Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel

Information message

Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.7/5 401 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Ideal for Bedford Park Concerts 2022 - The Specials, Tom Grennan and Simply Red

  • Full English Breakfast

  • 24hr Food and Beverage inc Full Dinner Menu

  • Complimentary onsite carpark

  • Laundry Service

Hotel location

Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel

2 St Marys Street
MK42 0AR BEDFORD
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    LONDON LUTON At 51.5km / 32 miles

  • By boat

    FELIXSTOWE At 173.81km / 108 miles

  • By helicopter

    BEDFORD AERODROME At 16.09km / 10 miles

  • By car

    M1 JUNCTION 13 At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By train

    BEDFORD At 2.41km / 1.5 miles

GPS:52.133977, -0.465752

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

Riverside Restaurant

Our Restaurant overlooks the river Ouse, we pride ourselves on offering a good choice of quality dishes using the finest local British ingredients where possible. We always try to source produce from sustainable sources.

Our accommodation(s)

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.7/5  401 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  91 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointed that the fire alarm has be tested so early in the day if I’m staying and working nights

Dear ANTONY, thank you for taking some time to complete a review about us. We apologise for the inconvenience our fire alarm had caused however this is something we must complete to ensure health and safety for our guests and our staff. We have a variety of rooms available to our guests and we thank you for your feedback and we will use this to improve as we strive to provide each of our guests their definition of a perfect stay! We hope to welcome you again, warmest regards, Olivia

A good Hotel in a great location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Philip J TripAdvisor review

Right by and overlooking the River Great Ouse in the centre of Bedford. Wonderful outlook and within walking distance of just about everything. A very high standard or décor and furnishing. Staff very polite and helpful. Restaurant overlooks the river. Has its own large car park.

Dear Philip J, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed the great view and the team where helpful during your stay. We do hope to see you again soon.

Very good hotel in great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Phil J. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very impressed with the décor, cleanliness, layout and helpfulness of staff. A super location right beside the river with wonderful views plus a good sized car park.

Dear PHILIP J, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be delighted to know that we've managed to make your stay great with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards, Olivia

A comfortable relaxing hotel in the heart of Bedford

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michael F. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

I had 2 separate bookings one for 2 nights and one for 1 night, I called to ensure the same room during the stay, also to request a river view room. I was told by the receptionist (a Male) yes this can be accommodated and thanked him. My wife arrived before I did only to be given a room at the back of the Hotel. I arrived later and questioned this with reception on check in. The young lady insisted the room we had been given was on the river side.(IM sorry but she was mistaken) I went back to reception to point this out and after a chat she was able to let us move to a river view room the next night. she was helpful and polite. I explained that the male receptionist told me I had been allocated a river view room when I checked the booking. The first room was on the top floor and was tired in its appearance especially in the bathroom, and the red seat had fluff and dust where the back joined the seat looked like it had not been cleaned for a while. I have stayed in the hotel before and others in the Mercure group so was expecting a very good standard. the next 2 nights in the other room where much better the room was almost spotless so well done on that one. I would just like to point out that whilst the public areas Bar, reception , function rooms etc are clean and tidy. the corridor leading to the car park and the stair wells are very poorly kept. Also if you happen to think the main lift goes to LG then your in for a shock at the site that greets you, it looks very messy and unkept. we quickly went up to the ground and walked along the corridor to the carpark. We had a complimentary drink voucher each and whilst one of the bar men (NOT WITH BEARD) was very good and polite the other was rather abrupt for front of house and not very knowledgeable on what was available on the voucher and refused my wife the wine she wanted YET the other bar man said it was OK to have this after I went to find him to check out the situation. The overall stay was good but things could be improved. Thanks we will stay again but would like to think there will be improvements.

Dear Michael, thank you so much for sharing your experience in such detail, we appreciate your feedback greatly. Our team thrive from such comments! As a team we do everything we can to ensure our guests feel comfort and satisfaction during their stay with us. We do our very best to fulfill all special requests. We're over the moon that you enjoyed your overall stay with us however apologise for the decor that you didn't love! Some of our rooms slightly vary in layout. We are glad we were able to assist you throughout your stay with us - we aim to rectify any issues reported immediately across all departments and will pass on your comments to ensure improvements are made. We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations at the bar - our complimentary drinks include a limited selection from the alcohol section. Please rest assure all of our staff are trained, friendly and are willing to provide you with an excellent service. In regards to the LG floor, our LG floor is not an area for our guests, though we are sorry for the appearance of this. We thank you again for staying with us and taking your time to leave us a review. We hope you do return and we get the opportunity to welcome you again. Warmest regards, Olivia

Perfect Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Dag Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everyone was very welcoming and polite.

Dear Dagmara, Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback regarding our staff and I am delighted to be able to pass this great news onto them as I am sure it will strive as motivation to all our team members. Your feedback is very valuable to us. Once again thank you for your review and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Robyn

Perfection

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Samantha R. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Such a lovely hotel Room was completely beautiful huge, clean rooms Staff we a delitght Chris is a lovely worker And perfect location for the town and all the bars etc Absolutely would return and also couldnt recommend enough

Dear SAMANTHA R, thanks for taking time to leave us a great review, we appreciate such kind words about our staff. We hope you stay again. Warmest regards, Olivia

Lovely room

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ms S. J. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Couldn't choose the best view from a hotel room. Very beautiful scene watching the birds congregate lovely town to visit. Couldn't choose to best place to visit. The hotel has a fabulous modern deco. I can see the visions of the deco with the surrounding areas. On e of the best hotels visited. Certainly will be back again soon.

Dear sarah j, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We're glad you love our decor as much as we do! Our decor is inspired by the local area to make our hotels more special! Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Olivia

Great service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ano Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was great

Dear sam r, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We love to hear such brilliant feedback. We're very happy we exceeded your standards! Warmest regards, Olivia

Nicely located

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sam Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay was a luxurious one, fantastic choices of restaurants nearby, plenty to choose from. Will come back again to experience the food what the hotel menu would cater for my appetite. First time in Bedford, what a lovely town. Would love to know where the best attractions are for next time.

Dear sean b, thank you for leaving us a review! We will always welcome you back. We are all so glad you loved your stay. Our team are here 24 hours and will always be happy to advise you and help you to discover some great attractions in Bedford. Warmest regards, Olivia

Would stay here again

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Daniel Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

This was my first stay in Mercure Bedford, I had a great experience. My room was located near the car park which was very convenient for me. Spacious room, basic but many channels on TV, bathroom was very bright and spacious with a walk in shower. And the bed was very comfortable with 2 choices of pillows on bed. Overall everything was clean so a bit plus to that.

Dear daniel f, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you leaving us some lovely, kind words. We strive to impress all of our guests and provide the most comfortable and convenient stay. We hope you choose to stay again. Kind regards, Olivia

Well located

Customer review rating 5.0/5

B Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very welcoming staff! Everything was great.

Dear Thomas R, thanks for leaving such kind words, our team always want our guests to feel welcomed and comfortable. Hope to see you again soon! Warmest regards, Olivia

Customer review rating 5.0/5

P Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay. Very clean

Dear Pauline C, thank you for taking time to leave us some lovely feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you chose to stay with us again! Warmest regards, Olivia

Amazing service very welcome

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Michael Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The service provided was amazing from start to finish especially the concierge Chris.

Thanks a lot for such a great review! We are a proud team who care deeply and do their very best to make our guests stay as great and as convenient as possible. We hope you want to come back and we will always welcome you. Warmest regards, Olivia

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Graham T. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff in Bedford were absolutely amazing couldn’t be nicer and very very helpful

Dear GRAHAM T., It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We as a team thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff here at Mecure Bedford Centre Hotel do everything they can to ensure everyone has a lovely stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Olivia

Comfortable and practical

Customer review rating 4.0/5

A. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

It is at a great location and the staff is helpful and very kind. They solved everything. Only the airco is a bit laud and it is just at the bed.

Dear KRISTON A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback and we hope to see you again very soon! We take pride in providing an excellent service for our guests! Sincerely, Olivia

Fantastic location , wonderful staff they were so friendly it made our stay very pleasant.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

From the time we arrived to the time we left nothing was to much trouble, staff were brilliant.

Dear John S., We very much appreciate your feedback following your stay at Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel, I am overjoyed that our team made your stay with us very pleasant. We continuously strive to provide a superior service so I am delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to assist you and were all friendly throughout your time with us. We have an exceptional team here at Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel and it is a pleasure when their efforts are recognised. I am sure that your excellent feedback will motivate and encourage all of our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and make your next stay as enjoyable as this one. Warm regards, Simone

4 March 2022

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Culture34207205583 TripAdvisor review

On arriving at the hotel I met a nice young man in the reception call Nick who was very helpful in checking me in, and answered all my questions. It was my first time staying here and I will be staying there again. I did not have dinner, but I had breakfast the next morning. I was pleasantly surprise how nice the staff was there and how enjoyable the breakfast was, and how welcoming the staff there made you feel. There was a lot of choices to choose from and the chef even cooked me my vegan sausages. My room was very clean and tidy. Overall I was vey happy.

Culture34207205583 , Thank you so much about the great comments about the team and especially Nick who checked you in. The team are the life and soul of your lovely hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

andrewupton2021 Business - TripAdvisor review

The welcome & helpfulness of the hotel staff is excellent. Special mentions must be to Simone & Mellina who are always smiling & not just 'corporate'. The breakfast is always ready & available for 0600hrs (this is a major bonus being that other hotels state 0630hrs) & nothing is too much trouble.

Dear andrewupton2021, Thank you so much for the great review. Hope to see you again soon.

FELT PERFECTLY SAFE

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

djk3816 TripAdvisor review

Nice hotel. Corridors will need a spruce up soon but room and general areas all acceptable. Staff all friendly and efficient. Riverfront position and closeness of park and town excellent. Importantly during these Covid times we felt safe

Dear djk3816, Thank you so much for the great review and it was our pleasure to welcome you. Please come again soon!

Bank holiday weekend stop over

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Karhulanantti Business - TripAdvisor review

Hotel location is city centre next by the river. Building is ugly and worse for wear condition. Room carpets are full of stain. windows sweating inside and there is mould around windows. AC unit keep rattling during night even it's switched off. Front desk clerk promise send me invoice by email... Never got. Next ask invoice by email... never got any answer.

Dear Karhulanantti, Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned to read all your comments that affected your stay and not even receiving your invoice. Please can you email as at hb541@accor.com so I can personally address your concerns and make things right.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in BEDFORD