Information message

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 6,310 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 10 Services

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +4401179291645

Fax: (+)01179227619

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS :51.455372, -2.593519

Our accommodation(s)

With 182 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites, leisure and beauty facilities, and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our restaurants and bars

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Type of cuisine: International

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

KEEPERS

Chill-out and relax in Keepers bar, enjoy our comfortable seating and variety of working spaces. Our drinks menu features an extensive selection of wines, beers, cocktails, soft drinks, coffees and teas.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 632

  • Maximum capacity: 600 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 450 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,310 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,096 reviews

Great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

SQUIZZLE25 22/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is in a great location. Only a 5 minute walk leads you to the river which is lined with loads of restaurants and bars. The room itself was lovely and stylish - although the walls do need a refresh as there were a few marks in places. Unfortunately we were in a room right next to a generator which made a bit of noise during the night. I expect as we booked last minute that's why we were placed in that room which is understandable, however luckily we did still manage to sleep quite well in the very comfortable bed. Each member of staff we dealt with were very helpful, professional and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Great location and service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Frank O. Business - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Apart from the somewhat difficult to understand parking arrangements, a very pleasant stay. Though the toaster in the breakfast room could do with replacing. Staff very polite and attentive

Hi Frank, Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit. It's great to know your stay met your expectations although we are sorry you had issues locating our car park and will look into the directions we give to guests. We appreciate the head's up about the toaster and will get that looked at. We hope that you'll come back and stay with us again. Best regards, Michael, General Manager

Not so good

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Colin B. Business - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hmm well parking. I called to enquire about parking a van. No issue. Well it was the entrance was just suitable for a car. Also why was the restaurant closed just because if some football ‘game’?. Leaving on Monday the barrier failed and getting it open was not easy. Whoever answered the intercom was most rude and said, i suppose i’ll get someone to open the barrier then.

Hi Colin, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your recent stay with us. We regret that there were aspects of your visit which didn't meet your expectations. Regrettably, due to the England football final, our restaurant and bar were fully booked and we understand that you were disappointed. We're located in the heart of the city so there's a great selection of bars and restaurants to choose from nearby and so hope that you managed a great evening nevertheless. Please accept our apologies for the information provided, this was clearly an oversight and will be addressed with our team. Our aim is that our guests have the best possible experience while staying with us. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anita Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was in a good position but the bed was very uncomfortable, the breakfast was mediocre and there were pigeons nesting outside the window which were very noisy

Dear Anita, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are really sorry that your experience wasn't as great as we would have liked. All your comments are appreciated as listening and learning from our guests is key to us and our constant pursuit in meeting our guests’ expectations. We will be looking into the issues you have raised in our customer satisfaction survey. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Take care, Michael, General Manager

Tiny room, nosiy air-con, no hot water

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Paula Couples - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was described as a compact double and it was certainly compact. The double bed wasn't a full sized double bed. There was only room for one bedside table and only just enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was a good size but unfortunately on the first day we had no hot water so had to have a cold shower. This was rectified for the second day. The room was very hot so needed to have air-con on but that was so noisy you couldn't actually sleep. The main requirements for a hotel stay are a good night's sleep and a nice shower in the morning and neither of these requirements were satisfied unfortunately. On the positive side, the hotel was clean, the restaurant was nice, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

Hi Paula, Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased your dining experiences were good and that our standards met with your approval. We apologise for the lack of hot water on your first night and we will check out the noise from the air conditioner. There are different categories of rooms with different bed sizes which are all explained on our website and our team are always ready to assist when booking to find the ideal room for your needs. It would be great to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Michael, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Marcel R. Families - 11/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very friendly staff and good location. Unfortunately continental breakfast didn’t meet expectations - poor quality of croissants & juice. Family room is a plus - it would be great if they were available on higher room categories too.

Hi Marcel, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It's really great to know that our location was ideal for all that Bristol had to offer. Your positive comments about our family rooms are really appreciated as we love to know what our guests are looking for. We are sorry that our breakfast didn't live up to expectations and are open to any suggestions that you may have. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Michael, General Manager

It was okay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Riley Couples - 10/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I mean it was okay. The lobby was pretty. However I had called up a week before to ask about room service and was told that it was fine and the menu was the same. However, turns out they were using a limited menu and that room service wasn’t really available as I had to go collect it. So a bit disappointing. Most staff were pleasant bar one woman at reception who was very rude to my girlfriend. The room itself was nicely decorated with a good size bathroom. However it was tiny, I’m not sure I was given the standard room as it was so small I thought it could be the compact room. For the size I wouldn’t say it was worth the money. We had a view of a car park which was well just lovely…I would potentially stay here in the future when restrictions were lessened and if prices were reduced.

Hi Riley, Thanks for your review. We're sorry that we didn't get to give you that perfect experience. Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding with the information given on covid restrictions, which are constantly changing and we are doing our best to keep up. We will be checking that our team are brought up to date. If there is something about your room that is not quite as expected, please let us know so we can check and if necessary, change you to one you may prefer, depending on availability of course. Our team are here to help and we regret if you felt that was not the case, and don't worry we will be talking to our reception about your comments. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Unsatisfactory stay

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Richard G. Families - 07/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were left very disappointed after our stay. We have stayed in many hotels of various star ratings around the world - and the standard during this stay was not what we have come to expect from a 4 star hotel. Overall we were very unimpressed with our stay - Some specific examples include; - The room was very dark and didn't feel very homely. The lighting is poor and not what you need in a 'family room'. - We arrived to find the sofa had been made up into a double bed. The hotel staff should have been aware from our check-in details that my son was 1 year old and therefore would not be able to sleep in a double bed. It was an annoyance to have to disassemble all of this to make space for our cot (we did ask for this to be done by the hotel staff, but they didn't arrive to do so until very late, but which point my son was in bed). - The air conditioning in the room was a very old machine - this made temperature control in the room very erratic. - The TV remote had the back missing, leaving the batteries exposed. This is very dangerous with small children around (these being a choking and ingestion hazard). - The breakfast was of very poor quality and far below what we would expect in a 4 star hotel. I have had better breakfasts in cheap budget hotels. Both myself and my wife have Coeliac disease so require a gluten free diet - the options for this were very limited and not worth the additional money we paid for breakfast. - The fire alarm went off at approximately 0100 hrs on our second night. When we went down to reception (having woken our 1 yr old son) there were no members of staff explaining what had happened. We had to take word of mouth from other guests that it was a false alarm. This is a significant safety issue and I do not believe the correct procedures were followed for when a fire alarm is raised. Having said this - in general the reception staff and waiting staff at breakfast were attentive and tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Hi Richard, Thanks for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your stay. We regret that we did not meet all your expectations and are very sorry to learn of your concerns as the safety and well-being of our guests is a top priority. We can assure you that all protocols were followed and can only assume that at the time our reception team were occupied in ensuring all our guests were safe. We have taken note of your comments and will be reviewing our procedures as our aim is to ensure that you have the best possible experience with us, We hope we can welcome you back. Kind regards, Michael, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jordan Couples - 07/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is nice and is in a great location in the Old City of Bristol. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well presented. The bed was super comfortable and large however the pillows were very firm and for us we would have preferred a softer kind of pillow. We had breakfast one morning which was disappointing and really not worth the money we paid for it. My eggs arrived uncooked and had to be sent back and overall the breakfast was just not good. There was also an issue of people smoking in their rooms which we felt the staff should have been on top off. Especially as it smelt like weed and later that night at 1am the fire alarm went off which we later found out was due to someone smoking in their room on our floor. I would recommend staying here although i'd go somewhere else for breakfast.

Hi Jordan, Thanks for sharing your review. We are here to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible; we have 2 soft and 2 firmer pillows in each room and are happy to let you know which is which. We're sorry that we weren't; on top of the issues you mention, please just let us know so we can take the action needed. Any suggestions on how we can improve our breakfast are gratefully received. We all hope to welcome you back. Take care, Michael, General Manager

Not great

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Chris Couples - 06/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Aside from the extremely tight car park, when we arrived we were informed that both the gym and pool were closed. This was not as advertised. The hotel itself seemed to be neglected and in a well need refurb. Upon arriving to our room there was a stale smoke smell to the room, which was also dark and gloomy. Outside our neighbouring rooms there was empty beer cans, wine bottles which were there throughout our stay, with a strong smell of weed coming from somewhere. It’s definitely not worth the price. That said, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Won’t be staying here again.

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your comments are appreciated as listening and learning from our guests is key to us and our constant pursuit in meeting our guests’ expectations. We are sorry that we no longer have a pool and have tried to ensure this information is removed from all booking websites Our goal is to make your stay better and brighter. If something isn't just the way you like it, simply let any team member know, and we will do our best to make it right. We hope we have the chance to welcome you again. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Well located. Staff friendly..

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lin R. Couples - 06/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was a lot smaller than we expected. But it was clean and functional..it’s a old hotel so it was excused..it was fine for a short 2day stay..

Hi Lin, Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased the standards of our rooms met with your approval. If you are not entirely satisfied just let our team know and we will help in finding the best room for your needs. We can't wait to welcome you back. All the best, Michael, General Manager

Noisy, dirty, very few facilities, no information, small room, expensive- no leisure centre

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 06/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Noisy, dirty, very few facilities, no information, small room, expensive, only benefit was central location.

Hi, Thanks for sharing your review. We're sorry that we didn't get it right for you this stay. If you had let us know we would have been happy to make sure our standards had been upheld and maybe found a room you might have found more to your taste. hear that your stay wasn't a perfect one and wish we'd known about these issues at the time. We're sorry but with Covid regulations, we are not permitted to provide extra items or info in the rooms just yet, you can ask at reception, we are here to help! We hope we get to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Michael, General Manager

Well located and we all enjoyed our stay.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

L S. Friends - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very helpful and cheerful

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are satisfied to know that our location was suitable for your needs and that you appreciated the high-quality service our team members delivered. We hope your next stay is just around the corner! See you soon, Michael, General Manager

Good stay in v central location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

John C. Families - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good value. Comfortable room though a little dark. Very straightforward booking in. Handy car park. Really difficult to navigate by car to the hotel though. Satnav couldn't cope with blocked roads, bus lanes etc. Google maps no better. Ask for directions before setting out

Hi John, Thanks for the feedback. We work hard to meet your expectations and are happy to hear we ticked the right boxes for you with our location and efficient check-in. We are so sorry for the disruptions caused by the improvement works being carried out by the city council, and although we don't have any control over them, if contacted, we are happy to provide information about the best routes into the city or provide links to websites that would hep with planning your trip. We hope to welcome you back on a future trip. All the best, Michael, General Manager

1 night in Bristol

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Philip G. Couples - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Brief stay in Bristol on way to Cornwall Apart from difficulty finding hotel by car satnav it was very well located for sight seeing

Hi Philip, Thanks for this feedback from your recent stay. We are sorry for all the roadworks going on by the council but glad you found our location helped you make the most of the city. It would be fantastic to welcome you back. Take care, Michael, General Manager

Air condition not working

Customer review rating 0.5/5

A.jafri Couples - 04/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor taste decorating. Less light .overall not satisfactory.

Good service

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

BobbyVegasEngland Business - 17/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

Good service as always. Been staying here for the past couple of months. Have been upgraded on occasions as well, which has been nice. Will be soon a gold member so will be expecting regular upgrades which will be reported on.

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for you wonderful feedback on your recent visits with us. I am so pleased to read that you are a returning guest time and time again. You will indeed be a gold member before we know it, we look forward to recognising your status upgrade on your future visits. Until we meet again soon, take care. Michael General Manager

Lack of communication

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Alyson P 05/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

Whilst I totally understand the challenges in the current climate, I feel customers should have been made aware of of amendments to specific services prior to booking so they can make an informed decision as to whether to book. -The take away breakfast was not highlighted until check in and certainly not worth the money. I would have booked room only and made alternative arrangements -hiding the bar opening hours (5pm -9pm)in a QR code not available until you’re in your room wasn’t helpful. Even then, in amongst all the other information, I didn’t notice the closing time. It also didn’t state that there was a very reduced range of beverages. We had arranged to meet family at 8pm in the bar, this was the actual reason for our visit. Again we would have made alternative arrangements had we known. - bar staff not highlighting that the bar was closing at all. We went to order a round of drinks to be informed that the bar was closed. Not in the least customer friendly. In all we were made to feel like an inconvenience. This could have been avoided if the website had stated that there was no reception/lounge seating areas, takeaway pre packed breakfast only and very limited bar service. None of these are deal breakers but allow customers to plan their stay accordingly.

bristol grand hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

youngryan100 02/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

excellent location reasonably priced car park next to hotel run by hotel payable staff very friendly, professional and welcoming. rooms decore was good as expected. i will definetly consider this hotel again next time i stay in bristol. location is excellent for shopping, night life, access from public transport.

Worst Accor I have stayed in

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Bigcolsam 03/03/2020 TripAdvisor review

We booked a disabled double room and got a twin. The room was very dark with bulbs missing in 5 of the lights and two not working. This was not good for someone with disabilities. The bathroom was freezing cold and the disabled toilet seat was loose. It also needs to be more clear that there is a charge for parking. I have stayed in Accor hotels all over Europe and this was by far the worst

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bristol