Information message

Sofitel London St James Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.7/5 13,353 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Sofitel London St James
See on a map
+ 12 Services

Hotel extras

  • Newly designed rooms by Pierre-Yves Rochon

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • All-day dining restaurant, Wild Honey St James, led by renowned Chef Anthony Demetre

  • 5-star luxury hotel in the centre of London

  • Grade II listed building with original features

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being Paying
  • Babysitting on request Paying
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 14 Meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel London St James

6 Waterloo Place
SW1Y 4AN london
united kingdom

Tel: +442077472200

Fax: (+44)20/77472210

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • PICCADILLY CIRCUS :  6.9.15.23

  • THE HAYMARKET :  6.9.23.15

  • WATERLOO PLACE :  6.9.15.23

  • PICCADILLY CIRCUS :  BAKERLOO LINE PICCADILLY CIRCU

  • PICCADILLY LINE :  PICCADILLY LINE PICCADILLY CIRCU

  • By plane

    GATWICK At 46km / 28.59 miles

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24km / 14.91 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY APT At 10km / 6.21 miles

  • By helicopter

    LONDON HELIPORT At 7km / 4.35 miles

  • By car

    M1 At 4km / 2.49 miles

  • By car

    M20 At 9.5km / 5.9 miles

  • By car

    M4 At 8km / 4.97 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRASS At 2.5km / 1.55 miles

  • By train

    VICTORIA STATION At 2.5km / 1.55 miles

  • By train

    WATERLOO STATION At 2km / 1.24 miles

GPS :51.50732, -0.132397

Our accommodation(s)

Discover rich color schemes, the soft down of a luxury bed, high technology and Hermès amenities in each of our luxurious 183 hotel rooms in London. Family rooms are easily facilitated by booking an interconnecting room.

NEWLY DESIGNED CLASSIC ROOM, 1 QUEEN BED

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 23 / 248 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Mini Bar

NEWLY DESIGNED SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 QUEEN BED

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 26 / 280 sq ft
  • Views: Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Mini Bar

NEWLY DESIGNED LUXURY ROOM, 1 KING BED

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 32 / 344 sq ft
  • Views: Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Mini Bar

NEWLY DESIGNED LUXURY ROOM, 2 SINGLE BEDS

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 32 / 344 sq ft
  • Views: Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Mini Bar

NEWLY DESIGNED PREMIUM LUXURY ROOM, 1 KING BED, VIEW OVER WATERLOO PLACE OR PALL MALL

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 32 / 344 sq ft
  • Views: City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Mini Bar

NEWLY DESIGNED STUDIO SUITE, 1 KING BED, LOUNGE SPACE,VIEW OVER WATERLOO PLACE

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 35 / 377 sq ft

NEWLY DESIGNED FAMILY ROOM, 1 KING BED, SEPARATE LIVING ROOM WITH SOFA BED

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 49 / 527 sq ft
  • Bathrobe

Our restaurants and bars

Wild Honey St James

Type of cuisine: Bistronomy

This concept takes chef Anthony Demetre's reimagined Wild Honey and brings it to St James... A casual all day dining venue serving modern European dishes with seasonal local ingredients. Our restaurant is open Tuesday to Saturday.

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

ST JAMES BAR

St James Bar is a cocktail destination in the heart of St James, redesigned to create a truly decadent and intimate space, day or night.

Menu (PDF)

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

THE ROSE LOUNGE

In line with local government recommendations, The Rose Lounge is temporarily closed.

Menu (PDF)

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 14

  • Maximum size: 195

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel London St James

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.7/5

13,353 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

4,898 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Central location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gordon F. Couples - 17/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very well situated hotel and attentive team.

Dear Mr F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Solo - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent location. Comfortable, quiet room. Good breakfast. Friendly, helpful service throughout. Reassuring safety measures in place.

Dear Mr L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

Perfect location for meeting but very peaceful

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sb Business - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcoming and professional. Great location but quiet and peaceful.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

well located, great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Andrew C. Couples - 15/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fabulous weekend made very special by your staff

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

‘Excellent’ as usual!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mr J. M. Couples - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We always stay with the Sofitel St James if we take a trip to London. We love the staff, hotel high level of cleanliness and hotel location

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

Good stay but with problem

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Chris L. Couples - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location and was very happy with the room. I was unfortunately charged more for the room than I booked it for though. When looking at my bank account.

Dear Mr l., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel London St James. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that the overcharge will shortly be refunded. As per your comment I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you directly, let me know when would be the most appropriate time for me to call you in regards to your invoice. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback, I do hope that despite your departure experience you have enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to talking to you soon, Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

everything was fine

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Edward S. A. B. Business - 11/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were a bit disappointed with the size of the bedroom it was very small Service and everything otherwise was very good

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I was sorry to hear that the room was slightly too small for your needs. Please rest assured that we do have some higher categories that would allow you more space for any future stays. Your comment have been updated in your profile with us as well for any future stays to ensure we allocate some of our bigger rooms within the category booked. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 10/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Beautiful hotel with the most helpful staff in an ideal location! What more to say?

Dear Mr T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

Fabulous

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Catherine M. Couples - 09/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

First stay after lockdown. Hotel and staff fabulous as always. Beautiful hotel. Great location Lovely bar with great bar staff. Overall excellent weekend break.

Dear Ms m., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to hear that you had such a fabulous stay. I will share your comments with our entire team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Sally-Ann Jenkinson Director of Guest Experience
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Harry P. Couples - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly and professional staff. Hotel was lovely.

Dear Mr P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Sally-Ann Jenkinson Director of Guest Experience

Great to be back

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gilbert F. Families - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Last time I stayed was in 2016. Since than, the property has improved greatly on all levels. The team intuition, the dining experience and the refurbishment have all played a great part. Well done for the Sofitel St James team...

Dear Mr F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James and I am so sorry to have missed you personally. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our entire team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Please don't leave it as long next time! Sincerely, Sally-Ann Jenkinson Director of Guest Experience

Perfect down to the smallest details

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Peter C. Families - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Absolutely excellent, from start to finish but the front desk remembering my son and going out their way to get him a present makes everything worth while. The bar staff were phenomenal on the evening I can’t heap enough praise on them.

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, especially with Andreea and Stefania. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

lovely hotel and staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Stephen C. Couples - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good hotel but the breakfast was extremely slow unfortunately. If I had been on business it would caused me a lot of anxiety. Overall a very good hotel.

Dear Mr C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is a pleasure to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the team so lovely. I am however disappointed to hear that your breakfast experience was not so positive on this occasion and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience. Thank you for your comments as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Sally-Ann Jenkinson Director of Guest Experience

Excellent location and a fabulous hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Cathm Friends - 06/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were going to the theatre and this hotel was ideally placed meaning we were just a few minutes walk away. As a result we actually booked two further shows at other theatres and could do all this as plenty of other things too. The staff were welcoming one attentive all the time and the hotel was beautiful. The room was superb

Dear Ms M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. After such a long time I hope that you have enjoyed the shows you went to see. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

A very welcoming oasis in these strange times.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Robert G. Solo - 06/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had an excellent stay with pleasant, efficient and friendly service in every department.

Dear Mr G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Charlie B. Couples - 03/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly staff and great service the decor in the room and throughout was fantastic. There were some issues with mini bar and linen but otherwise it was lovely

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London St James. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, especially to Andreea. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Amelie Hacking Front Office Manager

short stay in Sofitel London

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

J5883SNmikew 04/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is nothing short of superb, the staff greeted us before we got in and made us feel very special from that moment onwards. The room was ready early and we had been upgraded due to our status with Accor. The staff always make the difference and they couldnt have treated us better. The room was exquisite and very very comfortable . We would recommend this hotel if staying in London its far abopve the rest

Dear J5883SNmikew, Thank you so much for such a raving review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager

Anniversary event

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Tora S 03/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

We booked the hotel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. In these strange times we could not have asked for a warmer welcome, we were treated like royalty and every member of staff made us feel incredibly welcome. The service was outstanding, the hotel was covid ready, the food was amazing. Can't wait for my next anniversary so we can come again.

Dear Tora, Thank you for your outstanding review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you at Sofitel London St James and help you celebrate your anniversary. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to seeing back soon, Kind regards, Marie-Paule Nowlis General Manager

Sofitel St James, London

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

NorthStar558633 04/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

excellent place to stay, staff some welcoming, noting was to much trouble, customer service was excellent, would recommended the hotel to all, great location and access to all attraction, tube station nearby which give good access to all of London

Dear guest, I thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet location. A bientot. Marie-Paule Nowlis

Home, Sweet Home!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

mariemJ5585VE 28/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

I cannot even say "As usual" because my stay was more than "as usual"! An incredible upgrade! And such a warm welcome back and so many sweet moments throughout the week... Thank you so much to all of you!

Dear guest, Thank you so so much for this gorgeous feedback. We all loved it. We all look forward to welcoming back. Meanwhile I wish you a great year 2020! A bientot. Marie-Paule Nowlis

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london