Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 11,290 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
See on a map
+ 24 Services

Hotel extras

  • Sea-water pool heated all year round, with panoramic view

  • State-of-the-art spa and thalasso

  • Direct access to Miramar beach, right in the heart of the seaside resort

  • Each room has its own terrace

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

13 rue Louison Bobet
64200 biarritz
france

Fax: (+33)5/59247720

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BIARRITZ:  14 MIRAMAR

  • By plane

    BIARRITZ PARME At 3km / 1.88 miles

  • By plane

    BORDEAUX AEROPORT At 200km / 125 miles

  • By car

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By car

    BIARRITZ LA NEGRESSE At 4km / 2.5 miles

  • By train

    BAYONNE At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By train

    BIARRITZ At 3km / 1.88 miles

GPS:43.487878, -1.554608

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

Le Restaurant

Our chef is inspired by local produce to create imaginative, balanced dishes. New menu every month for creative, seasonal dining. Check out the "Equilibre" menu for even more balanced options.

Our accommodation(s)

The 126 calm rooms, with MyBed comfortable bedding, are open on the long ocean beach or the city providing relaxation and an unforgettable stay.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 260

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

11,290 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,834 reviews

One more time this was a very nice stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Christophe B. Couples - 02/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

After two years because of Covid we could stay again in this very nice hotel, the team has changed and still very motivated. you will spend a very nice time in the Spa and Hamam. Food is excellent at the buffet for the breakfast, the breakfast in the room was not that good in comparaison.. bread was black over cooked... Also at level of our room 509 the carpet in the corridor must be changed urgently... I only see this very poor quality of carpet in old hotels with one star

Professional and welcoming staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 05/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Parts of the spa need renovating and the facade of the hotel as well.

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the welcome you received. Please be assured that your comments regarding our establishment have been shared with the management. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, Yours sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Fantastic location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sheila R. Couples - 21/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed a full day from morning to morning. The hotel is well organised with attentive staff. The location, right on the beach is superb.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following your stay at Sofitel Biarritz. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the attention of our staff. However, we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your room. Your feedback is very important for us to improve and provide you with the best experience possible. We would be very happy to welcome you back and make your stay as pleasant as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Most rude staff!

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Hated Y. H. Solo - 15/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Absolutely RUDE staff at your front desk. I had to call 5 times when I arrived at the train station and there were NO taxis to get to the hotel. One of the staff said extremely snottily, "you needed to book a ride with us in advance from the train station". OK, WHERE IS THIS WRITTEN? My stay was booked through a tour company and they did NOT indicate this nor arrange it. Oh, and did I mention that it was POURING RAIN? When I finally arranged a ride to the hotel myself (after over an hour), I arrived at the hotel to find that my room was not ready. Everyone around me was given their rooms. I was told that they would call me to let me know that the room would be ready - ASAP. They never called. I waited 3 hours and no call. The staff at the front desk was rude, arrogant and snotty.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We would like to apologize for the experience you described, which did not meet the high standards of service we would like to offer you. Your comments are important to us in order to correct what needs to be corrected. Please be assured that these will be forwarded to the appropriate department. Please do not hesitate to contact me by phone so that we can discuss your experience in more detail. I hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon and show you our commitment and professionalism. Yours sincerely Emmanuelle Cabannes Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Gran hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Diego Couples - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Gran estancia

Estimado invitado, Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de expresar sus sentimientos sobre su reciente estancia en el Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. Estamos encantados de leer que ha tenido una excelente estancia con nosotros. Todo el equipo del Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar espera volver a verle pronto. Atentamente. Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were only in Biarritz for a few days, but the stay was very nice. Being able to walk anywhere in town was a definite advantage.

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your pleasant feedback following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I am delighted to read that your experience lived up to your expectations and that you had a great time with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. Sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Relies on the Sofitel brand but due to lack of investment, not to standard and hugely overpriced

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Colin P. Couples - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

See above

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar for your stay and for taking the time to write to us following your stay. We are very sorry to read your disappointment. We have communicated your remarks to the head of the department concerned, who has taken note of the elements mentioned and will take them into account with a view to the continuous improvement of our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you during your next stay in order to provide you with an experience that will satisfy you even more. Yours sincerely. Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Great experience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jean-henri D. Couples - 06/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We are used to spend few days every year to the Sofitel Miramar to enjoy the Biarritz & Pays Basque locations and have good stay in this great hotel, very well located, with good SPA, very beautiful and large pool, good staff and great restaurant. One more perfect and very relaxing stay this year, already thinking about next year stay @ Biarritz Sofitel Miramar...

Dear Guest, We thank you for this beautiful comment on your last experience at the Sofitel Biarritz. The whole team and I are happy that you had a perfect stay with us and we thank you for underlining the professionalism of our staff, the quality of our restaurant and our spa. Your compliments are a delightful reward for all our teams who had a real pleasure to take care of you throughout your stay. We took care to transmit these compliments to our teams who were very touched. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Yours sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Great stay!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gerald Couples - 05/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was our 3rd stay with you … and it was completely relaxing. It is hard decide on what the was the best feature: The bed? The ability to leave the door open at night and hear the waves hitting the sand? The location? The staff (who were charming, helpful and professional)? The only issues were 1) that the air conditioning didn’t work 2) the large crowd from the hair stylist convention (they loudly partied until about 2 a.m.).

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar for your stay in Biarritz, and for your very complimentary comment. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed every moment spent with us, from the comfort of your room to the convenience of your room. Your enthusiasm about the success of your stay is a real reward for our teams. We hope to welcome you again soon, Yours sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

A hotel with a fantastic view

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

ExpatinChina Couples - 17/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has a fantastic location with great sea views. The rooms and terraces are very spacious. We were warmly welcomed by the Guest Experience Manager and the service was excellent throughout the stay. Bathroom experience (water pressure, important to me!) was good. As per my personal opinion, the hotel requires a renovation update, especially la façade, otherwise all good and value for money.

Dear ExpatinChina, It is such a pleasure to receive your wonderful comments further to your recent experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us: whether it was the perfect view, the comfort of your room or the welcome you received. Please be assured that your kind words have been shared with all the teams who were so proud to read your message. It will be my great pleasure to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Great Place to stay in Biarritz

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

danielpoldermans 09/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Friendly and accurate staff. Best swimmingpool ever! Parking service is easy to use and good service with suggestions where to stay in the surrounding area such as Pau, Saint Jean de Luz and Esplanette.

Dear danielpoldermansr, I would like to thank you for your pleasant feedback on tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I am delighted to read that you appreciated the different services of our establishment, but also the personalized attention of our teams. It is with great pleasure that I shared your impressions with the staff who were very touched. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in our establishment. Sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Perfect Location, Good service and attention to details

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Paulina Families - 02/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Arriving for a short family vacations, after a bad experience in another hotel, we came at the Sofitel, and everything was very welcoming, really liked the attention to details, little slippers, bathrobe and bathroom things for my child. Great Buffet Breakfast. Nice sea water swimming pool, calm and attentive staff. Very comfortable bedding, room service twice a day. We had a nice view of the ocean. The sauna's showers would need better ventilation somehow... Nice gym, fantastic to have direct access to the beach, maybe Sofitel could have some chairs and umbrellas for the hotel guests at the beach as well?... It was very nice to come back to the room and always have new bottles of water. We had lunch and dinner every day at the Hotel, with beautiful sunset. The only thing is that the last night we were there, we wanted to have dinner at the bar in the swimming pool terrace, which is right in front of the sunset, and we could not, because there were a group of other guests that had reserved that area around, but I did not see them coming at all during that night, so that was the only downfall of our stay. Another big suggestion, which I do not know if the owner would be up for it, but, as an architect, I would place the restaurant terrace tables, in the lower level of the swimming pool terrace, overlooking at the beach, and perhaps the service/kitchen, could be right underneath the upper level swimming pool terrace. You can contact me if you would like to understand this better. In the same line, it is also a pity, that inside the restaurant, close to the window that faces the sea, the metal window frame is exactly on the level of the eyes once you are seated. This could be improved, if you build a wooden platform were the tables are, so that the person seated is able to actually look at the ocean, instead of being blocked by the window frame. I can also explain this better with drawings if you would like. Wishing you a good continuation of the year and thank you.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. What a pleasure to see the excellent rating you gave to your experience with us! We thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as a whole by underlining the professionalism of our teams, the quality of the restaurant as well as the comfort of your room. Moreover, you can be sure that your suggestions concerning the layout of the different areas have been taken into account by our management. Also, I am sorry to learn that you were not able to enjoy the pool terrace during your last evening with us. All the team of the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar will be delighted to welcome you again in Biarritz. Yours sincerely. Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Best located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Romana Families - 27/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Service staff was excellent

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. We are delighted to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the professionalism of our staff. We would be very happy to welcome you again for a new wellness stopover. Sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Great location - tired exterior

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tony M. Couples - 27/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel in Biarritz. It was our first visit to the town, which we really enjoyed, and the location of the hotel was excellent. The room was spacious and well-appointed. However, we were surprised at the poor conditions of the exterior of the hotel, which looked tired and dilapidated. Th staff were in general excellent, but service was slow - there appeared to be too few staff to serve the guests properly.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. We are very sorry for the wait experienced with the restaurant service and would like to sincerely apologize to you. However, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, highlighting the professionalism of our staff, the location of our hotel and the comfort of your room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you during your next stay in Biarritz and to show you that the situation in the restaurant is exceptional. Yours sincerely Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Great location and super service

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rasmus T. Couples - 27/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel staff was extreamly helpfull and service oriented, and the hotel had all facilities and a great location. However, the hotel itself could need a little updating (paint and new furnature).

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, the location of our hotel and the quality of our facilities. I am delighted to read that your experience lived up to your expectations and that you had a great time with us. It is with great pleasure that I shared your impressions with all of our teams who were very touched. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. Sincerely, Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

Perfect location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ginnie C. E. Solo - 22/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The location of this hotel is amazing as well as the views from the balcony of my room. Service was wonderful. The pool was a good size as was the fitness facility.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay with us! It is very kind of you to have underlined the location of our hotel, the quality of service and our panoramic swimming pool. We would be delighted to welcome you back. All the team of the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar hopes to see you again very soon. Yours sincerely. Chloé Bélis Chargée de Communication et Expérience Clients

This hotel needs a major facelift

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 19/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Both the appearance of the hotel and the rooms was very disappointing.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar for your stay and for taking the time to write to us following your stay. We are sorry to read your disappointment. We have communicated your remarks to the management, who have taken note of the elements mentioned. Once again, we thank you for the time you took to write this review. Yours faithfully, Chloé Bélis

Could be much better !!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

dominioni2020 22/09/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel should be compared with Peninsula. Or Four Seasons or Shangri la Unfortunately it is far away and I am disappointed Service is at 3 or 4 stars level Maintenance. painting is a shame Food is so so

Dear dominioni2020, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Be assured that your observations have been communicated to the management who will take the appropriate measures. We hope we will have the occasion to offer you the service quality and experience we attend to reach during a future stay in Biarritz. Best Regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Sofitel Biarritz July 2020

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Omar A 28/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is old and needs serious inside and outside renovation However The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and professional. Also they need to improve the quality of Breads and Croissant served for breakfast

Dear Omar A, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and we take your comments into account. Looking forward to host you again. Sincerely, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Directrice Communication et Expérience Clients

Wonderful location, aged amenities, terrible front desk experience

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

kirillbond2020 22/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel has everything going for it - superb location, large rooms with terraces, excellent pool and spa facilities however the rudeness and incompetency of the guest relations manager and some of the front desk staff has spoiled our 8 night stay - we got the worst placed room with leaky bathroom ceiling, had to repack and wait to be moved to a new room (not an upgrade) that had construction in front of windows. When we finally were offered an acceptable room (only available upgrade), we lost a day moving 3 rooms in one day and the hotel staff lost my shows when moving my luggage. Only bright light was the hotel manager Celine stepping in on LAST day to offer compensation for lost shoes.

Dear kirillbond2020, We would like to thank you for the comment that you have left on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar. I deeply show my apology about any inconvenience caused during your stay. I have notified the situation that you mentioned above to the respective departments in order to correct them immediately and I would like to assure you that such matters will not happen again, as this is not representative of the hotel service. Best regards, Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Communication & Quality Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in biarritz