Information message

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 8,378 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Bar open daily till 9pm

  • Within five minutes' walk of Russel Square and Holborn Tube and 10 mins walk to Euston

  • Full English Breakfast Available daily

  • Nearby landmarks include the British Museum and Covent Garden

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge Paying
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre (nearby)
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

130 134 Southampton Row
WC1B 5AF london
united kingdom

Tel: +442078333691

Fax: (+44)20/78373485

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :  68/168/91/59 SOUTHAMPTON ROW

  • RUSSELL SQUARE :  PICCADILLY RUSSELL SQUARE

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24.14km / 15 miles

  • By train

    EUSTON At 1.13km / 0.7 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRAS EUROSTAR At 1.45km / 0.9 miles

GPS :51.520798, -0.123307

Our accommodation(s)

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 27

  • Maximum capacity: 30 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

8,378 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,714 reviews

Great location peaceful stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jacqui W. Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Weekend trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Helen H. Friends - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Beds were so comfortable, all staff were friendly and extremely covid safe, doors locked at night so felt very safe, super quiet and brilliant location - we will be back! Thank you Mercure !

Good location not far from Euston Station

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Keith S. Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable bed good size room., Only draw back was view of inner court yard

Good location for British Museum and other attractions

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lindsay Solo - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

One night stay as seeing a show then an exhibition at the British museum. Warm welcome from staff and lovely breakfast! Comfortable room with all amenities and the hot chocolate was extra little bonus!

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Alan D. Business - 11/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a comfortable and friendly stay. However breakfast was disappointing

Dear Alan D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. However i can see that the breakfast did not meet your expectation.` If you have some time then please do let us know what the issues were and see where we can inprove Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Lovely staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

L. W. Families - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location not too far from the centre. Lovely staff, whilst checking in and especially on our way to watch Frozen in the west end where my daughter was dressed up as Elsa and they made a massive fuss over her Rooms were clean and tidy and reception gave us an early check in without asking as the room was ready.

Dear W. L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 2.5/5

John P. Couples - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ok, but nothing special

Ideal location for my requirements

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mrs J. C. Couples - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very helpful staff Anders clean abs modern facilities.

Dear Jaqueline C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Will never book again.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Nadim Solo - 06/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was comfortable. Showerhead was broken, shower was dirty. Would not book again. One of the members of the reception team was very rude, she made you feel like you didn't belong at the hotel. She was there at check-in and at checkout. Not a smile, not a "thank you for your stay". I understand that people may be in a bad mood but, in Hospitality you have to smile through it, for the guest. She should be replaced. People like this do not belong in Accor hotels.

Dear Nadin Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,

Well located, brilliant staff, tired room

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Nick Families - 05/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have to say the location and staff were brilliant , they were very helpful and always had a smile on there face. The room we stayed in 103 was clean, but needs modernising somewhat. Little things such as the carpet riding up next to the beds, tired timber laminate and blistered bathroom doors were the main things, which for a mecure I was surprised. As stated though the room was clean it is just due a face lift.

Dear Nick S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good value London hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

David L. Couples - 05/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed here before and find the hotel convenient (20 minutes walk from Covent Garden and the West End). It is 5 minutes walk from Holborn or Russell Square underground stations. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and staff very friendly. Would recommend for anyone visiting central London for a short break.

Dear David L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

It was ok - it IS well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

H. Families - 05/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

we picked it because of its proximity to GOSH where our son was admitted. first two nights were ok but the third night was marred by loud music / partying (apparently the owner's daughter was hosting a birthday party) until well into the early hours of the morning. that really spoiled the experience.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,

Hotel was in a good place easy access to other areas

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Pete T. Business - 05/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We was well looked after hotel was clean staff were very helpful

Dear Peter T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good Location and Comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Adrian B. Business - 04/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This hotel is very well located, convenient, clean and with good breakfast provision. All the staff I encountered were both polite and friendly. Recommended.

Dear Adrian John B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good location but not very clean and inconsiderate housekeeper

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 04/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for one night for an event nearby. Hotel was very well located. The rooms and corridors were small, but that's to be expected for an old building in central London. The room was rather shabby, and not very clean - maybe no one had stayed in it for a while, based on the dust around the place, but that's not much of an excuse. The bathroom in particular was not very clean, and when I turned on the shower lots of dust and hair came off it and the shower head itself was very smeary. The most annoying thing was having a housekeeper repeatedly rattling my door and demanding to know when I was checking out - even though it was only 9.20am, I had a 'do not disturb' sign on the door, and check out was not until 12. I found this extremely annoying and not at all relaxing after coming in very late from an event. I would not stay here again. I have stayed at other Mercures which were fine, but this one is nothing like the usual Mercure experience.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,

London City Break

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Geoff K. Couples - 03/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Quality of service was excellent, from all staff, very comfortable, would have liked a view from window though. Good location within London, and breakfast was really good.

Dear Geoffrey K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Nice hotel, great staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Antony Couples - 03/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a great experience. Your staff are very personable and helpful. Hotel and room were good, location great. Only negative was the breakfast, this was provided at no cost and we appreciated it, but if we had been paying for it, I would have looked for a refund. Hot food is limited and forever running out, it's just not fit for the numbers of guests you have. We ended up eating breakfast in parts.

Dear Antony U., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Small rooms and leaky tap!

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Dr B. P. Solo - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed at this hotel due to proximity to the Queen square hospital. Had requested an accessible room. Unfortunately, this room measures 7/8 ft maximum, no space for luggage. Leaky tap spraying water like a sprinkler. Not acceptable for an accessible room. Health and safety issues!

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,

WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Roving714034 Family - 20/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

stayed there in the past but will never stay again as the nice staff has left. I have problem with my back and asked the woman if she could help me carry my suitcases up the set of steps and she refused. From that moment it went from bad to worse. Don’t bother complaining as the general manager is rude and not interested in delivering excellent customer service. Not to the standards of All for sure.

thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we were unable to offer you the rate you were looking for. At Accor we always quote the best available rates which are available to all guests and as an Accor All member we were happy to quote you your members discounted rate for the requested dates of your stay

Great location and all returning to normal again!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Mark S 13/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

I've stayed at the hotel a number of times becuase of the great location for both London's West End - Holborn, Covent Garden, Leicester Square - and the City of London. It's always clean and the staff are excellent. Great that things are returning to normal again with rooms being made-up and cleaned each day, the bar open (at the moment just to residents) and a very good hot breakfast as well as the continental.

We would like to that thanks you for your review regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel London Bloomsbury. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london