Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 8,192 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Close to four major rail terminals, including St Pancras

  • Within five minutes' walk of two underground stations

  • A short walk from London's major shopping destinations

  • Nearby landmarks include the British Museum and Covent Garden

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • ConciergePaying
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre (Nearby)
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

130 134 Southampton Row
WC1B 5AF
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442078333691

Fax: (+44)20/78373485

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :  68/168/91/59 SOUTHAMPTON ROW

  • RUSSELL SQUARE :  PICCADILLY RUSSELL SQUARE

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24.14km / 15 miles

  • By train

    EUSTON At 1.13km / 0.7 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRAS EUROSTAR At 1.45km / 0.9 miles

GPS :51.520798, -0.123307

Our accommodation(s)

Standard room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Small double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior room with 1 kingsize bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: City View *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)
Rooms

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 27

  • Maximum capacity: 30 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

8,192 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,698 reviews

We love the Mercure

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Rob D. Business - 12/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely staff, comfy beds. And the breakfast is a nice touch.

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Business - 09/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed here after a long shift at work. One I got to the room. The tv remotes didn’t work and there was no hot water when having a shower. This was the same in evening and morning. When I went to report in morning no one was around.

Ideal locations

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Megan S. Business - 05/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect locations for me to get to work. Comfortable, clean rooms with lovely helpful staff.

Dear Mrs s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thibault Rocamora Front Office Manager

Very welcoming during this unpredictable period

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Antonio Business - 26/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I felt secured and had a nice check in. Everything explain about the new covid rules. The room was clean and functional

Dear Antonio, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Thibault r. Front Office Manager

Overpriced Dump

Customer review rating 4.1/5

O. 1. Business - 22/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

They don’t except cash which isn’t stated on any part of their website I was allocated a room 2 single beds no double and that was an “upgrade” I complained and was given another room with 3 single beds. I was too tired in the end to complain. The hotel smells like it hasn’t had a deep clean in years. The reception staff are useless & rude

Dear Mrs O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I'd like to hilight some facts, all our kingsize room are made with two single beds zipped together as a lot of hotels are doing. We do not handle cash as per Government guidelines concerning the spead of Covid19. All informations and new rules are on Accor.com. I'd like to remind you that gave you a discount on the room rate during your stay. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 02… if you wish to discuss this matter in further details specially to arrange a better stay aligned with your expectations for your next stay on January 18th. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

below average 4 star

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Business - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms small (which some of them in central London are), but worn. Bed very soft, furnishings worn, can hear TVs from other rooms, Feels like 3+. The price was cheap so fair enough but wouldn't stay here again.

Dear Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services therefore, your feedback is very important to us. However, we apologize if you were not satisfied regarding the room quality. I would appreciate if you would like to give me more details in order to investigate and take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be fully pleasant. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

I won't stay here again

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Stephen Business - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

No instant hot water. According to the receptionist, you need to let the shower run for at least 20mins. First night, I had to bathe with almost cold water. The following morning, after running the shower for more than 20mins and couldn't wait, I had to enter the shower and bathe with Luke warm water. There is black mold around the shower tray; disappointing to see this in a 4 star hotel. The carpet in the hallway is even cleaner and better looking than the one in the room I stayed. What a shame for a 4 star hotel.

Dear Stephen A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Unfortunatelly, due to the very low occupancy rate we are having at the moment,hot water takes long time to come and there is nothing we can do about it ... we usually advice our guests to let the watter run for a moment before taking shower. Seems that we forgot and I am very sorry for this... At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Thibault Front Office Manager

As you mention - well located, clean and quiet

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Paul Couples - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As you say - well located for access to the University Hospitals which is where I needed to go, the service was good given the covid restrictions however the reservation was a bit messed up but I don't think it was only due to the Mercure staff / system, anyway it was easily rectified.

Dear MrJJones, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Convenient

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Mike.o Business - 18/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Better than my last stay

Dear Mr O., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed this stay ! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

A bit drab

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Kevin Couples - 15/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was small and dated, bed was a bit limp and the aircon didn't shut off with the remote so had to unplug it

Dear Mr L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Thibault Rocamora Front Office Manager

Great sleep!

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Brooke Business - 06/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

peaceful nights sleep! Great location and very clean!

Dear Mrs R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Thibault Rocamora

Not 4 star

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Heidi B. Families - 04/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Shocking, room was too hot asked why air conditioning wasn’t working , called reception was told it was switched off and to open the windows! On a main road with heavy traffic! Shower was cold and had no pressure unable to wash hair! Asked for some mugs so I could make a cup of tea was given paper cups! 4 star I don’t think so . My son was in hospital we had to stay another night so we booked another hotel for £45 including breakfast. I paid £169 for the stay with you and this was no where near value for money.

Dear M B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Thibault Rocamora Front Office Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Raymond A. Couples - 26/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We only stayed one night my wife had to go for a MRI scan National neurological hospital Queen Square this hotel is very handy being just around the corner

Dear Mr A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Goodstay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Families - 25/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I arrived quite late & had quick check in

Dear Mrs B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Ideal location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

David Business - 23/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed for one night only and booked a double room single occupancy. I have found that the single rooms are too small

Dear Mr L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to hear that the single was too small for you, next time do not hesitate to contact the Reception team, we could provide a different room category which feet better your needs Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Hotel itself was fine but I certainly didn’t feel Covid safe.

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Kay F. Solo - 22/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only sanitiser was on front desk. There was a new container by floor 3, but not in use. None in room. Surfaces in room did not appear to have been sanitised and I had a very stained upholstered chair in my room which I covered with a bath towel in order to use. I didn’t see anyone sanitise lift buttons or door handles during my stay. Staff on front desk were helpful as far as their rather limited English went. Breakfast bag had a good selection and location was ideal for my hospital visit.

Dear Catherine F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Very, very convenient

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Tony B. Solo - 22/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Sorry that there could be no restaurant breakfast. Brown bag of grub of breakfast left a lot to be desired on one of two days.

Dear Mr B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Unfortunately, the current worldwide situation and the UK Legislations do not allowed us to operation as before and it specially affects the Food and Beverage department. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Fine

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Charlie Solo - 21/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I can’t really fault the hotel....it was ‘fine’ the decor is very dated and the room quite small. Not sure what perfume/air freshener is used in the lobby and stairwells but it is over powering. Power sockets nowhere near the bed is a bit annoying. Not sure how hotel chains like this will survive. I stayed in the premier inn kings cross before this and it was a gorgeous hotel and lovely room and £40 per night instead of the £80 here. Take note or I fear the future will not be bright. Sorry if this seems negative like I said the room did what it said on the tin just the competition are doing far better and cheaper!

Dear Charlie P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Steven Families - 15/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My daughter had an appointment at great ormond Street, 3 minutes walk... whilst there we also wanted to show her the sights of London, lots of major tourist hotshots locations within 30 minute walk.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Perfect location.

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Robert Families - 13/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

These very strange times The Bloomsbury staff were exceptional explaining all the required protocols and always with a smile. Especially as my stay involved daily hospital visits.

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london