s hair being sucked in after her hand got attached to the side of the pool. Breakfast was freshly prepared and of excellent quality. Would not hesitate to return.

Dear Carole M., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

Good to be back

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Richard A. Couples - 16/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The NOVOTEL in Southampton is fast becoming my favourite hotel, a real home from home. Staff are quite lovely and welcoming.

Dear Richard A., Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was great. Iwona and giggs were most helpful. There was also a blonde Portuguese lady, cannot remember her name, who went out of her way to make my stay memorable

Dear Andrey M., Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. Your feedback is appreciated. I am pleased to read that you had positive interactions with the Team. I am very sorry to see you disappointed with the room Your constructive comments are important for us and will help us to improve and push for some refurbishment in the hotel. Keeping our room is a priority and we work on a daily basis to improve our quality. I do hope we can gain your trust back and we will see you once again in a near future. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton

disappointing

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Beresford J. T. Families - 13/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Having stayed at the Mercure Dolphin over the past 10 years but when we tried to book for 22nd December 2019 were told it was fully booked so they transfered the call to Novotel. We always have the full cruise package at the Dolphin so expected the same package as both are Accor hotels. We were informed at the reception desk that the taxi service was included only to the embarkation and we would have to pay for the taxi back to the Novotel. On arrival at the port the taxi driver asked for £8.10 We said it was included in our cruise package but he insisted on being paid. Also on our return we had to pay taxi . We feel we were miss sold the cruise package . On our return to the car on the 5th. January 2020 we were horrified to find a large amount of broken glass both sides and under the car. On arrival we were shocked to be asked for further identification as we were not deemed to be British. We have Isle of Man passports that state we are British Citizens. So we did not feel welcome.

Dear Beresford T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Southampton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As per our phone conversation i did processed the refund of £8.10 on your card, regarding asking for ID unfortunately we have to do that just in case fraud bookings, one more time please accept my apology for all of the inconveniences during your stay, it was lovely to talk to you o the phone and I hope I will see you in near future, Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton

Always Good

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Ray Couples - 12/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed in the Novotel Southampton on a number of occasions and have always had a good experience . On this occasion my wife left an outfit in the room that we didn't discover until we came back from our cruise of which I then contacted the hotel and spoke with Claudio the dayshift manager who couldn't have been more helpful , he phoned me back to say that the outfit was there and made all the arrangements to post it back which we received 2 days later which was brilliant service from him and his team .

Dear Raymond A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive nice feedback about your stay. I am sure Claudia will be happy to read it. I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Southampton in the future. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

Usual high end quality you expect from a leading hotel brand .

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Gary S. Families - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I always stay in the Accor Group hotels as you get a quality service right from the front desk , reception , bar and restaurant and the rooms are of a high standard clean and comfortable which is key to a good night stay for business or pleasure .

Dear Gary S., This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Maria Pitekova Guest relations Novotel Southampton

Poor Breakfast

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Mr R Family - 11/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Have stayed at this hotel on quite a few occasions now, usually pre-book breakfast but this has become a waste of time. The hotel has become food wastage aware, which I agree with, but their answer to this is don't put any out!! £10 per person for an extremely limited selection and amount. 6 people waiting for hot food and 5 sausages made available, 10-15 mins before anything topped up or totally just ignored. Shortages and no shows all the time.There is a board proudly displayed in the dining room showing the amount of wastage on the average plate the day before 127gms - it never changed for each of the 3 days we stayed. Hotel is average but breakfast is an unfortunate joke.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Southampton. I am sorry that your experience in the restaurant did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We do hope, this experience will not deter you coming back to Novotel Southampton and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future, Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

alternating

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Huge disappointment at check-in to discover my reservation was cancelled so had to book another hotel at the middle of the night. Worst internet connection for quite a long time and I do travel around.. Otherwise the hotel was pretty good but such basic issues need to be organized in reliable way.

Dear Markku S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Southampton. I am very sorry to see that you had a dispointed start of your stay. By the term and conditions all reservations need to be guarantee by preauthorisation of the first night. Your reservation has been canceled by our system because card provided was invalid. However I would like to truly apologies for this situation and also for the issue with wifi connection. I do hope you will give us one more chance to serve you better in the near future. Kind Regards, Magdalena Baranowska Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

very good service. the bedroom was a bit dated.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Andrew M. Business - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

good

Dear Andrew M., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry to see you disappointed with the room. Your constructive comments are important for us and will help us to improve and push for some refurbishment in the hotel. Keeping our room is a priority and we work on a daily basis to improve our quality. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton

Always a pleasant stay with excellent staff.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Michael C. Couples - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As stated a very enjoyable comfortable stay. Have always stayed at this hotel whilst in Southampton.

Dear Michael C., This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

Lovely staff

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

From check in to check out we were looked after amazingly

Dear Everett M., This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton
Customer review rating 4.2/5

T. S. K. Friends - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A peaceful n decent place to stay in and feel quite comfortable as a whole.

Dear Sai K. T., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Victoria Solo - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A great welcome , good service, excellent food, clean room.

Dear Victoria M., This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Adrian Families - 07/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We found the staff very helpful on the desk and enjoyed a terrific breakfast.

Dear Adrian T., This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

very nice hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

stayed for 1 night. Hotel was clean and tidy, staff were extremely helpful. If I visited Southampton again, I would choose this hotel to stay at.

Dear Richard R., Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest relations Novotel Southampton

Great stay!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Alia O. Couples - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved the stay at Novotel Southampton! Travelled from east london was a easy drive and everything such as shops and resturants were soo close! Had a good access to pool and gym facilities which my partner loved! Overall had a great time at Novotel! X

Dear Alia O., Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton

Well looked after

Customer review rating 4.2/5

C L. Families - 06/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Warmly welcomed at check in. Some unexpected touches as it was my husband’s birthday. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you very much for a great stay - we will definitely be back and highly recommend you!

Dear Chris L., This is such a wonderful review so thank yo for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in southampton