Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.7/5 6,608 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL bristol
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)01179227619

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS:51.455372, -2.593519

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Our accommodation(s)

With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 632

  • Maximum capacity: 600 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 450 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,608 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.0/5

1,164 reviews

Great stay at the grand hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

troyp288 26/01/2022 TripAdvisor review

Hotel reception was friendly, rooms nice, although couldn’t initially work out the air conditioning this sorted with some help. Central location was great. There was a bit of a muddle on the restaurant booking but that was resolved. Breakfast was great too

Very disappointed stay

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Gerald P. Couples - 22/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointed with stay due to even though we was upgraded the room was cold air con wasn’t working the noise from a party going on to 1 am and noise from street till 4.30 am not a good night sleep.

Dear Gerald, Thanks for sharing your review. We're always delighted to welcome back a familiar face and we're very sorry that your time with us didn't live up to what you were hoping for. We want all our guests to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay and will be looking into all your comments for future improvements. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Brilliant location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Stewart D. Couples - 21/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Love staying at this hotel and will hopefully again.We had breakfast this time which have to say was very poor quality everything was cold even the beans were cold

Hi Stewart, Thanks for letting us know about your visit. It's great to know you loved our central location within the buzz of city life. We're sorry that breakfast wasn't exactly as you'd hoped, do tell us there and then if something isn't quite right as we always want things to be spot and that you leave us feeling happy. We look forward to you coming back to see us very soon. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Stayed for a private’s party

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Friends - 18/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed the night after attending a private party so ideal for us. Staff on reception friendly, bar staff were very slow although busy. The bedroom was clean and funky design however the bathroom was very dirty in the shower cubicle. The tiles & grouting need a deep clean and no bathroom amenities were left for us to use, luckily we had our own shower gel and hand sanitiser! The corridor lights close to our room were on a sensor however every time you walked in the corridor the lights would go out! Seems the sensor needs looking at!

Dear Guest, Thanks for letting us know what you thought of your stay! We appreciate your kind words about our front desk team and we're happy to know that you loved the decor of your room. We'll be sure to talk with our bar team and go through the points that you mention to make sure we get things right next time. Do tell us while you are still here if you have any concerns or if you need any additional items and we will try to make things right on the spot. Thanks for telling us what you think and be assured we're listening and want nothing less than to make sure we hit the mark for our valued guests next time round. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 17/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic

Hi there, Thank you for this review of your time at our hotel. It's great to hear that we hit the mark for you and you had a great stay. We can't wait to see you again. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Great stay in the heart of the city.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Andy P. Couples - 16/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location, very large room, albeit a little bit tired. Fantastic cooked buffet breakfast.

Hello Andy, Thanks for this review of your time at our hotel. It's nice to hear that our central location was great for you and that you appreciated our spacious rooms. We've noted your remark and appreciate your time to tell us what you think. We hope your next stay is just around the corner! See you soon, Mahesh, General Manager

Wonderful hotel in the heart of the city

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mrs L. Couples - 16/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fantastic room, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast

Hi Mrs L., Thanks for this feedback of your recent stay. It's great to know you appreciated our convenient location, as well as your room. We're also glad to hear our team was operating at their usual high level and looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Excellent location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Alex Solo - 15/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed my stay very much. Got an upgrade and the room was clean.

Hi Alex, Thank you for positively reviewing your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your upgrade made it even better. We hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Hotel that needs a refurb!

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - 10/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice staff but the rooms are rather in need of redesign. The bathrooms are very small even in big rooms. The rooms are cold and there windows are not double glazed...

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It's great to know you appreciated the high standards of service our staff are well known for, however, we are concerned to hear that you did not enjoy all of your stay. We are sorry for the issue you had concerning the air conditioning unit in your room, we will be sure to get our maintenance team on this right away. We have also noted your comments regarding your bathroom, we will also look into this right away. We hope that you will return in the future for a more enjoyable stay. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located comfortable beds and good food

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Debra M. Families - 09/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very pleasant stay,very welcoming staff and accommodating staff. The food was excellent .overall would recommend the hotel to others .

Hi Debra, Thanks for this feedback of your recent stay. It's great to know you appreciated our convenient location, as well as the comfort of your room. We're also glad to hear our team was operating at their usual high level and looked after you well. We can't wait to see you again, Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 08/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were at a family wedding hosted at the hotel. Everything was lovely especially mixed with that little bit of Christmas. Staff were great, our room was great. Although metal doors on wardrobes are rather noisy but look good.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're pleased your stay with us was enjoyable overall. However, we do regret that you experienced some disturbance and apologize for this. Your comments have been duly noted. We hope that you will return in the future. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ricky D. Couples - 06/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arrival the team know it was our 17th anniversary and were very helpful and friendly, we stayed in room 208 which was amazing. We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. Brilliant stay.

Hello Ricky, Thanks for sharing your experience. It's wonderful to hear you had such a good time here, and happy 17th Anniversary once more! We are happy that you appreciated our amazing team who try to ensure that we deliver the best service and make your stay with us special. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes for 2022, Mahesh, General Manager

Well placed in the centre of Bristol

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Catriona M. M. Solo - 06/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Reception were very nice, and helpful. Rooms were well kept Issues with my bathroom were sorted out

Hi Catriona, Thanks for reviewing your stay here. We're glad to know that our position in the centre of the city was perfect for you and our reception team got full marks and took care of you. It's kind of you to give feedback about your room and we're happy you liked it. Thanks for letting us know our team stepped up to the mark and sorted the issue quickly for you. The team hopes you'll be back very soon. All the best for 2022, Mahesh, General Manager

Perfect location - could do with a bit of tidying up in rooms and common areas including stairs .Looking a bit tired and dirty.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Steve K. Friends - 06/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Booked on Hotels.com to spend a couple of days with a friend to explore Bristol. Lovely location but were disappointed that the SPA was closed. This was not advised in advance at all. Everywhere could do with a deep clean and paint, although I understand the challenges the hotel sector have had during the pandemic. Breakfast was great.

Hi Steve, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It really means a lot to know that you appreciated our location as well as our tasty breakfast offerings. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all of your stay, please let us know on the spot of anything that concerns you while you're here so that we can find a comfortable solution. Our spa facilities have been closed for some time and this has been communicated to booking agents but it's proving difficult to get them to remove the information from their websites and we're really sorry for any inconvenience. Rest assured, we will definitely be addressing these issues with our housekeeping team as we continue to make things perfect for you. We hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Well located, clean and welcoming

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Diane T. Families - 04/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is in an excellent location Staff were friendly Very clean and nice decor The only downside was the mattress, it was a little to hard and bumpy for me

Hi Diane, Thanks for sharing your valuable review. It's great to hear that we hit the mark for you and you had a great stay. Thanks for mentioning our amazing position in the centre of the city and we're glad you appreciated the high quality of service our team strive to maintain. We regret that your bed was not quite to your liking, we understand that due to personal preferences this is not always the case and have will be taking your comment into consideration. We would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay. Wishing you all the best for 2022, Mahesh, General Manager

Disappointed

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Kc Friends - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointed as bar closed at 11 on new years eve. Having emailed your hotel prior to stay to check it was suitable to meet 4 friends for a drink in your bar for Nye. We then booked 4 rooms. After a meal out we returned to a closed bar & ended up wondering the streets at 11. Other guests in similar position were stood outside or crammed on sofas in reception. Very very disappointing. Other than that, reception staff very helpful on check in & clean hotel. Nice rooms.

Hello Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are happy that our amazing service and high standards hit the mark for you, but sorry that not everything was what you'd expected. Due to following official guidelines, our bar and restaurant hours are restricted and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes 2022, Mahesh, General Manager

Fantastic location, brilliant facilities and very clean

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jayne L. Families - 02/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only a brief stay but very enjoyable. Fantastic customer service and a lovely clean room which was upgraded in check in. Already booked to come back.

Dear Jayne, We are glad to receive such a positive review. It really means a lot to know that you appreciated our location and that, overall, you had such a great stay. We are very pleased that your stay with us merited a big "thumbs up", it shows us we are on the right track. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on another occasion. Best wishes for the new year, Mahesh, General Manager

Dreary out of date hotel

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Solo - 02/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Dull, pretentious and dirty

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are very sorry that we did not meet the high standards expected of us on this visit. Please do let us know at the time so that we may take immediate action. Rest assured, we will definitely be addressing these issues with our housekeeping team to reflect on what went wrong. Thank you for your feedback, it is from this that we can learn how to make things perfect for you. The whole team hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again. Wishing you a Happy New Year, Mahesh, General Manager

Helpful staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

TamworthBirch 02/01/2022 TripAdvisor review

We had trouble finding the hotel and car park as roads had changed - closed/turned into bus lanes or one way streets- recently, so gps was confused . We phoned the hotel and the guy who answered very quickly directed us - told us to put in The Galleries carpark and that would get it to right side of the city. The hotel room was clean but basic but for £97 including breakfast for 2 - it was good. Breakfast was lovely. Mattresses were hard but still slept ok. The hotel is located well in a central location so easy to walk to where we needed. Though we didn’t realise the water taxis weren’t running so had a very long walk to get to SS Great Britain.

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share a review. It really means a lot to know that you appreciated our location and the high quality of service our team strive to uphold. It's great to hear that our team managed to direct you to us in the end. We're sorry that not everything was what you'd expected during your stay. Let us know there and then and we'll do our utmost to sort something more suited to you. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip. Wishing you all the best for 2022, Mahesh Jay

Fancy a stay at the overlook hotel?

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

annemartin2021 31/12/2021 TripAdvisor review

This place was run down and the rooms were downright creepy. I kept expecting a ghost child to be hanging around each corner as I walked around the property. It doesn’t cost much to apply a coat of paint to the walls and to swap out the carpets and repair creepy floorboards

Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all your expectations. We'll certainly consider your comments closely in order to improve our facilities. Please don't hesitate to notify our team during your stay, we'd be happy to address the issue immediately and offer another room when available. We hope we can provide you with an improved stay in the future. Best wishes for the new year, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bristol