Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,627 reviews
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
See on a map
+ 20 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Marco Pierre White Restaurant on site

  • Close to four major rail terminals, including St Pancras

  • Within five minutes' walk of two underground stations

  • A short walk from London's major shopping destinations

  • Nearby landmarks include British Museum and Covent Garden

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • ConciergePaying
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre (Nearby)
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

130 134 Southampton Row
WC1B 5AF
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442078333691

Fax: (+44)20/78373485

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :   68/168/91/59 SOUTHAMPTON ROW

  • RUSSELL SQUARE :   PICCADILLY RUSSELL SQUARE

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24.14km / 15 miles

  • By train

    EUSTON At 1.13km / 0.7 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRAS EUROSTAR At 1.45km / 0.9 miles

GPS :51.520798, -0.123307

Our accommodations

Standard room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Small double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior room with 1 kingsize bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Our restaurants and bars

MARCO'S NEW YORK ITALIAN MPW

Type of cuisine: International

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The restaurant has a Manhattan style bar area with floor to ceiling windows and outside seating area. It's perfect for a quick bite to eat, coffee or cocktail at the bar.

Lunch

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

MARCO PIERRE WHITE'S NY ITALIAN

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The contermporary bar serves Food and Beverage daily

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 27

  • Maximum capacity: 30 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

7,600 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,627 reviews

Good location not sure its four stars though

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Fiona M. Business - 29/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Foyer was nicely presented and staff were very helpful. Rooms were really of a four star standard, run down and lacking some TLC

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services therefore, your feedback is very important to us. However, we apologize if you were not satisfied regarding the room quality. I am pleased to inform you thatwe will proceed a full refurbishment in 2020. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be fully pleasant. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Solo - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable and convenient.

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.2/5

Gary Business - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor. No acknowledgement of platinum status. WiFi not working in room, was reported and nothing was done about it.

Dear Mr Smith, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please note that this problem was an exception to our normal practices, therefore a credit refund of 1000 LeClub points will be issued to your account. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Great location but hotel room needed a little TLC and updating. Shower pressure very poor.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Chris Couples - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel in great location for what we wanted. Shame about the facilities in the hotel room, the shower had very little pressure and did not really function as it should- got more pressure from the sink tap then the shower! There was a Nespresso machine in the room to use but there was no capsules- phoned and ask reception several times on the night to get some but did not receive anything until the next morning when we had to ask again.

Dear MR S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

as we've come to expect

Customer review rating 4.2/5

F. Couples - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly, comfortable, as expected at a mercure

Dear Mr F., Thank you very much for taking the time to answer to our online survey following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that our service and facilities met your expectations. If you would like to take a few minutes to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback will be most helpful to us. For your convenience I have provided you with the link below. https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d192042-Reviews-Mercure_London_Bloomsbury-London_England.html Once again, thank you very much for the kind review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure London Bloomsbury in the near future. Best regards, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Good

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Michael M. Couples - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Was nice stay very clean nice staff only thing rooms very very small and television keep freezing on channels and skipping apart from that great stay and I would return Many thanks Michael

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Great Location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Kathy Couples - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is in a great location, easy access to the Tube. The rooms are clean and comfortable; however the King room is small, especially for more than one person with luggage. The staff is pleasant and there is a nice variety for breakfast.

Dear Mrs K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Good experience

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Allis S. B. Families - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We appreciated the comfortable beds. It was also good being able to have windows open at night. Well equipped with hair dryer, extra pillow/blanket, tea/coffee, safe, iron board etc. The only thing I missed was the lack of cucumber, red pepper and tomato for the breakfast buffet.

Dear Mrs Sand B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Visit to London

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

argentors Business - 27/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

The Mercure London Bloomsbury hotel is a lovely hotel in a nice part of London.We had to change rooms three times when we arrived as we had paid for a standard double room and was given a small double. The second room was next to the Hotels generator so noisy but the third room on the ground floor was perfect. The staff at the hotel are friendly and very obliging. I had paid for a two course meal at the hotel from the normal menu to save time looking around but unfortunately the meal was from a Groupon menu and was terrible. The choice was poor and the quality of the food also poor.

Generally, a good place to stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Pauline D. Solo - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant welcome from staff. The ground-floor room was nice, comfortable and quiet. It was a bit cold, except for the lovely warm bathroom floor. Whem I queried this, it was quickly put right and the room warmed up. I was disappointed with the restaurant as I had thought it would be more gourmet and less hamburger as it was a Marco Pierre Wbite franchise. The bar though was great.

Dear Mrs D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Great standards

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Steven G. Couples - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great check in no hassle and great to come home at night to a safe warm nights sleep

Dear Mrs g., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

friendly and cozy hotel, with friendly staff at the intake desk

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Abr3 Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice room, on the top floor, good towel service. The bathroom was a bit windy, due the the bathroom single glass. The staff at the restaurant were often bickering, which can be experienced as a nuisance for hotel guests

Dear Mrs Van Der T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

We managed it.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Friends - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We paid in advance and did not order breakfast. Check-in was okay but there appeared to be some confusion about the number of beds; fortunately housekeeping was in the corridor and was able to quickly separate the pushed-together beds into two separate ones. The toilet door meant that one needed to step into the shower to enter the room comfortably, and the toilet was too close to the heated towel rail so sitting on the toilet one was always a little askew. The TV in the room wasn't set correctly so each time it came on it immediately switched into "Store Demo Mode" which meant we had to use the remote control to change the signal input to "TV" rather than whatever is the default setting. Not sure why that was happening. Wifi was available but a little irritating that we kept having to login every few hours. I didn't notice but others in our party noticed a number of noisy people and, bizarrely, a man in the corridor in his underpants apparently knocking on the wrong room doors on Friday and Saturday nights. Concerned that the shower may not be draining very well in the room either (407).

Dear Mr L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Everything worked smoothly

Customer review rating 4.2/5

John W. Couples - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very welcoming & efficient

Dear Mr W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Extremely Disappointing as an Accor Member

Customer review rating 4.2/5

M. R. Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed last month and was concerned by the noise level and asked for a refund for the stay I had prepaid a month later which was not possible. I emailed the manager and had a disappointing response 2 weeks after my initial email. During my stays, I was unable to sleep for 2 work conferences due to extreme noise. The toilet wouldn't flush and had to be repaired. The hairdryer in the room had a European plug and when I asked for a British hairdryer, I was provided with an adapter that didn't work. I was then finally brought a British hairdryer but this hassle made me late for work. I was very disappointed as I have stayed at multiple Accor hotels and have never had such a poor experience (especially for the £1200 spent on these 2 stays). I will not be staying at Mercure Bloomsbury ever again. I have never provided negative feedback for a hotel before and genuinely hope you are able to improve your services for other customers.

Dear Meagan R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As explained by email, I was on holiday with no access to my work email when you contacted me therefor you had to wait for an answer. and unfortunately there is no possibility to cancel a non cancellable rate... At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please note that this problem was an exception to our normal practices, therefore a credit of 4000 LeClub points will be issued to your account. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Poor Experience

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Adam M. Families - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The accommodation was advertised as a 4* boutique hotel ("The 4-star boutique-style hotel"). Unfortunately, this wasn't an accurate description. The hotel rooms had coffee stains on the wall, a plank of plywood under one of the beds where it had broken. The shower didn't work in one of the rooms and there was no plug for the bath. I believe some of the plug sockets in one of the rooms didn't work either. When this was brought up with the reception staff the issues were treated with contempt. My family experienced a very poor stay and I would not book this again. I have given it a 2* rating as the location is convenient. I would say that when this was brought up we had to repeat ourselves as these issues were not logged on your system at the time. I don't know if this was done intentionally to hide the issues raised or whether this was just incompetence. The stay was a dark cloud over a lovely weekend. The hotel really needs to re-evaluate its product and service as the whole experience was very poor!! I would not recommend this hotel in the slightest if anything I believe a refund would be warranted.

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Overpriced based on level of quality

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a one-night business stay at the hotel and it was less than satisfactory. Very slow check-in process, key badges which didn't work multiple times during a one-night stay; poorly functioning bathroom equipment (i.e., shower head and the water faucet handle), slow elevators and reception staff who could not issue a receipt upon check-out.

Dear Mrs K., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Quiet , comfortable and convenient

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Sue S. Families - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent location, clean comfortable and wrll appointed. Breakfast was very nice.

Dear Mrs S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Just ok.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Mr A. Business - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were excellent. The breakfast was great. The room was small and contained tired-out furniture. No bottled water in room. TV was difficult to operate with poor channel selection.

Dear Mr Anderson, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Perfect

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Antonio Business - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room’s cleaning, the good internet connection and the position of the hotel are the main things that I appreciate.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london