Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.6/5 1,163 reviews
With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.
Page out of
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
BS1 2EL BRISTOL
Telephone +44 117 929 1645
Page out of
Access: 1.29 km / 0.8 mi 17 min walk / 6 min drive
Check-in from - Check out up to
Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.
Our guest reviews
100% genuine reviews from our guestsFind out more
Avoid the car park!
TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5
dianeloa TripAdvisor review
Avoid the car park, daughters car was broken into & it looks like it’s a common occurrence as lots of smashed windows & glass visible on the ground! Hotel will not take responsibility if this happens!
Disappointing in many respects
Customer review rating 2.5/5
P S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL
▪︎Huge problems finding the location ▪︎Impossible to contact hotel as phones not working. ▪︎Room dark, dreary, little natural light, poor artificial lighting, no drawers, limited storage space, milk cartons unobtainable on 2 days, limited coffee and tea, no biscuits ( unlike the Mercure we stayed in in Salisbury). ▪︎En-suite facilities good but no light over mirror. ▪︎The damper on the fire door outside our room wasn't working properly which disturbed us each time someone went through it. ▪︎Breakfast reasonable; no porridge; coffee machine delivered lukewarm coffee; on our last morning the only option was instant coffee. ▪︎We ate in the restaurant each evening (partly because there was little choice in the immediate neighbourhood), and the food was very good as was the service (other than no coffee). The staff were very helpful and friendly. ▪︎ The reception staff listened to our concerns but action wasn't always taken. However after we complained about the lack of helpful information regarding actually finding the hotel we did have the garaging fee removed, which was a nice gesture.
Hi Paula, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We aim to ensure all of our guests have a great experience so we’re sorry to hear that not everything hit the spot during your stay. We're sorry for any trouble finding us and we regret that you were not able to contact us at that time. However, we are glad that we were able to offer you some compensation for this inconvenience. Furthermore, we're sorry that you weren't entirely happy with your room and felt our standards were not up to our usual level. We also apologise that we were not able to resolve all your issues for you. Rest assured we will be addressing your comments with our team, and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. While we are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant, we can inform you that being a city centre hotel, we are surrounded by many restaurants and eateries so please do ask at reception, our team members will be happy to offer you recommendations and directions. We have noted your comments and will take them into consideration. We hope to see you next time you are in Bristol for an improved experience. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager
Customer review rating 3.0/5
Andyg Business - Confirmed reviews ALL
Stayed for a night on business. Got back to the hotel after dinner to find the bar had closed (it was 2215) despite there being plenty of people in the bar, more coming through the door, and two staff on duty behind the bar.
Hi Andrew, Thanks for the review. Our goal is to ensure each and every guest has a great experience so we’re sorry to hear that not everything was as you’d hoped. It’s a shame the bar opening hours didn’t meet your expectations; your comments have been duly noted and we hope this didn’t cause too much inconvenience. Furthermore, we’re sorry if you didn’t feel our service was up to our usual high standards; we’ll be sure to discuss this with the team. Nevertheless, it’s great to know you enjoyed our central location. We hope to see you again. Cheers, Mahesh, General Manager
Avoid This Hotel!
TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5
Discover53212724033 Couples - TripAdvisor review
Avoid this hotel! Our stay at the Grand Mercure was extremely disappointing. Check-in is advertised for 3pm, however, we weren't able to check in until gone 4pm which made us late for our meal reservations. The room had clearly been rushed and to say it was unclean would be an understatement. There were stains all on the carpets, walls and ceilings. I have attached a few images to highlight these points, although, they're only a snippet to the incredibly low standards of the room as there were further issues such as; the iron being damaged, the broken TV remote, and the list could go on. I have stayed at the hotel on multiple occasions before and I definitely won't be returning again. I have attempted to get in touch with the hotel and after numerous emails over the past 2 months they have ignored all my emails. Although, they had no issues in responding to my emails when they wanted my money. As stated at the beginning of the review, avoid this hotel and spend your money elsewhere!
Good location but not a comfortable stay
Customer review rating 2.5/5
James Business - Confirmed reviews ALL
The hotel is quite outdated, the rooms felt really enclosed and lacked natural light. The rooms and bathrooms needed a really deep clean! Needed to wear shoes in the bathroom because the rooms and bathroom were really cold- this made showering a bit unbearable. The bar wasn’t comfortable- again because it was really cold. Coffee machine was broken for the whole 3 days .. we had to go to reception several times a day as the room keys would stop working everytime we left the room.. pretty uncomfortable and irritating stay on a whole which we don’t normally find with Mercures.
Hi James, Thanks for taking the time to share your review. While we're glad you liked our location, we're really sorry you weren't happy with your room. We're grateful for you letting us know about the temperature of your room but we wish we'd known about your other concerns too, so that we may have found a comfortable solution. We'll be sure to address your comments with our housekeeping team nonetheless. We're also very sorry for any inconvenience with the coffee machine and key cards; we'll be sure to have our maintenance team sort these asap. We do hope that you will return for an improved experience in the future. Kind regards, Mahesh, General Manager
In partnership with TripAdvisor
* Price from, for one night for 1 person in the room category near the price, excluding additional services, excluding breakfast. It corresponds to the lowest public price including all taxes (VAT and tourist tax) for the accommodation in question, found on the website all.accor.com today, for a one-night stay within the next 20 days. Varies according to period and availability. The price is only guaranteed at the time of booking. All reservations (abroad) are payable in the currency of the country where the hotel is located. Only the amount confirmed at the time of booking in that currency is guaranteed. We will give you an estimate of the conversion into your currency, but this is not binding. At the time of payment, your bank may charge you bank fees and/or exchange fees.Back to room price